4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Phone Hacked and Money Transferred Out

TSChipZ
post Dec 19 2024, 12:20 AM, updated 12 months ago

1,330 posts

Not sure if anyone has similar experience, but today my mum's phone was hacked where her Whatsapp was black-out. The hacker started sending messages to her contacts asking for money. He even provided a bank account number (Bank Islam), although the name is obviously fake. He also managed to transfer out money from Touch N Go, but bank-related transfers are safe. During this period, my mum's phone was not usable.

A police report has been made although I don't expect much hope to recover the money. Just sharing in case anyone knows what could have caused this.

Side note, is iOS more secure when it comes to hacking?
seinganchai
post Dec 19 2024, 12:26 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(ChipZ @ Dec 19 2024, 12:20 AM)
Not sure if anyone has similar experience, but today my mum's phone was hacked where her Whatsapp was black-out. The hacker started sending messages to her contacts asking for money. He even provided a bank account number (Bank Islam), although the name is obviously fake. He also managed to transfer out money from Touch N Go, but bank-related transfers are safe. During this period, my mum's phone was not usable.

A police report has been made although I don't expect much hope to recover the money. Just sharing in case anyone knows what could have caused this.

Side note, is iOS more secure when it comes to hacking?
The act of placing your bank apps and sms in the same device is the the ultimate opportunity for scammers

soul78
post Dec 19 2024, 12:26 AM

931 posts

Is your mom using CCP phone?...

How old is the phone and what android version is it on?...

Also do you enable 2FA on your gmail, whatsapp and all socmed account?...

Also do you enable SIM pin on your phone?....

pgsiemkia
post Dec 19 2024, 12:27 AM

473 posts

Old people always accept all sorts of requests online be it free gifts or install games, apk. Best set the privacy settings for whatsapp and telegram so that they do not get auto add to groups. Yes, ios has better security features and updates compared to android.
thankyou
post Dec 19 2024, 12:36 AM

1,941 posts

QUOTE(seinganchai @ Dec 19 2024, 12:26 AM)
The act of placing your bank apps and sms in the same device is the the ultimate opportunity for scammers
Yes... that's correct but provided people are tech-savvy and have extra money for 2nd phone... not everyone can do so
TSChipZ
post Dec 19 2024, 12:36 AM

1,330 posts

QUOTE(seinganchai @ Dec 19 2024, 12:26 AM)
Do you mean it's a standard practice to have 2 phones, one specifically for banking?
What about E-wallet? Doesnt sound practical to separate this
TSChipZ
post Dec 19 2024, 12:38 AM

1,330 posts

QUOTE(soul78 @ Dec 19 2024, 12:26 AM)
Is your mom using CCP phone?...

How old is the phone and what android version is it on?...
Also do you enable 2FA on your gmail, whatsapp and all socmed account?...
Also do you enable SIM pin on your phone?....
A 2-year old Vivo phone. How is that different from other Android phone like Samsung, Google, etc?
soul78
post Dec 19 2024, 12:46 AM

931 posts

QUOTE(ChipZ @ Dec 19 2024, 12:38 AM)
A 2-year old Vivo phone. How is that different from other Android phone like Samsung, Google, etc?
No security chip...Samsung has KNOX, Google has TITAN...

Also ccp phones has more bloatwares more than the rest...

some of these bloatwares... triggers pop ups.. to install apps or games... which then triggers to install other things...

thats on the phone...
---------------------------------------

what about the rest of my questions?.. do you enable SIM PIN?... do you enable 2FA for all your major apps?...

SUSipohps3
post Dec 19 2024, 12:53 AM

1,974 posts

which Vivo? official Malaysia set?
Reality740716
post Dec 19 2024, 01:47 AM

36 posts

Just now , got an sms stating verification code for grab . I was like , what the parking . I don't use it . But why am I getting this . So I guess someone typed my number and wanted to see if it works . Well no one called me , and even if they were to call me . I will say the number is 1234 , and go park yourself
TaylorS8
post Dec 19 2024, 02:27 AM

72 posts

Ur mum downloaded some APK from unknown source?
taitianhin
post Dec 19 2024, 02:35 AM

Look at my STARS, it never burn out
1,523 posts

The Semi Fastest way is to block the SMS to the current SIM
Call Telco to block, and go to nearer and faster available branch to ask for a new SIM.
Redo the Whatsapp/phone registration on the new SIM

not sure abv suggestion is good thou. That all i can think of at 2.35am
dest9116
post Dec 19 2024, 05:15 AM

495 posts

Yes, immediate family experience they will msg ask you order from website, then will got problem, they then tell you install this app to order, once the old people install the app got some permission they will tell them to press here press there, once permission given gone case.

My case the old people realize she's been phished she wanted to go bank and stop any transaction, the scammer can even msg and say where you going, I'm controlling your phone already, your account money transfer out already, you don't believe you check see. Luckily she didn't go check, else scammer can get the bank password also. She throw the phone at home and quickly drive to bank. Luckily bank account managed to lock and no transfer made.

Moral story is

don't simply install apk other than play store then give funny permission
If kena d, don't do anything else straight to to bank, they can control phone but if no password they can't do shit

If tng probably they tried order something and scammer recorded the pin down as they can view the phone screen

dest9116
post Dec 19 2024, 05:17 AM

495 posts

QUOTE(soul78 @ Dec 19 2024, 12:46 AM)

some of these bloatwares... triggers pop ups.. to install apps or games... which then triggers to install other things...

thats on the phone...
what about the rest of my questions?.. do you enable SIM PIN?... do you enable 2FA for all your major apps?...
Vivo and oppo has annoying pop ups, can't disable, especially their own store damn annoying, never buying again

Xiaomi and poco no such issue.
maxpudding
post Dec 19 2024, 07:50 AM

164 posts

Vivo has that dodgy adware app called touchpal app that you can accidentally install malicious apk file if you are not careful, dangerous especially for elderly people.
ry8128
post Dec 19 2024, 07:59 AM

♣Just a noob♣
3,642 posts

Yes, ios is generally safer compared to android. Android, u can install any apk files with ease. While ios can't, unless you are an expert, which most elderly is not.
Selectt
post Dec 19 2024, 08:23 AM

wattttt!!
1,709 posts

QUOTE(ChipZ @ Dec 19 2024, 12:36 AM)
Do you mean it's a standard practice to have 2 phones, one specifically for banking?
What about E-wallet? Doesnt sound practical to separate this
old people that is not tech savvy, dont install bank/ewallet app on the same phone. problem solved.

why cannot? phones are cheap these days.

This post has been edited by Selectt: Dec 19 2024, 08:32 AM
Selectt
post Dec 19 2024, 08:27 AM

wattttt!!
1,709 posts

QUOTE(dest9116 @ Dec 19 2024, 05:15 AM)
Yes, immediate family experience they will msg ask you order from website, then will got problem, they then tell you install this app to order, once the old people install the app got some permission they will tell them to press here press there, once permission given gone case.

My case the old people realize she's been phished she wanted to go bank and stop any transaction, the scammer can even msg and say where you going, I'm controlling your phone already, your account money transfer out already, you don't believe you check see. Luckily she didn't go check, else scammer can get the bank password also. She throw the phone at home and quickly drive to bank. Luckily bank account managed to lock and no transfer made.

Moral story is

don't simply install apk other than play store then give funny permission
If kena d, don't do anything else straight to to bank, they can control phone but if no password they can't do shit

If tng probably they tried order something and scammer recorded the pin down as they can view the phone screen
old ppl clicking everywhere is unavoidable. only thing u do is DONT install bank/ewallet app on the same phone they use.

and get ready to phone reset saja if anything happens there.
sadlyfalways
post Dec 19 2024, 08:31 AM

1,185 posts

must be android right? thank god my mom not android if not everyday also she will kena hack with tiktok scams
Selectt
post Dec 19 2024, 08:32 AM

wattttt!!
1,709 posts

QUOTE(soul78 @ Dec 19 2024, 12:46 AM)

thats on the phone...
what app or service still uses SMS to validate? SIM pin only to avoid hacker or telco hack to force phone porting saja

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0173sec    0.45    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 12:43 AM