Eventually they will move to weighing items. Or trays with standardized portion volume. Salah siapa? Salah kiasu type c mindset both trying to maximize their money worth.
There is 1 mixed rice shop near me that started to do that. Lots of complaint also.
It's even more arbitrary I tell you. Different meat got different weight, bone vs boneless, sos vs no sos. Nobody knows how they calculate. Just that the price increased even more. Eventually customers go buy elsewhere.
There is 1 mixed rice shop near me that started to do that. Lots of complaint also.
It's even more arbitrary I tell you. Different meat got different weight, bone vs boneless, sos vs no sos. Nobody knows how they calculate. Just that the price increased even more. Eventually customers go buy elsewhere.
The fairest method is no self service scoop by stall helper himself. State specifically on the price list x number of vege + y number of meat combo = how much scoop by helper at the front of the stall.
Large piece of meat such as fried chicken/drumstick goes by per piece price. Rice also by scoop and portion size.
The fairest method is no self service scoop by stall helper himself. State specifically on the price list x number of vege + y number of meat combo = how much scoop by helper at the front of the stall.
Large piece of meat such as fried chicken/drumstick goes by per piece price. Rice also by scoop and portion size.
Ironically Panda Express and other Chinese takeaway restaurants in western countries do it this way.
That is why I prefer to eat at places where the prices are stated so there would be no surprises like this. I had my fair share of kena potong leher at chap fan stalls.
This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Jun 16 2025, 06:58 PM
the trick is never take a little of everything take a lot of 1 thing instead
it's not the amount u took, it's how many u took
Nah, they will say 2,3 scoops. For them 1 scoop is based on the size of their spoon, try and see. I kena a few times in different shops before, so better to go by pieces like pork ribs or chicken, they also pandai play games nowadays. JB prices a bit gila, they think all locals kaya like sinkie, in 1993 when working there, paid RM5 for chicken rice when Pg was RM1.80 only.