13 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 >Bottom

Top 10 Lies told to Naive Artists and Designers, So you wanna turn pro? Listen up....

vion lee
post Jun 12 2012, 11:43 PM

I kena alot x.x"

I have started my own graphic design / advertising business for 7months till now. Few months back i have lost few project payment which is event promotional items design, a plate pattern design cost rm1200.00, a tracing artwork services fees and my client even ask for free design.

Sad doesnt it?

Well, i know is quite late but im learning from my stupid mistake now.

Pleaseeee ask for deposit or get the stamped & sign quotation approved before u proceed the artwork! Especially for artwork charges more than rm1000.00~!

If u r young, make sure u b confident n firm while dealing with client! This also a MUST~!dont turn out u follow all their instruction n do whatever they ask to. Please dont!

2girls1peanut
post Jun 25 2012, 09:59 PM

67 posts

Messedrose
post Jul 25 2012, 03:41 PM

The 6th impressed me.

U got a spark!!!! THX!
wartes
post Aug 29 2012, 03:30 PM

came across your post.
You do not have to work with freelancers?
Freelancers are the most talented people.
shinkawa
post Oct 17 2012, 01:39 PM

parttime otaku
855 posts

- cut short the details he explaining me the job task
- delivered sample with watermark at middle.
- he request for the final file but cannot pay on the spot (rm40)
- i said No, coz you stranger and it's only rm 40
- he said ok, will be back until now no news. lol

hmm.gif i'm not going to make this a fuss or report but rm40 cannot pay meh?
mysammi
post Oct 31 2012, 07:00 AM

70 posts

thanks smile.gif
Pressao
post Nov 5 2012, 03:57 PM

34 posts

Stupid company of mine commits #4 ALL the time. It's ridiculous!
ecoolplanet
post Nov 9 2012, 11:26 AM

Waoh!! blink.gif

good article! thanks for sharing, isit from a book?
where can i get it?

sephirothvr
post Nov 12 2012, 10:32 AM

625 posts

this is a really nice article.. doesnt apply to design but apply to other freelance jobs as well.
MeBbi
post Dec 16 2012, 09:20 PM

this is truly epic biggrin.gif
demondomon
post Dec 25 2012, 04:34 AM

115 posts

true story! no 8 is the the most common i think tongue.gif
Rice_Owl84
post Feb 28 2013, 05:06 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(sephirothvr @ Nov 12 2012, 10:32 AM)
this is a really nice article.. doesnt apply to design but apply to other freelance jobs as well.
It actually applies to sales, art of negotiating and chasing for money. It actually applies to every industry and profession.

Its all about sales that makes the money. Learn to be the best damn salesman before being the best professional.

valsyr
post Mar 13 2013, 04:37 PM

I realise this makes me posterchild for naive artist/designer. These are great guidelines. Looking online for help can be a wild goose chase sometimes because they talk around in circles with "it depends" being the centrepiece. Again, great post. Thanks for sharing.

wing08
post Mar 18 2013, 11:56 AM

true!
wing08
post Mar 18 2013, 12:12 PM

ask for deposit first.

This post has been edited by wing08: Mar 18 2013, 12:14 PM
j-liew
post Mar 28 2013, 12:18 AM

17 posts

interesting..
conxtion
post Mar 29 2013, 12:19 AM

245 posts

What me and my friends do is decide the fee, say RM xxx, and then tell the client that RM xxx is the UPFRONT DEPOSIT. That way, we collect our fee first, then if they don't pay the balance, we oso dun care. smile.gif

imarekim
post Apr 25 2013, 02:36 AM

58 posts

As a student, i now able to see what lies in the future
soft112
post May 21 2013, 06:29 PM

thanks good topic
nice information..............
-oWs-LordEnigma
post Jun 24 2013, 05:08 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(conxtion @ Mar 29 2013, 12:19 AM)
What me and my friends do is decide the fee, say RM xxx, and then tell the client that RM xxx is the UPFRONT DEPOSIT.  That way, we collect our fee first, then if they don't pay the balance, we oso dun care. smile.gif
Hahah, that's really smart but probably bordering overpriced. Unless you tell them it's 90% of the fee. Hahaha. Typically people pay 50% no?

13 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 >Top

0.0285sec    0.78    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 10:51 PM