13 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

American Express® Cards, Membership Rewards™

TSDozz
post Jan 22 2008, 08:43 PM

2,149 posts

QUOTE(Shadowguardian @ Jan 18 2008, 02:01 AM)
=) and how is Mr. Ho doing in Maybank Amex?

Added on January 18, 2008, 2:11 am
rumours saying  tat maybank is trying to work out to bring the ultimate amex card- centurion card to malaysia. if maybank can bring in centurion card to malaysia, the annual fee would roughly be RM8K-10K. in SG its already $SGD5K.  icon_idea.gif
hopefully we can get to see black card in malaysia soon smile.gif
TSDozz
post Jan 28 2008, 10:18 AM

2,149 posts

Better get AMEX Charge Card if you can afford to payment off every month... so that can enjoy full range of benefits from AMEX.. of cos annual fee waive also smile.gif
TSDozz
post Jan 28 2008, 09:09 PM

2,149 posts

QUOTE(lthock @ Jan 28 2008, 05:17 PM)
wat the differ credit card with chargecard?
how to change my maybank amex c.card to charge card?
Major different between charge and credit card is ...

Charge Card : you have to made full payment on due date. Spending limit based on your payment records and spending pattern.

Credit Card: you only have to pay the minimum amount on the statement shown, interest apply...and credit limit is set.

if you wish to get charge card, i suggest you give AMEX a call... they might assist you further.

TSDozz
post Jan 29 2008, 10:39 AM

2,149 posts

QUOTE(anglee82 @ Jan 29 2008, 12:47 AM)
just to clear things...
Maybankard American Express = credit card
American Express(R) Personal Card=charge card...correct?
yes you are right rclxms.gif
TSDozz
post Feb 19 2008, 08:45 PM

2,149 posts

Does anyone notice we still earning 2x membership points even this promotion already expired? i think they already extended without inform us. lol...
TSDozz
post Mar 20 2008, 02:15 AM

2,149 posts

Nothing new for AMEX lately.. hope they will come out more exciting promotion soon!

This post has been edited by Dozz: Mar 20 2008, 12:23 PM
TSDozz
post Mar 26 2008, 01:09 AM

2,149 posts

WoW! American Express just launched a new product - American Express Platinum Credit Card...

- Annual Fee: RM800.00 (free 2 supp. cards + complimentary Prestige Platinum card for discounts on food and beverage as well as accommodation at the Shangri-La Hotel)
- 10x MR points for selected merchants
- ALWAYS 2x MR points for any other charges

For more info, http://www.maybank2u.com.my/consumer/onlin...reditcard.shtml

anyone gonna to apply? hahaha...

This post has been edited by Dozz: Mar 26 2008, 01:10 AM
TSDozz
post Mar 26 2008, 03:09 PM

2,149 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Mar 26 2008, 12:34 PM)
Hmm... current normal MBB Amex CC already has 2x TP forever. No need apply and pay to enable the 2x. My opinion is, unless you utilise the platinum benefits for personal/business reason, otherwise it is just a Wow Factor to get the card.
MBB Amex CC is different from this new platinum card... this card is issued and owned by American Express itself, no maybank logo on the card and also different customer service from ordinary MBB amex cards.
However, if you have time to look and compared Treatpoints and Membership Reward Points, you will find membership reward point is more attractive than treatpoints!

Added on March 26, 2008, 3:12 pm
QUOTE(wheimeng @ Mar 26 2008, 01:02 PM)
amex cc? amex has always been a chargecard? what's with the credit card?

how different would it be?

did you mean you'll get UNLIMITED credit as to an amex charge card to amex credit card?

but i do like the design.. amex 'troll' looks cool..
Amex Charge Card: no preset limit, pay full amount each other.
Amex Credit Card: Preset limit apply, pay min amount each other like any other Visa or Mastercard. This card allow you to earn Membership Rewards Point.

Yes... i love the design.. the amex logo looks cool smile.gif

ahah

This post has been edited by Dozz: Mar 26 2008, 03:12 PM
TSDozz
post Mar 31 2008, 10:49 AM

2,149 posts

From what i heard, first year is unable to waived but then subsequent years maybe ok to waive depend on the usage of your card.

MilesAndMore : are you gonna to apply?
TSDozz
post Mar 31 2008, 09:36 PM

2,149 posts

hey guys! how many of you willing to pay RM23x0 per year for AMEX platinum charge and new credit cards? any opinions?
TSDozz
post Mar 31 2008, 11:28 PM

2,149 posts

i also got plat cards from other banks... yes, so far all of them annual fee can be waived..... for amex one, still considering.. cos it is really too $$$! haha... if they give 5x for every dollar spend everywhere, i will say worth it. lol....
TSDozz
post Apr 1 2008, 11:31 AM

2,149 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Apr 1 2008, 11:04 AM)
hmm.gif  If they give 5x or 10x for ALL transactions... then I might consider it...  tongue.gif
yes yes, 5x for every transactions will be good enough and consider worth for the annual fee. looking forward this will happen one day smile.gif

TSDozz
post Apr 1 2008, 12:50 PM

2,149 posts

QUOTE(wheimeng @ Apr 1 2008, 12:39 PM)
hahah, why? cos your spending pattern with 5x points would get you a bmw in a yr? tongue.gif

i think if you have a good spending and repayment pattern, you can request for waiving easily. i guess biggrin.gif
5X wont give me a BMW but it will definitely give me a business class ticket to europe or usa smile.gif

unfortunately amex platinum charge card is unable to waive no matter how many million you spent per year... this is their policy for this particular card. sad.gif
TSDozz
post Apr 4 2008, 10:56 AM

2,149 posts

QUOTE(mustang @ Apr 3 2008, 11:08 PM)
Forget to add in my question list,

- I still have to pay the amount in full every month regardless of whether the card is MBB AMEX CC or AMEX Charge Card ?

- Which will be the prefered choice [Credit Card or Charge Card] and the reasons ?

Thanks  smile.gif
Just got the AMEX new plat credit card approved and its now appear under my maybank2u account... in that case, probably we gonna to earn treats points instead of Membership Reward point.

- I still have to pay the amount in full every month regardless of whether the card is MBB AMEX CC or AMEX Charge Card ?

= for charge card, yes.. you have to pay in full... for credit card, you only need to pay the min. amount stated on the statement each month and bank will charge you interests accordingly.

- Which will be the prefered choice [Credit Card or Charge Card] and the reasons ?

= I personal think charge card is slightly better than credit card. These are the reasons

- No preset limit...you can spend any amount as long as u afford to pay off each month.
- Higher Recognition brows.gif
- No interests charge

This post has been edited by Dozz: Apr 4 2008, 10:58 AM
TSDozz
post Apr 4 2008, 11:33 AM

2,149 posts

cute_boboi:

My friend also encounter problem when using his UOB and Citibank (singapore) cards in Japan.... you are right, most probably he didnt inform the bank before he went abroad. I used my amex charge card in the same merchant and my card go thru as usual, i didnt inform Amex b4 i go travel anyway. hhaha...

you have any plan to apply the new plat cc from amex? ahah

This post has been edited by Dozz: Apr 4 2008, 11:33 AM
TSDozz
post Apr 4 2008, 01:06 PM

2,149 posts

QUOTE(abarai @ Apr 4 2008, 12:30 PM)
right now, i have a complimentary amex cc gold card from maybank by virtue of being their private banking client. (at first i didnt want it, look so garish and laubeh...but was persuaded by the rm. anyway now i find good use for it, esp for petrol smile.gif)

any idea if i can get it upgraded to plat? like the design better compared to the garish looking bling bling gold card!
for charge card, if you spend more than RM38k to RM40k per year, you may quality for the upgrade to platinum charge card... but please bear in mind, plat charge card is RM2380 per annum and NO WAIVER regardless how much you spend. Will you take the offer even AMEX offer you an upgrade? hahaha....

If you want the new plat credit card form AMEX, you have to fill in the application form and submit all the required supporting documents.. for this card, they dont accept " card to card " application.

TSDozz
post Apr 4 2008, 03:18 PM

2,149 posts

QUOTE(abarai @ Apr 4 2008, 02:18 PM)
you misunderstood, i didnt apply for it, they just gave one to me. didnt want it initially as well, but they kept pestering.

so i did not filled up any forms whatsoever (well apart from the a/c opening form for private banking). just wondering if they'll upgrade me, thats all. doesnt really matter actually, dont need the card for showing off, in fact i think it looks more understated than the garish gold bling bling.

Added on April 4, 2008, 2:22 pmbtw, just checked with my rm. currently only amex gold are complimentary for private banking clients, plat cards not yet. at best they will give 1st yr waiver only.

but she say they may do so later, depending on how well accepted it is. (i interpret that as if nobody wants it, then they will give complimentary la...to boost up the membership tongue.gif )
can i know... they give you complimentary AMEX Charge Card or Credit Card?
TSDozz
post Apr 4 2008, 08:29 PM

2,149 posts

QUOTE(mustang @ Apr 4 2008, 08:08 PM)
Today I went to MBB and check out the t & c for charge card. It seems like we need to include EPF statement? Any reasons for this?

Q:
-> For credit card, I notice there's 2 version [classic and gold], so the gold will have higher credit limit right?

-> Which is easier to get approval ?

thanks smile.gif
Please note that different people might give you different information on how to apply for a card.

for my past experienced, if you have 2 months pay slips, then you can skip the EPF statements... but you must provide your bank statements along with the application form.

which card is easier to apply?
= i guess they are about the same.
TSDozz
post Apr 5 2008, 10:15 AM

2,149 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Apr 5 2008, 02:51 AM)
Wah Dozz going for Plat  rclxms.gif Can afford to burn >RM2K  notworthy.gif

Coming back to your reasons:

- No preset limit - well there is a limit for my Amex Gold Card; however, it is higher than any of my Plat CC card limit.
- Higher Recognition - this to me i call it shiok sendiri, hahaha
- No interest charge - you be charged interest if payment is after due date.

I wont be applying for Amex Plat unless they are giving annual fee waiver. I have not been paying Annual Fees for my Amex Gold Card and CC cards for many years now. If any of them refuse to entertain my request for waiver i just close the account.
hi.. long time didnt see you posting here. Anyway, i go for the new plat credit card, NOT charge card.. the annual fee is lower. i will give the new card a try... when it come to renew, i will try to request fee waive... if they not allow then i might cancel my card.. will see how i feel after one year... if they have many 10x merchants... maybe worth to keep and use. lol...
TSDozz
post Apr 6 2008, 05:08 PM

2,149 posts

QUOTE(abarai @ Apr 6 2008, 11:49 AM)
credit card, i think the amex cr card division has been sold to maybank. amex still retains the charge card though.
amex credit card and charge card managed by different department. i would said charge card customer service is better and more pro smile.gif

13 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0362sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:19 PM