Close family member passed away
tropik
Nov 2 2024, 06:25 PM
QUOTE(MakNok @ Nov 2 2024, 04:32 PM) When i say freeze mean cannot withdraw lah especially on ATM. Do update on how long for the lawyer to settle so that can withdraw everything and how much does the lawyer charge? No will to begin with, so it should take longer than usual? Last time my mum's account was closed easily without will and such. If not mistaken just bring relevant proof. It was PBB. Why this round lawyer is involved for my dad's case? Because of property, so do it together. This post has been edited by tropik: Nov 2 2024, 06:28 PM
jojolicia
Nov 2 2024, 06:29 PM
QUOTE(viktorherald @ Nov 1 2024, 11:38 AM) He did tell me password but I had forgotten... Regretted that I should have taken not of it down, now can only rely on vague hints But got will, should be ok My condolence for your lost. Stay strong. Bring the will to the lawyer.
TSviktorherald
Nov 3 2024, 08:38 AM

QUOTE(jojolicia @ Nov 2 2024, 06:29 PM) My condolence for your lost. Stay strong. Bring the will to the lawyer. Thanks, will do
TSviktorherald
Nov 4 2024, 12:12 PM

Hi all, I got the will in my hands now. Any recommended lawyer service to appoint?
TSviktorherald
Nov 4 2024, 05:22 PM

Is ok, I found the will appointing firm, spoken to him, he will advise for panel lawyer. About the accounts freezing, I'm not that worry as there are EPF and life insurance to help support. Even though the whole process might take a year, the support from above should be enough. Really thanks to my dad... He has thought out so many steps for us. How I wish I can match 10% of my dad achievements. Thanks again to all ktards
fourzee
Nov 4 2024, 05:30 PM
QUOTE(viktorherald @ Nov 1 2024, 10:49 AM) It's my father... Doing well to finish off the funeral matters. Question, how should I deal with papa bank accounts? He had left a will and me and my sis are the designated successor of his assets including bank account..How should I execute it? Thanks all /k sifu in advance do the Pusaka Kecil proses at JKPTG (Land Office) ..they will issue Perintah Pembahagian / Surat Kuasa Pentadbiran to divide the assets ..
yungkit14
Nov 4 2024, 09:09 PM
QUOTE(malz89 @ Nov 1 2024, 11:44 AM) Stay strong. My mum passed away on CNY night, she was so happy awaiting for her first grandchild. And, my MIL passed away a day before my child arrival. So, it was a double blow to my family. Anyway, my mum left a will for us. Just need to find a lawyer to execute. My mum did her will with rockwill, hence we asked them to execute. However, it has been almost 10 months and they have yet to get back to us. If u know his ATM password just withdraw asap. For those FD, etc. You have to go through will. Rockwill is a, scam aiyoo. Lawyer letter cukup da
malz89
Nov 4 2024, 09:58 PM
QUOTE(yungkit14 @ Nov 4 2024, 09:09 PM) Rockwill is a, scam aiyoo. Lawyer letter cukup da We had no idea. It was my mums will. So we proceeded accordingly.
Takudan
Nov 4 2024, 10:50 PM
QUOTE(yungkit14 @ Nov 4 2024, 09:09 PM) Rockwill is a, scam aiyoo. Lawyer letter cukup da That's a serious allegation, any source/reason?
Boomwick
Nov 4 2024, 11:31 PM
QUOTE(yungkit14 @ Nov 4 2024, 09:09 PM) Rockwill is a, scam aiyoo. Lawyer letter cukup da Not scam la.. they got do work just tat fees is quite steep to say so
TSviktorherald
Nov 5 2024, 10:15 AM

i had asked the succession firm, he mention that advisory and lawyer firm usually charge a fixed a mount.
It is that when the will of the deceased appoint a lawyer firm as executor, or the current designated executor release the execution rights to law firm, then only the law firm can charge a % of net worth as fees. (also subject to judge approval, and not more than 5% mandated by law)
fongsk26
Nov 5 2024, 10:37 AM
QUOTE(viktorherald @ Nov 5 2024, 10:15 AM) i had asked the succession firm, he mention that advisory and lawyer firm usually charge a fixed a mount. It is that when the will of the deceased appoint a lawyer firm as executor, or the current designated executor release the execution rights to law firm, then only the law firm can charge a % of net worth as fees. (also subject to judge approval, and not more than 5% mandated by law) Just curious. Do we need lawyers to do all these? Possible to handle this on our own? Anyone can advise?
TSviktorherald
Nov 5 2024, 12:29 PM

QUOTE(fongsk26 @ Nov 5 2024, 10:37 AM) Just curious. Do we need lawyers to do all these? Possible to handle this on our own? Anyone can advise? From advisory firm, high court will only deal with Lawyer on Grant of Probate matters, and will not entertain individuals However, after Grant of Probate, you can handle the matters on your own if you are the designated executor. This post has been edited by viktorherald: Nov 5 2024, 12:33 PM
fongsk26
Nov 5 2024, 12:34 PM
QUOTE(viktorherald @ Nov 5 2024, 12:29 PM) From advisory firm, high court will only deal with Lawyer on Grant of Probate matters, and will not entertain individuals Thanks for the information. 👍🫡
TSviktorherald
Nov 5 2024, 12:35 PM

QUOTE(fongsk26 @ Nov 5 2024, 12:34 PM) Thanks for the information. 👍🫡 I had done further edit
yungkit14
Nov 6 2024, 06:40 PM
QUOTE(Boomwick @ Nov 4 2024, 11:31 PM) Not scam la.. they got do work just tat fees is quite steep to say so thats why it is consider a scam when you only pay one time fee
Boomwick
Nov 6 2024, 06:43 PM
QUOTE(yungkit14 @ Nov 6 2024, 06:40 PM) thats why it is consider a scam when you only pay one time fee Upfront pay 1 time Upon die, execution time will makan based on Asset value x time taken 1 yr is dunno how many percent.. i think 2 or 3% of estate value handled
ihm11
Nov 6 2024, 08:50 PM

amanahraya
ycs
Nov 6 2024, 10:00 PM
QUOTE(Boomwick @ Nov 6 2024, 06:43 PM) Upfront pay 1 time Upon die, execution time will makan based on Asset value x time taken 1 yr is dunno how many percent.. i think 2 or 3% of estate value handled Rockwills as executor gets to charge you annual admin estate fees; so they wont expedite getting your probate settled quickly;