Why so many pipu judge TS requirement? I bet TS is very well aware that wired is superior, yet still many captain obvious despite serious kopitiam
Nothing wrong with wireless, I suggest you look into two triband units and try for yourself. Why triband? So that you can have a dedicated wireless backhaul that is mostly reserved for communication among routers(Asus aimesh), client won't eat into available wireless bandwidth.
As dest9116 mentioned, 6GHz's wall penetration capability is inherently inferior, so try to get two units of router with this setup, two 5GHz radios and one 2.4GHz radio.
This post has been edited by imalmighty: Oct 25 2025, 12:16 PM
Along the years, I have accumulated routers from internet subscription. What I do is just connect a lan cable from main router, then plug into the wan port in another router near my room. So I will connect to my room router wifi instead. I don't even need to spend a dime, except buying lan cable 20M cat8. I can't figure out why people want to waste money on mesh.
For your case, If u going my way, I believe u can route the lan cable behind your tv cabinet from the floor, then up to your balcony curtain hiding the wires behind the rail, then come back down on the floor edge and go to master room. Or u can go further over the door edge to your bedroom 2.
If u have false ceiling that has opening, easier to hide the cable
when on 2.4GHz, try experimenting with different channels and see if it can improve matters in the other rooms. wifi from external 2.4GHz sources on the same channel can cause congestion, slowing down your network.
Forget about using 2.4ghz in a condo... only 11 channels available and everyone turned on dual channel. Interference on 2.4ghz is too great unless you really need to connect smart home devices.
5Ghz should have no problem reaching your room unless you use a thick metal based door. You dont even need to move the router imo. Just place it on the edge of the living room wall nearing your rooms. That should do it.
If still got problem, then login to your router and see can lower the 5ghz channel to dual digits like 40, 44 or 48. That would help.
This post has been edited by andrekua2: Oct 26 2025, 04:26 PM
Recently bought a ASUS TUF AX6000 from Shopee for rm 400 brand new. Fantastic coverage and able to support my 1GBps package without issue. Main reason to get this is because it have 4x4 transmit 5Ghz band and 4x4 2.4GHz Band. It have 6 antennas. I have no faith in TPLINK
QUOTE(jimmylim85 @ Oct 26 2025, 09:26 PM)
Recently bought a ASUS TUF AX6000 from Shopee for rm 400 brand new. Fantastic coverage and able to support my 1GBps package without issue. Main reason to get this is because it have 4x4 transmit 5Ghz band and 4x4 2.4GHz Band. It have 6 antennas. I have no faith in TPLINK
Care to share link, thinking to upgrade mine too πππ
Alternatively can consider TUF AX4200 pricing around rm 420-450. Itβs a 3x3 antenna band configuration which is good. BlackTubi had review this model and give very positive feedback on performance. Normally those AX3000 provided by ISP are just barebones specification with 2x2 antenna bands which limits its potential speed and performance. Those days we thought Broadcom chipset is the best turns out Mediatek ainβt bad either. Worst experience Iβve had is TP-LINK AX20 AX3000 using Intel chipset.
I'll go for asus, i will google both variants that you recommend, thank you ππππ
Hi I need advise on my home Wifi network coverage in 1000sqft condo
Problem : In living room using 5Ghz network I can get full speed 500mbps, but when I moved to Bedroom 2 or Master room I can only get <10% of the speed even with full Wifi signal with help from Mesh extender RE305 connected via WPS. Even with 2.4Ghz netowork I observed more than 50% drop in speed when I use it at bedroom 2 or master bedroom.
Current machine : Unifi provided D-link AX3000 @ Living room TV area marked in red Extender : TP-link RE305 plugged at Bedroom 2 marked in red
I tried seek opinion from TP-link official store in Lazada, they suggested to me to get TP-Link Deco X20 or X50 2 units, 1 put next to main modem and another replacing the position in my bedroom 2, but before I actually invest in to this which may cost me about RM600+ anyone can give some opinion about this setup? I don't want to end up spent half k with no convincing result, I'm aiming at 80% speed at those dead zone if that is realistic.
I live in 3 storey hse. I invested in 4 mesh Decos, one in each floor and also in my working room. Setel. Buy masa 11/11, 12/12.
Forget about using 2.4ghz in a condo... only 11 channels available and everyone turned on dual channel. Interference on 2.4ghz is too great unless you really need to connect smart home devices.
5Ghz should have no problem reaching your room unless you use a thick metal based door. You dont even need to move the router imo. Just place it on the edge of the living room wall nearing your rooms. That should do it.
If still got problem, then login to your router and see can lower the 5ghz channel to dual digits like 40, 44 or 48. That would help.
Unfortunately 5GHz memang very weak for condo use. I'm using Asus Tuff 4200 which is known good signal, and it's struggling with 5GHz. Just one wall will be enough to cut down the signal drastically.
I'll go for asus, i will google both variants that you recommend, thank you ππππ
Yeah, ASUS have one of the best router in the market. Itβs AiMesh is one of the most user friendly setup where you can use any model router to pair AiMesh unlike some brand require the same model.
QUOTE(mushigen @ Oct 27 2025, 11:52 AM)
Unfortunately 5GHz memang very weak for condo use. I'm using Asus Tuff 4200 which is known good signal, and it's struggling with 5GHz. Just one wall will be enough to cut down the signal drastically.
Try play around with the 5GHz channels. If you require wide area try use 80Mhz for few walls as 160MHz gives you the best speed throughput but short range. Usually I use channel 60 or channel 160 for DFS.
QUOTE(jimmylim85 @ Oct 27 2025, 01:40 PM)
Yeah, ASUS have one of the best router in the market. Itβs AiMesh is one of the most user friendly setup where you can use any model router to pair AiMesh unlike some brand require the same model.
QUOTE(Kiding @ Oct 27 2025, 02:05 PM)
I'm using tp link ceiling mount wifi 7 AP mounted at the center of condo unit, just a single AP powered by POE covers entire 1150 square feet area.
the best position for the layout in this thread is installing ceiling mounted WIFI 7 AP nearby dining area, it will covers all corners. the ceiling mounted WiFi 7 AP looks similar like below model
Hi I need advise on my home Wifi network coverage in 1000sqft condo
Problem : In living room using 5Ghz networkΒ I can get full speed 500mbps, but when I moved to Bedroom 2 or Master room I can only get <10% of the speed even with full Wifi signal with help from Mesh extender RE305 connected via WPS. Even with 2.4Ghz netowork I observed more than 50% drop in speed when I use it at bedroom 2 or master bedroom.
Current machine : Unifi provided D-link AX3000 @ Living room TV area marked in red Extender : TP-link RE305 plugged at Bedroom 2 marked in red
I tried seek opinion from TP-link official store in Lazada, they suggested to me to get TP-Link Deco X20 or X50 2 units, 1 put next to main modem and another replacing the position in my bedroom 2, but before I actually invest in to this which may cost me about RM600+ anyone can give some opinion about this setup? I don't want to end up spent half k with no convincing result, I'm aiming at 80% speed at those dead zone if that is realistic.
- comes with 5 internal antenna - MIMO technology 2.4GHz 2x2 5GHz 3x3 - 128 MB Flash,512 MB RAM , should be able to handle normal traffics+ - got USB 3.2 Gen 1 x 1, USB 2.0 x 1
This post has been edited by JimbeamofNRT: Oct 27 2025, 06:13 PM
Why so many pipu judge TS requirement? I bet TS is very well aware that wired is superior, yet still many captain obvious despite serious kopitiam
Nothing wrong with wireless, I suggest you look into two triband units and try for yourself. Why triband? So that you can have a dedicated wireless backhaul that is mostly reserved for communication among routers(Asus aimesh), client won't eat into available wireless bandwidth.
As dest9116 mentioned, 6GHz's wall penetration capability is inherently inferior, so try to get two units of router with this setup, two 5GHz radios and one 2.4GHz radio.
I think cheapest ASUS triband wifi router brand new would be ASUS RT-BE92U, around RM1150 With this spec I think it should last for another 5 years plus and beyond