icemanfx
post Oct 7 2018, 02:01 PM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(Mattrock @ Oct 7 2018, 01:22 PM)
Just to re-align, let me repeat my question:

I am interested to invest in bonds (not bond fund) in Malaysia. I understand these are more commonly available to PB members. Which banks are best for this opportunity?

It is like asking which broker best to buy stocks. Not an exact science, just looking for opinions, so I can narrow down my PB list.
Unless one's money is from windfall, most if not all private clients migrated/upgraded from privilege/priority. If one is a privilege/priority customer and aum qualified for private, private rm would hijack over.

If one's aum is qualified for private and private is not available, could call up private of other Banks, RM would be more than happy to chat.

icemanfx
post Oct 7 2018, 05:04 PM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Oct 7 2018, 02:17 PM)
I think bond is different from share broker.

As far as I know, bond is underwritten by a bank (or syndicated banks). So, a bond from a company may be available for us to buy from only those bank/syndicated banks which underwrites it.

Whereas once you open an account with a stock broker, you can buy all the counters in that market. So, for a broker, they offer same products for you to buy.

On the other hand, for bonds, not all banks offer each and every bonds in issue

That's why I said choices, range, risk return are important consideration for PB. If you go with a bank, during a certain period, they may not have the bond that suits you.
Goldman Sachs, Morgan Stanley and JP Morgan are very active in i.b side of business, have plenty of bond to offer.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Oct 7 2018, 05:05 PM
icemanfx
post Oct 7 2018, 09:27 PM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(drbone @ Oct 7 2018, 08:42 PM)
I wasn’t asking about bonds offered here. I was asking about the part where it was suggested to go to Singapore for bonds.
QUOTE(icemanfx @ Oct 7 2018, 05:04 PM)
Goldman Sachs, Morgan Stanley and JP Morgan are very active in i.b side of business, have plenty of bond to offer.
The sky is your limit.

icemanfx
post Oct 21 2018, 12:36 PM

21,457 posts

46,702 UHNW and HNW individuals collectively only amount to 0.2 per cent (not even the proverbial 1 per cent) of the 21.372 million adults in Malaysia.

The remaining 99.8 per cent Malaysian adults have a wealth that either touches or falls below US$1 million (RM4.16 million), with the bulk or 60.6 per cent with wealth below US$10,000, while 36.2 per cent have wealth of US$10,000-US$100,000, and three per cent at the higher wealth range of US$100,000-US$1 million.

Malaysia also has a relatively high Gini index value of 82 per cent based on the wealth distribution patterns among Malaysian adults, which suggests high wealth inequality.

https://www.malaymail.com/s/1685061/malaysi...-whos-wealthier

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Oct 21 2018, 12:40 PM
icemanfx
post Oct 23 2018, 05:00 AM

21,457 posts

Credit Suisse is specialized in investment banking and wealth management, understand about hnw and uhnw include undeclared wealth better than most. Wealth data compiled by them may not accurate to single decimal point or 10% variance but certainly more reflective than nitpicking syok sendiri analyst.

High gini index and high households debt attributed to lower than expected hnw individuals in this country.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Oct 23 2018, 05:16 AM
icemanfx
post Oct 23 2018, 05:06 AM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(flight @ Oct 22 2018, 06:21 PM)
Theres probably a lot more individuals than what is written in the report. Just a single residential property can easily exceed a million. What more the industrial properties and all the land owners.

Having a net worth of usd1mil is impressive, but i think its a lot more pervasive than what is stated in the report. I find it hard to believe that only 0.2% has above usd 1million.
Market value and net worth is two different matters. With high households debt and high gini index, it is not hard to believe fewer than expected hnwi.

How many % of personal banking clients qualified for priority/privilege?

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Oct 23 2018, 05:18 AM
icemanfx
post Oct 23 2018, 12:05 PM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Oct 23 2018, 06:26 AM)
Numbers compiled with “poor wealth data quality” give poor estimation

While numbers compiled with “good wealth data quality”, like singapore and other oecd countries give realiable estimation

Credit Suisse acknowledged malaysia’s Wealth data quality is poor
QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Oct 23 2018, 06:36 AM)
My RMs in Singapore fly to Malaysia 1-2 times every month. There are a few teams in the the bank which service overseas clients. I understand all the Sg banks do that. From there you can see there are soo many rich people in Malaysia. They may not be PB customers in malaysia, but they could be PB customers in overseas banks
This is not the first time/year cs compiled the wealth report. from their private banking operation and people movement in the industry, they have a good estimate of hnwi and uhnwi which is consistent with this report. malaysia data quality may be poor, instead of 5% accuracy, it could be 20% or even 30% accuracy, which is a good enough estimate and certainly a better estimate than a nitpicking syok sendiri analyst.

one usually a local bank priority/privilege customer before becoming priority/privilege customer of sg bank, where aum is higher and not all people meet by sg rm will become customer. A criteria for sg RM to choose who to meet is existing priority customers.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Oct 23 2018, 12:23 PM
icemanfx
post Jun 9 2019, 11:07 PM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(Mattrock @ Jun 9 2019, 08:29 PM)
Any reason why UOB Privilege is 500k? Anything extra or more added value services compared to others, or are they  just being more selective?
AUM in this country is among if not the lowest in the region. It is a matter of time, foreign banks will rise minimum aum.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Jun 9 2019, 11:09 PM
icemanfx
post Jun 11 2019, 11:39 PM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(Tellmeyourstory @ Jun 11 2019, 12:53 PM)
been searching the thread.

Wondering does any of the banks include share investment using their platform to qualify as AUM?
DBS treasures.

icemanfx
post Jul 2 2019, 07:31 AM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(donhay @ Jul 1 2019, 04:11 PM)
I was wondering, those who are priority customer with a bank. May I know what's the benefits do you get? and how's your Relationship manager?

For me, I got Hong Leong, actually nothing terrific.

My RM help me to diversify my portfolio and introduce me to a structure product investment, which are ok. Then he keep introducing other investments. He also help me do my FD when FD mature, i don't have to q.
When in the branch, some HL branch have priority lane, but still have to q
Earning commission and fees.

QUOTE(Boomwick @ Jul 2 2019, 12:24 AM)
Dont u find HLB punya RM turnover rate very fast?
Mine is keep changing.. RM also didnt bother to contact  me...
If want better service, join private bank. RM typically only serve a few tens clients instead of a few hundred of privilege/priority.
icemanfx
post Jul 2 2019, 06:45 PM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(il0ve51 @ Jul 2 2019, 10:27 AM)
Nowadays they seldom host even for free makan & investment talk. Last time got many i accompany my father. Then when i qualify to become PB, no much this perk liao.

Now im Ambank, CIMB & Alliance.
Any bank that always got free makan & investment talk?
Banks still organize events to promote their products regularly. Just that only invite those deem qualified or likely to buy to attend.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Jul 2 2019, 07:24 PM
icemanfx
post Jul 13 2019, 12:17 PM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(Yggdrasil @ Jul 13 2019, 05:05 AM)
Just curious, anyone who qualify for Maybank's Private banking here? Haha
Qualify and a client of is different matter. Self qualified could be syok sendiri.

Private bank customers receive market update/research regularly. Perhaps you could share a few here.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Jul 14 2019, 10:40 PM
icemanfx
post Jul 18 2019, 04:35 PM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(Yggdrasil @ Jul 13 2019, 05:05 AM)
Just curious, anyone who qualify for Maybank's Private banking here? Haha
QUOTE(icemanfx @ Jul 15 2019, 08:47 PM)
24 y.o and laugh at other for not a private bank customer?
QUOTE(Yggdrasil @ Jul 15 2019, 08:49 PM)
Out of context. Was just curious if anyone in that thread was a private banking customer. 'Haha' was used to break the ice.
icemanfx
post Jul 18 2019, 07:56 PM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(zenquix @ Jul 18 2019, 11:59 AM)
QUOTE(csbong87 @ Jul 18 2019, 07:26 PM)

100k:100k fd:ut (min)

Wow.
Mean sc subsidize/top up fd interest with ut commission.
icemanfx
post Aug 2 2019, 11:08 AM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(primus2211 @ Aug 2 2019, 07:46 AM)
Thanks for feedback folks, after checking around with private banker from MBB, CIMB and OCBC, quite conclusive that all the banks seems to have struck a deal with DPC for 4.15%  laugh.gif
icemanfx
post Aug 2 2019, 11:16 AM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(CardNoob @ Aug 2 2019, 11:10 AM)
A deal with DPC for 4.15%?
What does DPC mean?
Home loan at desa Park City.
icemanfx
post Aug 28 2019, 07:46 PM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(oldman1920 @ Aug 28 2019, 07:40 PM)
Good FD rate, door to door service. Btw, what is requirements? Is it RM 1mil AUM ?
Bank of Singapore offer a good range of bonds, higher yield than fd. Their RM visit KL fairly regularly.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Aug 28 2019, 07:46 PM
icemanfx
post Aug 30 2019, 01:07 PM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(CardNoob @ Aug 29 2019, 07:06 PM)
Talking about service quality.
I think UOB customer service should be well above average.
Even though I'm not their priority/privilege/private banking customer, the home branch that I have my SA/FD called to me to remind me that my e-FD is going to mature very soon and ask me to present on 9/7 or 9/21 to renew my FD at a higher rate than the board rate.

This is so opposite compared to discriminating service that I received from Citi Priority.
QUOTE(VinceCheong @ Aug 29 2019, 07:27 PM)
Hahaah you mean sillybank... yeah idk why KL’s Citibank feels so, below par average from our local priority banking. Even SINGAPORE’s CitiGold is way more professional and courteous than ours.
QUOTE(CardNoob @ Aug 29 2019, 07:30 PM)
With Shitibank Priority now, having a RM is not having one at all.
The RM just pushed my request to the CitiPhone or cash counter as my request doesn't reach above the threshold; thus I need to DIY.
I was like WTF; this is not what she told me when I signed up.
Citi priority the lowest tier of "priority" banking. Each RM is assigned over a thousand account and they have monthly revenue target. For personalized service, one could choose citigold tier.
icemanfx
post Aug 30 2019, 01:26 PM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(CardNoob @ Aug 30 2019, 01:22 PM)
Why other bank can do and they couldn't?
A normal banker will call me to remind me for upcoming e-FD maturing and offering higher interest for OTC placement.
FD amount is not very big at all.
That depends on how many account the RM handle and what are her priority and target. When you called, she could be in meeting, training or attending to customer.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Aug 30 2019, 01:28 PM
icemanfx
post Aug 30 2019, 01:50 PM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(CardNoob @ Aug 30 2019, 01:28 PM)
What I dislike is that she just wants to sell UT/retail bond to me.
And she doesn't disclose everything properly and pushes the request to CitiPhone or cashier counter which is not what she said during sign up.
I don't mind if she doesn't call/approach me for any deal but when I contact her, at least could assist on the request.
She has target to meet; similarly for uob rm. For reasons, banks segregate customers to different tiers, so could market their products more efficiently. If you don't like RM selling products could choose banks RM that are not commission based e.g bos.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0797sec    0.78    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 05:43 AM