6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Collectibles Diecast car model, V2

aurion
post Apr 25 2008, 04:58 PM

-=Sheer Driving Pleasure=-
777 posts

I WANT ONE Kyosho M5 too!!! Only got 2 crappy M5's from Maisto. In order to improve their quality, had to strip the car and do up the carpet! Jasonist, how much did you have to fork out for the Kyosho BMW M5?

Added on April 25, 2008, 7:02 pm

This post has been edited by aurion: Apr 27 2008, 11:33 AM
aurion
post Apr 25 2008, 07:27 PM

777 posts

Hi Guys,

I hereby post some photos of one of the two vehicles which I got. May I proudly present to yous my BMW Hydrogen 7, which is based on a BMW 760Li V12. Here are some of the pictures. Do enjoy.

Dual Fuel Tanks : Black Fuel Tank Cap Door is for Hydrogen while the other Fuel Tank Cap Door is for petrol

Opening Doors, Hood and Trunk

Folding Rear Central Arm Rest with i-Drive Controller and Seat Memory; TV monitor is located in between the two front seats

Rear Central Arm Rest Folded Up and TV Monitor Folded Down

World's First Dual Fuel 260hp 6.0 V12 Engine

19" Radial Spoke Style 176 with 245/45 R19 tyres in front and 275/40 R19 at rear.

Mystery Car is already on the way! So be patient and hold your horses!

This post has been edited by aurion: Apr 25 2008, 09:36 PM
aurion
post Apr 25 2008, 08:26 PM

777 posts

QUOTE(zefflodo @ Apr 25 2008, 08:21 PM)
wao how much u got it???
RM 2,900,000.00 haha a.k.a RM290

This post has been edited by aurion: Apr 25 2008, 08:26 PM
aurion
post Apr 25 2008, 08:47 PM

777 posts

hmm.. As far as my eyes saw, there were none. There were some last week, but today, back to the oldies.. What models are you looking for as I have subscribed for their notification on new models, perhaps I can scramble through my e-mail to see if they have the car that you are looking for.

This post has been edited by aurion: Apr 25 2008, 09:26 PM
aurion
post Apr 25 2008, 09:34 PM

777 posts

QUOTE(myke @ Apr 25 2008, 09:32 PM)
jasonist: u have the full M series in ur shelves!  biggrin.gif

aurion: nice & rare hydro machine there!! reasonable price too... wish i had xtra $$
Thanks, myke. I'm now trying to look for the BMW 760Li Individual very nice!!! What other new cars did you get besides the R8 and E92 M3?
aurion
post Apr 25 2008, 09:55 PM

777 posts

The 760Li Individual costs nearly twice as much as the Hydrogen, if purchased online.. After USD & Korean Won conversion, it's at about RM 485+ (shipping not included yet)
aurion
post Apr 25 2008, 10:22 PM

777 posts

QUOTE(Jasonist @ Apr 25 2008, 10:08 PM)
aurion: i got the M5 around 0.3k... is the 7 series from Kyosho? looks like its time for us to concern our earth eh... biggrin.gif hope to see hybrid cars in malaysia soon... of coz, it must be affordable le... sweat.gif

myke: hehe not yet le... i still lack of M6... n Z4 M sport... lolzzz... laugh.gif
Hey, Jasonist. Yes the Hydrogen 7 is from Kyosho. Definitely need to switch to dual fuel not only can it save the environment and we also get extra mileage too! laugh.gif Kyosho shop here is taking orders for the M6 Convertible if you are interested. I've got to check what colours though. If I'm not mistaken there is a black one. I've got an M6 Motor GP Safety Car from them too, but that was somewhere last year.

This post has been edited by aurion: Apr 25 2008, 10:23 PM
aurion
post Apr 26 2008, 11:20 PM

777 posts

QUOTE(nlik @ Apr 26 2008, 10:14 PM)
Hi, has anyone seen any Maisto Porsche Carrera GT around Klang valley shopping centers or shop? Thanks. nod.gif

Yes if you are after black.. 1 Utama Jusco

Added on April 26, 2008, 11:22 pm
QUOTE(Jasonist @ Apr 26 2008, 09:26 PM)

Added on April 26, 2008, 9:33 pmaurion: can i guess ur mystery model is a reventon? brows.gif lolzzz... juz a simply guess... biggrin.gif
Just wait lo. Nothing will be revealed until I collect the car from the 'showroom'. Hehe

This post has been edited by aurion: Apr 26 2008, 11:22 PM
aurion
post Apr 27 2008, 09:13 AM

777 posts

QUOTE(cam5229 @ Apr 27 2008, 12:03 AM)
hi guys...

here the budget collector...sorry i know those are cheap car..hehe
Hey Cam5229,

No offense, but you must be crazy to call these budget collections and cheap cars.. I see some nice ones there. It doesn't matter if you are a budget or high end collector, you still can post your pictures.. no one will laugh at you smile.gif

This post has been edited by aurion: Apr 27 2008, 09:14 AM
aurion
post Apr 27 2008, 11:25 AM

777 posts

QUOTE(cam5229 @ Apr 27 2008, 11:18 AM)
haha..okok..i will keep it back..no la..coz i saw u all post all Auto Art ...mine all maisto...and when offer only i grap 2 or 3..hehehe...enjoy la..

happy collecting
Ahem, from what I see.. Not all are Maistos.. I still see some Hotwheels e.g the Ferrari Enzo and Maserati Quattroporte. Majority of my collection are Maistos which consist of 24 of them, only 2 AutoArts, 3 Kyoshos and 3 Bburagos and 2 Hotworks

This post has been edited by aurion: Apr 27 2008, 03:30 PM
aurion
post Apr 27 2008, 02:49 PM

777 posts

Dear all,

Some more pictures of my Hydrogen. This taken outdoors. Some animated gifs images (Picture 1 and 6) included. Enjoy

This post has been edited by aurion: Apr 27 2008, 03:31 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
aurion
post Apr 27 2008, 04:31 PM

777 posts

QUOTE(Jasonist @ Apr 27 2008, 04:17 PM)
sweetness! good effort on the gif images there... like this 7 series shots n the background u choose... making the model very high class and business class feel... btw, everytime we do outdoor shooting on diecast models, i wonder if the cameras can focus everything including the floor surface ya... coz if we put focus on the car, the floor will be blur... if the floor can be clear, im sure its very difficult to differentiate either the car is a diecast model or a 1/1 real car... biggrin.gif
I guess you can make them focus well on every detail by using the Manual Focus mode (if your camera has them), haven't got to try it out yet, cos if I lay real low on the ground like rough surfaces like these, sure will hurt like hell haha.. I had to place the camera on the ground and experiment with the angles as my camera is a DSLR which you have to look into the viewfinder not like the good ol' digital cameras which allow you to see from the screen. I will try to experiment with the focus modes and will let you know. But here is what I've found. Hope this Helps.

Shooting Your Toys giggle.gif I mean diecasts
Blurry, out-of-focus photos are of no use to anyone who's trying to accurately document a collection, shoot for a publication or just impress friends and relatives. Even getting both ends of your toy cars in focus can be a problem for most cameras. Unless you're aiming for abstract art, you want your viewers to know just what it is they're looking at. So here are a few tips to make your photos look better -- for whatever reason you're taking them.

Macro vs. Micro
The smaller the subject, the closer you have to get your camera to it. Forget "Instamatics" and disposable cameras. You need a better camera for shooting sharp, clear close-ups of your toys. "Macrophotography" is the term used when you're shooting extremely close to a small subject. It differs from “Microphotography” only in the degree of magnification required. Microphotography generally refers to a magnification factor of 100x or more, while macrophotography covers the range of around 1x to 10x. For typical 3 inch diecast cars such as Hot Wheels or Matchbox, you'll need a camera that will allow you to keep your subject clearly in focus from no more than 8 inches away. For larger models, you will be able to shoot from a greater distance. Although the price of technology is dropping all the time, a good macrophotography-capable camera s becoming very affordable. Test it in the store before buying it. The camera I use is a Fuji S3500 Zoom (4mb) digital with 6x Optical zoom. It has above average macro capability and will accept lens attachments. The flash on mine is always too bright for close-up photography since it washed out the subject too much… until I taped a piece of plain white paper over the flash. More modern cameras are now available with much greater storage capacity, and the price of technology keeps dropping. Nevertheless, you must still test it in the store on a sample subject before buying it to make sure you can shoot a sharply focused picture before spending the your money

Fill the Frame!
So often I've seen pictures of diecast cars that are lost in the photo because the photographer shot from too far away. The farther away from your subject you shoot, the greater the zoom capability you'll need. One way to guarantee you buy a camera capable of shooting clear, sharp close-ups is to carry with you one of the smallest models you'll be photographing. Before buying, try every camera to ensure that you can get as close as possible and fill up the frame with your subject. Remember, the smaller the subject is in the photo, the lower the resolution will be.

Filters
If you want true color, you'll need to shoot outdoors, or with “proper studio” lighting, or use a blue colour correction filter for tungsten or fluorescent lighting. Many better digital cameras have a color-correction setting for indoor photography. If yours has such a setting, use it. You can also color-correct digital photos (to a certain degree) with various image processing software. Paint Shop Pro is a favourite for its balance of simplicity and versatility, but it’s not as versatile as some of the more complicated programmes, such as Adobe PhotoShop.

Lighting
It’s best use to quartz halogen lights, which have the same colour temperature as the common tungsten light but which still require a filter or color-correction setting either on your camera or in your image processing software. Two is the minimum recommended number, one to illuminate your subject and the other for fill lighting at the back. A large piece of light grey poster board is best for a neutral background. Curving it from a flat, horizontal surface in front to a vertical plane in the back removes distracting fold lines. Keep your surface clean and spot-free.

Keep it simple
Don't complicate your photos with needless clutter around your subject. Unless you are shooting within the context of a diorama or complimentary items, photograph your subjects on a plain, uncluttered surface with no other distracting items within the frame of your picture. A neutral grey background is best. Ideally, a large piece of light grey posterboard that forms a flat surface in front and curves seamlessly up the back creates a perfect stage for your subject. My "studio" is a 3' x 4' table with a 36 inch x 48 inch sheet of neutral grey posterboard. For 3 inch models, you can often get away with using a piece of 8-1/2" by 11" card stock, available in neutral grey from most printing supply stores.

Shooting from a higher angle can sometimes be effective for showing different aspects of the vehicle,
but it isn't very dramatic.

This dramatic low angle close-up draws attention to the front end detail,
but the proximity of the lens to the subject causes the back end of the vehicle to be out of focus.

Low angle is best
Another factor in getting good pictures is more a matter of aesthetics. You can make your model look like a toy or you can make it look like a real car, depending on the angle. Shooting from a low angle gives your diecast or model a more realistic and dramatic look, whereas shooting from above it places the viewer in a superior position, thereby diminishing the model as the focal point of the picture.

Depth of Field
"Depth of field" is the term used to describe the variation in distance between the closest object in focus and the farthest. A wide depth of field means that close objects will be as sharply focused as distant ones. A short field depth means that, while object far away are in focus, close object aren't, or vice versa. This isn't a huge problem when shooting landscapes or even portraits, but it becomes critical in macrophotography. The closer you get to an object, the narrower the depth of field becomes. When you are as close as a foot or six inches, your depth of field can be so narrow that the back of a 3 inch long diecast car can be out of focus even though the front is sharp and clear. There are a couple of solutions to that problem.

Brighter is better
The brighter the light on your subject, the less light your camera needs to create an image. Most modern cameras have automatic apertures that electronically adjust to light intensity. As the aperture adjusts smaller for brighter settings, it increases the depth of field. As it opens up more for dimmer light, the depth of field decreases. The primary limitation of bright lighting is that conventional lighting can heat up a small room pretty fast, and even melt the plastic in your models if the lights are too close to them. The alternative is to use a camera with a good zoom.

To zoom or not to zoom…
The primary advantage of using a zoom lens to get closer to your subject is that you increase your depth of field just by virtue of being farther away from your subject.

Shooting from farther away and zooming in to fill the screen provides better proportion while broadening the depth of field.

The problem is in finding a camera that will focus on your subject at optimum zoom. Many cameras with zoom capability are designed for telephoto shots of big things hundreds of feet, or even miles, away. Many zoom lenses are not designed to zoom in on tiny things that are mere inches from the lens. That's another thing to check when you're testing a camera in the store before buying it.

aurion
post Apr 29 2008, 11:23 AM

777 posts

Dear All,

Mystery Car has finally emerged from the showroom after weeks of sorting out the 'taxes' and relevant procedures in order to get it on the road brows.gif . Two Units were bought. My friend will post some of his in a while.

aurion
post Apr 29 2008, 01:05 PM

777 posts

QUOTE(Jasonist @ Apr 28 2008, 04:15 PM)
hmm... but cant see the images le... it seems to be the dimension problem tat we need to figure out... hmm.gif
Sorry as I couldn't copy the images over as well.. these are from another forum
aurion
post Apr 29 2008, 03:21 PM

777 posts

QUOTE(nlik @ Apr 29 2008, 03:16 PM)
Thanks! I did get that black Carerra GT. There was a red 1, but it had a scratch on the paintjob, so settled for the black.

It's really nice but still used the Kit Carnauba wax to make it more shiny.  The rear lights use a sticker to make it look like those LED dots.  But the right side was not put on correctly, so I had to use a needle to poke through the gap and move the sticker into place. Now searching for more pics of the car and see if I could make it more similar to the real car.
Don't mention it. Glad that you managed to find it. If I'm not mistaken, red is a new colour. The Uncle's shop at USJ Summit Shopping Complex has one red Carrera GT there. I saw it yesterday while I was there.
aurion
post Apr 29 2008, 04:03 PM

777 posts

QUOTE(Jasonist @ Apr 29 2008, 03:41 PM)
aurion and AMG Soh!!! shocking.gif my oh my... this is a super stunning model!!!  drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif how u get it? where to get it le??? share some info meh... biggrin.gif
We both pre-ordered from a shop, runned by an Uncle in USJ Summit (Selangor). The item just arrived yesterday.
aurion
post Apr 29 2008, 04:09 PM

777 posts

QUOTE(JtuneD @ Apr 29 2008, 04:06 PM)
BRIGHTZONE ENTERPRISE??? So, it's from Bburago? Scale 1:24 or 1:18?  hmm.gif
That's the place.. This is a 1:18 by Bburago. Just have to bear with the quality of this car. Doesn't have suspension, and the steering feels fragile.

This post has been edited by aurion: Apr 29 2008, 04:12 PM
aurion
post Apr 29 2008, 04:21 PM

777 posts

QUOTE(Jasonist @ Apr 29 2008, 04:17 PM)
hehe nvm le... at least the body color is superb, from wat i see through the pics... its matt gray ya? any comments u wana say bout the quality? bburago price should be ok ya?
Yes it is Matte Grey. Compared with the 1:24, this has the closer paint match to the 1:1, 1:24's a bit glossy. Quality wise, a bit disappointing as in when you turn the steering wheel, it feels as it it is going to snap off anytime. But who cares, it's the car that matters as you said.. Retail price for this car is RM149.90

This post has been edited by aurion: Apr 29 2008, 04:26 PM
aurion
post Apr 29 2008, 04:30 PM

777 posts

I haven't seen it in the departmental stores yet. This shop is one of the first ones you can get new models from. Do PM me if you want to check if Uncle will ship it to SWK. There are a few more units left. I will pass you his contact. Very nice uncle to deal with.

This post has been edited by aurion: Apr 29 2008, 04:31 PM
aurion
post Apr 29 2008, 04:37 PM

777 posts

you should go get the 1:18 as well.. It's beautiful.. Just as pictured above

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0222sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 06:28 AM