19 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Bottom

BYD Malaysia buys back faulty Atto3

SUSlurkingaround
post May 29 2025, 05:52 PM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE((lurkingaround @ May 29 2025, 03:48 PM)
No, it's very similar lar.

It proves that the 12V battery in EV cars can fail for various abnormal reasons, resulting in car breakdowns while parked or driving, .......

https://insideevs.com/news/752720/ev-12-vol...ttery-problems/ -
The big, expensive batteries are dead reliable. It's the puny 12-volts that are causing problems. - 6 March 2025
QUOTE(Drian @ May 29 2025, 05:37 PM)
No it's not.

Yes but in the case of the current atto3 it is not. You can't take another incident and say this atto3 which happen in Malaysia must have the same issue.
Your gemini AI has been proven wrong many times. Why are you still using it when it is so unreliable?
From my link above, .......

.... Yet the simpler route is not without its pitfalls. EVs from Hyundai, Kia and Genesis don't have the same power management issue as Rivians. They have a much worse physical issue. The Integrated Charging Control Unit (ICCU) that charges the 12-volt batteries in these vehicles is a key failure point. A transistor within the unit can be damaged by overvoltage, making it unable to charge the vehicle's 12-volt battery. When that happens, it's a ticking clock until you lose all 12-volt power. That will lead to a gradual loss of drive power, which the recall notice notes could potentially increase the risk of crashing. Well, multiple recall notices. ...

= a failing 12V battery in a moving EV car can result in loss of drive power, and in the case of the BYD Atto 3 in Malaysia, it resulted in a total loss of drive power (not gradual loss) and immediate braking on the highway = A TERRIFYING SITUATION, ie 12V battery fail ---> door sensors also likely fail ---> falsely sensing as door open while car is moving ---> auto activation of EPB and total power shutdown.

This post has been edited by lurkingaround: May 29 2025, 05:53 PM
Drian
post May 29 2025, 06:10 PM

4,999 posts

QUOTE(lurkingaround @ May 29 2025, 05:52 PM)
From my link above, .......

.... Yet the simpler route is not without its pitfalls. EVs from Hyundai, Kia and Genesis don't have the same power management issue as Rivians. They have a much worse physical issue. The Integrated Charging Control Unit (ICCU) that charges the 12-volt batteries in these vehicles is a key failure point. A transistor within the unit can be damaged by overvoltage, making it unable to charge the vehicle's 12-volt battery. When that happens, it's a ticking clock until you lose all 12-volt power. That will lead to a gradual loss of drive power, which the recall notice notes could potentially increase the risk of crashing. Well, multiple recall notices. ...

= a failing 12V battery in a moving EV car can result in loss of drive power, and in the case of the BYD Atto 3 in Malaysia, it resulted in a total loss of drive power (not gradual loss) and immediate braking on the highway = A TERRIFYING SITUATION, ie  12V battery fail ---> door sensors also likely fail ---> falsely sensing as door open while car is moving ---> auto activation of EPB and total power shutdown.
Again you are creating failure links by yourself

eg:-
12V battery fail.
Why would 12V battery fail when it is powered by Dc/DC converter at 13.8V. So Inaccurate.

---> door sensors also likely fail -
Any electronic door sensor are voltage regulated. So inaccurate.

You can go round and round and repeat your same story and I will counter you the same way.

I also can create stories :-
12V battery fail ---> LCD light flikering ---> I get headache. LOL smile.gif

This post has been edited by Drian: May 29 2025, 06:11 PM
Roman Catholic
post May 29 2025, 06:29 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(Expressso @ May 29 2025, 04:13 PM)
101 in E&E / mechatronic engineering is to never have single point of failure and should be fault-tolerant and fail safe even if it fails.

For this case it seems that the system is designed to failsafe but not fail-operational. I guess BYD is more conservative and will shutdown once the system detect a fault even if it's a minor one.

They can improve their system by making it fail gracefully. At least keep the electric power steering, brake booster and ESP working until it stops completely.
Sorry but that gracefully failing ain't happening and it never will either especially with a lead acid battery.

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: May 29 2025, 06:30 PM
TAN WENG
post May 29 2025, 06:41 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(Jasonist @ May 26 2025, 05:42 PM)
so this faulty sensor shit is a disaster waiting to happen.. imagine these modern so called high tech cars now packed with sensors in every corner, one of the sensor go crazy u will risk losing life stopping suddenly in the middle of high speed freeway
Their car damn heavy chance of survival is high unless is big lorry 🚛 or tanker
Roman Catholic
post May 29 2025, 07:19 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(TAN WENG @ May 29 2025, 06:41 PM)
Their car damn heavy chance of survival is high unless is big lorry 🚛 or tanker
Not only damn heavy but damn stable as well. Remember the collision at a roundabout in Melaka, it sent the ICE flipping over while the EV steady aje. Then another case, the EV lifted the 4x4 and spun it 90° before crashing into other ICEs. Another was when the EV not happy with motobodo and in an instant smashed into the motobodo at the side. Fuh

ICE already dunno how to drive properly, I wonder what will it be like with EV with all that instant power. LOL

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: May 29 2025, 07:21 PM
wertty
post May 29 2025, 07:49 PM

154 posts

i’d stick to old school analog saga with no power steering

electronics here and there pffff, what you need a sensor to tell your blind spot too ? amateurs
TAN WENG
post May 29 2025, 08:02 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(wertty @ May 29 2025, 07:49 PM)
i’d stick to old school analog saga with no power steering

electronics here and there pffff, what you need a sensor to tell your blind spot too ? amateurs
After warranty can sell
SUSlurkingaround
post May 29 2025, 09:51 PM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ May 29 2025, 06:10 PM)
Again you are creating failure links by yourself

eg:-

Why would 12V battery fail when it is powered by Dc/DC converter at 13.8V. So Inaccurate. 
Didn't your own geekzone forum link stated that there was around 1 BYD Atto 3 breakdown per day due to failed 12V battery caused by long ship-freight of the EV cars from CCP China to NZ.?

Didn't my insideevs link stated that faulty ICCU had caused failure in the 12V battery of Hyundai, Kia and Genesis EV cars which necessitated recalls.? .......

https://insideevs.com/news/752720/ev-12-vol...ttery-problems/ - The big, expensive batteries are dead reliable. It's the puny 12-volts that are causing problems. - 6 March 2025
.... Issues with 12-volt batteries are clear in Consumer Reports' reliability data, Elek said. While the firm couldn't confirm whether 12-volt problems are more common with EVs, it has data showing them as consistent trouble spots for EVs like the Hyundai Ioniq 5, Kia EV6, Rivian R1S and Rivian R1T. Forums for any of those brands support the issue.

Hyundai, Kia and Genesis have all had to recall EVs due to issues with the system that charges the 12-volt battery. ...

QUOTE((Drian)

You can go round and round and repeat your same story and I will counter you the same way.

It's a fact that the 12V battery directly powers the door sensors plus other accessories when the EV car is switched on and/or parked or being driven = if the 12V battery fails, for whatever reason, it's only logical for the door sensors plus other accessories to also fail.
....... It's the same with our mobile smartphone/tablet being directly powered by its 5V battery, eg powering the screen, speakers, microphones, fingerprint sensor, cameras and their sensors, 4G/5G or Wifi connection, GPS, accelerometer+gyroscope, etc = if the 5V battery fails, all the accessories will also fail.

You believe the TERRIFYING SITUATION in the OP (emergency braking from 100km/h in 6s) was caused by the faulty door sensor only, ie not related to a faulty or failing or weak 12V battery. You likely believe wrong.

Drian
post May 29 2025, 10:33 PM

4,999 posts

QUOTE(lurkingaround @ May 29 2025, 09:51 PM)
Didn't your own geekzone forum link stated that there was around 1 BYD Atto 3 breakdown per day due to failed 12V battery caused by long ship-freight of the EV cars from CCP China to NZ.?

Didn't my insideevs link stated that faulty ICCU had caused failure in the 12V battery of Hyundai, Kia and Genesis EV cars which necessitated recalls.? .......

https://insideevs.com/news/752720/ev-12-vol...ttery-problems/ - The big, expensive batteries are dead reliable. It's the puny 12-volts that are causing problems. - 6 March 2025
.... Issues with 12-volt batteries are clear in Consumer Reports' reliability data, Elek said. While the firm couldn't confirm whether 12-volt problems are more common with EVs, it has data showing them as consistent trouble spots for EVs like the Hyundai Ioniq 5, Kia EV6, Rivian R1S and Rivian R1T. Forums for any of those brands support the issue.

Hyundai, Kia and Genesis have all had to recall EVs due to issues with the system that charges the 12-volt battery.  ...

QUOTE((Drian)

It's a fact that the 12V battery directly powers the door sensors plus other accessories when the EV car is switched on and/or parked or being driven = if the 12V battery fails, for whatever reason, it's only logical for the door sensors plus other accessories to also fail.
....... It's the same with our mobile smartphone/tablet being directly powered by its 5V battery, eg powering the screen, speakers, microphones, fingerprint sensor, cameras and their sensors, 4G/5G or Wifi connection, GPS, accelerometer+gyroscope, etc = if the 5V battery fails, all the accessories will also fail.

You believe the TERRIFYING SITUATION in the OP (emergency braking from 100km/h in 6s) was caused by the faulty door sensor only, ie not related to a faulty or failing or weak 12V battery. You likely believe wrong.

Hyundai, Kia and Genesis have all had to recall EVs due to issues with the system that charges the 12-volt battery.  ...

Repeating. Countered.

Yes if you use your critical thinking and common sense, it is also logical that the whole LCD screen all the lights and everything will also fail. Means nothing will turn on. Suddenly only door sensor fail but all the processor , memory , radio system is working .. LOL.
But the LCD screen is still on, the processor is still working. So your logic fail again. Btw there's no 5V battery , I understand similar to the bozo Catholic guy who claims to know electrical systems, you cannot understand what voltage regulated system means.

This post has been edited by Drian: May 29 2025, 10:37 PM
xeNOS
post May 29 2025, 10:36 PM

.:floccinaucinihilipilification:.
1,194 posts

QUOTE(Jasonist @ May 26 2025, 05:42 PM)
so this faulty sensor shit is a disaster waiting to happen.. imagine these modern so called high tech cars now packed with sensors in every corner, one of the sensor go crazy u will risk losing life stopping suddenly in the middle of high speed freeway
Yes imagine you eBrake when crossing the road and along comes a 12 wheeler at full speed....
Roman Catholic
post May 29 2025, 11:17 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(xeNOS @ May 29 2025, 10:36 PM)
Yes imagine you eBrake when crossing the road and along comes a 12 wheeler at full speed....
... EV drebar & sekeluarga full speed terus ke alam lain. But before the accident, while still trap inside the EV, please unplug the safety switch to the high voltage systems ya. Makasih.
dickybird
post May 30 2025, 11:33 AM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ May 27 2025, 05:52 AM)
A very good LKA is a one that would keep a vehicle moving dead center along the road without bouncing of the left and right markers on the road like ping pong, otherwise other road users behind would think that ini driver mabuk ka.
Our roads not billiard tables smooth
Manual lane keeping means i move around in the lane to adjust for camber and road imperfections. Unless you want to replace suspension and wheels regularly.
Roman Catholic
post May 30 2025, 11:53 AM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(dickybird @ May 30 2025, 11:33 AM)
Our roads not billiard tables smooth
Manual lane keeping means i move around in the lane to adjust for camber and road imperfections. Unless you want to replace suspension and wheels regularly.
Agree but I use LKA only for highways.
dickybird
post May 30 2025, 11:56 AM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ May 30 2025, 11:53 AM)
Agree but I use LKA only for highways.
Ayam car only have CC not ACC with LKA. So I’ll try not to rear end the EV dead stopped in the middle of the highway because of a dead 12V battery.
Roman Catholic
post May 30 2025, 12:03 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(dickybird @ May 30 2025, 11:56 AM)
Ayam car only have CC not ACC with LKA. So I’ll try not to rear end the EV dead stopped in the middle of the highway because of a dead 12V battery.
While ICE drivers like many of us will now avoid travelling behind an EV for obvious safety reasons, I wonder from hereonwards will we see an increase of heavy vehicles rear ending EV on highways onot. Interesting to see what unfolds. 6s cukup tak for a heavy vehicle to do emergency braking ? LOL

I wonder if the white backgournd of the EV plate is also luminous onot.

It's best that EV do not travel on highways when it's dark. Kang mati tengah jalan without hazard lights and cannot get out of vehicle. Terus ke alam lain.

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: May 30 2025, 12:09 PM
dickybird
post May 30 2025, 01:03 PM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ May 30 2025, 12:03 PM)
While ICE drivers like many of us will now avoid travelling behind an EV for obvious safety reasons, I wonder from hereonwards will we see an increase of heavy vehicles rear ending EV on highways onot. Interesting to see what unfolds. 6s cukup tak for a heavy vehicle to do emergency braking ? LOL

I wonder if the white backgournd of the EV plate is also luminous onot.

It's best that EV do not travel on highways when it's dark. Kang mati tengah jalan without hazard lights and cannot get out of vehicle. Terus ke alam lain.
ev not really for long distance travelling anyways, witness the story of the tesla model s driver whose battery almost KO because he was using it to drive from KL to hometown in Batu Pahat.

Roman Catholic
post May 30 2025, 01:05 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(dickybird @ May 30 2025, 01:03 PM)
ev not really for long distance travelling anyways, witness the story of the tesla model s driver whose battery almost KO because he was using it to drive from KL to hometown in Batu Pahat.
What happened to the Tesla Model S ?

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: May 30 2025, 01:06 PM
nabielz
post May 30 2025, 01:13 PM

cbr_akra
903 posts

[quote=dickybird,May 30 2025, 02:03 PM]ev not really for long distance travelling anyways, witness the story of the tesla model s driver whose battery almost KO because he was using it to drive from KL to hometown in Batu Pahat.

[/quote1
Drove from Ampang to gelang patah and jpo. 100% - 17%. Soc. Max cruising speed 130kmh avg in total 88kmh.

This post has been edited by nabielz: May 30 2025, 01:15 PM
dickybird
post May 30 2025, 01:19 PM

2,093 posts

[quote=nabielz,May 30 2025, 01:13 PM]
[quote=dickybird,May 30 2025, 02:03 PM]ev not really for long distance travelling anyways, witness the story of the tesla model s driver whose battery almost KO because he was using it to drive from KL to hometown in Batu Pahat.

[/quote1
Drove from Ampang to gelang patah and jpo. 100% - 17%. Soc. Max cruising speed 130kmh avg in total 88kmh.

[/quote]

the guy was doing it quite regularly, his battery was gg within 2 year iirc
check back again in 18-24 months with your battery health

dickybird
post May 30 2025, 01:20 PM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ May 30 2025, 01:05 PM)
What happened to the Tesla Model S ?
gg his car
ludah lo
whats even more hilarious the EV plotekkers plotek
lol

This post has been edited by dickybird: May 30 2025, 01:21 PM

19 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0148sec    1.27    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 02:54 PM