5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Chat What’s Really Killing Singapore’s F&B Businesses?

Capt. Marble
post Aug 18 2025, 09:29 AM

222 posts

Main one is rent increase.
JimbeamofNRT
post Aug 18 2025, 09:33 AM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

QUOTE(soul78 @ Aug 15 2025, 08:27 AM)
it's already happening here also... sunway and subang few places i went makan, owner also said rental increased so had to increased the food price, but too high not many would want to frequent the eateries already.

Well landlords wanna make moar, stall owners wanna make moarr... we wanna eat moarr...

end up all lose when the system collapse and reset... then all go back mamak while waiting for everything to cool down back.

There are always T1 mekdi dribers going around who will always be able to afford food at any price even up to 100 per bowl.
like this one chicken rice stall in subang lah, one of the good one last time, but when he started not feeling well and let the helpers do all the stuff, quality down the drain, summore LL raised the rental to 50%, he raised the price per serving to 20%, now very less customer already since price goes up + taste go down

9m2w
post Aug 18 2025, 09:38 AM

Victoria Concordia Crescit
1,035 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Aug 18 2025, 09:33 AM)
like this one chicken rice stall in subang lah, one of the good one last time, but when he started not feeling well and let the helpers do all the stuff, quality down the drain, summore LL raised the rental to 50%, he raised the price per serving to 20%, now very less customer already since price goes up + taste go down
Landlords abit psycho since Covid. Its like they believe the hype that they can raise to perpetuity

Some time back I went to my old pet store and asked how he did during Covid. He said ok but landlord never give discount and even increased the year post covid. You dont want he said many more ppl want to come in. The owner joke with the landlord i thought only gloves untung during covid, you know what the asshole said. Wah doesnt mean i cannot get a piece of the pie ler, glove untung, essential untung i also have to find a way to untung

Macam god given right liao to profiteer

MishimaZ sounds familiar or not this type of righteous fucked up behaviour? kek

This post has been edited by 9m2w: Aug 18 2025, 09:39 AM
submergedx
post Aug 18 2025, 09:38 AM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(MishimaZ @ Aug 15 2025, 08:38 AM)
Well, that also was said many times that this is the Chinese issue- but many bajingan MCA2.0 will vehemently deny this fact, even use fakeass statistics and vague, DEI-like AI bot answers to falsely refuse that we Chinese culturally doing that.

In reality its just chicken or egg question swhere if either the Chinese landlords that raised the prices first or the Chinese end product seller raised prices 1st before either of them raised their prices - hence causing a domino chain effect of inflation.

Its like every half year that end product prices rises, and by start of every year rental price will increase one. These idiots only know how to push the blame to the previous government (despite current ones are doing encouraging this even more) or global export countries in order to mask what we said as culture.
you think tukar government to either dog or pig
your landlord wont naik harga meh

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
JimbeamofNRT
post Aug 18 2025, 09:41 AM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(9m2w @ Aug 18 2025, 09:38 AM)
Landlords abit psycho since Covid. Its like they believe the hype that they can raise to perpetuity

Some time back I went to my old pet store and asked how he did during Covid. He said ok but landlord never give discount and even increased the year post covid. You dont want he said many more ppl want to come in. The owner joke with the landlord i thought only gloves untung during covid, you know what the asshole said. Wah doesnt mean i cannot get a piece of the pie ler, glove untung, essential untung i also have to find a way to untung

pkmk hkc LL . real parasites of the society.

may all these cbk LL end up finish their profits to hospitals.

which is mostly are true.
JimbeamofNRT
post Aug 18 2025, 09:43 AM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(skloda @ Aug 15 2025, 05:14 PM)
high rental & operating cost ....

thats why malaysia so many roadside stall .... no rental no tax .... hnnnnnghhhh
talking about roadside stall

sometimes I wonder how they do maths one

even roadside stall paying RM0 rental selling chicken rice for freaking rm8
submergedx
post Aug 18 2025, 09:47 AM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Aug 18 2025, 09:43 AM)
talking about roadside stall

sometimes I wonder how they do maths one

even roadside stall paying RM0 rental selling chicken rice for freaking rm8
partially are funding for majlis confiscation fee. brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif
9m2w
post Aug 18 2025, 09:50 AM

Victoria Concordia Crescit
1,035 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Aug 18 2025, 09:41 AM)

But first mover or old timer can pull this off. They bought prime location and for cheaper and most probably finish up paying in the case of some

They can afford to pick and choose, raise and sit on it

New fellas that jump on the bandwagon good luck la. Unless you do the sublet and partition the hell out of the place for condo units.
JimbeamofNRT
post Aug 18 2025, 09:54 AM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(9m2w @ Aug 18 2025, 09:50 AM)
But first mover or old timer can pull this off. They bought prime location and for cheaper and most probably finish up paying in the case of some

They can afford to pick and choose, raise and sit on it

New fellas that jump on the bandwagon good luck la. Unless you do the sublet and partition the hell out of the place for condo units.
best thing is, some fellas really trust the ads from developer GUARANTEED ROI 7% lulz

partition also if like coffin size going for rm1K what for ? no other things to do beside work? we are not even HK level yet when roadsider cleaner can get RM7-RM8k celery
skywardsword
post Aug 18 2025, 09:55 AM

680 posts

Tenancy agreement got One, two or three years.

Usual for Restaurant and or Kopitiam owners to sign three year agreement if they are doing great. This locking in the rent and profit from it, and just keep saying landlord raise price.

Fyi, also it is common for landlords to rent out at different tiered prices. Or if they are not doing tiered.... Only renting at the highest market price. Every five months will have tenant given up and the next one comes in. Pretty waste of time. However not every restaurant will have enough baseline business to even survive one.

yhtan
post Aug 18 2025, 10:04 AM

8,653 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Aug 18 2025, 09:33 AM)
Which one?
MishimaZ
post Aug 18 2025, 10:09 AM

269 posts

QUOTE(9m2w @ Aug 18 2025, 09:38 AM)

Very familiar lo... Kan always got post about our behavior til those usual triggered apologists angrily retorted on how much of a racist or how or*n I am just because I stated that is basically as it is.

QUOTE(submergedx @ Aug 18 2025, 09:38 AM)
you think tukar government to either dog or pig
your landlord wont naik harga meh

laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
Only said its cultural, whether you picked the term canines or dogs, its still the same species.

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Aug 18 2025, 09:41 AM)

For rental market, landlords will easily say its "like that one" lor... Mau tak mau got others willing to take it.

For food products, hawkers or stallers will also say "its like that one lor... pork prices rise ma... sikit sikit use babi as defense.

Meanwhile services line, their prices are pretty stagnant.

In the end the most profitable one is those that already owned the shop and also can simply price their food like those famous bakwa shops here.

This post has been edited by MishimaZ: Aug 18 2025, 10:09 AM
MGM
post Aug 18 2025, 10:09 AM

18,471 posts

Would PROPERTY VACANCY TAX helps to increase supply of rental spaces thus reducing rental cos can see there r many abandoned or empty buildings? Roadside hawkers should also be encouraged to move to these spaces.

This post has been edited by MGM: Aug 18 2025, 10:10 AM
submergedx
post Aug 18 2025, 10:11 AM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Aug 18 2025, 10:09 AM)
Would PROPERTY VACANCY TAX helps to increase supply of rental spaces thus reducing rental  cos can see there r many abandoned or empty buildings? Roadside hawkers should also be encouraged to move to these spaces.
kan ada Madani Kiosk
JimbeamofNRT
post Aug 18 2025, 11:19 AM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(submergedx @ Aug 18 2025, 10:11 AM)
kan ada Madani Kiosk
genuine Q

madani kiosk can sell non halal food or not?
Phoenix_KL
post Sep 2 2025, 04:06 AM

156 posts

Prive Group closes all its restaurants; Far East-backed Commonwealth Concepts takes over 2 outlets

The restaurant operator cites external market challenges and rising operational costs as reasons for closure
https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/singapore/...tlets?flyingspaghettimonster=pulse
katijar
post Sep 2 2025, 06:54 AM

2,294 posts

Rich country kenot afford price increase meh
samftrmd
post Sep 2 2025, 07:30 AM

Interface 2037
1,774 posts

In Malaysia, I think fnb very hard to die one. I think the only thing that will kill fnb is low income like in China. No one eat out anymore. Those that go are people that uses big discount and vaucher.
samftrmd
post Sep 2 2025, 07:32 AM

Interface 2037
1,774 posts

QUOTE(katijar @ Sep 2 2025, 06:54 AM)
Rich country kenot afford price increase meh
Maybe their high car price eat away their spending power?
katijar
post Sep 2 2025, 08:01 AM

2,294 posts

QUOTE(samftrmd @ Sep 2 2025, 07:32 AM)
Maybe their high car price eat away their spending power?
“Rich country” can only afford car meh

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0256sec    0.96    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 11:08 PM