[2024] Mac Mini with M4 / M4 Pro

ericlaiys
post Dec 9 2024, 05:57 PM

7,538 posts

QUOTE(yvliew @ Dec 9 2024, 03:10 PM)
I think can return right? Apple store got return policy if not satisfied.

Mine preparing to ship since last friday havent got tracking number yet.
why want to be so troublesome? my tracking number just got it. arriving on 12 & same day my pick up for trade in.

GDEX

This post has been edited by ericlaiys: Dec 9 2024, 06:09 PM
ericlaiys
post Dec 9 2024, 06:05 PM

7,538 posts

QUOTE(yvliew @ Dec 9 2024, 05:17 PM)

on the sms says deliver by 16th. damn long!
your late ordering. must be 2nd batch
ericlaiys
post Dec 9 2024, 06:10 PM

7,538 posts

QUOTE(yvliew @ Dec 9 2024, 06:07 PM)
ordered on 29th

well it's because Sabah always treated differently.
make sense, Item ship from SG to KL . Then KL to other states.
ericlaiys
post Dec 9 2024, 09:01 PM

7,538 posts

QUOTE(hellfried @ Dec 9 2024, 06:32 PM)
I find it odd that now even though we have a physical Apple Store in KL, our units still has to be shipped from Singapore.
SG is Regional Hub.

QUOTE(ohkeat @ Dec 9 2024, 06:38 PM)
For trade-in, it seems the system allows for only pick-up, and not drop off. Anyone encountering this too?
Yes, only pick up. POS Malaysia will come on the date that you select. So i select 12-12 : same date as pick up and delivery. Kill 2 bird in 1 stone

QUOTE(Skeuomorphic @ Dec 9 2024, 06:46 PM)
They just sent me the invoice
Remember to generate e-invoice. Only valid for 14 days

QUOTE(jonthebaptist @ Dec 9 2024, 06:53 PM)
Same

And also shipped

Apple site still showing 10/12-13/13 delivery date

Email showing 12/12

Carrier Name:
YAMATO TRANSPORT (M) SDN BHD

When click track shipment, it shows gdexpress

GDEX

QUOTE(Skeuomorphic @ Dec 9 2024, 07:01 PM)
i think mine is in the same shipment as yours lol pick up time 5:28 a few minutes later. it'll change to transit soon, wonder if possible it can get delivered tomorrow  wink.gif
Nope. Still need to go thru custom clearance. Then go thru multiple warehouse distribution to ship to us depend on where you stay
ericlaiys
post Dec 10 2024, 09:29 AM

7,538 posts

QUOTE(jonthebaptist @ Dec 10 2024, 08:47 AM)
Now website also update delivery date following the email date

still stuck at SG
ericlaiys
post Dec 10 2024, 05:38 PM

7,538 posts

Finally plane take off from SG around 2pm. Heading to KL
ericlaiys
post Dec 11 2024, 08:32 AM

7,538 posts

QUOTE(hellfried @ Dec 11 2024, 08:27 AM)
FYI, can order Mac Mini M4 from Switch website now but looks like only the base model is available.
machine and trx already available. so whoever free today can get it there
ericlaiys
post Dec 11 2024, 08:36 AM

7,538 posts

QUOTE(jonthebaptist @ Dec 11 2024, 08:20 AM)
Would you still buy a MacBook Air M1 8GB or Mac Mini M4?

The MacBook Air can even do 36 months installment using Maybank and CIMB.

depend you want portable or desktop base. however m1 most likely be kill off shell by 1-2 years. plus now all new one come 16gb ram. therefore 8gb ram not much value in the market. laptop should go m2 or m3 with 16gb model
ericlaiys
post Dec 11 2024, 11:25 AM

7,538 posts

M4 out for delivery - [klang]
ericlaiys
post Dec 11 2024, 09:28 PM

7,538 posts

QUOTE(yvliew @ Dec 11 2024, 02:35 PM)
Finally received my SSD and usb 4 enclosure. Ready for mac mini liao. Setup straight away change Home folder to external.
I just tested my ugreen. can get 3000 read/write speed. I also move home and application to external.

QUOTE(muman7 @ Dec 11 2024, 02:45 PM)
Is it necessary to put home folder on external? For average user what's your home folder size after a few years? Anyone with a device for a few years pls report here. Thanks.
It is worth it to move. i also notice keep writing due to cache/swap.

QUOTE(yvliew @ Dec 11 2024, 03:20 PM)
usually apps can install externally. But some apps still needs to install their data in Home folder which is what ollama does. Don’t want to worry about that so just move home folder to external can enjoy the computer at fullest. Since now M4 and 16GB, much more capable than my previous M2 8GB, I’d like to do more with it.
I also think that way on m1 with 256gb storage and 8gb. but I also move it to external storage. RAM got 16GB. Use already 12GB, Cache size - 4GB and swap 23MB. Look like new OS use many memory.

Therefore advice to move

ericlaiys
post Dec 12 2024, 12:17 PM

7,538 posts

Pick up on the way:
RM0 Out for Pick Up: Pos Malaysia: We are on the way to pick up your parcels and will arrive at your location soon.
ericlaiys
post Dec 12 2024, 02:02 PM

7,538 posts

QUOTE(shyan90's @ Dec 12 2024, 01:51 PM)
Just question on external storage, once you pair the storage to work with mac mini, what would happen if you plug your external storage to window? can detect but not able to open?
No as different file system. Unless you format as exfat for data only

This post has been edited by ericlaiys: Dec 12 2024, 03:14 PM
ericlaiys
post Dec 12 2024, 05:39 PM

7,538 posts

finally postman is here to pick up my m1. Unit will send to Bukit Jelutong. Now wait for confirmation to complete the trade in.

Asked the postman. according to them no drop off.

So what they did is
1. Put into white envelope which little protection. Lucky I wrap with extra bubble wrap
2. then put into big brown box
3. seal it with pos sticker.
4. Wrap with final plastic & put address sticker. get one confirmation letter.
Step 1-4 : Postman will take picture entire process to prove that unit are safely send
ericlaiys
post Dec 12 2024, 05:46 PM

7,538 posts

QUOTE(yvliew @ Dec 12 2024, 05:44 PM)
can just include the mac mini right? No need box or the power cable. I would keep the power cable as it is also compatible with the M4 mac mini. Can put in other room or for travel.
no need. just mac mini. Even I trade in iPad air, no need box and charger + cable.

Imac and mac mini only can trade in online. Macbook, Ipad & Iphone can do at shop.

Even Trx, Machine and Switch don't accept

This post has been edited by ericlaiys: Dec 12 2024, 05:47 PM
ericlaiys
post Dec 12 2024, 08:49 PM

7,538 posts

QUOTE(jonthebaptist @ Dec 12 2024, 07:16 PM)
Hi, I'm new to this, what is it meant here when you say no drop off?
Malaysia trade in no drop off at courier [pos Malaysia]. They got dedicated box & printed label. The courier will bring and wrap your devices in front of u and take picture. To proof that u got send the unit for trade in
ericlaiys
post Dec 12 2024, 08:50 PM

7,538 posts

QUOTE(hellfried @ Dec 12 2024, 08:18 PM)
When shopping for cables to connect the mini to a monitor, what are the specs I should be watching out for?
I bought this and it flat out doesn't work.

https://shopee.com.my/20Gbps-USB-3.2-Gen-2-...862.14783595574
I thought connect to monitor need to find HDMI to USB c. not USB c to USB c. unless your monitor is plug via USB c
ericlaiys
post Dec 13 2024, 09:41 AM

7,538 posts

QUOTE(Redundant @ Dec 13 2024, 09:32 AM)
Anyone here switched from PC and still using their old 1080p or 1440p monitors?
i did not buy any monitor, reuse old monitor. just get hdmi to usb c x2 unit and one using hdmi. work great 3 monitor. dunno what p resolution
ericlaiys
post Dec 13 2024, 09:43 AM

7,538 posts

QUOTE(hellfried @ Dec 13 2024, 04:44 AM)
According to this video avoiding HDMI port is the way to go.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LZwP_j0Y4x4&t=403s
work well using hdmi. else wasted port. i need thunderbolt for my nvme enclosure. now plug in 3 monitor without any problem
ericlaiys
post Dec 13 2024, 05:14 PM

7,538 posts

QUOTE(yvliew @ Dec 13 2024, 04:59 PM)
Anyone know what app can see the external ssd temp?
try dxdrive app. my ugreen around 48 C
ericlaiys
post Dec 13 2024, 06:11 PM

7,538 posts

QUOTE(yvliew @ Dec 13 2024, 05:28 PM)
DriveDX or DXDrive?

Cannot find DXDrive but got DriveDX . Not in appstore right?
yes. DriveDX. manual download and run it. 15 days trial. anyway, good to use for 1x

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0362sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 09:25 PM