My clingy long-distance girlfriend asks if I talk, to others when I'm busy

TSplouffle0789
post Jun 24 2025, 05:43 AM, updated 2 months ago

1,816 posts

Title: My clingy long-distance girlfriend asks if I talk to others when I'm busy —

what should I do?

Hey everyone, I’m in a long-distance relationship with a girlfriend who’s emotionally dependent.

She needs constant communication and attention. I’ve been trying my best to chat with her every day, even during off work hours when I’m really busy.

I actually need to sleep at 8:00 PM every day because I have to wake up at 4:50 AM.

But sometimes I end up sleeping at 11:00 PM after chit-chatting with her, so I only get 6 hours of sleep or less.

# My Sleep Schedule Struggle

I actually need to sleep by **8:00 PM** every day because I have to wake up at **4:50 AM** for work. That gives me almost 9 hours of rest, which I really need.

But sometimes I only go to sleep at **11:00 PM** — either because I get distracted or can't fall asleep. That means I only get around **6 hours or less**, and I feel very tired the next day.

Here’s my supposed-to-be usual evening routine:

Time       Activity                                                      
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
5:00 PM    Eat dinner                                                    
6:00 PM    Take a bath                                                   
8:00 PM    Go to sleep to have better focus and energy for learning new things at work tomorrow

I want to be more disciplined with my sleep, but sometimes it’s hard. 
Has anyone gone through this? 

How do you make sure you sleep on time, especially when your day starts so early?

But sometimes, when I don’t reply quickly or miss a day, she’ll ask me things like, “Did you go chat with someone else?”

I often change the passwords for the social apps we use to avoid chatting with her, but sometimes I can’t control myself.

I end up pressing “forgot password” and then use my reset password to log in again so I can keep chatting.

I know she’s insecure and just wants reassurance, but it adds pressure on me emotionally.

I’m wondering — would it be okay if I only message her every 2 or 3 days during busy workweeks, as long as I still show I care?

Or would that make things worse between us?

I care about her, but I also don’t want to feel guilty for focusing on work. She says she loves me, but sometimes I feel like the trust isn’t solid.

Has anyone dealt with a similar situation?

How do you manage a clingy partner in a long-distance relationship when your schedule is tight?

Any advice would really help. Thanks.

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: Jun 24 2025, 06:06 AM
zuozi
post Jun 24 2025, 08:24 AM

1,261 posts

No need complicated from my experience doesn't matter got work to do or not if you really into it just take annual leave and company can't say no to u .

Go fly/ visit her, convince her parents you love her, piap and happy ending and journey continue

If parents and daughter you failed to convince end the relationship and move on .
TSplouffle0789
post Jun 24 2025, 09:16 AM

1,816 posts

QUOTE(zuozi @ Jun 24 2025, 08:24 AM)
No need complicated from my experience doesn't matter got work to do or not if you really into it just take annual leave and company can't say no to u .

Go fly/ visit her, convince her parents you love her, piap and happy ending and journey continue

If parents and daughter you failed to convince end the relationship and move on .
Last time you success?
denver1347
post Jun 24 2025, 09:19 AM

252 posts

If you never meet her in real life.
I mean see her in person not stupid video call. lame voice talk.

100% your "gf" is a scammer somewhere.

Just a friendly reminder.
toiletwater
post Jun 24 2025, 09:20 AM

531 posts

I experienced a somewhat similar situation. But mine is physically meet up every night. Meet until 12-1am. Wake up the next day at 6:30am. So still ok.

Your gf feel insecure due to her character? or due to some current situation? or some past trauma? These situations cannot be looked at in isolation.
parisiansky
post Jun 24 2025, 10:14 AM

116 posts

LDRs only work when there's constant communication between both parties. Having a clingy gf who needs to hear from u 24/7 won't make this rship any easier. It also seems like she has anxious attachment style. The more u push her away, the more clingy she can be.

If u have sat her down n had an honest discussion with her abt the importance of yr job n that u're still into her even though u seldom text her but she still doesn't understand, then I don't see this rship going anywhere. It' only works if she stops being clingy by making herself busy like getting new hobbies or u find another job.
SkyCaptain
post Jun 24 2025, 10:21 AM

261 posts

Without understanding more context and some background of your LDR/GF, it is reckless to provide input here.

For now, I would say if it is like this now, you can expect it to get worse later.
zuozi
post Jun 24 2025, 10:23 AM

1,261 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Jun 24 2025, 09:16 AM)
Last time you success?
success and also with fail nothing wrong or right at the end.

Try liao better than doing nothing.
hoonanoo
post Jun 24 2025, 10:54 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Jun 24 2025, 05:43 AM)
Title: My clingy long-distance girlfriend asks if I talk to others when I'm busy —
what should I do?

Hey everyone, I’m in a long-distance relationship with a girlfriend who’s emotionally dependent.
She needs constant communication and attention. I’ve been trying my best to chat with her every day, even during off work hours when I’m really busy.
I actually need to sleep at 8:00 PM every day because I have to wake up at 4:50 AM.

But sometimes I end up sleeping at 11:00 PM after chit-chatting with her, so I only get 6 hours of sleep or less.
But sometimes, when I don’t reply quickly or miss a day, she’ll ask me things like, “Did you go chat with someone else?”
I often change the passwords for the social apps we use to avoid chatting with her, but sometimes I can’t control myself.
I end up pressing “forgot password” and then use my reset password to log in again so I can keep chatting.
I know she’s insecure and just wants reassurance, but it adds pressure on me emotionally.

I’m wondering — would it be okay if I only message her every 2 or 3 days during busy workweeks, as long as I still show I care?

I care about her, but I also don’t want to feel guilty for focusing on work. She says she loves me, but sometimes I feel like the trust isn’t solid.

How do you manage a clingy partner in a long-distance relationship when your schedule is tight?

have you met her in person before?

For LDR to work you need to know her at least 1 year before you guys go for LDR

Also you need a long term plan, what is the end game?

are any of you planning to link up after some time ?

So who is the one in overseas? you or her ?

If there are no plans to link up in future, to live together, please forget about LDR

its too much hassle lah.
jasonlim
post Jun 24 2025, 02:36 PM

Bunga(R)
3,575 posts

Change gf la

This relationship won't last
hkhk@kit P
post Jun 24 2025, 02:40 PM

Probation

expect she will initiate break up from you , at the end you gave up.

if don't have future plan, just let it go and get new gf.
TSplouffle0789
post Jun 24 2025, 04:21 PM

1,816 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Jun 24 2025, 10:54 AM)
have you met her in person before?

For LDR to work you need to know her at least 1 year before you guys go for LDR

Also you need a long term plan, what is the end game?

are any of you planning to link up after some time ?

So who is the one in overseas? you or her ?

If there are no plans to link up in future, to live together, please forget about LDR

its too much hassle lah.
I at overseas.

But distance just 100km

SUSw19
post Jun 24 2025, 05:14 PM

412 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Jun 24 2025, 05:43 AM)
what should I do?

Just let her know you are not year year 18 yo, but outside full of 18 yo girl!

Boss, work hard!

Money = Freedom
hoonanoo
post Jun 24 2025, 06:01 PM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Jun 24 2025, 04:21 PM)
I at overseas.

But distance just 100km
singapore?
TSplouffle0789
post Jun 24 2025, 06:02 PM

1,816 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Jun 24 2025, 06:01 PM)
singapore?
Yes
-mystery-
post Jun 25 2025, 02:24 AM

2,716 posts

you can't change a partner who is prone to anxious
It gets tiring at some point
I would say build your own value
move up yourself so that you can attract a better partner

It's like same with family members
If you can't discard them, stay with them while moving up your capability. When they saw your value, hopefully some day they may change

rely on yourself, don't hope someone would change for you completely
TSplouffle0789
post Jun 25 2025, 05:41 AM

1,816 posts

QUOTE(-mystery- @ Jun 25 2025, 02:24 AM)
you can't change a partner who is prone to anxious
It gets tiring at some point
I would say build your own value
move up yourself so that you can attract a better partner

It's like same with family members
If you can't discard them, stay with them while moving up your capability. When they saw your value, hopefully some day they may change

rely on yourself, don't hope someone would change for you completely
🏗️ CIQ/RTS Area Property Outlook (mystery Personal Evaluation)

No. **Aspect** **Details**
------------------------------------
1 **Supply** 1. Estimated **20k–30k units** coming to market near JB CIQ/RTS by **2026–2028**. <br>2. Does **not include** projects in wider JB metro and Second Link custom areas.
2 **Demand** 1. Need **additional tenants** to absorb incoming supply. <br>2. Possible sources:<br>;• **New jobs** created in SG<br>• **SG-based renters** relocating to JB
3 **Rental Upside** 1. Most tenants are **blue-collar, retail, F&B, service sector** workers. <br>2. **Rental ceiling** due to affordability. <br>3. **Higher-income workers/families** prefer landed homes further from JB CIQ. <br>4. CIQ not ideal for **family living**. <br>5. **Unclear** if higher-income group will shift to JB CIQ. <br>6. If rent too high, **singles might prefer to stay in SG**.
4 **Other Factors** 1. Influenced by **SG rental market trends**. <br>2. Impact from **SGD/MYR exchange rate**. <br>3. **RTS capacity** of 10,000 passengers/hour is helpful but **not a full game changer**. <br>4. Needs strong **transport & infrastructure support** to truly drive relocation to JB custom area.

👏 Very sharp observations — well structured and practical.
🙏 Thanks a lot for sharing this excellent market insight!

**Group** **Living in SG HDB** **Living in JB Condo**
**Singles Malaysian** 1. Close to workplace – saves time and energy<br>2. No daily immigration hassle<br>3. Easier social life and convenience 1. Much cheaper rent<br>2. Willing to endure long commute for savings<br>3. May benefit from RTS link once ready
**Families (Malaysian) * 1. Kids’ schools, healthcare, and daily routines are in SG<br>2. Avoid long travel with children<br>3. But cost of living is high 1. Larger space for kids at lower cost<br>2. Better quality of life if working parents can manage the travel<br>3. Usually prefer landed homes over condos

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: Jun 25 2025, 05:49 AM
hoonanoo
post Jun 25 2025, 08:58 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Jun 24 2025, 06:02 PM)
Yes
what is your long term plan with her?

is she moving to singapore to be with you?

TSplouffle0789
post Jun 25 2025, 11:48 AM

1,816 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Jun 25 2025, 08:58 AM)
what is your long term plan with her?

is she moving to singapore to be with you?
Need to wait 3 years at least

Wait until Jan 2029
hoonanoo
post Jun 25 2025, 05:09 PM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Jun 25 2025, 11:48 AM)
Need to wait 3 years at least
Wait until Jan 2029
so long.

must be torture for her to wait so long for you

0.0149sec    0.26    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 09:56 PM