13 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

Top 10 Lies told to Naive Artists and Designers, So you wanna turn pro? Listen up....

sirlucifer
post Aug 22 2011, 12:16 PM

10 years ago and 10 years from now - those are still valid. There are new designers being born everyday and there are unscrupulous folks out there. The world will never change. Be wise.

I used to do some freelance design work and when I told people what I do, the usual conversation often went like this:

"So how much do you charge for this or that?"
"It's based on specifications and requirements - I usually charge by the hour. "
"Even for simple job?"
"Like I said its based on specs and reqs. Small job - I charge a minimal fee. If it gets more than the agreed spec, I will charge hourly."
"Yeah OK. So....... umm how much is like a small logo design?"
"That also depends. How much do you think a logo is worth to you?"
"OK. But how much do you charge??"
"Well my starting fee for a 'SIMPLE' logo is from RM999..."
"Whoa!!! You are so expensive! You know I can get that done for RM20 by college students, they are cheap and good"
"You get what you pay for. Why did you even ask anyway?"
"Oh I just want to know how much you charge actually"
"I thought so too smile.gif"

'My' range could be from RM599 right up to RM999 depending on how a person asked the question.

From what I observed, most queries related to charges is not because they are interested to find someone to do the job but they want to find out how well you earn from freelancing or they are designers themselves who are interested to benchmark their fees but are not upfront about it.
sym
post Aug 26 2011, 09:51 AM

hai everyone i dont know where to ask this questions,
can i know what is the market price for (both freelance and professionals) :

logo design
web design
Graphic design (posters,banners etc)

and how do you actually put the pricing.by time?uniqueness?
Does price differ for corporate use,private or small businesses?
Do price effects if the usage of design gone commercial? like for TV advert etc.

Pardon me for my lack of knowledge-ness.
and if these already been discuss do direct me to the post.

Hope you guys can share, really interested.

Thank you.

8difier
post Aug 26 2011, 04:21 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(sym @ Aug 26 2011, 09:51 AM)

not sure it has been discussed any where in here... but most in the industry,
especially agencies treat it as a trade secret.

I just did new logo & corporate theme for this one MNC co... some say what i charged
is expensive, some say i under charged (cheap).
sym
post Aug 26 2011, 04:41 PM

QUOTE(8difier @ Aug 26 2011, 04:21 PM)
not sure it has been discussed any where in here... but most in the industry,
especially agencies treat it as a trade secret.

I just did new logo & corporate theme for this one MNC co... some say what i charged
is expensive, some say i under charged (cheap).
ermmm market price is a trade secret?

if im not mistaken some of the pros saying that new comers or freelancers shouldnt put the price to low as it wud disturd the
market price.

but since it its unknown and as said by 8difier its a trade secret how the newcomers could set their price not to low.
or do you people have special community discussing bout this?

so 8difier you just put price according to yourself yah ? no benchmark or reference?

8difier
post Aug 26 2011, 10:02 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(sym @ Aug 26 2011, 04:41 PM)

before i elaborate further, try read here 1st...
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1983258
denon91
post Aug 28 2011, 05:23 AM

321 posts

useful tips and good article
Kevlar
post Sep 12 2011, 01:47 PM

Another tip I can offer for designers is this:

Speaking from experience, I tell clients that for any project that there are always 3 things involved: Time, Money and Quality.

You can have 2 of those but not the third. What do I mean? For example:

1) If the client chooses Time & Money: This means he wants FAST & CHEAP, you need to let him know that the QUALITY will not be as good.

2) If the client chooses Time & Quality: You are going to give your BEST quality work in a very SHORT time, then make sure the client understands that this will be more EXPENSIVE.

3) If the client chooses Money & Quality: This means he wants both CHEAP and good QUALITY, then the client has to understand that you will do it in your own TIME with no or little time constraint. (consider it as a hobby work for own exposure).

There might be a few more combinations, but the principle always holds true: Choose 2 but the third will not be possible.

It's important to know this and never let yourselves be short-changed.
Chuckiekey
post Sep 13 2011, 10:42 AM

Chuckie Cotton
1,502 posts

QUOTE(sirlucifer @ Aug 22 2011, 12:16 PM)
10 years ago and 10 years from now - those are still valid. There are new designers being born everyday and there are unscrupulous folks out there. The world will never change. Be wise.

I used to do some freelance design work and when I told people what I do, the usual conversation often went like this:

"So how much do you charge for this or that?"
"It's based on specifications and requirements - I usually charge by the hour. "
"Even for simple job?"
"Like I said its based on specs and reqs. Small job - I charge a minimal fee. If it gets more than the agreed spec, I will charge hourly."
"Yeah OK. So....... umm how much is like a small logo design?"
"That also depends. How much do you think a logo is worth to you?"
"OK. But how much do you charge??"
"Well my starting fee for a 'SIMPLE' logo is from RM999..."
"Whoa!!! You are so expensive! You know I can get that done for RM20 by college students, they are cheap and good"
"You get what you pay for. Why did you even ask anyway?"
"Oh I just want to know how much you charge actually"
"I thought so too smile.gif"

'My' range could be from RM599 right up to RM999 depending on how a person asked the question.

From what I observed, most queries related to charges is not because they are interested to find someone to do the job but they want to find out how well you earn from freelancing or they are designers themselves who are interested to benchmark their fees but are not upfront about it.
There are designers out there who spoils the market by giving out superb pricing, but of cz, the work might not be good as well.
Ask him to go look for other designer, let him do the survey himself.

paogiv3r
post Sep 14 2011, 01:20 PM

395 posts

really good stuffs biggrin.gif i always refer back to here from time to time.
Gmruleme
post Nov 9 2011, 04:01 PM

Art Enthusiast
1,468 posts

well said.. so, most of the artist/designer now work commercially?
TFfan01
post Nov 21 2011, 05:20 PM

Thanks for the tips!
JouetCOM
post Nov 25 2011, 12:18 PM

This is a good forum topic which have good posts. It has substantial information and it is a fount of knowledge. rclxms.gif Thank You!
acopy
post Dec 3 2011, 06:23 PM

140 posts

beware for the customers saying that they have more job coming afterward if youre giving them a good price, most of my customer who tell tales like that surely missing after that.
shufaz
post Dec 5 2011, 10:14 PM

68 posts

too bad I didn't bump into this thread earlier... that

2. "We never pay a cent until we see the final product.", and
5. "Well, the job isn't CANCELLED, just delayed. Keep the account open and we'll continue in a month or two."

I sudah kena.... T_T
MjMax15
post Dec 6 2011, 11:45 PM

Uncle Scrooge is back!
1,372 posts

thats why im quit from freelancing long ago.
want nice design, fast and after that..want super duper discount and half pay only.
cheh
kornelius
post Dec 14 2011, 05:36 PM

All Star Player
781 posts

QUOTE(shufaz @ Dec 5 2011, 10:14 PM)
too bad I didn't bump into this thread earlier... that

2. "We never pay a cent until we see the final product.", and
5. "Well, the job isn't CANCELLED, just delayed. Keep the account open and we'll continue in a month or two."

I sudah kena.... T_T
I kena "Well, the job isn't CANCELLED, just delayed. Keep the account open and we'll continue in a month or two." but at least they already pay 50%... but let them troll since i ady got 50%... email them but still no news... reply me bz...

haih... freelancing is pain in the ass when comes to payment...
orangeRoom
post Jun 6 2012, 11:44 AM

Thanks for the tips
andychai910904
post Jun 6 2012, 06:51 PM

81 posts

true enough wei~ most of the ppl think that designer no need pay bill, eat or wadsoever. im working on advertising field and if i charge up a design fee, the customer will bla bla bla. haiz
dernierjay
post Jun 10 2012, 01:02 PM

Excellent info. OuOb
I pon dah kena "We never pay a cent until we see the final product."
The first time it happened everything is okay, he did pay for full when he got it, but after that he only pays the amount he think it was worth. And then try to act like buddy2 and want free designs. pffffft.
qin.tiong
post Jun 10 2012, 05:06 PM

32 posts

Good Sharing~~

13 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0200sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 04:34 AM