So if house burned due to EV, insurance won’t, Cover ?

junsheng
post Yesterday, 09:40 PM

---> pokemon ftw <---
1,257 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Dec 21 2025, 09:24 PM)
All this charger come with the car right? So should comply with the regulation here.
yes, but it's not a safe charger, like my car zeekr give me free abb charger,
the charger itself support load management, but you have to purchase the device separately

if all the charger given can do load management out from the box, then the concern of overloading the circuit is eliminated
hjh87
post Yesterday, 10:11 PM

794 posts

Guys, let's put aside house insurance for now because it's harder to gauge since EVs are still quite new.

But what about the actual EV car insurance? In the event of an EV car fire leading to a total loss, will definitely be able to get a claim, right?

Does anyone know of any past cases in Malaysia where EV fire victims successfully claimed, or is that information usually kept undisclosed?
andrekua2
post Yesterday, 10:15 PM

13,493 posts

So many incorrect statement here by EV haters...

Single phase pun boleh charge EV but max 32A to output 7kw. It draws a bit more which may cause a bit of nuisance if you got many older AC (R410A or older) and heating device like water heater, ironing, etc. You can also choose to lower the charging output to 3.5kw and lower the power draw to just 16A.

3phase pula boleh 16A for 11kw or 32A for 22kw.

andrekua2
post Yesterday, 10:20 PM

13,493 posts

QUOTE(contagiouseddie @ Dec 21 2025, 07:46 PM)
3-phase upgrade is that cheap? I think it's more than that.

Also, some houses the wiring are very old despite 3-phase. I had an old house for rental on single phase, tenant complaint sometimes got burn smell. I redid the entire house wiring just to be safe. I'm sure at the lower end of the spectrum of EV, many won't have the budget to redo wiring, upgrade phase, and many more steps to safe guard the safety aspect of the system.
So what if you got 3 phase but your wiring is not up to par. You need to gauge the power requirements then use the correct wiring. The right cable can handle the load and undersized cable is what cause the wires to overheat and eventually burn/melt the wires which could cause short circuit or fire.
Zaryl
post Yesterday, 10:47 PM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,711 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Dec 21 2025, 10:20 PM)
So what if you got 3 phase but your wiring is not up to par. You need to gauge the power requirements then use the correct wiring. The right cable can handle the load and undersized cable is what cause the wires to overheat and eventually burn/melt the wires which could cause short circuit or fire.
so in order to upgrade to 3 phase wiring, does it mean the WHOLE existing wiring inside house need to be replaced, or just the incoming main from TNB?

i am uncertain of the general process so please do enlighten as I might consider to upgrade for my semi D 1 storey house in the future.
hihihehe
post Yesterday, 10:51 PM

13,795 posts

QUOTE(hjh87 @ Dec 21 2025, 10:11 PM)
Guys, let's put aside house insurance for now because it's harder to gauge since EVs are still quite new.

But what about the actual EV car insurance? In the event of an EV car fire leading to a total loss, will definitely be able to get a claim, right?

Does anyone know of any past cases in Malaysia where EV fire victims successfully claimed, or is that information usually kept undisclosed?
Ice car on fire also can claim insurance right?
ozak
post Yesterday, 11:23 PM

17,024 posts

QUOTE(junsheng @ Dec 21 2025, 09:40 PM)
the charger itself support load management, but you have to purchase the device separately

if all the charger given can do load management out from the box, then the concern of overloading the circuit is eliminated
The charger don’t need a load management if the EV have it. And EV MUST have the management as it face all kind of charger in the country.

But the charger must have the max it can output either in 3P or single phase. Other wise it will keep trip the MCB, RCD or blown the TNB fuse.
ozak
post Yesterday, 11:25 PM

17,024 posts

QUOTE(junsheng @ Dec 21 2025, 09:40 PM)

The charger don’t need a load management if the EV have it. And EV MUST have the management as it face all kind of charger in the country.

But the charger must have the max it can output either in 3P or single phase. Other wise it will keep trip the MCB, RCD or blown the TNB fuse.
Boy96
post Yesterday, 11:42 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(Zaryl @ Dec 21 2025, 10:47 PM)
so in order to upgrade to 3 phase wiring, does it mean the WHOLE existing wiring inside house need to be replaced, or just the incoming main from TNB?

i am uncertain of the general process so please do enlighten as I might consider to upgrade for my semi D 1 storey house in the future.
No need la. Unless u trust mah bayu lol
s@ni
post Today, 12:07 AM

Gambar Di Lesen Kereta Saya
2,843 posts

QUOTE(skywardsword @ Dec 21 2025, 05:37 PM)
Btw I bought additional Fire insurance for my house after getting EV.

2nd year... The insurance company scared and just say drop my insurance...do not want my money.

What a bunch of loser insurance.

Muah drive LFP battery EV. So much for insurance company.
Thnak you for the info. 🤔🤔
andrekua2
post Today, 12:15 AM

13,493 posts

QUOTE(Zaryl @ Dec 21 2025, 10:47 PM)

Actually 3 phase is actually 3x single phase with different phase. A lot of house electrical items are actually single phase. Hence they are merely splitting the 3 phase into 3x single phase.

Unless you have actual electrical items that support and utilize the 3phase, you basically just split the phase into 3 single phase.. depends on how your electrician distribute the load.

An actual machinery with support for 3phase only will make a difference in wiring with 3 live and 1 neutral.... so in our home, I dont think much will chance except for distributing the load between the 3lines, ie one phase for living room and kitchen, one for water heater for example and another for all AC. There will be some changes but does not necessary mean you will need to change all wiring in your home.
andrekua2
post Today, 12:30 AM

13,493 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Dec 21 2025, 11:25 PM)

It is actually not that different from phone charging. The charger will communicate with the car before initiating the charging process. If the car can only take 7kw, it will only deliver 7kw even though the charger is rated for 11kw. On top of that, some cars also have the option to slow charge ie on my C10, there is an option to slow charge and according to SA, it drop the charging rate by 50%. It also had the scheduling when to start/stop charging (just plug in at home and the car decide when the charging start/stop) or stop charging after certain percentage.

Personally I dont think home charging is scary because it is just 7/11/22kw or even lower (Im currently using a 3pin charger which only charge at 1.8kw~~2kw). If I had to worry, I would worry about fast DC charger especially those above 100kw They must be generating a lot of heat during those short burst of 15minutes.
yhtan
post Today, 12:32 AM

8,653 posts

QUOTE(kaiserreich @ Dec 21 2025, 05:36 PM)
You expect someone buying proton emas 5 with at RM60k to spend almost 10% of car price to upgrade 3 phase? 😂

Expect more tnb fire issues.
The right way to address any charging capacity constraints without breaking the bank for 1-phase homes is to ensure
1. Proper installation by competent person with right size fusing
2. Load balanced wall charger which measures incoming current and lowers charging current accordingly. Feyree charger with such features is affordable.
TNB has given notice to all charger contractor that 1 phase can be limit at 15amp only, they still recommend EV owner upgrade to 3 phase

QUOTE(diffyhelman2 @ Dec 21 2025, 06:32 PM)
Hmm got fellow ktard bought emas. yhtan got upgrade house to 3 phase?
Of course ada 3 phase, assessment done by Proton authorize contractor which has ST license, if u didn't use the Proton authorize contractor then Proton has right to void all warranty.
yhtan
post Today, 12:42 AM

8,653 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Dec 21 2025, 07:40 PM)
There should be a law to compel EV owners to have 3rd party liability insurance should their car burn down and cause damages to property belonging to third parties
If ICE car caught fire does the car insurance company compensate? If yes then i think EV insurance cover the same

QUOTE(GOPI56 @ Dec 21 2025, 07:54 PM)
Yup, by default most of the home insurance does not cover it. You need to check with your insurance provider.

Then got some terms and conditions set by the insurance provider like;

1. The installation of EV charger follow guidelines set by suruhanjaya tenaga (ST)
2. The installation of EV charger is done by those certified and licensed professionals or contractors. (Keep their invoices, receipts, etc)
Yes home fire insurance doesn't cover it.

According to my car sales agent, fire caused by EV is covered by car insurance company.

junsheng
post Today, 12:59 AM

---> pokemon ftw <---
1,257 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Dec 21 2025, 11:23 PM)

do you even know what i'm talking about? doh.gif
there's no ev that come with active load management
the ev don't know how much load your house is currently dynamically using

regardless of how many A, if you're near the max limit, it's going to overload the circuit
to solve this issue is to use ev charger that come with active load management
it monitors household demand and automatically throttles charging allowed to the ev
so the total stays within the main breaker limit, single phase is 63 - 65A, 3 phase 100A with 33.33A individually

i still haven't talk about earthing requirements, pen faults, the use of proper rccd type & rated for ev charging yet

junsheng
post Today, 01:09 AM

---> pokemon ftw <---
1,257 posts

QUOTE(yhtan @ Dec 22 2025, 12:32 AM)
TNB has given notice to all charger contractor that 1 phase can be limit at 15amp only, they still recommend EV owner upgrade to 3 phase
Of course ada 3 phase, assessment done by Proton authorize contractor which has ST license, if u didn't use the Proton authorize contractor then Proton has right to void all warranty.
if you're already on 3 phase and already near the limit of 3 phase what you should do?
the TNB advise is invalid and money grab, doesn't solve the real problem where an active load management charger can do

get a proper charger like abb charger with modbus meter to enable active load management
it also come with the proper rated type rccd and you can even get the built in pen fault protection one for maximum protection

This post has been edited by junsheng: Today, 01:09 AM
yhtan
post Today, 01:26 AM

8,653 posts

QUOTE(junsheng @ Dec 22 2025, 01:09 AM)
if you're already on 3 phase and already near the limit of 3 phase what you should do?
the TNB advise is invalid and money grab, doesn't solve the real problem where an active load management charger can do

get a proper charger like abb charger with modbus meter to enable active load management
it also come with the proper rated type rccd and you can even get the built in pen fault protection one for maximum protection
If 3 phase near limit really gg liao

Proton punya free wall charger macam can only do manual load management, or set the amp setting at Proton apps/infotainment screen

junsheng
post Today, 01:37 AM

---> pokemon ftw <---
1,257 posts

QUOTE(yhtan @ Dec 22 2025, 01:26 AM)
If 3 phase near limit really gg liao

Proton punya free wall charger macam can only do manual load management, or set the amp setting at Proton apps/infotainment screen
that's why get a charger with active load management no need 3phase bullshit
get abb charger uk/iec version for maximum protection

if you listen to tnb or st that only know how to copy uk's bs7671 standard you're screwed
look at st latest homework, if want to copy, at least copy the latest one lah adui
https://www.st.gov.my/en/contents/files/dow...DISI%202025.pdf
yhtan
post Today, 01:41 AM

8,653 posts

QUOTE(junsheng @ Dec 22 2025, 01:37 AM)
that's why get a charger with active load management no need 3phase bullshit
get abb charger uk/iec version for maximum protection

if you listen to tnb or st that only know how to copy uk's bs7671 standard you're screwed
look at st latest homework, if want to copy, at least copy the latest one lah adui
https://www.st.gov.my/en/contents/files/dow...DISI%202025.pdf
I notice some EV car manufacturer didn't emphasize using the panel contractor, unlike Proton emphasize on the panel contractor or else void warranty

macam my friend beli Xpeng G6, it was quoted RM4k+ for the charger installation and my friend get a electrical contractor done with RM1k+, Bermaz didn't care about it also.
junsheng
post Today, 01:47 AM

---> pokemon ftw <---
1,257 posts

QUOTE(yhtan @ Dec 22 2025, 01:41 AM)
I notice some EV car manufacturer didn't emphasize using the panel contractor, unlike Proton emphasize on the panel contractor or else void warranty

macam my friend beli Xpeng G6, it was quoted RM4k+ for the charger installation and my friend get a electrical contractor done with RM1k+, Bermaz didn't care about it also.
i believe proton one is also for show, cause didn't heard pipul complaint

wft one rccd cost RM 1k, is the rccd made of gold?
or
wtf why i need to redo my earthing?

yet, so it's a ticking time bomb

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0141sec    0.33    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 06:22 AM