5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Close family member passed away

SinzChan
post Nov 1 2024, 01:38 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(viktorherald @ Nov 1 2024, 10:49 AM)
It's my father... Doing well to finish off the funeral matters.

Question, how should I deal with papa bank accounts? He had left a will and me and my sis are the designated successor of his assets including bank account..How should I execute it?

Thanks all /k sifu in advance
go lawyer get letter of executor, bring to bank
COOLPINK
post Nov 1 2024, 01:40 PM

3,666 posts

Condolences to u and ur family.
May he RIP.
kelvinfixx
post Nov 1 2024, 01:45 PM

1,590 posts

left with will, executor will do all for you.

My condolence and congratulation.
pysh
post Nov 1 2024, 01:49 PM

382 posts

got ATM card pls go withdraw as much as possible first as lawyer charge by net worth..
TSviktorherald
post Nov 1 2024, 01:52 PM

172 posts

[quote=pysh,Nov 1 2024, 01:49 PM]got ATM card pls go withdraw as much as possible first as lawyer charge by net worth..

[/quote/]

quote=Avangelice,Nov 1 2024, 01:09 PM]
For those telling op to withdraw if he knows the atm pin, please do not do that. If they find out the withdrawal date is after his death certificate date, they will initate fraudulent investigation.

[/quote/]

Conflicting opinions hmm

This post has been edited by viktorherald: Nov 1 2024, 01:58 PM
Avangelice
post Nov 1 2024, 02:02 PM

5,274 posts

https://kclau.com/estate-planning/joint-account/

By right upon death of the person all his assets are frozen until the will executor or next of has been notified. Imagine lah you go withdraw and your sister (heaven forbid) saw red and reported to the police. Better play safe. Don't simply withdraw and let it go through legal hoops

This post has been edited by Avangelice: Nov 1 2024, 02:03 PM
Captain89
post Nov 1 2024, 02:25 PM

Jiken
3,190 posts

Check if he left any will. Before that need to get death certificate first. My condolences to you and your family
InitialB
post Nov 1 2024, 02:37 PM

700 posts

My father is dying due to cancer.

Question, how should I deal with papa ? He had left nothing for the family and no assets. He spend finished all his last cents 20 years ago and becoming burden to family member.

To cremate him we need to buy places in Nirvana (burn) or land to cremate him ................... While he is sick, all family member already spend a substances of money taking care of him. And we are in the brink of getting broke. All our hard earn wasted on him.

How should we execute it?

Please enlighten us.
poweredbydiscuz
post Nov 1 2024, 02:44 PM

3,835 posts

QUOTE(InitialB @ Nov 1 2024, 02:37 PM)

Question, how should I deal with papa ? He had left nothing for the family and no assets. He spend finished all his last cents 20 years ago and becoming burden to family member.

To cremate him we need to buy places in Nirvana (burn) or land to cremate him ................... While he is sick, all family member already spend a substances of money taking care of him. And we are in the brink of getting broke. All our hard earn wasted on him.

Please enlighten us.
No need to go nirvana if no budget. Contact your local council's cremation center. Example DBKL below:

https://www.dbkl.gov.my/tanah-perkuburan-krematorium/

Can refer to post #8 to claim for funeral expenses if eligible.
Avangelice
post Nov 1 2024, 02:44 PM

5,274 posts

QUOTE(InitialB @ Nov 1 2024, 02:37 PM)

Please enlighten us.
Don't think like that bro. I do not know the full story so I cannot judge but what I can say is how you treat a sick person family member or not shows the person you are. If tak cukup kemampuan don't need go nirvana. Just cremate and throw ashes in the sea.

funnybone
post Nov 1 2024, 02:50 PM

1,040 posts

Hire a lawyer and get a grant of probate from the courts. It's quite straight forward but will take some time. All transfers of assets; properties, shares etc will follow suit....that's how I remember it for my case but our family lawyer did all that. We just sign papers. Didn't face any complications, especially with a will in place.
ongth60
post Nov 1 2024, 02:50 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Nov 1 2024, 02:02 PM)

By right upon death of the person all his assets are frozen until the will executor or next of has been notified. Imagine lah you go withdraw and your sister (heaven forbid) saw red and reported to the police. Better play safe. Don't simply withdraw and let it go through legal hoops
While make police report, go and withdraw at the same time, as long as transacted date is < time of certified death, should be ok

pysh
post Nov 1 2024, 02:52 PM

382 posts

[quote=viktorherald,Nov 1 2024, 01:52 PM]
[quote=pysh,Nov 1 2024, 01:49 PM]got ATM card pls go withdraw as much as possible first as lawyer charge by net worth..

[/quote/]

quote=Avangelice,Nov 1 2024, 01:09 PM]
For those telling op to withdraw if he knows the atm pin, please do not do that. If they find out the withdrawal date is after his death certificate date, they will initate fraudulent investigation.

[/quote/]

Conflicting opinions hmm

[/quote]

[quote=Avangelice,Nov 1 2024, 02:02 PM]

[/quote]

its grey area la.. they cant do shit..
nowadays atm card can be shared isnt it among family member or trusted ppl..
i give u my atm card u go take $ to buy food
u go study johor ah? take my atm card go buy food.. papa duno how to do transfer.. all this kinda thing..
when ppl want to find fault with you, anything also can find fault la..
these are BKMs and i never heard ppl kena b4.. personally also experience it as need cash to handle the ceremony etc..
go through lawyers will take months (with will) and years (without wills or proper documentations).. these withdrawals will help up abit those who are financially tight.. unless u can wait for months and spend extra then go ahead..

This post has been edited by pysh: Nov 1 2024, 02:54 PM
Captain89
post Nov 1 2024, 02:59 PM

Jiken
3,190 posts

QUOTE(InitialB @ Nov 1 2024, 01:07 PM)

Please enlighten us.
Can discuss with Nirvana agent or walk-in to their office. We did the same which after cremate and the urn is put in pagoda building. Cost us around rm20k for everything they will settle for you.
Chastain
post Nov 1 2024, 03:12 PM

500 posts

My condolences
SUSNajibaik
post Nov 1 2024, 03:21 PM

1,481 posts

sorry to hear that
may he rest in peace
Avangelice
post Nov 1 2024, 04:11 PM

5,274 posts

QUOTE(Captain89 @ Nov 1 2024, 02:59 PM)
Can discuss with Nirvana agent or walk-in to their office. We did the same which after cremate and the urn is put in pagoda building. Cost us around rm20k for everything they will settle for you.
Bro he's already feeling upset that the family is burning through their savings for the father and you are suggesting to ice the cake is to go to nirvana and spend 20k?

TSviktorherald
post Nov 1 2024, 04:35 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(ongth60 @ Nov 1 2024, 02:50 PM)
While make police report, go and withdraw at the same time, as long as transacted date is < time of certified death, should be ok
Question, who will really 1st thing go to bank when your family member is in the brink of dying, does not make sense
SkyCaptain
post Nov 1 2024, 04:55 PM

262 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Nov 1 2024, 04:11 PM)
Bro he's already feeling upset that the family is burning through their savings for the father and you are suggesting to ice the cake is to go to nirvana and spend 20k?
Nirvana and the equivalent private service providers won't be so economical. I am also checking out packages for my parents. You need to consider their products (burial plot, tomb construction, ancestral tablet costs or the equivalent for cremation like columbarium) and funeral services (Buddhist, Taoist or Christian). The prices are mind numbing to say the least. Ancestral tablet can cost rm10-15k. Tomb construction around rm50k for an average set up/design for a double plot, this excludes burial plot cost. Buddhist ceremonies from rm30-50k for a 3D/2N Buddhist/Taoist package.
Avangelice
post Nov 1 2024, 05:02 PM

5,274 posts

QUOTE(SkyCaptain @ Nov 1 2024, 04:55 PM)
Nirvana and the equivalent private service providers won't be so economical. I am also checking out packages for my parents. You need to consider their products (burial plot, tomb construction, ancestral tablet costs or the equivalent for cremation like columbarium) and funeral services (Buddhist, Taoist or Christian). The prices are mind numbing to say the least. Ancestral tablet can cost rm10-15k. Tomb construction around rm50k for an average set up/design for a double plot, this excludes burial plot cost. Buddhist ceremonies from rm30-50k for a 3D/2N Buddhist/Taoist package.
There's another option, one I'm opting for myself.

Direct cremation. Price range 5k
Buying a plot at a Columbarium 3k.
Free if you toss in the ocean.

Don't want to stress my son financially.

My late grandpa one eye watering 70k because he was gifted a plot of land in nirvana by his brother and we had to construct the burial site.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0201sec    0.77    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 11:43 PM