BYD Malaysia buys back faulty Atto3
SUSlurkingaround
May 31 2025, 05:20 PM
QUOTE((max_cavalera @ May 31 2025, 12:14 PM) BYD already sell like what? 10 thousands of cars the past 3 years in Msia? If a simple 12v battery failure caused this, there should be at least few hundred cases like this have occured 🤔 QUOTE(Drian @ May 31 2025, 04:25 PM) When you are selling batteries, it's in their best interest to scare consumers to change their batteries every 6 months. Just like another guy ifourtos or something like that, works as a solar system salesman, therefore constantly promoting the use of EV. . In this case, ie the BYD Atto 3 suddenly auto emergency braking on the highway from 100km/h in 6s, purportedly due to a faulty door sensor and not a faulty 12V battery, is also scaring consumers from buying BYD EV cars. If this TERRIFYING or SCARY incident had happened in CCP China, BYD would have already blamed it on the driver by issuing an LOD or lawyer letter to demand the deletion of the post/comment and a public apology from the driver. .
Roman Catholic
May 31 2025, 06:07 PM
QUOTE(lurkingaround @ May 31 2025, 05:20 PM) . In this case, ie the BYD Atto 3 suddenly auto emergency braking on the highway from 100km/h in 6s, purportedly due to a faulty door sensor and not a faulty 12V battery, is also scaring consumers from buying BYD EV cars. If this TERRIFYING or SCARY incident had happened in CCP China, BYD would have already blamed it on the driver by issuing an LOD or lawyer letter to demand the deletion of the post/comment and a public apology from the driver. . It's not would have, they had already taken action against the Chinese individual who raised the alarm on the weakness of the 12Volt battery in the EV. This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: May 31 2025, 06:17 PM
saiga
May 31 2025, 07:22 PM
QUOTE(haturaya @ May 31 2025, 12:15 PM) So, what really went wrong with this Atto 3? No press conference by Sime / BYD? Lemon unit or something more sinister? Maybe kene hacked. Kill switch activated remotely lol.
Roman Catholic
May 31 2025, 10:09 PM
QUOTE(max_cavalera @ May 31 2025, 12:17 PM) DC/DC converter kaput could be the main culprit. But it seems to occur very rarely. 12v battery kaput is so common its impossible this thing just happen once in this case. Machem ICE car yes 12v battery kaput is so common. But alternator that constantly charge the 12v battery kaput we very rarely encoutnered it though it can still happened. If the DC/DC converter had failed, wouldn't that be mentioned in the press statement ? Obviously that didn't failed. Lurkingaround had already written the condition for the 12V battery to fail and that is not impossible as well, as more EV are put on the road, the odds for that permutation to take place increases. This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: May 31 2025, 10:21 PM
Roman Catholic
May 31 2025, 10:27 PM
QUOTE(lurkingaround @ May 31 2025, 05:20 PM) . In this case, ie the BYD Atto 3 suddenly auto emergency braking on the highway from 100km/h in 6s, purportedly due to a faulty door sensor and not a faulty 12V battery, is also scaring consumers from buying BYD EV cars. If this TERRIFYING or SCARY incident had happened in CCP China, BYD would have already blamed it on the driver by issuing an LOD or lawyer letter to demand the deletion of the post/comment and a public apology from the driver. . Looks like they shot themself in the foot in trying to fix the blame on the poor door sensor. Now it can be any other fucking sensors on board which brings the EV to an abrupt stop. Now give me free I also don't want.
Roman Catholic
May 31 2025, 10:34 PM
QUOTE(lurkingaround @ May 31 2025, 03:00 PM) Boy96. No lah. The running EV car is still running after its 12V battery is removed does not mean the accessories are also still running, eg door system and sensors, lights, etc or such EV car can still be driven on the road. ....... AFAIK, with an EV car running or switched on, the traction battery directly powers the electric (drive) motors, which motors in turn powers the climate control system, eg compressors, ... and recharges the 12V battery when needed, which 12V battery directly powers the accessories, eg door system and sensors, lights, HVAC fan, steering, braking, computer, ADAS, cockpit displays, etc. Note that the 12V battery also powers the "starter" system, ie it is needed to "wake up" the traction battery's power system, eg a dead 12V battery in a parked EV car that has been switched off = a dead EV car that cannot be started or "woken up" = may need to be jumpstarted or the 12V battery replaced. . Fyi, ....... https://www.bannerbatterien.com/en/Battery-...board-batteries - EVERYTHING ABOUT THE 12V BATTERY IN THE E-CAR EXPLAINED QUICKLY AND SIMPLY .... Another Banner tip: Take the electric or hybrid car to the workshop for service or repair, then please leave at least one side window open in the workshop. Even better: leave a door propped open so that you can get back into the electric car if necessary. Why? Depending on the repair, the 12V starter and on-board battery could be disconnected. If this happens without external voltage maintenance, the doors could remain locked, depending on the car model! In the worst case, the workshop visit will now take a little longer than planned.
This information also applies to DIY (do it yourself) service and repair work. ... Gemini AI Overview:
Disconnecting the 12V battery while an EV is running can cause various issues, but the car won't immediately stop. The 12V battery primarily powers the car's accessories, electronics, and some auxiliary systems, not the main traction battery that powers the motors.
However, disconnecting it can lead to: - 1. Loss of Accessory Power: Features like lights, air conditioning, and radio may not function if the 12V battery is disconnected, as they rely on it for power. - 2. Potential System Errors: Some electronic systems, like the car's computer, may malfunction or display error messages due to the lack of power from the 12V battery. - 3. Difficulty Re-Starting the Car: The car may not start or have difficulty restarting if the 12V battery is completely depleted.
Important Note: The EV's main traction battery still powers the motors, so the car can continue to drive, albeit potentially with reduced functionality. However, disconnecting the 12V battery while the car is running is generally not recommended, and it's best to address any issues with the 12V battery when the car is off. . Wait what ? Disconnecting the 12V battery the car won't come to an abrupt stop ? Who is this Gemini ? There was this YouTuber who started creating video online while wearing sunglasses. Guess what he did ? He started his ICE and remove his battery while the engine was running and then CLAIMED that he had driven his vehicle around without the battery !!!! Yup another dildo. I hope my clients don't see and learn from such dildos. Ultimate sheer stupidity. This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: May 31 2025, 11:02 PM
Roman Catholic
May 31 2025, 10:49 PM
QUOTE(max_cavalera @ May 31 2025, 12:14 PM) BYD already sell like what? 10 thousands of cars the past 3 years in Msia? If a simple 12v battery failure caused this, there should be at least few hundred cases like this have occured 🤔 Very easy to replicate the situation one. Who wants to try it with their EV, except for Tesla that uses 16V battery cause I don't have half dead 16V batteries lying around. This is going to be so much fun. Kejap yang lurkingaround highlighted cases around the world EV owners complaining about their 12V battery, those numbers don't count ? Gugel YouTube so many videos on such issues, they don't count ? This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Jun 1 2025, 10:33 AM
Drian
Jun 1 2025, 02:44 PM
QUOTE(lurkingaround @ May 31 2025, 05:20 PM) . In this case, ie the BYD Atto 3 suddenly auto emergency braking on the highway from 100km/h in 6s, purportedly due to a faulty door sensor and not a faulty 12V battery, is also scaring consumers from buying BYD EV cars. If this TERRIFYING or SCARY incident had happened in CCP China, BYD would have already blamed it on the driver by issuing an LOD or lawyer letter to demand the deletion of the post/comment and a public apology from the driver. . So? Scare la? I don't sell BYD cars. Why are you telling me this for? Btw your AI has been proven wrong so many times.... why do you even bother using it and try to claim what AI said as fact. This post has been edited by Drian: Jun 1 2025, 03:10 PM
Drian
Jun 1 2025, 03:10 PM
It's funny that some Christian battery seller who claims to be an electrical expert , did not believe the onboard DC/DC converter is the one taking over the charging and powering up the whole system when it is on. Here is one example where a dead battery and main traction battery below 20% occurred while parking. The solution? Jumpstart the battery and once it is turned on the DC/DC converter took over and provided a constant 13.8V even when the main traction battery was below 20%. (this proves lurkingaround and the Christian battery seller inaccurate). The whole DC/DC system with main traction battery below 20% was able to keep the battery up and allowed the owner to drive home and charge the battery. [url=]  [/url]
johnny82
Jun 1 2025, 03:12 PM
buying electric car now is like buying iphone gen 1.. everything new, technology is not mature yet.. but good on these sheep for testing....
Roman Catholic
Jun 1 2025, 03:59 PM
Lurkingaround guess what ? ...  🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣
SUSlurkingaround
Jun 1 2025, 04:35 PM
QUOTE(Drian @ Jun 1 2025, 03:10 PM) It's funny that some Christian battery seller who claims to be an electrical expert , did not believe the onboard DC/DC converter is the one taking over the charging and powering up the whole system when it is on. Here is one example where a dead battery and main traction battery below 20% occurred while parking. The solution? Jumpstart the battery and once it is turned on the DC/DC converter took over and provided a constant 13.8V even when the main traction battery was below 20%. (this proves lurkingaround and the Christian battery seller inaccurate). The whole DC/DC system with main traction battery below 20% was able to keep the battery up and allowed the owner to drive home and charge the battery. [url=]  [/url] . So, why the owner had to drive to the nearest (public EV charging station) location to DC-fast charge his BYD Atto 3 car after jumpstarting the car with a "dead" 12V battery.? Then afterwards, why the owner could switch off and on the EV car without any issue after AC-slow charged it at home.? = the EV car could not start because of a weak or depleted/discharged 12V battery, not bc of a "dead" 12V battery. A truly dead 12V battery cannot be recharged and the EV car can no longer be started = a dead 12V battery needs to be replaced with a new one, eg a 12V lead-acid battery that has reached it's normal life span of about 2 years. ....... Similarly for our smartphone battery if dead after about 2 years of daily usage. Similarly for a weak/depleted or a dead 12V lead-acid battery in an automatic petrol or ICE-V car, ie the former can be jumpstarted to start the automatic ICE-V car, whereas the latter can also be jumpstarted to start the car but thereafter it can no longer start the car on its own = needs to be replaced with a new one. . This post has been edited by lurkingaround: Jun 1 2025, 04:36 PM
Drian
Jun 1 2025, 05:14 PM
QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Jun 1 2025, 04:35 PM) . So, why the owner had to drive to the nearest (public EV charging station) location to DC-fast charge his BYD Atto 3 car after jumpstarting the car with a "dead" 12V battery.? Then afterwards, why the owner could switch off and on the EV car without any issue after AC-slow charged it at home.? = the EV car could not start because of a weak or depleted/discharged 12V battery, not bc of a "dead" 12V battery. A truly dead 12V battery cannot be recharged and the EV car can no longer be started = a dead 12V battery needs to be replaced with a new one, eg a 12V lead-acid battery that has reached it's normal life span of about 2 years. ....... Similarly for our smartphone battery if dead after about 2 years of daily usage. Similarly for a weak/depleted or a dead 12V lead-acid battery in an automatic petrol or ICE-V car, ie the former can be jumpstarted to start the automatic ICE-V car, whereas the latter can also be jumpstarted to start the car but thereafter it can no longer start the car on its own = needs to be replaced with a new one. . The point is that statements that you made in the past were wrong. So now you making more inaccurate statements to cover up your past inaccurate statements. This post has been edited by Drian: Jun 1 2025, 05:16 PM
SUSlurkingaround
Jun 1 2025, 05:17 PM
QUOTE(Drian @ Jun 1 2025, 05:14 PM) The point is that statements that you made in the past were wrong. . More like the statements that you made above and in the past were wrong. .
cedyy
Jun 1 2025, 05:22 PM
So that faulty sensor sent signal to the ecu and this caused the entire car sytem to stop and shut down and cannot be powered on again after that? I still don't buy the story given
This post has been edited by cedyy: Jun 1 2025, 05:25 PM
Drian
Jun 1 2025, 05:36 PM
QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Jun 1 2025, 05:17 PM) . More like the statements that you made above and in the past were wrong. . Yes. From claiming that BYD atto3 does not charge the battery while driving if the main traction battery is below 20% to BYD Atto3 do not constantly charge the 12V battery while driving. You were wrong so many many times. This post has been edited by Drian: Jun 1 2025, 05:37 PM
SUSlurkingaround
Jun 1 2025, 06:01 PM
QUOTE(Drian @ Jun 1 2025, 05:36 PM) Yes. From claiming that BYD atto3 does not charge the battery while driving if the main traction battery is below 20% to BYD Atto3 do not constantly charge the 12V battery while driving. You were wrong so many many times. .  . Your above image states that the BYD Atto 3 owner's service advisor from BYD Penang told him that the 12V battery could not be recharged bc each time the HV battery is below 20%, it will not recharge the battery. That was why his EV car could not be started, ie the 12V battery "died" or was discharged/depleted or weak due to not being recharged by the HV battery that was below 20% SoC = had to be jumpstarted. ....... Are you also saying the BYD service advisor is wrong.? Then the advisor told him to drive to the nearest location and get the car DC charged after jumpstarting the car. Why would the advisor tell him to fast-fast DC charge the car if the HV battery was recharging the 12V battery even when the HV battery was below 20%, eg at 5% to 1%. ....... Eg why the advisor did not tell the owner to drive home if it only takes <20% of SoC to do so, and AC slow charge his car at his home.? I believe you have misinterpreted your own posted image above. .
Drian
Jun 1 2025, 06:48 PM
QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Jun 1 2025, 06:01 PM) .  . Your above image states that the BYD Atto 3 owner's service advisor from BYD Penang told him that the 12V battery could not be recharged bc each time the HV battery is below 20%, it will not recharge the battery. That was why his EV car could not be started, ie the 12V battery "died" or was discharged/depleted or weak due to not being recharged by the HV battery that was below 20% SoC = had to be jumpstarted. ....... Are you also saying the BYD service advisor is wrong.? Then the advisor told him to drive to the nearest location and get the car DC charged after jumpstarting the car. Why would the advisor tell him to fast-fast DC charge the car if the HV battery was recharging the 12V battery even when the HV battery was below 20%, eg at 5% to 1%. ....... Eg why the advisor did not tell the owner to drive home if it only takes <20% of SoC to do so, and AC slow charge his car at his home.? I believe you have misinterpreted your own posted image above. . QUOTE Your above image states that the BYD Atto 3 owner's service advisor from BYD Penang told him that the 12V battery could not be recharged bc each time the HV battery is below 20%, it will not recharge the battery. That was why his EV car could not be started, ie the 12V battery "died" or was discharged/depleted or weak due to not being recharged by the HV battery that was below 20% SoC = had to be jumpstarted. ....... Are you also saying the BYD service advisor is wrong.? Nope. I am saying you were wrong. There's nothing I said that conflicts with the service advisor. QUOTE Then the advisor told him to drive to the nearest location and get the car DC charged after jumpstarting the car. Why would the advisor tell him to fast-fast DC charge the car if the HV battery was recharging the 12V battery even when the HV battery was below 20%, eg at 5% to 1%. ....... Eg why the advisor did not tell the owner to drive home if it only takes <20% of SoC to do so, and AC slow charge his car at his home.? Because you have to keep the car on while you slow charge to keep the DC/DC converter working. If it was above 20% he can off and lock the car and charge. So are you asking him to leave the car on for 2 hours while he slow charge the main traction battery? QUOTE I believe you have misinterpreted your own posted image above. . You believe wrongly.
SUSlurkingaround
Jun 1 2025, 07:48 PM
QUOTE(Drian @ Jun 1 2025, 06:48 PM) Nope. I am saying you were wrong. There's nothing I said that conflicts with the service advisor. . QUOTE Then the advisor told him to drive to the nearest location and get the car DC charged after jumpstarting the car. Why would the advisor tell him to fast-fast DC charge the car if the HV battery was recharging the 12V battery even when the HV battery was below 20%, eg at 5% to 1%. ....... Eg why the advisor did not tell the owner to drive home if it only takes <20% of SoC to do so, and AC slow charge his car at his home.?
Because you have to keep the car on while you slow charge to keep the DC/DC converter working. If it was above 20% he can off and lock the car and charge. So are you asking him to leave the car on for 2 hours while he slow charge the main traction battery? You believe wrongly. No, you believe wrongly, ....... . https://www.reddit.com/r/electricvehicles/c...vs_12v_battery/ - r/electricvehicles 1 yr. ago Positive_Guarantee20
ELI5: Traction battery vs. 12V battery .... deleted
As a safety measure, all EV cars disconnect the Traction Battery after no usage between 5-10 minutes of isle no powered on state. The 12v passively maintains the car's ECUs at that point.
Therefore, a 12v will only charge from the Traction Battery when the car is operational, as in driving.
lbfb
This isn’t neccacarly true of the Ioniq 5 ( and maybe all E-GMP, but not sure there). The I5 will engage the traction battery to top up the 12V as long as the former is above, I believe, 20% SoC. That’s what the orange light on the dashboard is indicating, that the high voltage system is active.
Likely issue for the OP is that the 12V batteries in some I5s just die eventually. Assuming the vehicle has had all TSBs applied I believe it should be fine once the 12V is replaced. Don’t know if it’s been stated or determined if they’re dying because of something the vehicle is doing or they’re just crap batteries.
retiredminion
Not all EVs. Teslas will keep the low voltage battery refreshed from the traction battery.
I left my 2021 model Y with the older 12v lead acid battery parked and unplugged for 3 weeks and everything was fine when I returned. So too my wife's 2023 model 3 with the 16v lithium low voltage battery. Even most newer ICE cars would have 12v battery problems after being parked for 3 weeks.
retiredminion
Apparently you missed the part that said "... most newer ICE cars ...".
The reason is due to all of the electronics that continuously draw power in newer vehicles. I'm not personally familiar with farm vehicles but I'm guessing they don't generally provide things like keyless entry, remote functions, alarm systems, etc. ....
NZgeek
In general, it works like this:
The low voltage (usually 12v, but newer Teslas use 48v) battery powers the car's systems when it's not in a ready-to-drive state.
When the car is put into a ready-to-drive state, the high voltage traction battery takes over and an inverter produces the lower voltage needed for the car's systems.
The traction battery is disconnected when it's not needed. This is likely for safety reasons: why expose the car's systems to 400v/800v if it's not being used? The connection/disconnection mechanism typically lives inside the traction battery pack, whereas the inverter to low voltage usually lives outside the battery pack (to help with cooling).
It's fairly common for EVs to monitor the level of the low voltage battery, and to use the traction battery to charge the low voltage battery as needed. The 12v battery is also often charged when the car is charging from the wall.
There usually aren't many parasitic drains on the low voltage battery. The worst drains are usually caused by apps that contact the car, e.g. to get its charge status for a smart charger. This can prevent the car's systems from going into sleep mode, causing it to drain the low voltage battery a lot more than it should. . This post has been edited by lurkingaround: Jun 1 2025, 07:49 PM
skywardsword
Jun 1 2025, 08:03 PM
QUOTE(Expressso @ May 29 2025, 04:13 PM) 101 in E&E / mechatronic engineering is to never have single point of failure and should be fault-tolerant and fail safe even if it fails. For this case it seems that the system is designed to failsafe but not fail-operational. I guess BYD is more conservative and will shutdown once the system detect a fault even if it's a minor one. They can improve their system by making it fail gracefully. At least keep the electric power steering, brake booster and ESP working until it stops completely. Fail and stop running = safe? Fail and keep running without ability to stop = safe? Fail and slowly stop = safe? I believe in all our dreams, we prefer it to fail and still have the ability to specifically tell us, why it is failing and let us slowly glide to a gentle stop.