4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

How are you preparing for the future?, Market and Ecomonic gloom

TSbengang15
post Sep 24 2025, 07:38 PM

419 posts

QUOTE(ListenToTheWind @ Sep 24 2025, 07:08 PM)
Thus the passive income, the whole idea is to have it fund the expenses should shit hit the fan.
Keep expenses to the minimum, save and invest as much as possible. Rinse and repeat.
all the best to you
DoomCognition
post Sep 24 2025, 10:28 PM

737 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Sep 24 2025, 08:54 AM)
Those handyman work only get paid well in countries like Australia, UK, USA

Passive income is the best. Like properties. Buy at good location.
Property in Malaysia is dead. Unlikely will revive anymore with the current demographics. Just a money pit.
DoomCognition
post Sep 24 2025, 10:33 PM

737 posts

Malaysia is at the tipping point. I expect green wave in the next 10 years. Best thing to do now is to save up, manage your lifestyle inflation and invest all of your savings abroad. You already have EPF which is a huge sum. Diversify your portfolio.
knwong
post Sep 24 2025, 11:07 PM

3,559 posts

QUOTE(DoomCognition @ Sep 24 2025, 10:28 PM)
Property in Malaysia is dead. Unlikely will revive anymore with the current demographics. Just a money pit.
Just buy at good location

Myself I’m doing quite ok
danielmckey
post Sep 24 2025, 11:10 PM

1,049 posts

Just continue your life because you still alive.
DoomCognition
post Sep 24 2025, 11:16 PM

737 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Sep 24 2025, 11:07 PM)
Just buy at good location

Myself I’m doing quite ok
Which location can give yields above 5% now? Can choose any location with price from 2015 onwards. If you buy before 2011, then understandable.
knwong
post Sep 24 2025, 11:35 PM

3,559 posts

QUOTE(DoomCognition @ Sep 24 2025, 11:16 PM)
Which location can give yields above 5% now? Can choose any location with price from 2015 onwards. If you buy before 2011, then understandable.
I bought a few during Covid direct from developer. They were desperate so throw in huge discount

One of it I calculate my yield is 10.8% based on my low purchase price. House price also already increase 80%. Few months ago saw a property agent promote same neighbour unit upstairs and my jaw dropped when I saw the asking price. I won’t sell despite many agent cold calling. Will hold it for long
westernkl
post Sep 25 2025, 02:37 AM

552 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Sep 24 2025, 10:49 AM)
If you are single, its an opportunity to find China wife since many coming here.

Aside from that, yes its getting far competitive.

A lot of PRC companies are setting up here, and they prefer to hire 50% of their workforce their own people. So unless you are really good and stand out, they will prefer their own people.

You see, back in CCP land, their citizens are being squeezed with lack of job opportunities. Every year millions of graduates come out, government is very worried at where to land them jobs. There are even high top scorers that can't find jobs. The top leadership of course worried lah, if no job means unrest. Obviously there is a secret plan, to invest overseas, set up their version of MNCs but they ship these people overseas and be based there, hopefully one day they become citizens, inter marry. So the govt back home don't have to worry about them lying flat in their country.

what industry r you in? IT ?
But China wife loyal or not??
Shanks747
post Sep 25 2025, 02:46 AM

198 posts

grow own food, you dont need a big land for it...everything is on the internet, see you want learn or not only
westernkl
post Sep 25 2025, 02:48 AM

552 posts

QUOTE(ListenToTheWind @ Sep 24 2025, 01:04 PM)
I am in my early 40s.

Like previous poster mention, I am accumulating low risk passive income stream, such as property with rental yield, EPF, broad index ETF.

While continue to live the b40 lifestyle to keep expenses to the minimum.
How to live mininum if have wife and children?
Hastebreak
post Sep 25 2025, 07:50 AM

167 posts

QUOTE(bengang15 @ Sep 24 2025, 11:04 AM)
Hi all,

Let's be frank here. I can see the situation is quite gloomy now

1. Sales tax- price increase
2. Job market gloomy with the AI taking over jobs
3. Chinese people coming in taking some jobs
4. Gov reducing subsidy
5. Uncertainty in USA with Taco
6. War in Europe not ending soon
7. No headcount in your company even though people resign.

For people in the 40s and 50s are the most at risk. I mean you have reached a certain level of salary/remuneration it's very difficult to find a better position.

How do you prepare yourself?

For me I like doing house work like installing lights, water heater etc. Was thinking of taking some wireman course . I guess these are AI proof for noq.

How about you guys?
I plan to transition myself into becoming a full-time spot market trader in the coming years...

I'm doing well already, and I earn in Dollars, so it's easily a lifestyle for me to sustain...
TSbengang15
post Sep 25 2025, 08:10 AM

419 posts

QUOTE(Hastebreak @ Sep 25 2025, 07:50 AM)
I plan to transition myself into becoming a full-time spot market trader in the coming years...

I'm doing well already, and I earn in Dollars, so it's easily a lifestyle for me to sustain...
I think that is the next step for me as well. For now mine is also long term.

What platform are you using? Do you set target for yourself?

My only issue is, when the market drop i tend to just be passive.

This post has been edited by bengang15: Sep 25 2025, 08:12 AM
hoonanoo
post Sep 25 2025, 08:38 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(westernkl @ Sep 25 2025, 02:37 AM)
But China wife loyal or not??
so far I see people married to china wife ok saje.

just that mebe their way of thinking is a bit different.

more materialistic and they have less understanding on religion matters if its a western thinking one
ListenToTheWind
post Sep 25 2025, 08:42 AM

453 posts

QUOTE(westernkl @ Sep 25 2025, 02:48 AM)
How to live mininum if have wife and children?
Er, luckily I don't have kids at the moment.

I think I mention quite a number of times in kuitam that I'm staying with parents and have 3 meals at home, no socialize with friend, no entertainment, no windows shopping, no cinema, etc. We just sleep, wake up, go to work, come home, eat, sleep and repeat. Many will disagree with this kind of lifestyle, but that's the life of b40.
TSbengang15
post Sep 25 2025, 08:47 AM

419 posts

QUOTE(ListenToTheWind @ Sep 25 2025, 08:42 AM)
Er, luckily I don't have kids at the moment.

I think I mention quite a number of times in kuitam that I'm staying with parents and have 3 meals at home, no socialize with friend, no entertainment, no windows shopping, no cinema, etc. We just sleep, wake up, go to work, come home, eat, sleep and repeat. Many will disagree with this kind of lifestyle, but that's the life of b40.
Well that's a pretty ok lifestyle there. You made the point not to be burden by worldly commitment.
Chrix
post Sep 25 2025, 09:13 AM

1,185 posts

Never bought anything unnecessary
Never bought anything i cant afford outright
Min max is almost everything i can
Dont burden my thoughts with things i cant have direct control over
TSbengang15
post Sep 25 2025, 09:50 AM

419 posts

QUOTE(Chrix @ Sep 25 2025, 09:13 AM)
Never bought anything unnecessary
Never bought anything i cant afford outright
Min max is almost everything i can
[/B]Dont burden my thoughts with things i cant have direct control[B] over
How do you do that. Easier said than done. Trying very hard to compartmentalize work
DoomCognition
post Sep 25 2025, 10:05 AM

737 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Sep 24 2025, 11:35 PM)
I bought a few during Covid direct from developer. They were desperate so throw in huge discount

One of it I calculate my yield is 10.8% based on my low purchase price. House price also already increase 80%. Few months ago saw a property agent promote same neighbour unit upstairs and my jaw dropped when I saw the asking price. I won’t sell despite many agent cold calling. Will hold it for long
What you say is definitely a very big exception. Compared to Covid times, there are some appreciation, but compared to Pre-Covid, it is still the same at best. At least for areas that I am looking at.

For your purchases, really one of the rare ones. Industry trend definitely does not show that.
knwong
post Sep 25 2025, 10:31 AM

3,559 posts

QUOTE(DoomCognition @ Sep 25 2025, 10:05 AM)
What you say is definitely a very big exception. Compared to Covid times, there are some appreciation, but compared to Pre-Covid, it is still the same at best. At least for areas that I am looking at.

For your purchases, really one of the rare ones. Industry trend definitely does not show that.
I also own properties that doesn't do well. Based on my experience dealing with properties I can share some lessons learnt and best practise:

1. Buy only at good location, even though they are very expensive. LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION mantra is never wrong. Even during COVID time, after I collect my key the very next day I advertise it in Mudah (not a popular portal) - I still get 3 random calls from property agents in a day!

2. If you can get reliable cleaner go for short term let like Airbnb rather than yearly rent. Much higher yield because you charge daily rate

3. Target expatriates. I raised the rate so high that it filter out local peasants (sorry). Those that inquire and book generally the tenant profile are good. They are cleaner and can take care of your property very well. Some even check-in with their OWN MAID. Knowing that it gave me assurance that the unit will be well kept
Lancer07
post Sep 25 2025, 11:12 AM

599 posts

Spend the money on necessary things only, and eat out less

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0177sec    0.37    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:03 AM