Gen-X
post Jul 29 2009, 09:15 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Jul 29 2009, 06:38 PM)
Seem like AMEX Gold Credit Card is good that they have 0% finance charges until Dec 2009 and subsequently is 9% p.a... thinking to apply lo....

But can we apply through Maybank2u.com? I am lazy to submit form again
Download form below if too lazy go to branch to get one
:
http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbb_info/m2u/p...sonal/CRD-Cards

Just call up Maybank at 603-22958877 which is their sales department and they would be more than happy to assist you.
Gen-X
post Jul 31 2009, 12:10 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(nova80 @ Jul 30 2009, 11:55 PM)
Hi all, anyone know what's the annual fee for Hong Leong Bank's AMEX credit card? I dun seems to find them in their website...
This is the first time I am reading someone mentioning HLB AMEX. One thing good about HLB cards is that they provide RM300,000 PA for ground when overseas when you purchase air ticket using HLB card. And the rate for overseas transaction is 2% vs AMEX's AMEX 2.5%

AF for HLB AF, only mentioned AMEX Plat RM800. Click below:

http://www.hlb.com.my/qa/fc/fccc.jsp?flag=fccc
Gen-X
post Jul 31 2009, 11:25 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Jul 31 2009, 01:09 PM)
I owned HLB Amex 10 years ago and used it for 2 years. In fact, it was my 1st ever card. During that time, I was still blur about cc and I even let HLB charge me AF for 1st 2 years until I discovered that I could actually request for AF waiver.

Pertaining to travel insurance, all cards also provide the coverage if you purchase air ticket using the particular card. RM300k PA isn't great enough actually.
You can preset/schedule the payment date via SCB online on any day you like. So that you don't need to log in on Friday  exactly to make payment online.

Now I'm scratching my head about which card to use after miximising the rebate limit.
winner, most card offer Travel Insurance for air flight and inconvenience such as loss baggage or delay flight but I don't' think other CC offer Personal Accident of RM300K for ground. HLB Plat Air Travel Accident amount is RM1.7M whereas my CIMB VI and MC World Air Travel Insurance only RM1M. Even AMEX Plat Air Travel Insurance amount is RM1M only and no ground PA.

As for the Logines watch offer, got sms from them at about 3.16pm. I also like you guys lah, so far this month have charged more than RM14K+ and today before 3pm itself RM3K+ doh.gif
Gen-X
post Aug 1 2009, 12:38 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 31 2009, 11:30 PM)
@Gen-X,
Er.. SCB VI Travel Accident amount is 3M isn't it?! I thought I read that somewhere - admittedly, I haven't had the chance to go through the pack of stuff that came with CC.
you are right, SCB VI cover up to RM3M. Just read their insurance benefits and must say the amount is pretty high. From their website link, below is stated for the RM3M insurance

"You and your family are automatically covered up to the limits specified as a result of an accident
which occurs whilst riding solely as a passenger in or boarding or alighting an aircraft including
the direct trip to and from the airport"

Therefore, SCB VI does cover for ground trip only to airport and from airport.

For HLB, it states below:

OVERSEAS PERSONAL ACCIDENT (On the land only)

The insurance is payable in the event of Bodily Injury solely and directly caused by accidental means being sustained by the Hong Leong Bank card type Platinum of card brand American Express/ MasterCard/ Visa Cardmember while he/she travels Overseas, subject to a maximum coverage of thirty (30) consecutive days any one trip.

HLB provide PA up to 30 days while overseas.

Gen-X
post Aug 1 2009, 08:28 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Aug 1 2009, 08:03 AM)
I check my Citi brochure. It states that it covers up to RM2mil, including overseas 24-hour PA for a max 30 days and overseas medical expenses up to 60 years.
My Citi clear card don't even offer anything for travel insurance. Just checked Citi Plat, their insured amount similar to HLB Plat where Carrier Travel Accident RM1.7M and Ground PA RM300K for 30 days. For medical yah it states RM50K up to 60 days.

Anyone here registered for the Logines watch? I sms at about 12.30am but no confirmation received via sms yet.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Aug 1 2009, 08:31 AM
Gen-X
post Aug 7 2009, 10:26 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Dozz @ Aug 7 2009, 05:02 PM)
Non, but still haven't reflected in my account. I call them up to check, the agent say will call me back on monday for this matter. you better keep an eye on your account too.
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Aug 7 2009, 08:02 PM)
Now that's not v good news is it?! It shouldn't take longer than 2 months.  I wouldn't be surprised if it's not reflected in my next current bill but I certainly would expect the $ to be returned to me at the v latest in the following months' one.
Still not shown in the system? It would be nice to see a credit of RM800 in your coming statement.

QUOTE(aeronlim @ Aug 7 2009, 08:37 AM)
Did anyone of u receive the 8x point for your AMEX credit/ charge card in the promotion previously?
They promise after 2-3 weeks will put the remaining 6x point to our account
Just got my latest statement, the 6X points not awarded yet. If not mistaken, last time CS told me September.

QUOTE(macpro2 @ Aug 7 2009, 08:13 PM)
AMEX card sucks why..cant be accepted in Mydin Subang Supermarket!!

MMB say they are already merchant but Mydin say system not ready.. DISAPPOINTED !!

SUCKS! but point system good
I don't shop at Mydin so no probs tongue.gif

IMHO AMEX has the best customer service. Even AMEX Gold for both Credit and Charged cards have TOL free number that is truly 24 hours and the most helpful CS where they attend and follow up on your matter personally. The worst CS is Alliance Bank where there is only action after emailing them your complain.

And yes, AMEX points system is indeed better than most cards.

Guys, don't forget to sign up for free Logines Watch (1st 100 customer/month to charge RM8K) or free bag (1st 1500 customers to charge RM8K). I tried to register via sms 3 times with my phone on 1st August no reply but use my wife phone immediately got sms confirmation. I asked CS when I will know if I will get the Logines Watch as I charged more than RM8K on 1st August and was told had to wait till promotion period ends after December sad.gif Hate this kind of promotion, last time HSBC got this kind of offer where need to charge RM5K, didn't get the samsonite bag vmad.gif

tinkerbel, here are my latest cards.

Gen-X
post Aug 8 2009, 09:15 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Aug 8 2009, 07:15 AM)
Btw, I saw your both DA VI and World MC, alongside DA Plat MC or VISA. Does your DA Plat still function?
tgeoklin did mentioned in CC thread about DA Plat and VI/World. Anyway I did called DA 2 days ago about cancelling my Plat and they confimed that my DA Plat MC is still valid and the credit limit is combined. My DA Plat CL along with my PB used to be the lowest among my Plat CC and now increase more than 3X into Tier 2 category since having the World/VI.

Gen-X
post Aug 21 2009, 06:21 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

Many of you guys mentioned that it takes a long time for MBB to process your applications.

Few months back when I signed the application form for Petronas Gold at a Petronas Station thru an agent, it took about 2 weeks for me to get the card by Post Laju.

When I applied for the AMEX Gold CC when it was first launched thru fax, it was approved within 2 weeks also, maybe because I got the Petronas CC or Amex Charged Card. Amex Gold CC CS is 24/7 and has toll free line. When requested increase for CL for AMEX Gold CC, MBB attended to it immediately based on my AMEX charged card transactions.

And just for info, I was not charged RM5 for the AMEX CC statement which I received.

Then during Treats Fair, I requested for upgrade to Petronas Plat since it is sharing the same CL with my AMEX Gold CC which is more than my PBB Plat. Got the Plat Petronas CC card two weeks later. Now got both Gold and Plat Petronas and both can be used! I like the new Petronas Plat as it has toll free line for Plat holders and my called was picked up immediately by a live person when I called at about 11.30am.

So conclusion, I am happy with MBB service.

tinkerbel: I did go and see Zumanity. Well, the acrobatic acts was ok. Seen better shows at Genting. Saw 2 gay guys kissing after their act which was a first for me. Get to see topless girls dancing tho which can't see at Genting. The only thing that I enjoyed was the comedy acts especially where the actors made fun of the audience.

Saw another show Matsuri by Japanese acrobats, this show was cheaper and I got a coupon for buy 1 free 1 ticket. I thought the Matsuri acrobatic acts were more energetic. But Vegas was damn hot.

Well I did use my AMEX at Universal Studios where you get USD5 off for purchase of USD35 and above. I was about to pay when I saw the sign and requested the cashier to split my purchase in half (use my CC and Charged Card), she was not to happy else would have asked her to split it into 4 (my wife also have both AMEX cards) as my total purchase at the particular store was USD189. Also got 10% discount for photos with AMEX which kind of just balance of the taxes.

And tinkerbel, just remember, the offer for the Longines watch is for first 100 to charge RM8K every month. So charged it on 1st September or 1st October to increase you chances of getting the watch. Click below for more info. You need to register via sms.

http://www.amexmalaysia.com.my/amx_info/am...-OffersServices

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Aug 21 2009, 06:24 PM
Gen-X
post Aug 22 2009, 02:12 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Aug 22 2009, 12:36 PM)
@Gen-X,
Hmm.. so Zumanity wasn't that great huh? oK. I'll go for O in future then *grins* but am glad U enjoyed urself in the USA.  Should've tagged along with U cause muAhahAH I caught the H1N1 here in KL!!!
What..... you caught A(H1N1), you must have caught it during PC fair? In US it was like nothing, but the moment I landed in KL I could see many people wearing masks. When I went to the banks yesterday, more than half the counter staffs wearing mask. I guess the people here is not aware not A(H1N1) is not airborne, proper hygiene is more effective prevention i.e. constantly washing hand and not touching stuffs and shaking hands.

Better have good rest and wish you a quick recovery.
Gen-X
post Aug 24 2009, 10:23 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Aug 24 2009, 09:59 PM)
im still not yet get my Amex... although it being approved about 3 weeks ago.
Approved 3 weeks ago and still not yet received your card, better call them and asked if the card was sent out. Maybe it was delivered via post laju and there was no one to received it.
Gen-X
post Sep 1 2009, 11:13 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Sep 1 2009, 10:16 AM)
If someone has owned a AMEX charge card, they won't accept for Amex credit card?

Damn, my AMEX credit card application was rejected.
I have both charged card and credit card by AMEX. Even if you have AMEX Plat CC, you still can get Gold CC like Dozz.

Did you find out why your application was rejected?

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Sep 1 2009, 11:14 AM
Gen-X
post Sep 8 2009, 05:26 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(vampbreak @ Sep 8 2009, 04:52 PM)
Situation 2 - Buying Car

I went to car dealer and decide to pay the down payment ( MYR 17,500 ) with my AMEX Charge Card, the merchant want to charge 3%. I argue and I call AMEX again, then put on loud speaker so the entire people in the office can hear  brows.gif  I'm glad CS from AMEX are VERY STRONG in made the statement. "THERE IS NO FEE CHARGE ON GOODS OR SERVICE WHEN USING THE CREDIT/CHARGE CARD. MERCHANT ARE NOT SUPPOSE TO CHARGE CUSTOMER AS THE SERVICE CHARGE FOR USING CREDIT/CHARGE ARE BETWEEN THE BANK OF ISSUER AND MECHANT. There is still small argument going but after that they accept the payment using my charge card with no bullshit fee. thumbup.gif
So people, fight for our right !!  nod.gif
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

can I ask what car dealer?

anyway, for electrical stuffs, I nowadays purchase them at Harvey Norman. Use AMEX no surcharge and no need to argue. Not only that, Harvey Norman do give discounts if you do single swipe i.e. no installment plans, just ask and tell them you serious in buying it if they give offer. Bought my son a HP notebook last month using AMEX where Harvey Norman at Ikano gave me RM100 discount whereas shops at Low Yat won't give any discount and have surchage for using CC. Last week at Harvey Norman, I asked for discount and got 5% for a samsung washing machine (JJ also giving 5% discount/offer in view of Raya) and best of all RM400 off (from 2499 to 2099) for a elextrolux dryer (with petronas voucher RM120), both latest model.

For TV and other stuff, if can wait for JJ members' day the best, get extra discount and addition RM10 voucher for every RM100.

QUOTE(zzzxtreme @ Sep 8 2009, 04:59 PM)
vampbreak, i go to the IT shop at lowyat ground floor selling notebooks, priced competitively, they don't charge any extra fee. some big stores don't charge fee also, like AllITHypermart.
are you sure All IT don't charge a surchage? I think they do.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Sep 8 2009, 05:27 PM
Gen-X
post Sep 13 2009, 11:33 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

Below is the amount charge by AMEX while I was at Universal Stuidios (AMEX gets discount for transactions) on 12 Aug 2009. All 3 charges have different fees using my Gold Charged anc Credit Cards rclxub.gif

Card USD RM RATE FOREX Ratio
AMEX 29.58 105.51 3.56693712 3.51186 1.015683176
AMEX 49.11 176.83 3.600692323 3.51186 1.02529495
AMEX CC 83.19 298.56 3.588892896 3.51186 1.02193507

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Sep 13 2009, 11:38 PM
Gen-X
post Sep 14 2009, 11:00 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(zenquix @ Sep 14 2009, 02:25 AM)
maybe different posting dates? unless even time of the day matters...
no lah, all three transactions in the same place within 1 hour apart but as you can see the effective fees charged by AMEX is not constant.

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Sep 14 2009, 10:38 AM)
Keeping in mind there are always variables....

According to Bank Negara, the indicative exchange rate for 12-Aug-09 is 3.5245. Seems like all 3 transaction of yours is on the high side, with about 400 to 800 base point higher. For bank draft, we can get about 200 base point higher. With Mastercard, not uncommon to see about only 100 points higher or even -ve points (must be due to intra-day fluctuation).
I don't think Amex based on official FOREX rate of BN. I got the Forex rate from a website where I found the rate mentioned is exactly what the same when I use my UOB Debit card to withdraw cash (however I was charged RM12 per withdrawal). Explain later tonite and will post the link as now in office and can't remember the address.
Gen-X
post Sep 14 2009, 06:59 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

Mentioned earlier below transactions is on same day same place within minutes and therefore FOREX rate for that day is same i.e. constant, the same FOREX rate applies to all and therefore not important if the rate is based on BN rate or whatever. Just note the last column and you will note that the fees charged by AMEX is not constant at 2.5%

Card, USD, RM, RATE, FOREX, Ratio
AMEX, 29.58, 105.51, 3.56693712, 3.51186, 1.015683176 = 1.57%
AMEX, 49.11, 176.83, 3.600692323, 3.51186, 1.02529495 = 2.53%
AMEX CC, 83.19, 298.56, 3.588892896, 3.51186, 1.02193507 = 2.19%

Anyway here's the link where I got the exchange rate:

http://www.oanda.com/convert/classic

For my UOB debit card where I withdrew cash from ATM machines, below are the rate, note the last column again, the Ratio is almost 1:1 which means no fees were charged.

Date, Debit Card, USD, RM, Rate, Forex, Ratio
15 Aug 09, UOB Debit, 200, 702.1, 3.5105, 3.52167, 0.996828209
16 Aug 09, UOB Debit, 200, 701.9, 3.5095, 3.52078, 0.996796164

However, since UOB charged me RM12 per withdrawal which are not reflected in above rate, and based on the amount withdrew in RM, the fees for both transactions were 1.71%. If I had withdrew USD250 then the percentage would reduce to 1.37%

Here is my MBB Petronas transactions, based on posting dates. The percentage of fees charged for below example is subject to FOREX rate used by Visa or MBB or whatever and therefore may not be accurate. Haven't got my Alliance and DA statements so can't do comparison as I did charge using Alliance on both days below just to see comparison (as I promised winner to use different cards while in US, didn't bother to use my HSBC nor Citibank as previously confirmed they higher than Alliance).

Posting, Card, USD, RM, rate, FOREX, Ratio
13 Aug 09, MBB Pet, 64.15, 227.66, 3.548869836, 3.53216, 1.00473077 = 0.5%
20 Aug 09, MBB Pet, 37.84, 135.82, 3.589323467, 3.5491, 1.011333427 = 1.13%

Just for comparison for Alliance based on same Forex rate link posted above. Boy was I surprised to note that MBB rate is even cheaper than Alliance. Can't wait to get my Alliance and DA statements to see transactions for same days.

Posting, Card, USD, RM, rate, FOREX, Ratio
12 July 09, Alliance, 43.03, 155.48, 3.6132931, 3.57951, 1.00943 = 0.94%
1 Aug 09, Alliance, 139.10, 498.92, 3.5867721, 3.5275, 1.0168029 = 1.68% shakehead.gif
Gen-X
post Sep 16 2009, 11:48 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(bingozero @ Sep 16 2009, 09:01 AM)
I want to pay my AMEX gold cc statement bill, while I going to ATM machine, found that it should enter the 16 digit of cc number, but AMEX show 15 digit number, what should I enter in the last blank? Just ignore it?
cash or cheque? I did pay by cheque at MBB machine.

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Sep 16 2009, 11:02 AM)
You can't pay for your AMEX Gold CC (the one without Maybank logo) via any Maybank CDM.
Well, I paid my AMEX Gold CC at Maybank branch last month using the Cheque Deposit Machine. Type my card number and my name came out at machine. However I can't seem to do that for my AMEX charged card where I usually just deposit into the drop box.

QUOTE(WoodStock @ Sep 15 2009, 03:53 PM)
hi all..
i am using Amex gold credit card now.. i have some other Maybank credit cards also. total combined credit limit is 8k

well, i am going to buy a few laptops, for me and friends with it, on 1st October.. hopefully can win that the Longines Watch or Delsey Expandable Cabin Case..

but my credit limit is just 8k.. the laptops i am going to buy cost 9k++

is it possible to call Amex to increase my credit limit to 10k??
if you read my previous posts, AMEX or MBB did entertain my increase in CL twice. Initially for AMEX Gold CC, the CL was combined with my MBB Petronas Gold Card at RM20K. So after getting the card I called the CS and initally was told need to hold the card a few months and then request. So I said go check on my charged card expenses in their system and immediately after checking the CS said he will put in request. Then after few days CS called me and inform CL increased and ask me enough or not and I said no the next day called me and said CL increase to amount I requested.

In your case, I guess if you do have good record with MBB card, no reason why they won't increase your CL.

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Sep 15 2009, 09:35 PM)
Just called AMEX to convert our MR to cash rebate. Call was answered in less than 1 minute. Very efficient !  rclxms.gif
YES, AMEX have the best and most curteous CS and truly 24/7 and it offers TOL free for Gold Cards smile.gif

With AMEX Gold CC 5X rewards points I do see my points accumulate very fast. Get extra points at Esso and JJ and same time get their points smile.gif

Now when I log on to AMEX for my charged card, it goes to US site (?).

Anyway, just to update you guys, I notice my 8X rewards points not credited into my account yet, so called CS and he informed me the 8X points will be credited on 25th Sep. Some of you have posted that you have got the 8X (actually 5-6X after subtracting 2X or Turbo 3X).

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Sep 16 2009, 11:53 AM
Gen-X
post Sep 20 2009, 05:11 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

I have no problems using AMEX at Esso/Mobil unless they are offline.
Gen-X
post Oct 9 2009, 07:19 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

2 days ago ordered Pizzahut delivery and was surprised to note that they accept AMEX at my home thumbup.gif

Last week got a call from AMEX/MBB sales offering me Plat Charged Card, well me not interested and kept mentioning I not paying the annual fees since I won't be utilizing the benefits that comes with the card; the agent gave up on me and instead asked me to get the Plat CC then I started saying what is the point of getting the Plat when my AMEX Gold CC get 5X rewards for Petrol and Groceries. The thing is I have too many cards already and half of my CC are in the drawer. No point getting the AMEX plat as seldom shop at the 10X rewards outlets.

But I want to clarify something with you guys, especially Dozz and tinkerbell, the agent said that each card i.e. Plat Charged, Plat CC, Gold CC, Gold Charged are entitled separetely for the logines watch. Wonder if that is true.

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Oct 9 2009, 07:05 AM)
I got mine in exactly 14 days. From sending the application by email and receiving it by courier to my house.
I am surprised you applied for AMEX after what you initially posted in CC thread, guess AMEX must thank we people here for influencing you in getting an AMEX card again tongue.gif

QUOTE(ks98 @ Oct 9 2009, 09:06 AM)
I choose to ignore the return slip as this wasted my time and money... I used it straight away in Jusco and no problem...

Until recently, i have issue to use my Amex CC in Jusco Queensbay PG where the transaction can't go thru.
I also never return any slip for any cards except if I collect it myself at the bank where the bank officer will ask me to acknowledge receipt. I seldom have problems using my AMEX. Anyway AMEX Gold CC call to CS is TOL Free.

Gen-X
post Oct 9 2009, 09:50 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Oct 9 2009, 09:19 PM)
Are you sure? The T&Cs state that 1 person is entitled to 1 watch only.
Aiyoh, I not sure lah and I doubt the agent, that is why I stated need clarification, and maybe Dozz and tinkerbell can clarify especially Dozz who has 3 to 4 AMEX cards.

Anyway latest AMEX promo. See links below. Also got offer at borders. (DA last weekend had 20% - 30% off at MPH)

http://www.americanexpress.com.my/WebBank/Shopping.pdf

http://www.americanexpress.com.my/amx_info...-OffersServices

5 Pages « < 3 4 5Top

0.0203sec    0.19    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 02:59 AM