QUOTE(beginner @ Nov 15 2007, 08:33 PM)
Like taking a Roller Coaster ride....up down very fast...very dangerous, but very exciting & 'chikik'! Try once, always wan more Not for faint-hearted investor
Public Mutual to launch Public China Ittikal Fund, Promotional period from 20NOV-10DEC
Nov 15 2007, 08:52 PM
1,351 posts Joined: Mar 2006 From: KL/S'gor |
Nov 16 2007, 05:56 AM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
52,874 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
This showed how volatile the China market is. Funds like PCSF that concentrate most of its portfolio are tracking closely to the market indices performance and no doubt that PCIF would share the same behaviour. China related funds are aggressive fund and I don't plan to keep them long - mostly right after Olympics ended for few days.
Nov 18 2007, 12:23 PM
374 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Peninsular Malaysia |
advert for China Ittikal fund is out, promotional period from 20th NOV to 10th DEC
Nov 18 2007, 12:26 PM
So beginner, are you going for this fund?
Nov 20 2007, 01:17 AM
QUOTE(David83 @ Nov 18 2007, 12:26 PM) judging from the current situation, i think it would be wiser to chuck your money into PCSF rather than going into new funds investing in the same region, cause the PCSF already has an existing portfolio and u can buy in at a mega sale price.what about you? you're are considering this fund? |
Nov 20 2007, 04:52 AM
8 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Nov 10 2007, 07:00 AM) sounds interesting... by the way, UTs are gaining popularity... i wonder why? also, how much are UT's making on average per annum? I heard other p m agent said hit 40K headcount already of old + new p m agents around malaysia. Esspecially these 2 years, new agents (mostly are " no $ part timer ", house wifes, and existing investors) keep on signing up due to brain wxxxxsh by their uplines (upline want group sales to help climb up higher rank) with frequent program - CAMPAIGN OF RECRUITMENT and BUSINESS OPPORTUNITY INVITATION. Sucessful agent income around 3k - 10k incruding group sales. Other worse one, estimate less than 1.5 k - 200 hundred below per month - waiting to layoff by receiving PM " love letter " , frozen agents. I have come across few with these agents. u may identify with their agents' codes. Old agents start with ZERO XXXX, new agents start with ONE XXXX . Added on November 20, 2007, 4:59 am QUOTE(beginner @ Nov 20 2007, 01:17 AM) judging from the current situation, i think it would be wiser to chuck your money into PCSF rather than going into new funds investing in the same region, cause the PCSF already has an existing portfolio and u can buy in at a mega sale price. Advice to take note of 1 Public funds in REIT.what about you? you're are considering this fund? Seems all china funds launched have not much different with their portfolio. However I do suggest only 1 china fund recently launched P xxx property fund >> REIT. I have pretty good impression to this fund , and already invested RM35K, manually top up min RM300 occasionally once this fund price is low. This post has been edited by cdbox: Nov 20 2007, 04:59 AM |
Nov 20 2007, 06:53 AM
QUOTE(cdbox @ Nov 20 2007, 04:52 AM) Added on November 20, 2007, 4:59 am Advice to take note of 1 Public funds in REIT. Seems all china funds launched have not much different with their portfolio. However I do suggest only 1 china fund recently launched P xxx property fund >> REIT. I have pretty good impression to this fund , and already invested RM35K, manually top up min RM300 occasionally once this fund price is low. |
Nov 20 2007, 10:46 AM
Official prospectus is out at PM website:
Public Mutual Launches Its First China Islamic Fund Public Bank's wholly-owned subsidiary, Public Mutual launches its first China Islamic fund, Public China Ittikal Fund today (Tuesday). Public China Ittikal Fund (PCIF) will invest in the Greater China region which offers promising opportunities for medium- to long-term investors. Public Mutual's Chairman Tan Sri Dato's Sri Dr. Teh Hong Piow said PCIF will capitalise on the solid growth prospects in Greater China. In the past five years, equity markets in this region have enjoyed a sustained uptrend amidst the rebound in global economies and strong investor demand to participate in the growth prospects of the Greater China region. "China has emerged as a major growth engine for this region apart from the U.S with real Gross Domestic Product (GDP) growth sustained at a robust pace averaging 9.2% annually," he added. Tan Sri Teh continues to say that PCIF is designed to capture the vast opportunities of Greater China. "The region which encompasses China, Hong Kong and Taiwan presents significant growth opportunities. The Chinese economy is projected to grow steadily at 11.2% for 2007 and 10.6% for 2008, supported by resilient domestic consumption, investment and exports. Driven by strong domestic demand and robust tourist arrivals, Hong Kong's GDP growth is set to expand at above 5% for 2007/2008. Meanwhile, GDP growth for Taiwan is projected at above 4% for 2007/2008 amidst resilient investment spending and global demand for electronic products," he said. PCIF is an Islamic equity fund that seeks to achieve capital growth over the medium- to long-term period by investing in a portfolio of Shariah-compliant investments in the Greater China region and the balance in the domestic market. The fund will invest a minimum of 70% of its net asset value (NAV) in the Greater China region namely in China, Hong Kong and Taiwan stocks. The equity exposure of PCIF will generally range from 75% to 90% of its NAV. Tan Sri Teh added that PCIF is suitable for aggressive investors who can withstand extended periods of market highs and lows to achieve medium- to long-term capital growth for their investments. The issue price / NAV of PCIF is at RM0.2500 per unit during the 21-day initial offer period of 20 November 2007 to 10 December 2007. During the offer period, a special promotional service charge of 5.45% of NAV per unit is extended to the purchase of units of PCIF by investors. Investors who opt for Direct Debit Instruction with PCIF during the offer period will also enjoy the special promotional service charge of 5.45% of NAV per unit for as long as the Direct Debit is active. Terms and conditions apply. The minimum initial investment for the fund is RM1,000 and the minimum additional investment is RM100. PCIF is distributed by Public Mutual's unit trust consultants. Interested investors can contact any Public Mutual unit trust consultant or call its Customer Service Hotline at 03-6279 5252 for more details of the fund. Public Mutual is the largest private unit trust company in Malaysia and it currently manages 53 funds for more than 1,350,000 accountholders. As at 31 October 2007, the total net asset value of the funds managed by the company was RM26.7 billion. URL: http://www.publicmutual.com.my/article.aspx?id=6382 |
Nov 20 2007, 06:45 PM
An accompanying article from PM for promoting PAIF:
Growth in the Greater Midlle Kingdom http://www.publicmutual.com.my/page.aspx?n...art_gitgmk_pg01 |
Nov 20 2007, 08:10 PM
952 posts Joined: Nov 2006 From: ~Cote D'Ivoire~ |
But with China hosting the olympics next year, will the China Bubble burst after that and PCIF get stunt?
I think the risk is quite high for this fund. |
Nov 20 2007, 08:58 PM
QUOTE(stupidbump @ Nov 20 2007, 08:10 PM) But with China hosting the olympics next year, will the China Bubble burst after that and PCIF get stunt? Well, it's up to you to keep on holding PCIF after Olympics 2008. PM rated this fund as Aggressive while PCSF as High Risk.I think the risk is quite high for this fund. PCIF - Aggressive To achieve capital growth over the medium to long-term period by investing in a portfolio of Shariah-compliant investments in the greater China region and the balance in the domestic market. - A minimum of 70% of the fund's net asset value (NAV) will be invested in the greater China region, namely Hong Kong, China and Taiwan markets. - The fund can also invest in China-based companies listed on overseas markets such as Singapore, the United States of America and other approved markets. PCSF - High Risk To achieve capital growth over the medium to long-term period by investing in a portfolio of investments in the greater China region namely in Hong Kong, China and Taiwan markets and including China based companies listed on overseas markets. The fund may also invest in companies listed on Bursa Securities and other foreign markets which have significant or potentially significant business operations in the greater China region This post has been edited by David83: Nov 20 2007, 09:12 PM |
Nov 20 2007, 09:09 PM
QUOTE(stupidbump @ Nov 20 2007, 08:10 PM) But with China hosting the olympics next year, will the China Bubble burst after that and PCIF get stunt? china's govn is already trying to control the bubble by increasing interest rates, and there are rumours saying that there are more to come. so hope for the best... i think china govn will try its best to drag any major correction(if any) after olympics, cant imagine what will happen if recession comes before oylmpics.I think the risk is quite high for this fund. |
Nov 20 2007, 09:13 PM
QUOTE(beginner @ Nov 20 2007, 09:09 PM) china's govn is already trying to control the bubble by increasing interest rates, and there are rumours saying that there are more to come. so hope for the best... i think china govn will try its best to drag any major correction(if any) after olympics, cant imagine what will happen if recession comes before oylmpics. That's why if I really wanted to get a piece of cake in PCSF and PCIF, I planned to keep them till Olympics (short term).This post has been edited by David83: Nov 20 2007, 09:14 PM |
Nov 20 2007, 09:33 PM
QUOTE(David83 @ Nov 20 2007, 08:58 PM) Well, it's up to you to keep on holding PCIF after Olympics 2008. PM rated this fund as Aggressive while PCSF as High Risk. FYI...actually both PCIF & PCSF is categorised as HIGH RISK in their risk profile.PCIF - Aggressive To achieve capital growth over the medium to long-term period by investing in a portfolio of Shariah-compliant investments in the greater China region and the balance in the domestic market. - A minimum of 70% of the fund's net asset value (NAV) will be invested in the greater China region, namely Hong Kong, China and Taiwan markets. - The fund can also invest in China-based companies listed on overseas markets such as Singapore, the United States of America and other approved markets. PCSF - High Risk To achieve capital growth over the medium to long-term period by investing in a portfolio of investments in the greater China region namely in Hong Kong, China and Taiwan markets and including China based companies listed on overseas markets. The fund may also invest in companies listed on Bursa Securities and other foreign markets which have significant or potentially significant business operations in the greater China region The investor profile is for those ppl with AGGRESSIVE RISK temperament.... Basically, both are the same in risk category...it should be, since both oso have same investment market & strategy, does not make sense if PCSF is in lower risk category |
Nov 20 2007, 09:35 PM
Well, I'm quoting the information from PM website.
Nov 20 2007, 09:42 PM
Nov 20 2007, 10:37 PM
952 posts Joined: Nov 2006 From: ~Cote D'Ivoire~ |
QUOTE(David83 @ Nov 20 2007, 09:13 PM) That's why if I really wanted to get a piece of cake in PCSF and PCIF, I planned to keep them till Olympics (short term). But these funds are more to middle and long term investment broAdded on November 20, 2007, 10:38 pm QUOTE(kingkong81 @ Nov 20 2007, 09:42 PM) count me in too for the confusion.need more info This post has been edited by stupidbump: Nov 20 2007, 10:38 PM |
Nov 20 2007, 10:40 PM
QUOTE(stupidbump @ Nov 20 2007, 10:37 PM) Yes, they should but China market is not as stable as compared to other regions.If you said other PM funds, I could agree with you but personally if I bought PCSF and PCIF, I'll exit it when it reaches my goal of at least 10% return or the longest I'll hold them is till Olympics. My strategy may not suit your investment strategy. I could be wrong. |
Nov 21 2007, 12:09 AM
QUOTE(kingkong81 @ Nov 20 2007, 09:42 PM) i think funds are only divided into three basic categories (i think PM could have done better in this matter, seems like their prospectus are not standardised, some use aggressive some use high risk)low risk(conservative) medium risk(moderate) high risk(aggresive) most low risk funds are bond funds, fixed income funds most moderate risk funds are balanced funds equity funds are usually classified under aggressive category QUOTE(stupidbump @ Nov 20 2007, 10:37 PM) But these funds are more to middle and long term investment bro need more info on what?Added on November 20, 2007, 10:38 pm count me in too for the confusion. need more info QUOTE(David83 @ Nov 20 2007, 10:40 PM) Yes, they should but China market is not as stable as compared to other regions. i totally terbalik with u, i look at china funds as very long term investment as i believe that in the long run(>5yrs) investment in china will never go wrong. cause in terms of growth, i think china has got to be one of the top countries(as well as india).If you said other PM funds, I could agree with you but personally if I bought PCSF and PCIF, I'll exit it when it reaches my goal of at least 10% return or the longest I'll hold them is till Olympics. My strategy may not suit your investment strategy. I could be wrong. |
Nov 21 2007, 09:43 AM
QUOTE(beginner @ Nov 21 2007, 12:09 AM) i think funds are only divided into three basic categories (i think PM could have done better in this matter, seems like their prospectus are not standardised, some use aggressive some use high risk) Balanced fund is consider as income fund (though they did not promise annual return) and in Moderate-conservative category. Bcoz 40% is in fixed income securities investmentlow risk(conservative) medium risk(moderate) high risk(aggresive) most low risk funds are bond funds, fixed income funds most moderate risk funds are balanced funds equity funds are usually classified under aggressive category Moderate risk equity fund like PIADF & PDSF, is oso consider income fund, but in moderate risk. there is no fixed income funds. Income funds r those that can give annual income, like moderate risk one & balanced The risk profiling basically depends on the investment policy & objective. Hence, in Equity category, we have high risk like PCSF & PCIF, we oso have moderate risk like PIADF, but both are mainly investing in equity, juz with different objective & strategy. High risk majorly going for capital growth, while moderate risk income fund go for annual income & respectable capital growth |
| Change to: | 0.0237sec
5 queries
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 05:40 PM |