No more 'quota system' for state-owned unis

sonypshomer
post Nov 2 2024, 03:19 PM

1,595 posts

QUOTE(Pikichu @ Nov 2 2024, 02:56 PM)
Congrats!
Org Asli kid did not do well in school won't have chance to enter university.
Rich kids got lots of tuition can enjoy state university

Rich gets rich, poor gets tax and debt.
True, this is what PMX said that a lot of people dont get it. T1 to T20 all cheapskate want their children to enroll into UM USM UKM by paying ciput, even use cable for scholarship. 100% free.

Those sarawak listed universities, no quotas also nvm

Pikichu
post Nov 2 2024, 03:23 PM

2,278 posts

QUOTE(KineticKill @ Nov 2 2024, 03:19 PM)
You’ll be surprised how many dumbfucks are in the unis, because their academic achievements do not show as such. Rote learning at its best.

But yeah, my point is these rich kids with various supports will get free tertiary education as well as disadvantaged poor tree people. Meritocracy ftw!
Acknowledge what you have said and experience.
Now he announce a reform into meritocracy system for Sarawak.
You don't agree with existing system but you don't support reform either?
damonlbs
post Nov 2 2024, 03:24 PM

487 posts

better do it 1st before malays there become the majority in sarawak and become like malaya
MGM
post Nov 2 2024, 03:25 PM

18,465 posts

Congrats!

QUOTE(KineticKill @ Nov 2 2024, 02:59 PM)
But meritocracy maa. Tree people can stay in trees or get in IPTA.

Even their state doesn’t like them.
QUOTE(KineticKill @ Nov 2 2024, 03:09 PM)
Problem is there are talents among tree people but they might not necessarily get the right early education. Conversely, there are dumbfuck rich kids with lots of supports from early age. Which one will win meritocracy?

Now here’s the kicker: those dumbfuck rich kids will even get free tertiary education! Lulz

https://www.nst.com.my/news/nation/2024/07/...arawakians-2026
Money being songlap while the people remains poor after 60 years of tongkat + mismanagement by incompetent leaders, so let's continue with that til the country collapse n rot. Meanwhile SG practices meritocracy n prosper to become one of the richest DEVELOPED country.
differ
post Nov 2 2024, 03:26 PM

404 posts

Congrats!

If they can't do well in school, what can they achieve in university?

Pikichu
post Nov 2 2024, 03:26 PM

2,278 posts

QUOTE(sonypshomer @ Nov 2 2024, 03:19 PM)
True, this is what PMX said that a lot of people dont get it. T1 to T20 all cheapskate want their children to enroll into UM USM UKM by paying ciput, even use cable for scholarship. 100% free.

Those sarawak listed universities, no quotas also nvm
Meritocracy has its benefit, to retain talents based on merits, which I support.
But if gov't is not inclusive to provide edu for slow learners then wealthgap will widen.

Hopefully Sarawak will live up to this promise of reform and not let slow learners drop out, maybe slow could be introduced into TVET.

JimbeamofNRT
post Nov 2 2024, 03:27 PM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

QUOTE(Exiled_Gundam @ Nov 2 2024, 02:56 PM)
This will largely benefited their city folks. And if those unis accept admission from outside Sarawak, even less Sarawakian can be admitted 😬
To ensure rural students can gain admission to these universities, he said the Sarawak government is upgrading their facilities, which includes spending RM15mil yearly to provide free tuition for Form 3 and Form 5 students.

lulz... kasi tution only then expect these disadvantaged studens to compete with the well to do urban kids who well feed.

bagus lah ini serawak gomen. banyak bagus

https://www.astroawani.com/berita-malaysia/...elantara-269077

Demi capaian internet, pelajar Lubok Antu redah bahaya hutan belantara

Ketidaktentuan cuaca dan ancaman binatang buas antara cabaran dihadapi lebih 20 pelajar sekolah rendah dan menengah yang menetap di Nanga Sumpa dan Nanga Jambu yang terletak di pedalaman Lubok Antu, Sarawak.

This post has been edited by JimbeamofNRT: Nov 2 2024, 03:27 PM
Exiled_Gundam
post Nov 2 2024, 03:29 PM

550 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Nov 2 2024, 03:25 PM)
Money being songlap while the people remains poor after 60 years of tongkat + mismanagement by incompetent leaders, so let's continue with that til the country collapse n rot. Meanwhile SG practices meritocracy n prosper to become one of the richest DEVELOPED country.
U see early education in SG. Now compare it with Sarawak or even Malaysia.
Pikichu
post Nov 2 2024, 03:30 PM

2,278 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Nov 2 2024, 03:25 PM)
songlap is corruption which must be addressed.
meritocracy has its benefits, which I support, see "Congrats"
I raise the query, what about slow learners, bcos they will be left out in meritocrary.

QUOTE(differ @ Nov 2 2024, 03:26 PM)
If they can't do well in school, what can they achieve in university?
TVET in tertiary education?
Pls do more reading, don't everything also ask me. I critic capitalism to raise awareness. In a democracy, you also have a voice. Hope you will have an educated voice.
differ
post Nov 2 2024, 03:30 PM

404 posts

QUOTE(KineticKill @ Nov 2 2024, 03:09 PM)
Problem is there are talents among tree people but they might not necessarily get the right early education. Conversely, there are dumbfuck rich kids with lots of supports from early age. Which one will win meritocracy?

Now here’s the kicker: those dumbfuck rich kids will even get free tertiary education! Lulz

https://www.nst.com.my/news/nation/2024/07/...arawakians-2026
If "dumbfuck rich kid" gets 7A1s, then is he still dumb?

KineticKill
post Nov 2 2024, 03:32 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(Pikichu @ Nov 2 2024, 08:23 AM)
Acknowledge what you have said and experience.
Now he announce a reform into meritocracy system for Sarawak.
You don't agree with existing system but you don't support reform either?
Here’s the thing: the meritocracy part is good. But it has to focus on equity rather than equality.

Rafizi said something about this a while back. He said it’s not fair to compare his child studying in one of the best public schools in Putrajaya with a poor child in rural area.

Sarawak govt has to acknowledge that the rich-poor gap in the state is quite large. To have a perfectly level playing field is impossible, but working towards equity will mean giving a bit of leeway towards disadvantaged poor students.
differ
post Nov 2 2024, 03:32 PM

404 posts

QUOTE(Pikichu @ Nov 2 2024, 03:30 PM)
songlap is corruption which must be addressed.
meritocracy has its benefits, which I support, see "Congrats"
I raise the query, what about slow learners, bcos they will be left out in meritocrary.
TVET in tertiary education?
Pls do more reading, don't everything also ask me. I critic capitalism to raise awareness. In a democracy, you also have a voice. Hope you will have an educated voice.
Then that is a separate matter. These are universities, no?

If you want to say that there should be more vocational institutions for those who don't make the cut, then I agree with you.

But let's not mix up 2 different matters just for the sake of arguing online.
SUSahter
post Nov 2 2024, 03:34 PM

266 posts

GPS know they will be doomed if they don't do that.
KineticKill
post Nov 2 2024, 03:35 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Nov 2 2024, 08:25 AM)
SG got Lubok Antu?
Mattrock
post Nov 2 2024, 03:35 PM

395 posts

Can set up vocational or skill learning for those who fail to enter unis. They are still needed in any developed society.
differ
post Nov 2 2024, 03:36 PM

404 posts

QUOTE(KineticKill @ Nov 2 2024, 03:32 PM)
Here’s the thing: the meritocracy part is good. But it has to focus on equity rather than equality.

Rafizi said something about this a while back. He said it’s not fair to compare his child studying in one of the best public schools in Putrajaya with a poor child in rural area.

Sarawak govt has to acknowledge that the rich-poor gap in the state is quite large. To have a perfectly level playing field is impossible, but working towards equity will mean giving a bit of leeway towards disadvantaged poor students.
What kind of leeway and how much?

To blanket say all rural kids cannot succeed academically is also wrong.
KineticKill
post Nov 2 2024, 03:37 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(differ @ Nov 2 2024, 08:30 AM)
If "dumbfuck rich kid" gets 7A1s, then is he still dumb?
You’d be surprised how many people get 7A1s and more and still dumb as rock. Tuitionssss and soalan bocor help a lot
DarkAeon
post Nov 2 2024, 03:37 PM

774 posts

QUOTE(Pikichu @ Nov 2 2024, 03:30 PM)
forcing 'slow learners' into uni and let them grad with degrees even when we know they are sub par only destroy the qualification's credibility. they are doing this exact same practise somewhere and whenever we saw resume from that uni, we just toss it into the bin

u wan that?
ZeroSOFInfinity
post Nov 2 2024, 03:38 PM

3,703 posts

QUOTE(vassilius @ Nov 2 2024, 02:54 PM)
Only S&S can do this.
Because if this is done at Semenanjung, all Hell will break loose.
KineticKill
post Nov 2 2024, 03:39 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(differ @ Nov 2 2024, 08:36 AM)
What kind of leeway and how much?

To blanket say all rural kids cannot succeed academically is also wrong.
What kind of leeway and how much are questions the Sarawak govt has to answer.

I didn’t say all rural kids cannot succeed. They face significantly more challenges and have to put huge effort and commitment to be at the same footing as urban rich kids.

10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0235sec    0.45    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 10:32 AM