American Express® Cards, Membership Rewards™

Gen-X
post Jun 25 2009, 06:54 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jun 25 2009, 05:22 PM)
He was talking about the AMEX Platinum Credit Card.
Aiyah, I thought Charged Card as he applied for Gold CC. Kind of odd for Amex to allow having both Gold and Plat CC.
Gen-X
post Jun 26 2009, 12:16 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Jun 26 2009, 09:36 AM)
If the AF for Amex Plat is waivable, this will definitely boost its business as most of the existing visa and mastercard Plat cardholders are reluctant to downgrade themselves to own an Amex gold card. A good news!
Seriously speaking, for the moment Amex Gold CC is better for people like me who does not play golf, dine at Shangarila often and spend money at merchants that give 10X rewards. As you all know Gold Amex CC 5X MR for purchases of groceries & petrol and have auto AF beats the Plat card. I would prefer to use Amex Gold CC over any of my Plat CC simply because of the 5X reward points and I don't consider it a downgrade. But if AMEX do waive AF for Plat charge card I would definately ask for upgrade for "shiok sendiri" feeling wink.gif

Gen-X
post Jun 26 2009, 09:21 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jun 26 2009, 08:03 PM)
@cute_boboi,
From the last few posts, I guess I can say we're the few who's more realistic and go for benefits and privileges, not status biggrin.gif

I think people like us have our heads on the right way *smiles*
Not more realistic but practice value for money want get discounts and offers with free card, hahaha.

QUOTE(winner @ Jun 26 2009, 08:54 PM)
Eh...what I meant was, if the AF for Plat is waiveable, why not possess it if you are qualified? I am also reluctant to pay AF for any cards, not even if the AF is reduced to RM80. It's ridiculous to pay the RM800 AF!I'd rather wait till a clearer situation that AF for Plat is comfirmed waiveable, then I'll decide whether I wanna apply for it. Although the newly-launched Amex gold cc looks OK, it doesn't attract me much compared to other CCs offering high cash rebates. However if Amex Plat cc is also free for life, it will be a different story then!

As I mentioned earlier, I would also don't mind getting an AMEX Charged Plat Card (Not so much Plat CC as too many CC) if the AF is waivable. In your case and my case it would be ridiculous to pay RM800 for a Amex Plat CC but if one does play golf or dine frequently at Shangrila then it is very worth it. Also they are giving free Longines Watch if spend more than RM20,000 within 6 months but then again I don't wear a watch nowadays as I have my mobile phones with me all the time.

Last but not least, to really observe a person that have status (that says look I am filthy rich), look at the person clothes (not necessary the brand but the material and more importantly the brand of his/her shoes and not the cards that he/she has.
Gen-X
post Jun 27 2009, 11:00 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jun 27 2009, 01:17 AM)
Which is why one should have at least one Mastercard and one VISA with them all the time. Bringing a few hundred of Ringgit with them is good too.
Just a few weeks ago when shopping at Speedy i was told that the AMEX terminal is offline and they asked for either Mastercard or VISA. I handed them my only Mastercard (i do not have VISA or a second Mastercard) and was told their machine failed to detect the credit card. OH MY DEAR LORD !!! Then i told them to hold the DVD for me and i'll go to the nearest ATM to withdraw some cash first  doh.gif  MALU BETUL. There wasn't a girl with me at the time though  laugh.gif
QUOTE(guanteik @ Jun 27 2009, 07:14 AM)
Not going through the transaction has got nothing to do with you, it's the terminal smile.gif so there is nothing to be embarassed of.
quanteik, I have experienced what MileAndMore mentioned, the point is we rely too much on cards and got no cash in the wallet tongue.gif My wallet is full of CC but sometimes have less than RM50 (I only go to the bank once a week to withdraw cash, no ATM). Once went for lunch with boss and someother people after a site visit, suddenly boss ask me go settle bill and the restaurant don't take CC sweat.gif luckily the other party insisted they pay.
Gen-X
post Jul 1 2009, 04:17 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Dozz @ Jul 1 2009, 03:22 PM)
My Gold CC still under process.... dont know why it took so long this time... (
Dozz, when you last call them? I called them last Thursday and was informed application approval pending my supp IC (I faxed them like 1 week before that and the CS handling my case did not receive it and sat on my application) so asked the guy attedning to me on the phone why can't MBB check with Charged Card Dept. Anyway I just called them and my application has been approved yesterday. The CS told me should be getting the card in 2 to 3 days time.

You guys mentioned that CL wil be shared among other MBB CC. Wonder what will be my CL for AMEX Gold CC, because last month applied for MBB Petronas Gold and for income I just filled >RM50K and they only gave me RM20K CL which is fine as how much petrol I can fill. If my AMEX CC Gold share the same CL with my Petronas Card, then it will be the lowest CL I will have, even my RHB Evo and Citibank ClearCard has higher CL.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jul 1 2009, 04:44 PM
Gen-X
post Jul 1 2009, 05:31 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 1 2009, 05:21 PM)
@Gen-X,
Er.. U put down income >RM50k and you got RM20k CL?! That's quite a lot isn't it?  What are U complaining about?
No lah, I not cpmplaining for MBB Petronas Card lah. What I am saying is that it was mentioned by others here that CL is shared between MBB cards. So if that applies to my case, I am just wondering if my CL for AMEX Gold CC would also be capped at RM20K and shared. RM20K for petrol definately enough for 1 year.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jul 1 2009, 05:32 PM
Gen-X
post Jul 1 2009, 06:52 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Jul 1 2009, 05:53 PM)
If you have other CCs, 20k CL is considered OK. Like what you said earlier, you'll use it mainly for petrol transactions. How to use up 20k per month for petrol????
True, RM20K more than enough if got other CC which means I can't use my AMEX Gold CC once I reach that limit. Who cares about Petronas Card since AMEX also giving 5X reward for petrol tongue.gif

QUOTE(Dozz @ Jul 1 2009, 05:56 PM)
I submited the application form before their launch the card. I just call them again and the CS told me its still under process. According to my past experienced with them, AMEX usually proccess application pretty fast but for this gold cc, it took nearly 2 weeks already. I will call them up again tmr and see whats going on there.
You are right, 2 weeks is long considering they can check your personal info from their system. When I called last Thursday, my application was pending my wife's IC, Monday I called the CS in charged of my case (pretty fresh and inexperience guy) told me his manager handling my case, today it has been approved. When you call, ask them what does their system show i.e. approval pending what?
Gen-X
post Jul 1 2009, 07:28 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Jul 1 2009, 07:15 PM)
So, what makes you still keep the MBB Petronas cc? smile.gif

But then, I recall that some forummers did mention Petronas stations do not recognise Amex credit or charge card.
Actually I seldom pump at petronas except if I have no alternative on the highways. If you read in CC Thread, got the Petronas Card because went there early last month to get Transformer T-Shirt and cap for my son and this agent pleaded that I sign a card with her as it was near 7pm and got no business yet and got two children to feed. So me being easliy conned fill up the form. She asked me to get Plat which I said no just Gold Card will do. Have not used the Petronas Card even once. And at that time Amex Gold CC not launch yet.

Yah, you are right once again, never taught that Amex not accepted at Petronas "Pump Unit" (or whatever it is called) doh.gif but if not mistaken I read somewhere it can be accepted at the counter? Anyway no probs if they don't accept Amex, got DA plus Mesra Card smile.gif

Added on July 1, 2009, 8:47 pmMy wife just told me today she got RM30 voucher for spending more than RM500 with AMEX at MetroJaya Members Day today which is on top of RM10 for every RM100.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jul 1 2009, 08:47 PM
Gen-X
post Jul 2 2009, 04:02 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Jul 2 2009, 07:26 AM)
So you applied for MBB Petronas cc was mainly because of the freebies. biggrin.gif But you may need to keep the cc for a few more months if you really wanna help the agent to get her commission.
winner: got freebies for MBB Petronas ar? I didn't get any, guess I got conned again? doh.gif

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Jul 1 2009, 05:36 PM)
Gen-X,
Confirmed is shared CL.
QUOTE(vampbreak @ Jul 2 2009, 10:23 AM)
Amex CC CL is 20k. And it share limit with other MBB cc card.
I am hoping it is not shared, guess will know for sure next week.

QUOTE(Dozz @ Jul 2 2009, 11:05 AM)
Call AMEX already, she said my Gold CC is actually approved few days ago but havent issue card number, that why still showing " Pending " on their system. Hopefully can have the number issue today.
Did you tell them you want your "feng shui" number, JK.

QUOTE(guanteik @ Jul 2 2009, 03:23 PM)
I am wondering why didn't MBB upgrade these features to their existing MBB AMEX cards (for TP). They rather come out with a new type of card which gives MR. Some users have been using their AMEX for years might not consider to 'port' their cards to this new AMEX due to several reasons.

But frankly this new card features is really tempting...
Yah, for me personally, I think the MR is pretty good. I have been getting 3X MR for the past 2 years with my AMEX charged card and I find that it is better value compared to other CC rewards points.

Now can redeem cash, 200 MR = RM1. With this rebate redemption, for normal 3X turbo MR it will work out to be 1.5% rebate, with 5X MR it would work out to be 2.5% and current promotion 8X MR equals 4%. Best part for AMEX, it is not capped like RM50 a month as we use MR to redeem for rebate. (just for comparison sake, HSBC also have cash rebate redemption from points but need 11,000 points for RM50 which works out to be 0.45%).

And if you have Esso/Mobil Smiles card, you will get another 1.5% rebate, so for using Amex + Smiles, current promotion of 8X MR we are actually getting 5.5% rebate any day of the month rclxm9.gif Too bad 8X promo ending 15 July this year but with Amex Gold CC 5X MR, we can get equivalent to 4% rebate if pump at Esso/Mobil.

QUOTE(vianc @ Jul 2 2009, 12:48 PM)
Wow! This card looks great! I think I need to apply it soon.
If you are like us presently getting 8X for petrol and groceries with your AMEX, yah, better get the Amex Gold CC soon so can get 5X MR for petrol & groceries comes Mid July.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jul 2 2009, 04:17 PM
Gen-X
post Jul 2 2009, 08:10 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Jul 2 2009, 05:05 PM)
I never know that we can choose the number for cc. Gosh...all my current CCs, namely Citi, Alliance and SCB end with number "4".
Bro, I was JK (just kidding) lah.

Anyway talking about numbers, I love my AMEX Charge Card Member Since: 88

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 2 2009, 05:30 PM)
@Gen-X,
Er.. the Turbo point program is onli applicable for Charge Cards right?!  Alas, not applicable with my Amex CC *siGh*

Damn.. the way U all put it.. make me think I should go ahead and apply for the Amex Gold CC and use it only when I purchase petrol and groceries cause of the 5X points biggrin.gif  Makes sense though.

Ok.  I put my application in tomorrow! biggrin.gif
Charge card does have its benefits whistling.gif Many people don't realize it, the benefits are better than CC and it is accepted by most merchants at the malls (except maybe Sg. Wang). Even AMEX 15% discount at Amarin is better than HSBC 10%.

Actually, before DA had 2% rebate thingy for petrol, all my petrol transactions was with my AMEX charged card which gives MR (with Turbo somemore) whereas using CC you get nothing i.e. no reward points. After DA offered 2% rebate I use it for all petrol transactions but when AMEX offered 8X MR, I switched back to AMEX for petrol purchases.

Now you know lah why we all fast fast go get AMEX Gold Card. and tinkerbel, you sure you want to "downgrade" tongue.gif

IMHO, AMEX GOLD CC is a very good product because it gives 5X MR for BOTH petrol and groceries. Some CC only give benefit for petrol and same rebates at 2 or 3 hypermarkets but not both. With AMEX Gold CC, we don't have to remember what card (or even what day) to charge at which hypermarket or petrol station. In addition also get 5X MR at Borders, Kinokuniya, Times & MPH (but at MPH DA/CIMB better RM5 voucher for every RM90) and Autopay with Celcom, Telekom, DiGi and Maxis.

QUOTE(ellimist @ Jul 2 2009, 07:18 PM)
Just curious, if I already have a charge card and I'm earning MR with that, if I start using an amex gold cc for pumping petrol/groceries, would my MR points earned (if this card uses MR) be shared with my existing charge card?
It would be separate that's for sure. Amex CC and Charged Card are different department also. I find the CS for charged card curteous and experienced. I was very dissapointed with the CS handling my AMEX Gold CC application where I felt he was very inexperience when handling my questions.
Gen-X
post Jul 2 2009, 08:35 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 2 2009, 08:19 PM)
Earlier, I was considering the Amex Gold Charge card but now I think the Amex Gold Credit card is a better bet biggrin.gif
Get both AMEX Gold charged card and CC wink.gif

QUOTE(ellimist @ Jul 2 2009, 08:23 PM)
Ah ok. Well while the points are attractive, it's just hard to consolidate points if you have to many cards. You end up earning a lot of points, but all in seperate lines and you can't claim the big stuff. Imo at least.

Hmm but still it's free for life, might consider applying for it and see whether I wanna use it. If I already have a charge card, do I have to resubmit stuff like IC photocopy,payslips and what not?

And yea, I've called the amex CS several times, and I was rather impressed with them. They really sounded like they know their stuff laugh.gif
Bro, go get AMEX Gold CC even if you have the charged card simply because of the 5X MR which is even better than Turbo. There is no expiry date for MR (so far).

Yes, you still have to submit your IC and just another photcopy of your existing CC. This is because the charged card and CC not same dept. You can also just fax to them the application form.
Gen-X
post Jul 2 2009, 08:52 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 2 2009, 08:38 PM)
@Gen-X,
Er.. no reason to be holding onto so many plastics! tongue.gif  Men might run away from me!  I don't want to end up a spinster tongue.gif
Don't show them lah especially your Plat, hahaha. Seriously, why run away, it shows you are a capable woman and he has one less C to worry about or in your case none at all tongue.gif (5C = Cash, Credit card, Country Club, Condo and Car).

QUOTE(winner @ Jul 2 2009, 08:40 PM)
I'm not superstitious about numbers. Just don't really like to see "4" as ending.
If your happen to have AMEX charged card with the 4 ending, call CS and say your card spoil or damaged, they will sent you new card with new number. No kidding. As for CC, I know UOB will give you new number if card damaged. For other cards report stolen, 100% you get new number.
Gen-X
post Jul 3 2009, 12:41 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

I did have a Amex Gold CC back in the 1990 and it was called Optima where the background design kind of similar to present AMEX Gold CC. Below is photo of my Optima Card with my very 1st Amex charged card which is more than 20 years old; and today's design is still almost identical for the charged card. Amex issued me the Gold Card during my final year as an undergraduate in USA even before I was 21 years old and when I came back the account was transferred here smile.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jul 3 2009, 12:43 AM

Gen-X
post Jul 3 2009, 05:58 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Jul 3 2009, 03:01 PM)
Finally picked up my Amex's Amex Gold CC from PosLaju. They tried deliver on 1st Jul (Wed) and left a note. I only get back home yesterday night.  sweat.gif  Claimed this morning. Quite nice design.

Very clearly stated next to the card (where it sticks onto) Combined Credit Limit
good to hear that you have received the Gold CC.

The Combined Credit Limit can also mean together for supp card (even if you don't have one as it may be a standard paper where card are stuck to) and not necessary with other MBB cards (?)

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Jul 3 2009, 03:47 PM)
Again, I'm not working for MBB.  sweat.gif  How I wish they can pay me Part-Time  rolleyes.gif
Good job in replying hueyseng84 questions. You definately can qualify as an agent where you can work part time on weekend at the malls tongue.gif

Gen-X
post Jul 3 2009, 11:49 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

cute_boboi: Amex Gold CC overseas transactions, is the admin fee also 2.5% same as Charged Card?

All: AMEX Gold CC also advertise 0% finance charge until year end. What are the T&C?
Gen-X
post Jul 5 2009, 08:42 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(g00glesYYl @ Jul 5 2009, 08:01 AM)
I just got my maybank Amex Gold. But i could not use it at petronas.

Anything i need to activate or signup for the card before i can use it freely?
As mentioned by others, Petronas don't accept AMEX and some say they do but inside at the counter.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jul 5 2009, 08:43 AM
Gen-X
post Jul 6 2009, 08:14 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

Just got my Amex Gold CC today. Called them and they informed that card is good to go and not needing any activation.

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Jul 4 2009, 10:26 AM)
Yes, the small T&C booklet says overseas is 2.5% for the new Amex's Amex Gold Credit Card

Point 6.2 states combined CL with other MBB CC.

0% finance charge - I don't really understand also, but did not go in-depth, as I don't utilise it.
Too bad they charge is 2.5% for overseas transactions.

And as you have confirmed many times, my CL maintained the same as my MBB Petronas.

As for 0%, the CS told me all transactions will be interest free until end of year i.e. pay minimum and the rest outstanding not subjected to interest charges.

Gen-X
post Jul 6 2009, 09:16 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 6 2009, 08:27 PM)
@Gen-X,
Not even a chance of an increased in combined CL?! *ggRrrr* then again, I don't need that much $.. Looks like I'm gonna be jumping on the bandwagon soon enough.  This 0% interest till year end seems like a good bait but nah, it's not gonna make a diff for me biggrin.gif
Well, I did ask about CL increase, initially the CS said got to wait a few months then apply, so I asked can't they based it on my charged card transactions and after checking my charged card account the CS said he'll put in a request with their credit department. As fot the 0% thingy, it couldn't come in a better time for me as I will have some major expenses for coming 2 months but then again with my present CL the difference in not much in terms of the returns I'll be getting by not having to withdraw my funds. Well, guess I just have to wait and see.
Gen-X
post Jul 7 2009, 06:28 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

Dozz: notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

QUOTE(winner @ Jul 7 2009, 03:19 PM)
This not only pleases those who always pay minimum, but also benefits people who make payment promptly like us. I got a 3-month interest free when I got my Alliance cc early this year. I reserved the fund in the FD and earned some interest for that tenure. You may think the interest is peanut but if you make big purchase, a few hundred RM of interest is better than nothing. tongue.gif
I agree with you fully but with my CL I will be getting less than a couple hundred RM interest from FD, if they give me more CL than I can earn more interest from FD or elsewhere smile.gif

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 7 2009, 05:11 PM)
Vegas.. Yes.. I think I'll die with all those performances there.. been waiting to catch Cirque Du Soleil's O & Zumanity!! muAhahAHahHAHA biggrin.gif
tinkerbel, Actually I'll be going to US next month for 2 weeks with my wife and son, bad timing in view of H1N1 but can't delay my son's entry to U there. Too bad AMEX charges 2.5% for overseas transactions; however good thing is I have Alliance Plat. I'll be in Vegas for 2 nights after I drop off my son, any idea where the shows you mentioned are being held and maybe will catch the show as it is highly rated by you and tgeoklin. The last time I was in Vegas was like more than 20 years ago!

And yes, you should continue to encourage him so all can see his response.

Gen-X
post Jul 7 2009, 10:53 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(tgeoklin @ Jul 7 2009, 06:39 PM)
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 7 2009, 07:42 PM)
@Gen-X,
I'll check for Cirque's shows in Vegas and give you the details when I get it `k?   Ok.. I know for a fact U and I are not in the same generation since you've got a son who's entering Uni !! muAHahAHha.. damn.. he's a lil wee bit too young for me; any elder sons?  brows.gif

@Gen-X,
Check out http://www.cirquedusoleil.com/lasvegas/en/home/index.asp for the Las Vegas shows - also check out the promo page; it seems there's a good promotion now - not sure about the Amex promo cause didn't check that out [too many links to navigate through!].  U don't need to go for all, just one will do - and U can also check the previews out from their website.  I'll personally go for Zumanity (that's 18SX) hence it'll never make its way to Asia biggrin.gif
thanks to both of you for the link, me more interested in zumanity drool.gif

and tinkerbel, by the way, what's the meaning of me not in the same generation as you cry.gif I got married very early even before I graduated at 21 and my son got accepted into U a week after he turned 17. Don't lah say I old dy, not yet even reach my prime hahaha

Guess it is normal for many for us to have many cards, I myself got 1 charged card and 10 CC and I don't pay AF for any of them smile.gif But no matter how many cards I have still can't buy a helicopter or airplane unlike vampbreak where he can with a single swipe notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jul 7 2009, 10:55 PM

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0477sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:58 PM