51yo feel macam dead end can't find job

jojolicia
post Dec 19 2024, 12:09 PM

1,922 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Dec 19 2024, 10:52 AM)
retired uncle who is still physically strong should be able to help.

im also looking for retiring auntie/ house wife who can take care of an elder - free accommodation also. if anyone knows someone, pls pm me. thanks.
Location?
gashout
post Dec 19 2024, 12:11 PM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(jojolicia @ Dec 19 2024, 12:09 PM)
Location?
Cheras
TSPalisades
post Dec 19 2024, 12:41 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(incognitroll @ Dec 19 2024, 12:26 AM)
sorry to be blunt, but a 51-year-old accountant struggling to manage even one staff member may lack the necessary skills and emotional intelligence required for effective people management. these attributes are critical for the position you may aspiring to. it might be more suitable to focus on roles that primarily involve working with data and numbers.
Care to enlighten me what kind of skill and emo intelligence that you claim can handle and dazzle that one staff?

if you can't convince me here, then you are the same as me.

I used to handle data and numbers kind of job, but seems that every hr just look at my recent job experience, not my old job experience.
TSPalisades
post Dec 19 2024, 12:48 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(*lightbringer* @ Dec 19 2024, 09:00 AM)
As business owner, let me be frank. Its almost impossible to hire someone above 50 because of the following:
1. Most old people can't cope with technology. Some so stubborn, die2 want to use old school system.
2. Health Issue.
3. Attitude. Old people are usually stubborn af. They dont want to listen to young people, no matter how good the advise is.
4. Salary too high mainly because years and years of experience. But let face it, 10 years experience is good enough already.
5. Commitment issue. Young couples, or newly married couple are better as they have commitment. Old people usually have this dgaf attitude.

I know it does not apply to all, but most are. I do have one manager at 56 years old. Dont know how to use phone other than forwarding message and tiktok. Cant even use online banking. Stubborn af. Had bypass surgery, slip disk, and yet still smoke like no tomorrow, everyday also drink cap kapak whisky.
I know Power BI, who says I old school system.
Health? my blood pressure is 110/75. I cycle 75km a week.
Attitude. Well I am doing a different role within my co with same pay.
Commitment? I have commitment. My kids still young.

I hope you drop fallacy about old staff mentality, not all of us are useless.

brutalsoul
post Dec 19 2024, 12:49 PM

A goal without a plan is just a wish
1,484 posts

may i know how much asking salary?
TSPalisades
post Dec 19 2024, 12:49 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(dawnreaver @ Dec 19 2024, 11:14 AM)
What prompted you to quit your previous job? The job before the current one with your subordinate being able to do 60% of your work.
I did not quit.

I was transferred to new department

I been with this company for 10 years.

incognitroll
post Dec 19 2024, 01:09 PM

148 posts

QUOTE(Palisades @ Dec 19 2024, 12:41 PM)
Care to enlighten me what kind of skill and emo intelligence that you claim can handle and dazzle that one staff?

if you can't convince me here, then you are the same as me.

I used to handle data and numbers kind of job, but seems that every hr just look at my recent job experience, not my old job experience.
looking back at my reply, i realize it might have come across harsher than i intended—my bad. i don’t see myself as better than you or anyone else. i’ve just been fortunate to work under someone who recognized my strengths and weaknesses, which allowed me to settle into a comfy role where i can be relatively productive with minimal interaction with the rest of the team.
Chrono-Trigger
post Dec 19 2024, 01:32 PM

BY SELF ONE IS DEFILED AND PURIFIED
4,308 posts

QUOTE(Sunshape @ Dec 19 2024, 08:09 AM)
Same here. Not easy to get job when your age passes 40 level.
I agree.

Usually we got trapped in 30s by getting ourselves into bank loans/buy house/etc but not knowing our jobs may not last into our 40s.

Banks / property agents are out there to persuade you to spend money one.

This post has been edited by Chrono-Trigger: Dec 19 2024, 01:35 PM
Chobits
post Dec 19 2024, 02:25 PM

Cutest piece of technology on the planet
721 posts

QUOTE(Palisades @ Dec 19 2024, 12:48 PM)

this reply is the reason why people don't hire 50+
baru tegur sikit2, already mau justify and say i am better because i know abit about modern tech.
SUS*lightbringer*
post Dec 19 2024, 02:46 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(Palisades @ Dec 19 2024, 12:48 PM)

I literally says at the end of my reply there, not all, but mostly are. And u tend to ignore that and continue to justify. No one says anyting about being useless. Its arrogance, and it shows here.

No one talked about old school. I am talking about adaptability to modern system. Knowing stuff and being able to adapt to it are totally different things.
Health is not just about blood pressure. And 75km per week is low, especially cycling. Cycling does not put much pressure on your knees. When u are old, a lot of disease lurked in without u knowing. When is the last time u did full medical checkup for 50 and above? Not just normal medical checkup, but special one for people above 50.
Attitude is not about doing different things or different role. Its about how u treat other, especially people who are younger than u. Its about how u swallow your pride, and being able to listen to younger people advise.

Your replies shows how u see younger people.

And since you have experience, why dont u do freelance? Since u are in accounting, I know a lot of companies looking for freelance to do their management account and audit account.
jojolicia
post Dec 19 2024, 02:47 PM

1,922 posts

QUOTE(Palisades @ Dec 19 2024, 12:06 AM)
Earlier I have issue at work. Everyday nightmare dealing with this fella difficult staff.

Want to change job, kept applying, but recently 2 employers at jobstreet rejected my application.

Then I bombarded linkedin with 30 applications, macam no progress.

Is life over at 51yo? Not sure why employers refuse to take me in. I am in good health, no high blood pressure. I know people as young as 37yo already kena high blood pressure. HR so particular with age meh?

I am an Accountant.
Can you elaborate your job scope and specialisation when you said you are an accountant

There is something I fail to understand coming from a 51 yo accredited person

This post has been edited by jojolicia: Dec 19 2024, 03:45 PM
mystalyzer
post Dec 19 2024, 02:55 PM

394 posts

51 is young in the UK. retirement age around 67/68

my colleague at 55 just got a new 20 year mortgage biggrin.gif
foofoosasa
post Dec 19 2024, 03:20 PM

3,482 posts

QUOTE(Palisades @ Dec 19 2024, 12:49 PM)
I did not quit.

I was transferred to new department

I been with this company for 10 years.
If you open your option to work in sabah, plenty of vacancy for you as accountant.
NinG
post Dec 19 2024, 03:47 PM

Vroomm
403 posts

Earlier I have issue at work. Everyday nightmare dealing with this fella difficult staff.

Want to change job, kept applying, but recently 2 employers at jobstreet rejected my application.

Is life over at 51yo? Not sure why employers refuse to take me in. I am in good health, no high blood pressure. I know people as young as 37yo already kena high blood pressure. HR so particular with age meh?

I am an Accountant.
Since you use LinkedIn alot, did you goreng (use a bit of fancy words) abit on your resume? What i meant is brush up your achievements. May let me know, I try to see how to help you with your resume.

This post has been edited by NinG: Dec 19 2024, 03:47 PM
GravityFi3ld
post Dec 19 2024, 04:00 PM

Nick Fury's Night Fury
912 posts

I am an Accountant.
hello there!
so, which type of "Accountant" are you laugh.gif

am guessing most likely the one with an ACCA or an equivalent sweat.gif
as to WHY potential employers did not take you on..

Is your current/expected remuneration/salary package within the current job market range?
Perhaps your current skillset doesn't match with the position you are applying for? OR you are unfamiliar with their accounting software, say from Autocount/SQL to SAP or vice-versa?
And do you specialize in a particular area of accounting, say Taxation? or some other thingamajiggy? Quite niche market if you do specialize in a particular field.

You seem quite adamant on seeking a job/getting hired (30apps, linkedin, jobstreet) - something entrepreneurial-ish is not on the cards for ya, eh?
daniel2006
post Dec 19 2024, 04:05 PM

173 posts

Proven with 1 reply.

yes, try freelance...GL TS
giftfre
post Dec 19 2024, 04:18 PM

Control Macho
683 posts

No one would ever provide constructive opinion because TS has not quite straight go to the critical point of his difficulties.
ts1
post Dec 19 2024, 04:19 PM

3,784 posts

QUOTE(seinganchai @ Dec 19 2024, 12:34 AM)
I can hire 2 accountants for the price of 1 and at a younger age. So what do you offer?
two accountants cabut after few months and plenty of MC and no meeting dateline

my offer is stability and trouble free flow. biggrin.gif
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Dec 19 2024, 04:21 PM

1,030 posts

I am an Accountant.
Most companies aren't really hiring these days. Many are downsizing and closing business.

If there's an opening, the only reason for the fill in is to clear the mess which no existing staff can handle or to replace a recent staff who just left.

So count your blessings that you still have a job and pray you won't be the next in layoffs.

It's going to be terrible in 2025 soon after CNY.

51yo and still under employment? You are among the luckiest. Most companies are not hiring anymore in your late 30s not just in Malaysia, S.Korea, Taiwan, Singapore and many countries.

C_ST
post Dec 19 2024, 04:27 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(Chobits @ Dec 19 2024, 02:25 PM)
this reply is the reason why people don't hire 50+
baru tegur sikit2, already mau justify and say i am better because i know abit about modern tech.
I agree with you, these are what those old seafood attitude people dislike.
Can't afford to let ppl tegur a bit.

Should just be humble, learn on ur wording/speaking, accept people's compliment and then only explain. Not sikit sikit then defensive mode replies.

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0160sec    0.78    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 09:54 AM