QUOTE(RT8081 @ Dec 21 2025, 05:19 PM)
the owner said smoke came out when her adik was starting the byd and inside itSo if house burned due to EV, insurance won’t, Cover ?
So if house burned due to EV, insurance won’t, Cover ?
Yesterday, 09:11 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
1,257 posts Joined: Apr 2011 From: Penang Malaysia, sometime KL |
QUOTE(RT8081 @ Dec 21 2025, 05:19 PM) the owner said smoke came out when her adik was starting the byd and inside it |
Yesterday, 09:13 PM
QUOTE(kaiserreich @ Dec 21 2025, 05:36 PM) You expect someone buying proton emas 5 with at RM60k to spend almost 10% of car price to upgrade 3 phase? 😂 this, not sure why malaysia gov didn't ban charger without load managementExpect more tnb fire issues. The right way to address any charging capacity constraints without breaking the bank for 1-phase homes is to ensure 1. Proper installation by competent person with right size fusing 2. Load balanced wall charger which measures incoming current and lowers charging current accordingly. Feyree charger with such features is affordable. |
Yesterday, 09:40 PM
QUOTE(ozak @ Dec 21 2025, 09:24 PM) yes, but it's not a safe charger, like my car zeekr give me free abb charger,the charger itself support load management, but you have to purchase the device separately if all the charger given can do load management out from the box, then the concern of overloading the circuit is eliminated |
Today, 12:59 AM
QUOTE(ozak @ Dec 21 2025, 11:23 PM) The charger don’t need a load management if the EV have it. And EV MUST have the management as it face all kind of charger in the country. do you even know what i'm talking about? But the charger must have the max it can output either in 3P or single phase. Other wise it will keep trip the MCB, RCD or blown the TNB fuse. there's no ev that come with active load management the ev don't know how much load your house is currently dynamically using regardless of how many A, if you're near the max limit, it's going to overload the circuit to solve this issue is to use ev charger that come with active load management it monitors household demand and automatically throttles charging allowed to the ev so the total stays within the main breaker limit, single phase is 63 - 65A, 3 phase 100A with 33.33A individually i still haven't talk about earthing requirements, pen faults, the use of proper rccd type & rated for ev charging yet |
Today, 01:09 AM
QUOTE(yhtan @ Dec 22 2025, 12:32 AM) TNB has given notice to all charger contractor that 1 phase can be limit at 15amp only, they still recommend EV owner upgrade to 3 phase if you're already on 3 phase and already near the limit of 3 phase what you should do?Of course ada 3 phase, assessment done by Proton authorize contractor which has ST license, if u didn't use the Proton authorize contractor then Proton has right to void all warranty. the TNB advise is invalid and money grab, doesn't solve the real problem where an active load management charger can do get a proper charger like abb charger with modbus meter to enable active load management it also come with the proper rated type rccd and you can even get the built in pen fault protection one for maximum protection This post has been edited by junsheng: Today, 01:09 AM |
Today, 01:37 AM
QUOTE(yhtan @ Dec 22 2025, 01:26 AM) If 3 phase near limit really gg liao that's why get a charger with active load management no need 3phase bullshitProton punya free wall charger macam can only do manual load management, or set the amp setting at Proton apps/infotainment screen get abb charger uk/iec version for maximum protection if you listen to tnb or st that only know how to copy uk's bs7671 standard you're screwed look at st latest homework, if want to copy, at least copy the latest one lah adui https://www.st.gov.my/en/contents/files/dow...DISI%202025.pdf ![]() |
Today, 01:47 AM
QUOTE(yhtan @ Dec 22 2025, 01:41 AM) I notice some EV car manufacturer didn't emphasize using the panel contractor, unlike Proton emphasize on the panel contractor or else void warranty i believe proton one is also for show, cause didn't heard pipul complaintmacam my friend beli Xpeng G6, it was quoted RM4k+ for the charger installation and my friend get a electrical contractor done with RM1k+, Bermaz didn't care about it also. wft one rccd cost RM 1k, is the rccd made of gold? or wtf why i need to redo my earthing? yet, so it's a ticking time bomb |
Today, 12:27 PM
QUOTE(kaiserreich @ Dec 22 2025, 08:49 AM) Some el cheapo installers are doing stupid shits like. actually you will need type b smooth dc detection with 6ma trip sensitivity easily cost upward of 1k and above if you're not using cheap chinese brands1. Use type AC Rccb ( instead of type A) 2. Upgrade tnb fuse to 100A to prevent fuse burn(only ok if wiring can support it. Most houses are not able to suport this 3. Direct tap from meter bypassing the main MCB and leaving protection to the tnb fuse only. Couple with method 2 and its a perfect recipe for disaster. Other risks 1.some old houses have degraded incoming tnb cables. Even at 25mm2 with load balanced charger, there was a fire event. 2. Loose connection on tnb neutral block, incoming junction box with elevated temperature. Expect more incoming tnb issues and insurance refusing coverage. Most people have no clue about all this if the charger come with smooth dc rccd with 6ma trip sensitivity then you only need type a, so you'll need the know the spec of your ev charger well another thing i didn't heard about inspection done by installer is earthing check pen fault protection to prevent electrocution when touching the car body chungf1 and kaiserreich liked this post
| Change to: | 0.0161sec
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 10:35 PM |