Barista or Coffee Lovers please come in, Milk Discussion

TSHumanExtinction
post Oct 13 2025, 12:41 AM, updated 2 months ago

364 posts

Hi everyone, would like to ask generally what brand of Milk do you use for latte or any other milk based coffee drinks?

Lately, I've been thinking of switching from normal milk to barista milk. Normally I would just buy lotus or Dutch lady brand full cream milk and use it for my latte. I've been wondering all these time is there any differences between the two? Saw online people comparing barista milk will taste more balanced and normal milk will overpower the coffee and thus made the coffee more sour. Other than that I can't really find any more info. Have anyone can taste the difference?

Cause from time to time I saw cafes or coffee chain store they will also only use normal milk like farm fresh brand to make latte/cappuccino etc.

This post has been edited by HumanExtinction: Oct 17 2025, 10:34 PM
silverhawk
post Oct 13 2025, 12:58 AM

Eyes on Target
4,955 posts

I can't say that I've seen much difference using "barista" milk from normal milk like farmhouse.

However I can tell you that there is a texture difference using farm fresh vs farm house.
knumskul
post Oct 13 2025, 02:13 AM

783 posts

I can't taste much difference when using different milk but I only avoid using HL milk as that gives my coffee some weird taste
WongTheThief
post Oct 13 2025, 03:03 AM

215 posts

Used to be a barista for 4 years.

Really makes a lot of difference if you plan to do latte art if you use full cream milk/fresh milk vs low fat milk

Taste wise depend on how you heat up the milk, if you heat up the milk above 70c then the milk taste start to disappear already.

The milk I like the best is this UHT milk (picture below), but expensive, each at RM18+. I think now it's RM20+ already. The store I worked on before don't buy these barista milks as the store only buy this and also Magnolia fresh milk

Pugbunny
post Oct 13 2025, 04:18 AM

717 posts

My WiFi use either Dutch lady or Farm fresh milk only
Ramjade
post Oct 13 2025, 06:40 AM

24,327 posts

QUOTE(HumanExtinction @ Oct 13 2025, 12:41 AM)
Hi everyone, would like to ask generally what brand of Milk do you use for latte or any other milk based coffee drinks?

Lately, I've been thinking of switching from normal milk to barista milk. Normally I would just buy lotus or Dutch lady brand full cream milk and use it for my latte. I've been wondering all these time is there any differences between the two? Saw online people comparing barista milk will taste more balanced and normal milk will overpower the coffee and thus made the coffee more sour. Other than that I can't really find any more info. Have anyone can taste the difference?

Cause from time to time I saw cafes or coffee chain store they will also only use normal milk like farm fresh brand to make latte/cappuccino etc.

Just marketing. If you want best health benefits, goat milk, DIY almond and soya milk..Do not buy ready make soya or almond milk.
waters
post Oct 13 2025, 06:51 AM

310 posts

QUOTE(WongTheThief @ Oct 13 2025, 03:03 AM)

Really makes a lot of difference if you plan to do latte art if you use full cream milk/fresh milk vs low fat milk

Taste wise depend on how you heat up the milk, if you heat up the milk above 70c then the milk taste start to disappear already.

The milk I like the best is this UHT milk (picture below), but expensive, each at RM18+. I think now it's RM20+ already. The store I worked on before don't buy these barista milks as the store only buy this and also Magnolia fresh milk

Uht is about rm8-9. 7.5 on good days
Fresh is about rm12.7. Approx 11 on good days
maxpudding
post Oct 13 2025, 07:38 AM

158 posts

Yeah milk can change the tastes of coffee

I have tried many different brands of milk available on the market, from Australian brands to local brands.

Being in Sabah, I am fortunate to have access to sabah’s own brand of milk, desa fresh milk and eco-yap farm fresh milk.

Eco-yap bulldozed all those other brands by huge difference.

Didn’t surprise me when I saw a couple of coffee houses in KL bought few boxes of eco-yaps to try. It is really good.
lj0000
post Oct 13 2025, 07:50 AM

2,197 posts

havent seen the nutrient list.
i think the difference would be the protein and fat content
higher protein makes better foam
higher fat make it creamy
ryder_78
post Oct 13 2025, 07:56 AM

2,020 posts

Normally I would just buy lotus or Dutch lady brand full cream milk and use it for my latte. I've been wondering all these time is there any differences between the two? Saw online people comparing barista milk will taste more balanced and normal milk will overpower the coffee and thus made the coffee more sour. Other than that I can't really find any more info. Have anyone can taste the difference?

I presume it will depend on personal preference on which milk tastes best with your coffee. It's the same with which brand of coffee you like best, whether it's Nescafe Gold, Alta Rica, Moccona or something else.

Based on my experience and preference, Dutch Lady Full Cream milk tastes best when mixed with any coffee. The aroma of the milk is the strongest when compared to Farm Fresh milk and Lotus full cream milk. Farm Fresh milk comes in 2nd with its pure taste, the strength of the milk with Farm Fresh is less when mixed with coffee in other words the milk doesn't overpower the coffee too much. Coming in last is Lotus full cream milk as the impact it has to the coffee is the least. To exaggerate, adding milk to the coffee is like adding water to the coffee.

So in summary, if adding milk to coffee, for me it's Dutch Lady Full Cream > Farm Fresh > Lotus Fresh milk. Usually I consume Farm Fresh milk directly without adding the milk to any type of beverages whether it's coffee, Milo or tea. It's the same with Lotus full cream milk as I prefer to consume it directly. Unless I don't have Dutch Lady in the fridge, then I'll use whatever milk I have to coffee, tea or other beverages.

For pure milk taste, Farm Fresh is best so I consume it directly pure just like it is. Lotus full cream milk and Dutch Lady full cream milk are not as pure as Farm fresh milk as the taste is slightly different, not too sure what they add to the milk. Also, if you are sensitive, you will notice that Dutch Lady and Lotus milk is slightly thicker than the more diluted Farm Fresh milk. Likely some preservative is added to the milk as the expiry date is longer. Farm fresh milk I usually buy the chilled ones where the expiry is usually about 2 weeks. With Dutch Lady and Lotus full cream milk 1 litre packed, the expiry is 6 months to 1 year.
ryder_78
post Oct 13 2025, 08:01 AM

2,020 posts

The milk I like the best is this UHT milk (picture below), but expensive, each at RM18+. I think now it's RM20+ already.
RM20+ for 1 litre of milk is surely premium price. Farm Fresh milk 2L is only RM13+ while Lotus full cream milk 1L is RM4.99 tongue.gif
ryder_78
post Oct 13 2025, 08:11 AM

2,020 posts

QUOTE(knumskul @ Oct 13 2025, 02:13 AM)
I can't taste much difference when using different milk but I only avoid using HL milk as that gives my coffee some weird taste
Can you differentiate the taste of various milk if you consume it directly rather than adding to the tea? In my experience the taste of milk varies and I can easily tell them apart. I've forgotten the brand of milk I've "banned" due to the weird or poor taste. The 1L milk packed in boxes, among them are Fernleaf, Goodday and Marigold, I stopped buying after trying them many years ago, likely more than 15 years ago. Nowadays I only buy 3 brands which are Farm Fresh fresh milk (chilled in the fridge with expiry 2 to 3 weeks), Dutch Lady Full Cream milk 1L and Lotus full cream milk. These milk taste best to me without any weird taste. Farm Fresh milk tastes most pure and is best consumed directly, followed by Dutch Lady which is the best milk to be added to beverages such as coffee, tea or Milo (there is some flavouring added I guess), and lastly Lotus full cream milk which is the cheapest milk without any weird taste.
marvinben
post Oct 13 2025, 08:44 AM

249 posts

Barista milk got added some oil in it to stabilize microfoam. I dont like the taste at all. If you dont care about microfoam, these are UHT that I found taste best for latte:
1. Yarra UHT
2. Goodday UHT
3. Dutch Lady Full Cream UHT

These taste absolute shit but microfoam like a champ for latte art:
1. Milklab
2. Yarra Barista
3. Dutch Lady Professional

If you want fresh pasteurized and homogenized milk, go for these:
1. ECO YAP (I think this is East Malaysian thing)
2. Farm Fresh fresh milk

Desa Milk from Sabah doesnt taste good for latte.
ry8128
post Oct 13 2025, 08:47 AM

♣Just a noob♣
3,632 posts

QUOTE(silverhawk @ Oct 13 2025, 12:58 AM)
I can't say that I've seen much difference using "barista" milk from normal milk like farmhouse.

However I can tell you that there is a texture difference using farm fresh vs farm house.
Which one taste better between ff and fh?
ry8128
post Oct 13 2025, 08:49 AM

♣Just a noob♣
3,632 posts

1L or 2L? If 1L, unlikely so expensive. Jaya selling around rm13-14 for 1L.

QUOTE(ryder_78 @ Oct 13 2025, 08:01 AM)
RM20+ for 1 litre of milk is surely premium price. Farm Fresh milk 2L is only RM13+ while Lotus full cream milk 1L is RM4.99  tongue.gif

Ff u can't get 13 unless it's promotion. Normal price is 16.20 laugh.gif
ozak
post Oct 13 2025, 08:54 AM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(maxpudding @ Oct 13 2025, 07:38 AM)

I have tried many different brands of milk available on the market, from Australian brands to local brands.

Being in Sabah, I am fortunate to have access to sabah’s own brand of milk, desa fresh milk and eco-yap farm fresh milk.

Didn’t surprise me when I saw a couple of coffee houses in KL bought few boxes of eco-yaps to try. It is really good.
Avaiable in KL?
ryder_78
post Oct 13 2025, 08:54 AM

2,020 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Oct 13 2025, 08:49 AM)

Yes, promotion it's RM13 to 14+. There is usually promotion in Lotus and other supermarkets, occasionally or frequently and I'll buy 1 or 2 bottles of 2L if there's promotion depending on the expiry date. If there is no promotion the price is RM15+ I normally won't buy and stick to Dutch Lady and Lotus. I cannot recall the price being RM16.20 as the highest it's usually RM15+.
ryder_78
post Oct 13 2025, 08:56 AM

2,020 posts

I tried the Dutch Lady "Professional" milk before several years ago and it actually tastes worse than the common Dutch Lady full cream milk sold in supermarkets.
maxpudding

158 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Oct 13 2025, 08:54 AM)
Avaiable in KL?
Eco yap? Not sure. Never seen one in KL.
ben_ang

ITS JINX NOW.POWDER FELL DOWN A WELL
2,013 posts

QUOTE(knumskul @ Oct 13 2025, 02:13 AM)
agreed, maybe HL is a low lactose milk hence the very different taste hmm.gif
ry8128
post Oct 13 2025, 09:15 AM

♣Just a noob♣
3,632 posts

QUOTE(maxpudding @ Oct 13 2025, 08:56 AM)
Eco yap? Not sure. Never seen one in KL.
Eco yap really that good? How much per L in sabah?
Baconateer
post Oct 13 2025, 09:18 AM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

Usually i just use Dutch Lady Full Cream UHT

Farm Fresh Yarra Full Cream also nice
zstan
post Oct 13 2025, 09:30 AM

15,856 posts

Ecoyap milk tastes much better
mois
post Oct 13 2025, 09:35 AM

Enemy Territory
3,625 posts

Ecoyap pasteurized milk is the best one in the market. But their UHT version suck.
alexei
post Oct 13 2025, 09:49 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

milk got few types, check the ingredients:
- recombined (full cream etc) - import as milk powder then mix back as milk to sell
- UHT (tahan kept outside fridge before open type)
- pasteurized (best flavor but lasts very few days after open, and flavor changes over time)

alexei
post Oct 13 2025, 09:54 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

barista milk is maybe recombined milk with added texture enhancer
some don't have

some shops chose their milk, then, ownself process to make cream
some shops use heavy cream to add texture (also must see made with fresh milk or recombined milk)
ycs

4,219 posts

i use farm fresh full cream, never tried UHT

for good foam, must use full cream
Chyan

4,221 posts

^ If I'm near Speedmart99

^ if I'm near premium grocers.

maxpudding
post Oct 13 2025, 10:04 AM

158 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Oct 13 2025, 09:15 AM)
Eco yap really that good? How much per L in sabah?
Fresh milk around rm7-8 per 1L

UHT milk i cant remember how much
ry8128
post Oct 13 2025, 10:19 AM

♣Just a noob♣
3,632 posts

QUOTE(maxpudding @ Oct 13 2025, 10:04 AM)
Fresh milk around rm7-8 per 1L

UHT milk i cant remember how much
I see online selling it. But it can't last for few hours outside of fridge right? Then unlikely can buy and get it to be delivered by courier
sidthesloth
post Oct 13 2025, 10:30 AM

174 posts

Jaya Grocer Farm Fresh Milk from the bottle tap.
maxpudding
post Oct 13 2025, 10:48 AM

158 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Oct 13 2025, 10:19 AM)
I see online selling it. But it can't last for few hours outside of fridge right? Then unlikely can buy and get it to be delivered by courier
Yeah fresh milk bro

If I opened also need to finish within 2 days
Enjoise
post Oct 13 2025, 11:05 AM

462 posts

oatside
mr.gabanz
post Oct 13 2025, 11:21 AM

Usually im using Fresh Milk from Dutch Lady, Farm Fresh & Marigold (Yellow)...
FusionXY
post Oct 13 2025, 11:34 AM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,831 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Oct 13 2025, 01:46 AM)
Use this milk
Wah got reported. No friend you. brows.gif
ry8128
post Oct 13 2025, 11:45 AM

♣Just a noob♣
3,632 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Oct 13 2025, 11:34 AM)
Wah got reported. No friend you. brows.gif
Sure get reported coz this is Serious K.
TSHumanExtinction
post Oct 13 2025, 02:40 PM

364 posts

Thats what i noticed as well, a lot of coffee shops use those normal milk like farmfresh or magnolia brands too. Farmhouse milk out of my budget, me and my mom usually skim through 1l of milk every 2 days as we make coffee from morning to night sweat.gif Thats why usually i will just buy lotus brand 1l x 12 pack cause its the cheapest available.

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 13 2025, 06:40 AM)
Just marketing. If you want best health benefits, goat milk, DIY almond and soya milk..Do not buy ready make soya or almond milk.
I tried almond milk before (glico almond koka) and mix with espresso, taste damn weird lol.

I bought many malaysian brands before and usually i can only taste a mild difference. But its true that overseas brands can taste much more better. When i stay in japan, I bought their local life/topvalu milk and mix it with instant and espresso can really tell the difference. Maybe cause their milk is not as diluted as ours. Even when I used back the same coffee as in japan and make the same ratio back home, it just taste difference. Not sure if water plays a part as well.

This post has been edited by HumanExtinction: Oct 13 2025, 04:36 PM
TSHumanExtinction
post Oct 13 2025, 02:47 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(ryder_78 @ Oct 13 2025, 07:56 AM)
I presume it will depend on personal preference on which milk tastes best with your coffee. It's the same with which brand of coffee you like best, whether it's Nescafe Gold, Alta Rica, Moccona or something else.

Based on my experience and preference, Dutch Lady Full Cream milk tastes best when mixed with any coffee. The aroma of the milk is the strongest when compared to Farm Fresh milk and Lotus full cream milk. Farm Fresh milk comes in 2nd with its pure taste, the strength of the milk with Farm Fresh is less when mixed with coffee in other words the milk doesn't overpower the coffee too much. Coming in last is Lotus full cream milk as the impact it has to the coffee is the least. To exaggerate, adding milk to the coffee is like adding water to the coffee.

So in summary, if adding milk to coffee, for me it's Dutch Lady Full Cream > Farm Fresh > Lotus Fresh milk. Usually I consume Farm Fresh milk directly without adding the milk to any type of beverages whether it's coffee, Milo or tea. It's the same with Lotus full cream milk as I prefer to consume it directly. Unless I don't have Dutch Lady in the fridge, then I'll use whatever milk I have to coffee, tea or other beverages.

For pure milk taste, Farm Fresh is best so I consume it directly pure just like it is. Lotus full cream milk and Dutch Lady full cream milk are not as pure as Farm fresh milk as the taste is slightly different, not too sure what they add to the milk. Also, if you are sensitive, you will notice that Dutch Lady and Lotus milk is slightly thicker than the more diluted Farm Fresh milk. Likely some preservative is added to the milk as the expiry date is longer. Farm fresh milk I usually buy the chilled ones where the expiry is usually about 2 weeks. With Dutch Lady and Lotus full cream milk 1 litre packed, the expiry is 6 months to 1 year.
TBH I can't really tell the difference between these 3. I saw someone post before that lotus milk they partner up with farm fresh so the milk for lotus and ff are identical, just different packaging. Not sure true or not.

QUOTE(marvinben @ Oct 13 2025, 08:44 AM)
Barista milk got added some oil in it to stabilize microfoam. I dont like the taste at all. If you dont care about microfoam, these are UHT that I found taste best for latte:
1. Yarra UHT
2. Goodday UHT
3. Dutch Lady Full Cream UHT

These taste absolute shit but microfoam like a champ for latte art:
1. Milklab
2. Yarra Barista
3. Dutch Lady Professional

If you want fresh pasteurized and homogenized milk, go for these:
1. ECO YAP (I think this is East Malaysian thing)
2. Farm Fresh fresh milk

Desa Milk from Sabah doesnt taste good for latte.
Dont really care much about foam and latte art at home, never try yarra and milklab b4. Will get it next time. Milklab really that bad? Saw their advertising everywhere, price also quite competitive to dutch lady and ff.

QUOTE(ryder_78 @ Oct 13 2025, 08:56 AM)
I tried the Dutch Lady "Professional" milk before several years ago and it actually tastes worse than the common Dutch Lady full cream milk sold in supermarkets.
Thinking of grabing one or two just to taste and see if can tell the difference confused.gif
marvinben
post Oct 13 2025, 02:55 PM

249 posts

QUOTE(HumanExtinction @ Oct 13 2025, 02:47 PM)
TBH I can't really tell the difference between these 3. I saw someone post before that lotus milk they partner up with farm fresh so the milk for lotus and ff are identical, just different packaging. Not sure true or not.
Dont really care much about foam and latte art at home, never try yarra and milklab b4. Will get it next time. Milklab really that bad? Saw their advertising everywhere, price also quite competitive to dutch lady and ff.
Thinking of grabing one or two just to taste and see if can tell the difference  confused.gif
You'll be able to tell the difference with a good medium roast coffee bean. There's a specialty grade coffee shop around my area, but somehow EcoYap no more stock, they switched to Desa. I no go there anymore.

Ramjade
post Oct 13 2025, 03:07 PM

24,327 posts

QUOTE(HumanExtinction @ Oct 13 2025, 02:40 PM)
Thats what i noticed as well, a lot of coffee shops use those normal milk like farmfresh or magnolia brands too. Farmhouse milk out of my budget, me and my mom usually skim through 1l of milk every 2 days as we make coffee from morning to night sweat.gif Thats why usually i will just buy lotus brand 1l x 12 pack cause its the cheapest available.
I tried almond milk before (glico almond koka) and mix with espresso, taste damn weird lol.
I bought many malaysian brands before and usually i can only taste a mild difference. But its true that overseas brands can taste much more better. When i stay in japan, I bought their local life/topvalu milk and mix with it with instant and espresso can really tell the difference. Maybe cause their milk is not as diluted as ours. Even when I used back the same coffee as in japan and make the same ratio back home, it just taste difference. Not sure if water plays a part as well.
You haven't try homemade almond milk. DIY home made damn nice.
DM3
post Oct 13 2025, 03:24 PM

INSPIRATOR
6,617 posts

Uht milk got some taste vs farm fresh better
ryder_78
post Oct 13 2025, 03:36 PM

2,020 posts

Hmm, it's very easy to tell the difference between Farm Fresh milk 1L or 2L (chilled, expiry date 2-3 weeks), Dutch Lady full cream milk 1L (unchilled, expiry date 6-12 months) and Lotus full cream milk 1L (unchilled, expiry date 6-12 months).

The chilled milk you find in the fridge section will be different quality and taste different from the unchilled milk you find on the shelves. It's a short expiry date for this chilled milk normally not more than 3 weeks. The usual unchilled milk 1L packets you find on the shelves with long expiry date, these milk will surely taste different as I presume they put in preservatives, otherwise they won't last long. Also, if you check the ingredients, Dutch Lady full cream milk has a rather high sugar content, so they actually add sugar and some flavouring inside the milk. Farm Fresh is pure milk and based on their advertising nothing is added though I'm not sure how true is that.

From the taste itself, Lotus full cream milk is already quite different to both Dutch Lady and Farm Fresh so whether Lotus has teamed up with Farm Fresh or not, they taste different to me although I can understand you find all of these milk to taste the same. I guess everyone is different, and if you have found the milk to taste the same, then good for you since you can just buy the cheapest milk and enjoy!~ Lotus full cream milk is only RM4.99 per packet, cheapest. To me, the taste with Lotus is the worst compared to Dutch Lady and Farm Fresh as it is a bit tasteless, though it's better than the rest ie. Fernleaf and the rest which have a weird taste.
beverlykho
post Oct 13 2025, 03:53 PM

499 posts

As for myself. I drink 4x Espresso shots, so creamy milk is a must for me. I've tried all, except Yarra and Eco-Yap.

In the end, I made my own milk formulation Farm Fresh+Anchor Whipping Cream at 50:50 ratio.

This post has been edited by beverlykho: Oct 14 2025, 06:45 AM
hotjake
post Oct 13 2025, 04:12 PM

194 posts

I use this brand for latte art. I've tried all except coconut.

kira_88
post Oct 13 2025, 04:20 PM

Hello, is it me you're looking for?
1,150 posts

Taste wise I dont see any difference. But as for frothing the milk fr Capucino using a normal fresh milk(ingredients need to state 100% milk) eg; green box from dutch lady to get the best bubble consitency without having to buy the more expensive "barista milk"
GravityFi3ld
post Oct 13 2025, 05:13 PM

Nick Fury's Night Fury
912 posts

the cafe nearby is using Farm Fresh sweat.gif
i find 1 particular milk will overpower the beans (at least for my tastebuds) - HL Milk - very funky dairy taste sweat.gif
ju146
post Oct 13 2025, 08:00 PM

1,594 posts

Farm house > good day > farm fresh > the rest

Stick with fresh milk ONLY
knumskul
post Oct 13 2025, 08:18 PM

783 posts

QUOTE(ryder_78 @ Oct 13 2025, 08:11 AM)
Can you differentiate the taste of various milk if you consume it directly rather than adding to the tea? In my experience the taste of milk varies and I can easily tell them apart. I've forgotten the brand of milk I've "banned" due to the weird or poor taste. The 1L milk packed in boxes, among them are Fernleaf, Goodday and Marigold, I stopped buying after trying them many years ago, likely more than 15 years ago. Nowadays I only buy 3 brands which are Farm Fresh fresh milk (chilled in the fridge with expiry 2 to 3 weeks), Dutch Lady Full Cream milk 1L and Lotus full cream milk. These milk taste best to me without any weird taste. Farm Fresh milk tastes most pure and is best consumed directly, followed by Dutch Lady which is the best milk to be added to beverages such as coffee, tea or Milo (there is some flavouring added I guess), and lastly Lotus full cream milk which is the cheapest milk without any weird taste.
Of the handful of brands I've tried, yea can taste some difference. But HL milk has the biggest difference.

I stick to Farm Fresh now mainly because of convenience. The taste is pretty good as well so no reason to buy other types, which sometimes out of stock.

QUOTE(ben_ang @ Oct 13 2025, 08:56 AM)
agreed, maybe HL is a low lactose milk hence the very different taste  hmm.gif
Oh didn't know it is low lactose milk
DM3
post Oct 13 2025, 08:44 PM

INSPIRATOR
6,617 posts

QUOTE(ju146 @ Oct 13 2025, 08:00 PM)
Farm house > good day > farm fresh > the rest

Stick with fresh milk ONLY
Good day now no fresh milk right
ju146
post Oct 13 2025, 08:58 PM

1,594 posts

QUOTE(DM3 @ Oct 13 2025, 08:44 PM)
Good day now no fresh milk right
Got, blue colour pack that 1…
DM3
post Oct 13 2025, 10:27 PM

INSPIRATOR
6,617 posts

QUOTE(ju146 @ Oct 13 2025, 08:58 PM)
Got, blue colour pack that 1…
Mostly see full cream
vhs1
post Oct 13 2025, 10:55 PM

2,828 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Oct 13 2025, 09:49 AM)
milk got few types, check the ingredients:
- recombined (full cream etc) - import as milk powder then mix back as milk to sell
- UHT (tahan kept outside fridge before open type)
- pasteurized (best flavor but lasts very few days after open, and flavor changes over time)
OIC.
I can’t take milk. Usually ayam wife buys those lactose free type
vhs1
post Oct 13 2025, 10:58 PM

2,828 posts

QUOTE(Enjoise @ Oct 13 2025, 11:05 AM)
oatside
Yes. I m fond of oatside
It does make the coffee a different flavor than ordinary milk.
Though it has some sweetness in it.
I like to order coffee with this.
But on the downside got additional cost
St0rmFury
post Oct 13 2025, 11:36 PM

224 posts

I use V-Soy low sugar.
cassian948
post Oct 14 2025, 12:34 AM

931 posts

I once used milk where on the box it got written ‘professional’ on it, but when I heat the milk using a steamer, it foams way too quickly and turns to curdles.

Now, just stick to full cream instead.
ozak
post Oct 14 2025, 08:22 AM

17,013 posts

I use Dutch Lady full cream milk. Since I don't put sugar to the coffee.
xtylish
post Oct 14 2025, 09:31 AM

593 posts

in sg they always use Meiji or Pauls
ryder_78
post Oct 14 2025, 11:27 AM

2,020 posts

QUOTE(knumskul @ Oct 13 2025, 08:18 PM)

I stick to Farm Fresh now mainly because of convenience. The taste is pretty good as well so no reason to buy other types, which sometimes out of stock.

Similarly I find Farm Fresh milk to have the best taste. Whenever there is offer I'll grab 2 bottles of 2L.

WongTheThief
post Oct 14 2025, 11:30 AM

215 posts

QUOTE(waters @ Oct 13 2025, 07:51 AM)
Uht is about rm8-9. 7.5 on good days
Fresh is about rm12.7. Approx 11 on good days
QUOTE(ry8128 @ Oct 13 2025, 09:49 AM)
1L or 2L? If 1L, unlikely so expensive. Jaya selling around rm13-14 for 1L.
I think I could be mistaken the price with promo, buy 2 at RM18 instead of each RM18, also 1L sweat.gif long time already since I last work as barista
DM3
post Oct 14 2025, 12:47 PM

INSPIRATOR
6,617 posts

QUOTE(ryder_78 @ Oct 14 2025, 11:27 AM)
Similarly I find Farm Fresh milk to have the best taste. Whenever there is offer I'll grab 2 bottles of 2L.
I buy 6lits per week
ju146
post Oct 14 2025, 02:21 PM

1,594 posts

QUOTE(DM3 @ Oct 13 2025, 10:27 PM)
Mostly see full cream
Usually available in jaya grocer and the equivalent range. Speed99 on and off will have too
TSHumanExtinction
post Oct 14 2025, 04:41 PM

364 posts

Just went to lotus but not much selection, all are uht.
ryder_78
post Oct 15 2025, 10:03 AM

2,020 posts

QUOTE(DM3 @ Oct 14 2025, 12:47 PM)
I buy 6lits per week
You must have a big family and are milk lovers. thumbup.gif 2 bottles (4L) max for me but sometimes I buy 3 bottles and give one bottle to my sister and brother-in-law if they are short of milk, only during promotion period. When there is no promotion, it's Dutch Lady and Lotus full cream milk biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by ryder_78: Oct 15 2025, 10:03 AM
DM3
post Oct 15 2025, 10:16 AM

INSPIRATOR
6,617 posts

QUOTE(ryder_78 @ Oct 15 2025, 10:03 AM)
You must have a big family and are milk lovers.  thumbup.gif 2 bottles (4L) max for me but sometimes I buy 3 bottles and give one bottle to my sister and brother-in-law if they are short of milk, only during promotion period. When  there is no promotion, it's Dutch Lady and Lotus full cream milk  biggrin.gif
Ya me have 3shots espresso x2cups aday n in big mug

ryder_78
post Oct 15 2025, 10:20 AM

2,020 posts

QUOTE(DM3 @ Oct 15 2025, 10:16 AM)
Ya me have 3shots espresso x2cups aday n in big mug
You surely consume a lot of espresso or coffee. thumbup.gif For me, it's drinking the milk as it is since the taste is pure and nice. With other milk (Dutch Lady or Lotus full cream milk) they are not as pure and don't taste as good when consumed directly as is.

I usually add just a little milk not only to coffee but tea and Milo as well. However, only a little milk is used when adding it to these beverages, and to use up the milk quicker so that they won't go bad, I need to drink the milk just as it is and I do enjoy it. The recommended duration to finish the milk after opening is 3 days only though I usually it's a little longer for me, up to 7 days usually but the longer it's stored in the fridge after it's opened, the taste will be slightly off.
anakkk
post Oct 15 2025, 10:22 AM

2,111 posts

i only drink black coffee now
d4rkbring
post Oct 15 2025, 05:37 PM

I tried a lot of milk, most of my favorite produced by Farm Fresh, but funnily the one I hate the most is Yarra Farm UHT, there's this smell that a bit cheesy like a milk that about to go bad, maybe it's due to the high temperature process. The only UHT I tried and like before is Oldenburger full cream.

I've tried Henry Jones A2, farm fresh, yarra farm (all fresh), and I find all of it taste better than those made with concentrated milk (check the ingredient list).

HL is okay whenever I can't find everything else, yarra UHT is the worse for me. I tried a lot of milk, so far, these 2 are my favorites

TLDR:
Most of the time

If really no choice
HL advance
TSHumanExtinction
post Oct 16 2025, 06:44 PM

364 posts

Of the handful of brands I've tried, yea can taste some difference. But HL milk has the biggest difference.

QUOTE(ryder_78 @ Oct 14 2025, 11:27 AM)
QUOTE(d4rkbring @ Oct 15 2025, 05:37 PM)
I tried a lot of milk, most of my favorite produced by Farm Fresh, but funnily the one I hate the most is Yarra Farm UHT, there's this smell that a bit cheesy like a milk that about to go bad, maybe it's due to the high temperature process. The only UHT I tried and like before is Oldenburger full cream.

I've tried Henry Jones A2, farm fresh, yarra farm (all fresh), and I find all of it taste better than those made with concentrated milk (check the ingredient list).

HL is okay whenever I can't find everything else, yarra UHT is the worse for me. I tried a lot of milk, so far, these 2 are my favorites

TLDR:
Most of the time

If really no choice
HL advance
Just bought and tried farm fresh 2l fresh milk. Farm fresh milk is bit more diluted compared to lotus uht milk. While I can taste sort of slightly more milky flavor but my mom say not much difference. Will try and make latte tmr for more comparison. Btw saw henry jones as well but 1l quite expensive so maybe next time.
DM3
post Oct 16 2025, 07:47 PM

INSPIRATOR
6,617 posts

QUOTE(HumanExtinction @ Oct 16 2025, 06:44 PM)
Just bought and tried farm fresh 2l fresh milk. Farm fresh milk is bit more diluted compared to lotus uht milk. While I can taste sort of slightly more milky flavor but my mom say not much difference. Will try and make latte tmr for more comparison. Btw saw henry jones as well but 1l quite expensive so maybe next time.
U knw lotus milk is frm Farm fresh ,some yrs back they stated on box ,now no.
knumskul
post Oct 16 2025, 08:08 PM

783 posts

Oh I thought it's normal as almost all milk I've bought tastes that diluted. I remember as a kid most milk weren't this diluted.
TSHumanExtinction
post Oct 16 2025, 09:42 PM

364 posts

I saw someone post before that lotus milk they partner up with farm fresh so the milk for lotus and ff are identical, just different packaging. Not sure true or not.
QUOTE(DM3 @ Oct 16 2025, 07:47 PM)
I know, quote it 2 pages back
chinteck79
post Oct 17 2025, 09:16 AM

59 posts

no matter what brand of milk i use, i will check the ingredient. i will only use if ingredient only write fresh milk. some brands and some full cream milk or low fat milk is made from milk solid + other stuff. I don't use those with many additives
chinteck79
post Oct 17 2025, 09:25 AM

59 posts

Oh didn't know it is low lactose milk
HL is reconstitute milk. use milk powder process it to the formula turn to liquid sold as milk. that's why their ad can claim many things. i find their milk taste sweet. need to check their ingredient if any sugar is added or not because long time i never buy already as it's not fresh milk
DM3
post Oct 17 2025, 10:13 AM

INSPIRATOR
6,617 posts

QUOTE(chinteck79 @ Oct 17 2025, 09:25 AM)
HL is reconstitute milk. use milk powder process it to the formula turn to liquid sold as milk. that's why their ad can claim many things. i find their milk taste sweet. need to check their ingredient if any sugar is added or not because long time i never buy already as it's not fresh milk
HL milk never mention fresh on box,get those with mentioned Fresh milk not Full cream etc
ry8128
post Oct 17 2025, 09:06 PM

♣Just a noob♣
3,632 posts

QUOTE(DM3 @ Oct 16 2025, 07:47 PM)
QUOTE(HumanExtinction @ Oct 16 2025, 09:42 PM)
I know, quote it 2 pages back
Serious shit ar? So lotus fresh milk is exactly same with farm fresh fresh milk?
DM3
post Oct 17 2025, 09:28 PM

INSPIRATOR
6,617 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Oct 17 2025, 09:06 PM)
Serious shit ar? So lotus fresh milk is exactly same with farm fresh fresh milk?
Abit diff taste maybe slightly diluted, but tht was few yrs back I tried
TSHumanExtinction
post Oct 17 2025, 10:26 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Oct 17 2025, 09:06 PM)
i think lotus uht same as farm fresh uht last time last i heard online (theres a possibility is DL too), now not sure cause the packaging ard change. Can see the old packaging even the top cap is the same. The old packaging is better too, when pour milk wont splash everwhere.

now the new packaging cap is different, i think different supplier already. Maybe is marigold?

This post has been edited by HumanExtinction: Oct 17 2025, 10:37 PM
ryder_78
post Oct 18 2025, 11:59 AM

2,020 posts

Just bought and tried farm fresh 2l fresh milk. Farm fresh milk is bit more diluted compared to lotus uht milk.
Same experience as I always thought that Farm Fresh 2L fresh milk is most diluted when compared to the thicker consistency of Dutch Lady and Lotus full cream milk. It's a pure taste. I'm not sure what is Lotus "UHT" milk if it's the same as Lotus Full Cream milk which I always buy. The Lotus full cream milk 1L comes in blue packaging.

JimbeamofNRT
post Oct 18 2025, 07:08 PM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

let me rachun u a bit

once u try this one, dem hard to switch to other brand to make latte

TSHumanExtinction
post Oct 18 2025, 08:10 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Oct 18 2025, 07:08 PM)
let me rachun u a bit

Yes this one, always see cafes use this to make milk based coffee. Able to get at store? Can find online UHT version but fresh milk version very hard to find online. Some said need to contact f&n directly to purchase.

This post has been edited by HumanExtinction: Oct 18 2025, 08:11 PM
beverlykho
post Oct 18 2025, 08:22 PM

499 posts

let me rachun u a bit

What's the fat content?
bengang15
post Oct 19 2025, 07:05 AM

418 posts

whats the difference between barista vs fresh milk??
codenchips
post Oct 19 2025, 07:18 AM

114 posts

let me rachun u a bit

This is the gold standard. Foam texture and taste wise.
Wonder how the new one launched by Dutch Lady Professional Barista series compares with Magnolia's.
My default daily go to is Farmfresh's Fresh Milk 2L.
SUSSyok Your Mom
post Oct 21 2025, 03:47 AM

Dupe!? Who what dupe? I'm a Senior Member now DUDE!
3,112 posts

I used only coffee mate, taste good
ryder_78
post Oct 26 2025, 10:41 AM

2,020 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Oct 13 2025, 08:49 AM)
This morning at CS 😁

biggie
post Oct 26 2025, 12:40 PM

1,291 posts

Always farm fresh for me. But I only warm the milk as my preference for coffee is flat white. UHT or other milk with preservatives changes the taste too much.
ryder_78
post Oct 26 2025, 03:03 PM

2,020 posts

Lotus also has promotion but still costlier than CS.

ry8128
post Oct 26 2025, 03:06 PM

♣Just a noob♣
3,632 posts

QUOTE(ryder_78 @ Oct 26 2025, 10:41 AM)
This morning at CS 😁

Yup, only during promo can get this price. Jaya promo also this price from time to time.
westernkl
post Oct 26 2025, 03:32 PM

552 posts

Is Desa Milk & Eco Yap Milk really good?

How good compare to Farm Fresh Milk?
maxpudding
post Oct 26 2025, 05:07 PM

158 posts

QUOTE(westernkl @ Oct 26 2025, 03:32 PM)
Is Desa Milk & Eco Yap Milk really good?

How good compare to Farm Fresh Milk?
How good is subjective 😄 but for me, if you put those three brands of milk in front of me and asked me to choose which one I’d use for my coffee, I would pick eco yap.
miuk
post Oct 26 2025, 07:12 PM

768 posts

QUOTE(sidthesloth @ Oct 13 2025, 10:30 AM)
Jaya Grocer Farm Fresh Milk from the bottle tap.
Fully agree,switched from farm fresh to this after discovering it.
PrinceJoe
post Oct 30 2025, 08:53 AM

410 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Oct 14 2025, 08:22 AM)
I use Dutch Lady full cream milk. Since I don't put sugar to the coffee.
Below is my previous milk 🥛 list

1. fernleaf full cream powder - mix & refrigerate
- good taste, silky & nice microfoam

2. tried an eco-shop milk (can’t remember brand name, but was sold on counter at RM2.20 for TWO 180ml packs
- taste acceptable, bad texture (for any art) but still silky & creamy

3. tried this dutch lady 200ml packs.
- taste good, but very bad texture, no silky & creamy microfoam AT ALL ! just a lot of small bubbles on the surface. how to say very thin liquid ? not getting the thick creamy steamed milk.

Is something wrong with my steaming / frothing method ?
Anyone else using this milk ?

TIA

ozak
post Oct 30 2025, 09:07 AM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(PrinceJoe @ Oct 30 2025, 08:53 AM)
Below is my previous milk 🥛 list

1. fernleaf full cream powder - mix & refrigerate
- good taste, silky & nice microfoam

2. tried an eco-shop milk (can’t remember brand name, but was sold on counter at RM2.20 for TWO 180ml packs
- taste acceptable, bad texture (for any art) but still silky & creamy

3. tried this dutch lady 200ml packs.
- taste good, but very bad texture, no silky & creamy microfoam AT ALL ! just a lot of small bubbles on the surface. how to say very thin liquid ? not getting the thick creamy steamed milk.

Is something wrong with my steaming / frothing method ?
Anyone else using this milk ?

TIA
My machine has frosting. But hardly use.

As long the milk make the coffee taste I like.

Another is dutch lady fresh milk. Less milk taste. If you want more coffee taste.

I avoid those low fat, high calcium, UHT etc. Taste funny on the coffee.
spacelion
post Oct 30 2025, 10:52 PM

Ada Liu
1,689 posts

Do u guys freeze distilled milk or just straight from container?
xander2k8
post Oct 31 2025, 04:21 PM

4,636 posts

QUOTE(bengang15 @ Oct 19 2025, 07:05 AM)
whats the difference between barista vs fresh milk??
Higher milk fat content

Fresh milk is not all fresh 🤦‍♀️ because it’s reconstituted with milk powder and added water

The best is you can find milk with high milk fat content like those 100% milk and not reconstituted

Hence why you have Barista and plain milk being pushed by Dutch Lady and Mangnolia

0.0264sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 01:32 PM