8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

American Express® Cards, Membership Rewards™

winner
post Jul 15 2009, 08:26 AM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(vampbreak @ Jul 15 2009, 08:18 AM)
Quick question. Amex CC 5X point is permanent ?
Yes, I think so. But it is only applicable to groceries, petrol, purchases at participating bookstores and telco payment via autopay. Other retail purchases are entitled to 2x MR.
winner
post Jul 16 2009, 11:08 AM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 16 2009, 09:41 AM)
Er.. I request liow so what if they say cannot?!  What else can I do tell convince them?! *smiles*
Dozz, perhaps you can share with us how you managed to get AF waiver for your Amex Plat cc. Is it OFFICIALLY done? Don't keep it to yourself only. Haha biggrin.gif
winner
post Jul 16 2009, 11:25 AM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 16 2009, 11:14 AM)
@winner,
Eh... if need go ask in PM lah - a bit not v nice to blast it in a public forum right?! tongue.gif

Also, U need waiver also meh?
We shall share good things with everybody right? biggrin.gif

I'm planning to apply for Amex Plat cc because I may make some big purchases soon, so that I can get the watch. If the AF isn't waiveable, I may drop the plan then.

This post has been edited by winner: Jul 16 2009, 11:26 AM
winner
post Jul 16 2009, 11:47 AM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(lauyamonk @ Jul 16 2009, 11:28 AM)
new application CONFIRM no waiver, unless you are mbb private baking customer then 1st year af is waive.
If that's the case, I have to temporarily transfer my $$$ from Alliance to MBB. But I'll lose my priority with Alliance then. sad.gif

Ok, transfer the money back to Alliance after getting the free Amex Plat cc from MBB. tongue.gif

winner
post Jul 16 2009, 10:13 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 16 2009, 09:27 PM)
I'm a cheapskate and am determined NOT to pay the AF this time round.
I think the same way. When I heard the AF isn't waiveable and 1st year isn't FOC, it immediately drove me away. Better get the free for life Gold cc then.
winner
post Jul 17 2009, 09:28 AM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 16 2009, 02:57 PM)
Thanks! Amex has spoken to me and counter-offered a solution for the AF but I rejected it.  It's now back to Management's table all over again *siGh*  Tedious lah the process I tell u tongue.gif
What's the solution? They suggested you to trade in your MR points for AF waiver?
winner
post Jul 17 2009, 09:52 AM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 17 2009, 09:34 AM)
@winner,
The initial offer was to thread in 60,000 MR points to offset the RM800 AF but I refused.  I told them by doing that, indirectly I'm still paying for it so it's back to the round table biggrin.gif
Let's see whether my analysis is correct. hmm.gif

1 MR point = 0.5% cash
60,000 MR = RM300

Therefore, they actually want you to pay RM300 for the AF waiver indirectly. Although it's much lower than RM800, paying such amount with no further promotion/gift (like Longines) doesn't worth it.

p/s: I use 10,000 MR points for redemption of RM50 voucher as a reference

This post has been edited by winner: Jul 17 2009, 09:58 AM
winner
post Jul 17 2009, 10:24 AM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 17 2009, 10:17 AM)
@winner,
Like I said, I declined the offer.  Btw it's not facing the golf course lah, those are onli applicable for the bungalow units and well, they're all sold out !  Also, U shouldn't be revealing such private information on a public forum sad.gif
Okie dokie icon_rolleyes.gif I was pulling your leg actually. Anyway, good luck with your appeal. biggrin.gif

winner
post Jul 18 2009, 11:49 AM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jul 18 2009, 10:45 AM)
I just did some comparison of transactions in USD and summarized below:

Date/Card/USD/RM Billed/Rate/EX Rate/Ratio

19 Dec/Amex/75/267.83/3.571066667/3.470762104/1.028899867
14 Jan/Amex/30/109.33/3.644333333/3.572562581/1.020089432
10 April/Amex/3128.74/11602.77/3.708448129/3.607688457/1.02792915
1 May/UOB/60/218.68 /3.644666667/3.560319931/1.023690774
18 April/UOB/48/177.67/3.701458333/3.627296141/1.020445585
1 June/HSBC/200/710.59/3.55295/3.472223573/1.023249202
9 July/Alliance/43.03/155.48/3.613293051/3.56400013/1.013830786

From above AMEX charge card admin fees for overseas transaction varies between 2%-2.8%
UOB 2%-2.3%, HSBC 2.3% and Alliance 1.38%. Above table does not represent actual charges as the currency may have fluactuated up or down from the day the charges were transacted.

As many said, Alliance do not charge admin fees but I guess Visa/MC admin fees itself is about 1%. If Amex reduce the admin charges to 2% instead of 2.5%, then it is competitive with other CC except Alliance.
Good analysis! thumbup.gif
To have a more accurate comparison, can you use different cards to purchase in USD on the same day? I hope I'm not too demanding. brows.gif

winner
post Jul 20 2009, 09:29 AM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(adrian_huen @ Jul 18 2009, 05:34 PM)
now maybank amex gold card giving free for life....
but is tis easy to get this card?...
The income requirement is quite low @RM36k/annum, similar to other Gold CCs.

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jul 19 2009, 11:32 PM)
When I was studying in US more than 20 years ago my Uni already accepted payment with Visa/MC. My son's school do accept AMEX and MC online but it charges 2.75% extra sad.gif  When convert to RM, I have to pay extra RM3.5K+ and add CC admin fee another RM1.3K+ (that's using Alliance), so total about RM4K for 2 semesters for nothing.
If you have a cc which currently offers something like 5% cash rebate, you may consider to make the payment via cc. The 5% rebate is good enough to compensate the 2.75% additional charges. rclxms.gif
winner
post Jul 20 2009, 09:53 AM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(GHz @ Jul 20 2009, 09:38 AM)
If you talk about JustOne card then, it will not 100% compensate as maximum rebate per year is only RM600.
Ya...you can't expect people to pay tuition fee in full right? If you pay partially @RM12k on Friday (local time in M'sia), you will get RM600 rebate.

winner
post Jul 20 2009, 07:47 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(GHz @ Jul 20 2009, 03:53 PM)
Actually, my point is when that USD deposit into my AMEX, they use exchange rate of Interbank + 2.5%. Means that if we pay AMEX by using USD then it is 2.5% gain. brows.gif .

Any comments?
Amex M'sia may convert your USD into RM based on forex rate in M'sia and thus you will lose a bit for the currency conversion. You may try. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 20 2009, 06:01 PM)
@vin_ann,
The banks don't care what the expiry date is on the card (at least IMHO) so as long as U have had that CC for >1 year it's good enough.
If the cc is expired and isn't renewed (that means it is cancelled or no longer active), I guess banks will not accept it as a reference.

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 20 2009, 06:09 PM)
@David83,
There's a lifespan on every CC; I guess banks know the cards don't last a lifetime hence with the expiry they issue new cards to U.  Some are 1 year, some are 3 years but some much longer.
I never come across any card with 1-year lifespan nowadays. Normally it's 3 years and more. Those PB customer cards don't count. Which card of yours valid for 1 year? biggrin.gif

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Jul 20 2009, 06:10 PM)
tht mean the renewal card can not be use to apply.
It can be used as a reference for new cc application purpose, as your joining date does not change. You can refer to "CUSTOMER SINCE" on your cc.

This post has been edited by winner: Jul 20 2009, 07:57 PM
winner
post Jul 20 2009, 08:25 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 20 2009, 06:01 PM)
@vin_ann,
[B]The banks don't care what the expiry date is on the card [cool.gif(at least IMHO) so as long as U have had that CC for >1 year it's good enough.
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 20 2009, 08:09 PM)
@winner,
Er.. of course expired CCs don't qualify lah *dish*  that's supposed to be common sense.
So now you agree banks DO see the expiry date of the CCs. Hehe biggrin.gif
winner
post Jul 20 2009, 08:39 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 20 2009, 08:30 PM)
@winner,
Just so as long as it's not expired lah! iSh... U wanna fight is it now? [puts on fierce macho voice].. LOL
Aiyo..how could I fight with a girl who's as sweet as a candy. I might have misunderstood what you mentioned huh...biggrin.gif tongue.gif smile.gif laugh.gif
winner
post Jul 22 2009, 09:17 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 22 2009, 05:18 PM)
I just heard from Amex; got my AF waived rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
Congrats. So you need to pay the RM800 2nd year AF 1st, and Amex will reimburse later?
winner
post Jul 28 2009, 01:50 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 28 2009, 11:07 AM)
Here's the picture I promised, except I don't carry the DA Gold + HSBC Gold with me so it's not in the picture.  Also, I haven't received the Amex Gold CC hence it's not in the picture too tongue.gif

Hahahaaa…you quietly own SCB VI. Welcome to the club!
Anyway, you should put HSBC Premier in front of others. biggrin.gif
winner
post Jul 28 2009, 04:46 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 28 2009, 03:36 PM)
@winner,
Eh.. no need to tell the whole world what card we're holding one, unlike some forummers! biggrin.gif  Also, Y wanna put the HSBC Premier in front - cause purple + purple matches?
I wanna see more BLACK next time. biggrin.gif So keep us posted. tongue.gif

winner
post Jul 31 2009, 01:09 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jul 31 2009, 12:10 AM)
This is the first time I am reading someone mentioning HLB AMEX. One thing good about HLB cards is that they provide RM300,000 PA for ground when overseas when you purchase air ticket using HLB card. And the rate for overseas transaction is 2% vs AMEX's AMEX 2.5%

AF for HLB AF, only mentioned AMEX Plat RM800. Click below:

http://www.hlb.com.my/qa/fc/fccc.jsp?flag=fccc
I owned HLB Amex 10 years ago and used it for 2 years. In fact, it was my 1st ever card. During that time, I was still blur about cc and I even let HLB charge me AF for 1st 2 years until I discovered that I could actually request for AF waiver.

Pertaining to travel insurance, all cards also provide the coverage if you purchase air ticket using the particular card. RM300k PA isn't great enough actually.

QUOTE(GHz @ Jul 31 2009, 07:54 AM)
If you are using SCB online banking you can pay all those utilities with no problem. For me I am using JustOne card, I always pay my utilities bill on Friday where I earn 5% rebate. Now all my bills payments are done through SCB internet banking. biggrin.gif
You can preset/schedule the payment date via SCB online on any day you like. So that you don't need to log in on Friday exactly to make payment online.

Now I'm scratching my head about which card to use after miximising the rebate limit.

winner
post Jul 31 2009, 03:07 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(GHz @ Jul 31 2009, 02:34 PM)
Thanks for the tips, but prefer to do manually as I only pay my bills once for every 2-3 months.  biggrin.gif
What I meant is that if you log in to SCB online on non-Friday, say Monday, you can make a standing instruction and sechedule your payment to be made on Friday. The transaction will be done on Friday and you don't need to log in to SCB online on that specific Friday.

winner
post Jul 31 2009, 03:29 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(GHz @ Jul 31 2009, 03:11 PM)
Oh, great. Now I understand what you trying to say. OK I will do that in my next billing cycle. thumbup.gif
Once you have tried it, you will how great it is.

I refer to Amex M'sia website. Now they give a free Longiness watch for spending >RM8000 per month. GREAT!!! thumbup.gif

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0409sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:49 AM