Just got rejected after first date

TSforlowyat1
post Apr 16 2025, 02:17 AM, updated 8 months ago

75 posts

Long story short.
We matched on Boo. It felt like she really liked the way I was chatting with her, and I really liked her too. Exchanged Instagram and chat a little more there.

She invited me to join her on classpass, I was too afraid to start a date like that and I declined. Then I decided to invited her for lunch instead
So we meet for lunch SPONTANEOUSly. Probably a stupidly bad idea, was never prepared for anything. She said it's okay, it's not a date. So I'm like alright, I'm super excited to meet her.
So I went to pick her up, started talking from the moment we met,
I Probably got way too exited, I feel like I opened up way to much. Shared a little too much stories because I wanted to keep the conversation going.

Then shared a little bit about some things that happened
"I hated that friend that sells insurance"
She's like, oh. I sell insurance too.
Me thinking: oh shit... I didn't mean it that way. I'm probably failing so bad already.

I tried to be as genuine as possible. But after that encounter. It makes me feel like sometimes being toooo genuine is a red flag also.

the whole process just makes me feel like I'm such a failure.
Did not think about her feelings, maybe scared her a little because how deep my convo goes.

After this encounter, I come to an understanding that
1. It's never good to open up right away, take your time to slowly get to know each other even tho you want to share your stories.
2. Sometimes staying silent and listen is more than enough. If the girl is interested in you, she would ask you questions and talk to you.
3. Never do any spontaneous meetings, always be prepared, if you're not. Just postponed the meeting. If she lose interest, it's probably not even worth your time anyway.

This encounter makes me feel like I'm back in middle school where love at first sight still exist. It literally feels like flowers started to bloom all around her.i was genuinely in love or should I say, I liked her instead.

Just wanted to share my experience and then let it go then move on. It's been bugging my and I couldn't sleep because of it haha. Talk about pathetic πŸ₯²

Thank you for reading. God bless πŸ™πŸ»

Cubalagi
post Apr 16 2025, 07:58 AM

4,489 posts

Its just life experience, move on.

You already identified what you did wrong.

U liked her too much, hence invested too much emotions that you cant control. As a result Bla bla too much abt yourself. Boring and a turn off for a girl who is not yet into you. Gave vibe that you are trying too hard, desperate and of lower value than her. Always check your emotions.

Spontaneous dates can be ok actually. We hv to take what we can sometimes. But dont be afraid to say no.

SUSMr Mercedes
post Apr 16 2025, 11:16 AM

424 posts

QUOTE(forlowyat1 @ Apr 16 2025, 02:17 AM)
Long story short.
We matched on Boo. It felt like she really liked the way I was chatting with her, and I really liked her too. Exchanged Instagram and chat a little more there.

She invited me to join her on classpass, I was too afraid to start a date like that and I declined. Then I decided to invited her for lunch instead
So we meet for lunch SPONTANEOUSly. Probably a stupidly bad idea, was never prepared for anything. She said it's okay, it's not a date. So I'm like alright, I'm super excited to meet her.
I Probably got way too exited, I feel like I opened up way to much. Shared a little too much stories because I wanted to keep the conversation going.

Me thinking: oh shit... I didn't mean it that way. I'm probably failing so bad already.

I tried to be as genuine as possible. But after that encounter. It makes me feel like sometimes being toooo genuine is a red flag also.

Did not think about her feelings, maybe scared her a little because how deep my convo goes.

1. It's never good to open up right away, take your time to slowly get to know each other even tho you want to share your stories.
2. Sometimes staying silent and listen is more than enough. If the girl is interested in you, she would ask you questions and talk to you.
3. Never do any spontaneous meetings, always be prepared, if you're not. Just postponed the meeting. If she lose interest, it's probably not even worth your time anyway.

This encounter makes me feel like I'm back in middle school where love at first sight still exist. It literally feels like flowers started to bloom all around her.i was genuinely in love or should I say, I liked her instead.

Just wanted to share my experience and then let it go then move on. It's been bugging my and I couldn't sleep because of it haha. Talk about pathetic πŸ₯²

I don't see any rejection

TSforlowyat1
post Apr 16 2025, 12:07 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(Mr Mercedes @ Apr 16 2025, 11:16 AM)
I don't see any rejection
She literally sent me a message saying that she doesn't feel any romantic connection right after the first dateπŸ˜‚

I liked that she's direct. I didn't feel offended. Just sad HAHA
TSforlowyat1
post Apr 16 2025, 12:08 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Apr 16 2025, 07:58 AM)
Its just life experience, move on.

You already identified what you did wrong.

U liked her too much, hence invested too much emotions that you cant control. As a result Bla bla too much abt yourself. Boring and a turn off for a girl who is not yet into you. Gave vibe that you are trying too hard, desperate and of lower value than her. Always check your emotions.

Spontaneous dates can be ok actually. We hv to take what we can sometimes. But dont be afraid to say no.
Too little cannot, too much cannot, so difficult 🫠
GalaxyV
post Apr 16 2025, 12:13 PM

785 posts

the keyword is

She's like, oh. I sell insurance too

padan muka
TSforlowyat1
post Apr 16 2025, 12:26 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(GalaxyV @ Apr 16 2025, 12:13 PM)
the keyword is

She's like, oh. I sell insurance too

padan muka
Yeaaaaah HAHAHAHAHAHAH
Honestly I don't hate them as a whole. I also buy insurance mah. Who doesn't buy medical card right? Lol
When I told her stories about that particular friend THAT sells insurance lol.
Well anyhow it's my fault πŸ˜‚
SUSSihambodoh
post Apr 16 2025, 12:30 PM

436 posts

All kinds of people out there. If you meet someone who's looking for someone to open up and you apply your lessons here with her, then you fucuk up again and open tered to say always remember to share and open up to build romantic connection.
GamersFamilia
post Apr 16 2025, 01:14 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,779 posts

Learn from mistakes, move on πŸ™‚
noobmaster_69
post Apr 16 2025, 02:28 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(forlowyat1 @ Apr 16 2025, 12:08 PM)
did you lead the conversation and she is just following? if yes then it is too much from your side. try to balance it... let her open up too.. if she didnt open up and wait for u to open up, try sth light to keep her going... if u start with heavy topic, it might scare her off... maybe wad she want is a casual talk but u sound like prime minister taking care of the whole country.

u need to observe how she responded... if she is just uhh oh... then too much... if she responded equally, then u r just nice... if u see she is trying to talk more but u just like uhh ohh then u r too little..
Jason
post Apr 16 2025, 03:48 PM

6,354 posts

Moral of the story
talk less, listen more

ask and find out as much as you can from her, then resonate what she say back at her.

the goal is to sell yourself to her, and how can you sell if you don't know what she wants, who she is, what she is looking for?

selling insurance same... i don't come and introduce what amazing products i have. i find out what matters to you -- your health, your parent's health, your children's education.. then i propose a plan that suits your needs... not sell you amajing investment plan that gives you 20% return over 30 years.
Leto
post Apr 16 2025, 06:18 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(forlowyat1 @ Apr 16 2025, 02:17 AM)
Long story short.

u macam 0 experience lol sweat.gif
cfa28
post Apr 16 2025, 07:00 PM

4,829 posts

key lesson to be learned

don't over share on the first date

ask more questions, talk less, listen more

all the best for the future
kopiride
post Apr 16 2025, 07:09 PM

782 posts

QUOTE(forlowyat1 @ Apr 16 2025, 12:07 PM)
She literally sent me a message saying that she doesn't feel any romantic connection right after the first dateπŸ˜‚

I liked that she's direct. I didn't feel offended. Just sad HAHA
U just said haha?

Should say. Abuthen, it's not even a date, u think too much.
SUSw19
post Apr 16 2025, 07:37 PM

412 posts

Direct Sales / Insurance = Scam
Cubalagi
post Apr 16 2025, 10:04 PM

4,489 posts

QUOTE(forlowyat1 @ Apr 16 2025, 12:08 PM)
Attracting women is like a game. Thats why some ppl use the term "player" for a guy who is good at it.

And you will get much better results if you dont take it too seriously.

Blofeld
post Apr 17 2025, 01:01 AM

4,700 posts

actually nothing wrong to talk more

generally women prefer men who can talk more rather than men who keep quiet

just that you shouldn't share too much personal stories yet

Ramjade
post Apr 17 2025, 03:34 AM

24,335 posts

I spilled everything on first meeting. Best to get it out of the way ASAP. Also I go into all first meeting with the goals of not getting a second meeting. Hence won't be disappointed.
SUSredic
post Apr 17 2025, 03:42 AM

330 posts

she just want to sell some insurance plans to you
SUSw19
post Apr 17 2025, 08:45 AM

412 posts

QUOTE(redic @ Apr 17 2025, 03:42 AM)
she just want to sell some insurance plans to you
Bro, totally agree!