5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

EPF: Minimum monthly budget needed in major cities

jojolicia
post May 22 2025, 05:09 PM

1,923 posts

QUOTE(moiskyrie @ May 22 2025, 12:41 PM)
Single but take care parent which no more work...
Is consider which category.....
You will be in "blessed" category. Mind to share, your age, self employed? and parents age?
BelaCHAN
post May 22 2025, 05:11 PM

580 posts

IMHO the figures are close enough.
killdavid
post May 22 2025, 05:22 PM

Senior Satire Officer
1,638 posts

Sorry, I see the list and I call bullshit. Meaning the lowest and the highest cost city difference is only RM 300.
Meaning your cost of living between kota bharu and kl is rm 300. Not a chance.

TSknwong
post May 22 2025, 05:26 PM

3,567 posts

QUOTE(killdavid @ May 22 2025, 05:22 PM)
Sorry, I see the list and I call bullshit. Meaning the lowest and the highest cost city difference is only RM 300.
Meaning your cost of living between kota bharu and kl is rm 300. Not a chance.
Married couple with 2 children the difference is RM1300 you know between the 2 cities
moiskyrie
post May 22 2025, 06:28 PM

3,217 posts

QUOTE(theozis @ May 22 2025, 04:33 PM)
Ur unifi cost 140 for 100 Mbps?
It is high if yes
Now is 89/99 only for 100Mbps
No la...
When new 100mbps rm 129 (136.xx, due to tax)
Auto upgrade to 300mbps
Plan downgrade to 100mbps rm 89...
Or where got offer for more lower price.....
As now I seldom download anything...
So no need those high-speed.....

QUOTE(jojolicia @ May 22 2025, 05:09 PM)
You will be in "blessed" category. Mind to share, your age, self employed? and parents age?
40, private worker....
80++, mother...
Surgery to implant pacemaker...
After that suddenly more trouble surface...
Stay hospital several time....
Medical cos almost 1k per month....
Father aeroplane before covid lock down.....
Pain4UrsinZ
post May 22 2025, 06:38 PM

1,861 posts

Barely can survive but insurance premium hike can't bear with it
keyibukeyi
post May 22 2025, 06:54 PM

150 posts

Daily Rm211. Noted with thanks
jojolicia
post May 22 2025, 07:09 PM

1,923 posts

QUOTE(moiskyrie @ May 22 2025, 06:28 PM)
40, private worker....
80++, mother...
80+ need more time to adjust herself. My prayers be upon mum.

Hang in there, mate
You gotta be strong 💪💪. Make sure you have someone close to talk things out and share. Don't bottle up.

soul78
post May 22 2025, 07:14 PM

938 posts

tare 5mil... just retire somewhere outskirts la... as long as not KV...

prolly 2-3mil in Seremban,ipoh,bentong,

1-2 mil in PUAS states.
blmse92
post May 22 2025, 07:20 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(soul78 @ May 22 2025, 07:14 PM)
tare 5mil... just retire somewhere outskirts la... as long as not KV...

prolly 2-3mil in Seremban,ipoh,bentong,
1-2 mil in PUAS states.
can retire at Thailand? owai
and85rew
post May 22 2025, 09:13 PM

Red Devil
877 posts

Not much diff
h4r8_kIlLeR
post May 22 2025, 09:27 PM

89 posts

Ni bajet org b20 ke? I 15k habis each month
fantasy1989
post May 22 2025, 09:28 PM

4,707 posts

1 kid and 2 kid delta only 800 ..

just daycare already 1.5k per child liao

even u find those aunty 1 also need atleast 1k

This post has been edited by fantasy1989: May 22 2025, 09:28 PM
SUSSihambodoh
post May 22 2025, 09:31 PM

436 posts

My family of 3 uses about 9k per month. Car house fully paid.
theozis
post May 22 2025, 09:47 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(moiskyrie @ May 22 2025, 06:28 PM)
No la...
When new 100mbps rm 129 (136.xx, due to tax)
Auto upgrade to 300mbps
Plan downgrade to 100mbps rm 89...
Or where got offer for more lower price.....
As now I seldom download anything...
So no need those high-speed.....
40, private worker....
80++, mother...
if your unifi contract is over, then just get a transfer ID from other broadband service provider and let unifi to counter offer
FYI, unifi and maxis will give free 6-8 months for retention or new customer

cloudwan0
post May 22 2025, 10:06 PM

236 posts

KV, married with 2 kids, 7k enough?
seriously, 7 years ago, i still in KV, combine salary 15k with 2 kids i also felling susah...

car - 600 + 500 petrol + 200 toll = 1.3k
kids preschool - 1000 x 2 = 2k
diaper + milk = 600
house 400k = 2k
grocery = 1k
electric + water + mobile = 800
lunch during work = 300 x 2 = 600
insurance = 400

not even give to parents already 8.7k liao
on weekend want to go out shopping also feeling susah, not sure now how to survive with 7k+...
mick84
post May 22 2025, 10:11 PM

96 posts

RM 7440!

No wonder hari tu there’s a news mention a men complain 7k tak cukup for a family of 4.
haya
post May 23 2025, 07:24 AM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(moiskyrie @ May 22 2025, 04:12 PM)
Electric monthly 150~190
Water 3 month 40~50
Unifi 140 (plan downgrade to 100mbps)
Mobile 40
I note in other posts that you are taking care of your parents, so using the metric of a single person is not appropriate. Like many people here, I commend you for taking care of your parents in their old age and ill health.

Looking at Sarawak Energy's rates, electricity at RM150 a month would be easily a 500kWh consumption a month

Electricity at RM180 a month would be easily a 670kWh consumption a month

A single person consuming that much electricity a month has a lot of wastage.

As a single household, my usage is about 200kWh/month. Some months I can keep it under 150kWh/month and get into the lowest tariff at RM0.18/kWh. That's a monthly electricity bill under RM30.

People who are renting a room would have lower electricity consumption than a 1 person in a house.

3 months of water at RM40-50 is about RM13-16/month in water. That's about 27m3 of water a month. That's a daily water use of 902.7777777777778L/day based on the Sarawak water rates (that haven't been revised since 1992). That is way too much for one person. At best there is a leak; at worst there is a lot of unnecessary wastage.

A single person who uses more than RM5/month in water (to qualify for the Sarawak state government free water rebate) needs to seriously reconsider their usage patterns.

While I don't agree with a lot of the numbers of EPF's Belanjawanku 2024/2025 (especially in the housing costs), the utilities number (for singles at least) IMO is reasonably accurate, and IMHO is a benchmark to see if there is any excess spending that can be trimmed.
loserguy
post May 23 2025, 07:29 AM

500 posts

QUOTE(Sihambodoh @ May 22 2025, 09:31 PM)
My family of 3 uses about 9k per month. Car house fully paid.
Lol, kasi breakdown
loserguy
post May 23 2025, 07:31 AM

500 posts

QUOTE(haya @ May 23 2025, 07:24 AM)
I note in other posts that you are taking care of your parents, so using the metric of a single person is not appropriate. Like many people here, I commend you for taking care of your parents in their old age and ill health.

Looking at Sarawak Energy's rates, electricity at RM150 a month would be easily a 500kWh consumption a month

Electricity at RM180 a month would be easily a 670kWh consumption a month

A single person consuming that much electricity a month has a lot of wastage.

As a single household, my usage is about 200kWh/month. Some months I can keep it under 150kWh/month and get into the lowest tariff at RM0.18/kWh. That's a monthly electricity bill under RM30.

People who are renting a room would have lower electricity consumption than a 1 person in a house.

3 months of water at RM40-50 is about RM13-16/month in water. That's about 27m3 of water a month. That's a daily water use of 902.7777777777778L/day based on the Sarawak water rates (that haven't been revised since 1992). That is way too much for one person. At best there is a leak; at worst there is a lot of unnecessary wastage.

A single person who uses more than RM5/month in water (to qualify for the Sarawak state government free water rebate) needs to seriously reconsider their usage patterns.

While I don't agree with a lot of the numbers of EPF's Belanjawanku 2024/2025 (especially in the housing costs), the utilities number (for singles at least) IMO is reasonably accurate, and IMHO is a benchmark to see if there is any excess spending that can be trimmed.
If you are taking care of someone, elderly or kids, they will be in the house most of the time. Hence the higher utility bills.

For a single person, it will be lower if you spend half the day at work.

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0193sec    0.95    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 01:37 PM