post Mar 23 2008, 06:23 PM

1,142 posts

KenRockwell seems to be a famous blog isn't it? smile.gif
szyap
post Mar 23 2008, 06:25 PM

Nobody
748 posts

QUOTE(BlueSilver @ Mar 23 2008, 06:23 PM)
KenRockwell seems to be a famous blog isn't it? smile.gif
well...he's a Nikon fans...
but sometimes his article can only be taken with a pince of salt...dun read too much into it... whistling.gif
BlueSilver
post Mar 23 2008, 06:30 PM

1,142 posts

but it's definitely good for a beginner like me. smile.gif I'm actually going to attend a concert in the next 2 weeks. Going to be taking night shots again i guess. So i really need to learn how to take good pictures especially night time. sad.gif
xandman
post Mar 23 2008, 06:35 PM

When Darkness is the only Light U See.
7,214 posts

iso 800 / 1600...
biggest aperture u can go...
shutter bwtween 1/60-1/250...
shoot away!
BlueSilver
post Mar 23 2008, 06:45 PM

1,142 posts

^ that's for nightshots is it?
xandman
post Mar 23 2008, 06:55 PM

7,214 posts

yup...=)
it's better not to use flash...it ruins the ambience of the concert....=)
BlueSilver
post Mar 23 2008, 06:57 PM

1,142 posts

yeah i was thinking the same. Ok i'll do some practicing before shooting the real thing. smile.gif
xandman
post Mar 23 2008, 06:58 PM

7,214 posts

good luck on ur concert shoot! =)
BlueSilver
post Mar 23 2008, 07:07 PM

1,142 posts

thanks xandman. smile.gif i think i really need it. LOL
mindkiller6610
post Mar 23 2008, 07:45 PM

IT-Motion : Your Digital Solutions
2,477 posts

do you have VR lens ? it will be great help if u do.

if no, try bring a monopod, if u dun have,
bring an umbrella, u can use it like a monopod. It helps stabilize ur hands.

This post has been edited by mindkiller6610: Mar 23 2008, 07:46 PM
szyap
post Mar 23 2008, 07:57 PM

Nobody
748 posts

concert photography?
here some tips on it...
http://www.trustedreviews.com/digital-came...-Photography/p1
the last 2 pages advise on the exposure n flash setting, which is quite helpful...
so...good luck and happy shooting...
dun forget to post ur photo here...

This post has been edited by szyap: Mar 23 2008, 07:57 PM
BlueSilver
post Mar 23 2008, 10:50 PM

1,142 posts

i hope i can post some pictures of the concert as i will be sitting rather far away. Anyways, i was reading the manual and found out that exposure actually brightens a photograph. So i set it to the highest. Is that a good practice?

TSorenzai
post Mar 23 2008, 11:30 PM

3,114 posts

wa...xandman going up to 1600 iso not too high kah? dun forget we using d40 you using d3 oh... blush.gif
zio
post Mar 23 2008, 11:36 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

The D40 can still go to 1600, but need to go through noise manipulation program during PP smile.gif
mindkiller6610
post Mar 24 2008, 02:14 AM

IT-Motion : Your Digital Solutions
2,477 posts

QUOTE(BlueSilver @ Mar 23 2008, 10:50 PM)
i hope i can post some pictures of the concert as i will be sitting rather far away. Anyways, i was reading the manual and found out that exposure actually brightens a photograph. So i set it to the highest. Is that a good practice?
u mean the exposure compensation ?

that is useful when u are depending the camera to meter the environment , like u were in aperture or shutter priority mode.

Usually, in low light / light challenge areas, i switch manual mode and tried to get best exposure time (balancing between shutter speed and aperture, and of coz ISO).
take a few shots, if the picture is blur, ask yourself, why is it blur ? becoz of hand-shake ? subject's motions? or OOF ?
depends on that, u adjust ur next exposure slightly.. after few shots, i bet u can get a good exposure setting.

This post has been edited by mindkiller6610: Mar 24 2008, 02:14 AM
szyap
post Mar 24 2008, 08:51 AM

Nobody
748 posts

QUOTE(BlueSilver @ Mar 23 2008, 10:50 PM)
depend on scenario...if u put it on high...meaning it is easy to overexpose ur pic...
TSorenzai
post Mar 24 2008, 12:10 PM

3,114 posts

QUOTE(liotan @ Mar 21 2008, 10:23 AM)
orenzai,

thanks ur info. but where is ur place?

i stay in cheras and actually i looking any shops in low yat plaza. do u know about it?
sorry missed yr post in the lasst 3rd page...i stay in kuching smile.gif
ebernie
post Mar 24 2008, 12:28 PM

540 posts

QUOTE(szyap @ Mar 24 2008, 08:51 AM)
depend on scenario...if u put it on high...meaning it is easy to overexpose ur pic...
Setting it to high will also set your shutter speed to low - not good.
szyap
post Mar 24 2008, 03:09 PM

Nobody
748 posts

QUOTE(orenzai @ Mar 23 2008, 11:30 PM)
wa...xandman going up to 1600 iso not too high kah? dun forget we using d40 you using d3 oh... blush.gif
mayb he got too many camera...tat he forgot which one is which..haha sweat.gif
ajea
post Mar 24 2008, 04:44 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(szyap @ Mar 23 2008, 07:57 PM)
concert photography?
here some tips on it...
http://www.trustedreviews.com/digital-came...-Photography/p1
the last 2 pages advise on the exposure n flash setting, which is quite helpful...
so...good luck and happy shooting...
dun forget to post ur photo here...
thanks for the great tips man... now really wanna go to an event now.... huahahah

125 Pages « < 100 101 102 103 104 > » Top

0.0200sec    0.93    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 04:11 AM