QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Oct 27 2025, 06:24 PM)
I just knew bout this fttr transparent optical cable, wonder how much does it cost? Yea it definitely looks neat and tidy ππWifi coverage for 1000sqft
Wifi coverage for 1000sqft
Oct 27 2025, 07:16 PM
17,711 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: Bandar Baru Bangi , Malaysia |
QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Oct 27 2025, 06:24 PM) I just knew bout this fttr transparent optical cable, wonder how much does it cost? Yea it definitely looks neat and tidy ππ johnnyg liked this post
Oct 27 2025, 07:33 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
7,820 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Ipoh |
QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Oct 27 2025, 06:18 PM) I think cheapest ASUS triband wifi router brand new would be ASUS RT-BE92U, around RM1150 With just 2x2 transmission unable to push higher speed. And 6Ghz is almost pointless for big space. It only work best in very short distance without wall blocking signal. Higher frequency gives us larger packet transmission but lose out on distance cause the higher the frequency the shorter the signal is. Thats why all IoT devices uses 2.4Ghz heavily.With this spec I think it should last for another 5 years plus and beyond 2.4GHz 3x3 5GHz 2x2 6GHz 2x2 256 MB Flash and 1 GB DDR4 RAM |
Oct 27 2025, 08:10 PM
1,902 posts Joined: Sep 2012 |
QUOTE(jimmylim85 @ Oct 27 2025, 07:33 PM) With just 2x2 transmission unable to push higher speed. And 6Ghz is almost pointless for big space. It only work best in very short distance without wall blocking signal. Higher frequency gives us larger packet transmission but lose out on distance cause the higher the frequency the shorter the signal is. Thats why all IoT devices uses 2.4Ghz heavily. in that case, better get ROG Rapture GT-AX11000 PRO ( RM2,100 )Tri-band Wi-Fi: 2.4 GHz / 5 GHz-1 / 5 GHz-2 2.4GHz 4x4 5GHz-1 4x4 5GHz-2 4x4 256MB NAND flash and 1GB DDR4 RAM --------- ![]() in minute 14:00 , can see that guy do the speed test outside the house. demmmm This post has been edited by JimbeamofNRT: Oct 27 2025, 08:22 PM |
Oct 27 2025, 08:26 PM
QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Oct 27 2025, 07:16 PM) I just knew bout this fttr transparent optical cable, wonder how much does it cost? Yea it definitely looks neat and tidy ππ TIME offer the FTTR service to their 500Mbps, 600Mbps and 1Gbps subscribers.https://www.time.com.my/for-home/gig-speed-home? |
Oct 27 2025, 08:44 PM
QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Oct 27 2025, 08:26 PM) TIME offer the FTTR service to their 500Mbps, 600Mbps and 1Gbps subscribers. That's good, at least i knew time got such service, currently im on unifi, still get good speed from my room ππhttps://www.time.com.my/for-home/gig-speed-home? JimbeamofNRT liked this post
Oct 27 2025, 08:48 PM
Oct 27 2025, 08:50 PM
552 posts Joined: Aug 2010 |
QUOTE(kopiride @ Oct 24 2025, 12:42 PM) Along the years, I have accumulated routers from internet subscription. What I do is just connect a lan cable from main router, then plug into the wan port in another router near my room. So I will connect to my room router wifi instead. I don't even need to spend a dime, except buying lan cable 20M cat8. I can't figure out why people want to waste money on mesh. I like your idea, can u draw in pictures for better understanding?For your case, If u going my way, I believe u can route the lan cable behind your tv cabinet from the floor, then up to your balcony curtain hiding the wires behind the rail, then come back down on the floor edge and go to master room. Or u can go further over the door edge to your bedroom 2. If u have false ceiling that has opening, easier to hide the cable |
Oct 27 2025, 09:08 PM
QUOTE(kopiride @ Oct 24 2025, 12:42 PM) Along the years, I have accumulated routers from internet subscription. What I do is just connect a lan cable from main router, then plug into the wan port in another router near my room. So I will connect to my room router wifi instead. I don't even need to spend a dime, except buying lan cable 20M cat8. I can't figure out why people want to waste money on mesh. - because router degraded over time. stock router are notorious on this part.For your case, If u going my way, I believe u can route the lan cable behind your tv cabinet from the floor, then up to your balcony curtain hiding the wires behind the rail, then come back down on the floor edge and go to master room. Or u can go further over the door edge to your bedroom 2. If u have false ceiling that has opening, easier to hide the cable - because not everyone have same house layout like yours - i cant stand to see fugly cables around my house. even it is a white flat LAN cables what makes you think buying CAT 8 cables can guarantee you better speed? Cat 8 lan cables delivers 40 Gbps speeds and 2GHz bandwidth your stock router cant even get that speed bro. it is like using pirelli p zero on kancil 660 automatic This post has been edited by JimbeamofNRT: Oct 27 2025, 09:10 PM |
Oct 27 2025, 09:32 PM
QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Oct 27 2025, 08:48 PM) as long the ping is low, should be allright. what router you are using now, if u dont mind sharing the info with us? Just unifi standard router only, forgot what brand, soon will be upgrading to asus tuf ax4200The current router just infront of my room only ππ JimbeamofNRT liked this post
Oct 28 2025, 12:05 AM
QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Oct 27 2025, 08:10 PM) in that case, better get ROG Rapture GT-AX11000 PRO ( RM2,100 ) Dual 5Ghz band is good for AiMesh wireless setup as the second 5Ghz act as backhaul transmission for mesh router to avoid sharing bandwidth with first 5Ghz which bound with all your devices. Honestly I wonβt spend 2K on a router when gaming. Iβm happy with my current TUF AX6000 setup. Cause my AiMesh is link via Ethernet cable for backhaul usage. Besides my PCIE WiFi card is Intel AX210 which is WiFi6E way sufficient.Tri-band Wi-Fi: 2.4 GHz / 5 GHz-1 / 5 GHz-2 2.4GHz 4x4 5GHz-1 4x4 5GHz-2 4x4 256MB NAND flash and 1GB DDR4 RAM --------- ![]() in minute 14:00 , can see that guy do the speed test outside the house. demmmm JimbeamofNRT liked this post
Oct 28 2025, 02:25 AM
782 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Oct 27 2025, 09:08 PM) - because router degraded over time. stock router are notorious on this part. its obvious that is your problem and is just my suggestion which i am using btw. Works wonder, cheap and good. Cat 8 cables are cheap now. I don't see any wrong going for Cat 5 or 6 but i just like Cat 8. Again your problem doesnt mean is other peoples problem. Some might like my suggestion.- because not everyone have same house layout like yours - i cant stand to see fugly cables around my house. even it is a white flat LAN cables what makes you think buying CAT 8 cables can guarantee you better speed? Cat 8 lan cables delivers 40 Gbps speeds and 2GHz bandwidth your stock router cant even get that speed bro. it is like using pirelli p zero on kancil 660 automatic why do i care about router degration. Every 2,3 years ISP changes for you. FIFO. Best thing is it works 100% without issue. U dig? |
Oct 28 2025, 02:33 AM
782 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Oct 28 2025, 08:13 AM
QUOTE(jimmylim85 @ Oct 28 2025, 12:05 AM) Dual 5Ghz band is good for AiMesh wireless setup as the second 5Ghz act as backhaul transmission for mesh router to avoid sharing bandwidth with first 5Ghz which bound with all your devices. Honestly I wonβt spend 2K on a router when gaming. Iβm happy with my current TUF AX6000 setup. Cause my AiMesh is link via Ethernet cable for backhaul usage. Besides my PCIE WiFi card is Intel AX210 which is WiFi6E way sufficient. it is kinda overkill, but might be useful for those who have plenty of iot devices, especially on landed propertyany specific reason why u dont use lan cable to your pc? This post has been edited by JimbeamofNRT: Oct 28 2025, 08:14 AM |
Oct 29 2025, 11:50 AM
QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Oct 28 2025, 08:13 AM) it is kinda overkill, but might be useful for those who have plenty of iot devices, especially on landed property Not really, even how many IoT devices you had, most of it connects to your 2.4GHz band. Modern WiFi6 router design to handle around 256 connection. any specific reason why u dont use lan cable to your pc? My own preference against using LAN due limited bandwidth to 1Gbps even though provide the lowest ping ms but somehow WiFI6 protocol able to mitigate this issue hence WiFI6 especially the ones to connect to pci express lane able to max out 2.4Gbps (requires 160mhz band) and my gaming experience had zero issue. Besides less one cable to worry about lightning damage. Although my modem router are protected by Belkin SurgeMaster. |
| Change to: | 0.0175sec
5 queries
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 05:46 AM |