Public Mutual to launch Public China Ittikal Fund, Promotional period from 20NOV-10DEC

TSbeginner
post Nov 9 2007, 05:13 PM, updated 19y ago

374 posts

China, currently the world's fourth largest economy is set to become the world's next economic giant. Both Hong Kong and Taiwan are the potential beneficiaries of China's strong economic growth. The new Public China Ittikal Fund is an aggressive Shariah-based fund designed to capture the vast opportunities of the greater China.

- A minimum of 70% of the fund's net asset value (NAV) will be invested in the greater China region, namely Hong Kong, China and Taiwan markets.
- The fund can also invest in China-based companies listed on overseas markets such as Singapore, the United Stated of America and other approved markets.
- Equity exposure: generally range from 75% to 90% of its NAV.
- Launched at NAV of RM0.25 per unit during offer period (20 Novenber 2007 - 10 December 2007).
- Suitable for investors with aggressive risk-reward temperament.

*Promotional service charge of 5.45% of NAV per unit during offer period

This post has been edited by beginner: Nov 18 2007, 12:23 PM
TSbeginner
post Nov 10 2007, 03:36 PM

374 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ Nov 10 2007, 12:21 PM)
Yes, it will definitely be a big hit, but with such a small size, it will be full very soon and most probably the fund manager is going to close it.
China market is very volatile now, and it is not wise to move into a market that has been moving upwards the last 2 years. I am not going into this fund because it is too concentrated.
I prefer an exposure on China markets, but not concentrated.
i think otherwise, maybe they will keep increasing the size of the fund like what they did to far east property&resorts?

seems like Public bank is very very very busy launching new fund lately,
every 3 weeks got new fund, once a promotion for a certain fund ends, another comes up, and PB and Public are taking turns. currently lagi keng, two funds launch together, Sector Fund and Islamic Sector Fund
tongue.gif

Added on November 10, 2007, 3:37 pm
QUOTE(kingkong81 @ Nov 10 2007, 02:57 AM)
Public China ITTIKAL Fund.
1)Fund Objective:
To achieve capital growth in mid- to long-term by investing in Shariah-compliant investments in Greater China region, namely China, Hong Kong & Taiwan.

2)Asset Allocation:
75 - 90% of NAV will be invested in equity market
Minimum of 70% will be invested in Greater China region (China, HK, Taiwan) market & China-based company listed in overseas market.

3) Risk Profile: Aggressive-risk
4) Distribution Policy: Incidental
5) Fund Size: 375 million
6)Unit Price: 25sen/unit  REDUCED Service Charge : 5.45%!!!

7) SPECIAL DDI CAMPAIGN!! (terms & condition applied)

8) Performance benchmark
45.15% (1-yr) 93.20% (3-yr) 158.84% (5-yr)

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

This surely going to be a hit....PM is well known for its ITTIKAL fund. This time it is combined with China some more..  thumbup.gif
kawan, whats DDI?

This post has been edited by beginner: Nov 10 2007, 03:37 PM
TSbeginner
post Nov 10 2007, 05:04 PM

374 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Nov 10 2007, 04:45 PM)
By the way, did they really increase the fund size for PCSF from the initial launching size?
YES, increased several times.

http://financialpath.blogspot.com/2007/10/...than-rm850.html

latest of which approved size is 8billion units, subscribed at about RM1.4billion(~5billion units)
TSbeginner
post Nov 10 2007, 08:31 PM

374 posts

QUOTE(Crossbone @ Nov 10 2007, 06:28 PM)
what is the minimum investment amount?

1k?
yes. top up minimum RM100, thats the standard amount for pubic mutual funds
TSbeginner
post Nov 10 2007, 11:16 PM

374 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Nov 10 2007, 11:07 PM)
hehehe just my enthusiasm bout the two big potential ler brader hahaha. Anyway wut do you guys think, china market will go thru some 'readjustment' early next year or after olympic is over?
if a person is looking at long term invest 5-10yrs, i think China is a very very market to invest in especially when ur money if managed by professionals. but if u wanna speculate 1-2yrs and cant really take heavy losses, then better stay away from this gold mountain lo.
tongue.gif
TSbeginner
post Nov 11 2007, 11:12 PM

374 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ Nov 11 2007, 09:50 PM)
Sorry to differ from your opinion.
By looking at your reply, I am quite sure that you know very little in unit trust.
Sure, you could look at the past performance for a rough idea of the funds, but does it mean that the future of the markets will be as good as the past? Can you be sure that the performance in 2005-2007 to repeat itself?
Most of the markets are just below their respective highs, so how much more can the market go?

On the matter of fund size, the more units being offered, the more fund managers can diversify the portfolio.
If you have just a small number of equity, how can you ride the wave?
As an example, with the price of CPO climbing higher now, is it wiser to have a larger oil palm estate, or a smaller oil palm estate?

Sorry again, but I think you need to do more research before stating it here.
If you ask anyone here, I don't think many will agree with you smile.gif

Regards
past performance is not an indication of future returns, but it definitely serves as a reference as in how gd the fund managers are at managing that particular kind of fund of that particular market. as least i think so, hence i always take past performance as a guideline before i start investing in existing funds.
and for me, i will not make the call of whether or not the current market is at its high as i, myself initially thought that china is already at its peak, but walla, after 3mths my PCSF gained more than 25%. smile.gif
bigger fund size = can do more things, so everyday i pray more ppl invest in the current funds im holding, for one, it shows ppl have confidence in the fund i invested in, two, fund manager got more money to do what they want to do.

QUOTE(David83 @ Nov 11 2007, 10:37 PM)
So when this fund will be launched? Anybody will be going for it?
seems like end of NOV is not mistaken. personally, im still considering of whether PCSF better or buy the new fund better, somemore got china pacific fund. 3 way junction, where to head to?
TSbeginner
post Nov 15 2007, 08:33 PM

374 posts

QUOTE(justin_nys @ Nov 13 2007, 09:10 AM)
Volatile indeed sad.gif 
PCSF  0.2685   -0.0100
PCSF 0.2702 0.0114 +4.40%
yes very volatile indeed
tongue.gif

This post has been edited by beginner: Nov 15 2007, 08:44 PM
TSbeginner
post Nov 18 2007, 12:23 PM

374 posts

advert for China Ittikal fund is out, promotional period from 20th NOV to 10th DEC
TSbeginner
post Nov 20 2007, 01:17 AM

374 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Nov 18 2007, 12:26 PM)
So beginner, are you going for this fund?
judging from the current situation, i think it would be wiser to chuck your money into PCSF rather than going into new funds investing in the same region, cause the PCSF already has an existing portfolio and u can buy in at a mega sale price.
what about you? you're are considering this fund?
TSbeginner
post Nov 20 2007, 09:09 PM

374 posts

QUOTE(stupidbump @ Nov 20 2007, 08:10 PM)
But with China hosting the olympics next year, will the China Bubble burst after that and PCIF get stunt?
I think the risk is quite high for this fund.
china's govn is already trying to control the bubble by increasing interest rates, and there are rumours saying that there are more to come. so hope for the best... i think china govn will try its best to drag any major correction(if any) after olympics, cant imagine what will happen if recession comes before oylmpics.
TSbeginner
post Nov 21 2007, 12:09 AM

374 posts

QUOTE(kingkong81 @ Nov 20 2007, 09:42 PM)
Sometimes I oso get confused by it  blush.gif
i think funds are only divided into three basic categories (i think PM could have done better in this matter, seems like their prospectus are not standardised, some use aggressive some use high risk)

low risk(conservative)
medium risk(moderate)
high risk(aggresive)

most low risk funds are bond funds, fixed income funds
most moderate risk funds are balanced funds
equity funds are usually classified under aggressive category

QUOTE(stupidbump @ Nov 20 2007, 10:37 PM)
But these funds are more to middle and long term investment bro

Added on November 20, 2007, 10:38 pm

count me in too for the confusion.
need more info
need more info on what?

QUOTE(David83 @ Nov 20 2007, 10:40 PM)
Yes, they should but China market is not as stable as compared to other regions.

If you said other PM funds, I could agree with you but personally if I bought PCSF and PCIF, I'll exit it when it reaches my goal of at least 10% return or the longest I'll hold them is till Olympics.

My strategy may not suit your investment strategy. I could be wrong.
i totally terbalik with u, i look at china funds as very long term investment as i believe that in the long run(>5yrs) investment in china will never go wrong. cause in terms of growth, i think china has got to be one of the top countries(as well as india).
TSbeginner
post Nov 21 2007, 10:52 AM

374 posts

QUOTE(kingkong81 @ Nov 21 2007, 09:43 AM)
Balanced fund is consider as income fund (though they did not promise annual return) and in Moderate-conservative category. Bcoz 40% is in fixed income securities investment

Moderate risk equity fund like PIADF & PDSF, is oso consider income fund, but in moderate risk.

there is no fixed income funds. Income funds r those that can give annual income, like moderate risk one & balanced

The risk profiling basically depends on the investment policy & objective.
Hence, in Equity category, we have high risk like PCSF & PCIF, we oso have moderate risk like PIADF, but both are mainly investing in equity, juz with different objective & strategy. High risk majorly going for capital growth, while moderate risk income fund go for annual income & respectable capital growth
http://www.publicmutual.com.my/page.aspx?name=PBFI

TSbeginner
post Nov 21 2007, 11:33 AM

374 posts

QUOTE(kingkong81 @ Nov 21 2007, 11:10 AM)
PB Fixed Income Funds is the name...does not mean the fund will provide you with a fixed income yearly. It is giving annual income but not fixed. In any case it is a Bond fund...not fixed income fund.

lekk88 u r right, it will b easier to say that fund that give annual distribution is consider income fund in a more general term. Like u say, diff UT company diff way of categorization... smile.gif
i didnt mention it will provide fixed income, did i?
fixed income funds refers to bond funds, to me tongue.gif.
as bond funds invest in fixed income securities hence termed as fixed income funds(maybe there is a confusion here with the way i termed it).

This post has been edited by beginner: Nov 21 2007, 11:42 AM
TSbeginner
post Dec 5 2007, 11:46 PM

374 posts

QUOTE(shanelai @ Dec 5 2007, 08:56 PM)
So conclusion, is this china ittikal fund got petential growing and held return???
This fund is actually like a portfolio handle by professional to help us to invest right??
Is it possible to make losses?? For eg liek i invest 2200 and return 200 let say...

Plan to invest in this fund but not sure what is it.... smile.gif
i think u need more information on unit trust first, go here and read up for some basic info

QUOTE(ataris @ Dec 5 2007, 10:35 PM)
so if we invest about 5k let say, they the fund is making loss, are we still getting our original 5k or we get less ?
unit trust can make money and also lose money, if u invest 5k, market is good you will end up with >5k, but if market is bad, then u end up with <5k. but in the long run, >3yrs, usually u will get back >5k

if u need capital guaranteed funds, look here
http://www.maybank2u.com.my/consumer/onlin...ices/aseq.shtml
http://www.pbebank.com.my/en/en_content/images/pborient.pdf
https://www.cimbbank.com.my/index.php?ch=ba...5&tpt=cimb_bank

those above are only few examples of capital guaranteed funds provided by local banks, there are more actually.
and these capital guaranteed funds only guarantee capital protected upon maturity, means u have to put ur fund inside for a certain period of time to ensure that u dont lose any money.

QUOTE(cuebiz @ Dec 5 2007, 11:33 PM)
There is also annual fees chargeable by UT company.
but that one is not quite visible to us.
actually i did think of when is it that they deduct the management fees?
TSbeginner
post Dec 6 2007, 01:25 AM

374 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Dec 5 2007, 11:55 PM)
When the accounting period ends?

I did remember that somebody said it's transparent and it's shared by all the unit holders of the fund.
does it mean when the accounting period end means it will have some minor adjustment, for the management fees.
but so far like nvr notice such thing, thats why a bit curious here.
TSbeginner
post Dec 8 2007, 05:38 PM

374 posts

QUOTE(shanelai @ Dec 8 2007, 04:59 PM)
Hi, i got something to clarify regarding this fund...
Let say i invest liek this:
Min initial invesment is RM1k
then min monthly additional RM100

The fund is count in 0.25 per unit right? then if the ittikal fund starting is 0.25
then after 1 month increase to 0.26. means the previous investment i earn 0.01 correct??
then when i invest the Monthly RM100, it count is RM100/0.26 isit?
If liek this that mean my monthly investment become lesser unit..
Is it count like this?? If yes that mean my return not that high it is possible the next week the share drop to 0.25 again... means i make loss for the previous additional monthly installment of RM100...

Correct me if im wrong..
the method where u first invest RM1000, and top up RM100 every mth is called dollar cost averaging.
http://beginnersinvest.about.com/cs/newinv...s/a/041901a.htm
very good method for investors who doesnt want to spend much time(or any time at all) to monitor their investment.
when market high, u get less units per ur investment amount,
when market low, u get more units.
so your average buying price will be the average NAV of the unit trust.

if you use this method, u dont have to worry about buying into china fund at 29cents and waking up the next morning see it plunging down to 26cents. hehe
TSbeginner
post Dec 15 2007, 12:59 AM

374 posts

QUOTE(mr_ashraf @ Dec 14 2007, 10:50 PM)
i have noob question here...

i got a pm fund and wanted to switch to this fund. so i need to initially open this fund (put 1k there) or just can switch to this.. please somebody help me????
just switch if that fund is public series. only need u to fill in a form, thats all.

0.0244sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 03:24 AM