Nikon D40/D40X Thread V2
NasiLemakMan
Mar 21 2008, 12:12 PM
could anybody know why does D40X with kit lens is much more expensive than d60 with the new VR kit lens at shashinki? based on the pricing there better go for d60 straight on with its 1 stop higher DR than D40x imho.
TSorenzai
Mar 21 2008, 12:46 PM
coz d60 new product less cost lor...maybe ^^
zio
Mar 21 2008, 01:15 PM
QUOTE(NasiLemakMan @ Mar 21 2008, 12:12 PM) could anybody know why does D40X with kit lens is much more expensive than d60 with the new VR kit lens at shashinki? based on the pricing there better go for d60 straight on with its 1 stop higher DR than D40x imho. Well, if you are considering the D60 or the D40x, it is recommended to go for the D60. It is a replacement model of the D40x after all. So, if its cheaper, even better This post has been edited by zio: Mar 21 2008, 01:15 PM
szyap
Mar 21 2008, 03:15 PM
QUOTE(zio @ Mar 21 2008, 01:15 PM) Well, if you are considering the D60 or the D40x, it is recommended to go for the D60. It is a replacement model of the D40x after all. So, if its cheaper, even better  ya i agree too... but i wonder why is it cheaper? shashinki din update their price gua?
ltw82
Mar 21 2008, 03:32 PM
Anyone came across the D40 lenz 55mm to 30mm (basic set) is lock unable to turn...? while snapping foto the AF is working fine but the 55mm to 30mm cannot move...? and there was an on-screen keylock near the top left display...? pls help any advise...?
adthely
Mar 21 2008, 04:53 PM

well..guys..b4 dat what is bokeh means?
SUSTheVoIP
Mar 21 2008, 04:56 PM
QUOTE(adthely @ Mar 21 2008, 04:53 PM) well..guys..b4 dat what is bokeh means? Hmmm... naked in b.m. maybe?
xandman
Mar 21 2008, 05:19 PM
QUOTE(adthely @ Mar 21 2008, 04:53 PM) well..guys..b4 dat what is bokeh means? bokeh refers to the OOF area in ur picture...=)
zio
Mar 21 2008, 05:21 PM
Bokeh is derived from the japanese word, boke, which means blur
mindkiller6610
Mar 21 2008, 06:02 PM
guys, bring your camera out often and shoot more !! » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « QUOTE Dear Jason, Thank you for your enquiry. Sorry, we do not have the data of the shutter count for D40/D40X. The replacement of the shutter only is approximately RM250.00. Thank you, Paul
TSorenzai
Mar 22 2008, 02:25 AM
i tot you can bring to nikon service center then they reset the shutter for you free?
mindkiller6610
Mar 22 2008, 04:09 PM
QUOTE(orenzai @ Mar 22 2008, 02:25 AM) i tot you can bring to nikon service center then they reset the shutter for you free?  no, the RM250 is the replacement for the shutter that is dead.. I email them to ask them about this.. reset the shutter in the firmware, I am not sure about that one. This post has been edited by mindkiller6610: Mar 22 2008, 04:10 PM
TSorenzai
Mar 22 2008, 06:43 PM
ah..nvm lar...you only neeed to reset yr shutter like..... 5 years maybe? y then maybe you change body edi
szyap
Mar 23 2008, 05:14 PM
QUOTE(zio @ Mar 21 2008, 05:21 PM) Bokeh is derived from the japanese word, boke, which means blur  wow i know wat bokeh mean...BUT i dunno its origin thanks...i learn new word everyday
BlueSilver
Mar 23 2008, 06:04 PM
do you guys usually take pictures with flash on? I know this is a silly question cos when the place is dark of course you use flash. But i don't quite like to use flash especially with yellow lighting. Cos there would either be reflections or it's too white maybe? But without using flash, the picture will be blur if i don't have a steady hand.
edministrator
Mar 23 2008, 06:06 PM
QUOTE(BlueSilver @ Mar 23 2008, 06:04 PM) do you guys usually take pictures with flash on? I know this is a silly question cos when the place is dark of course you use flash. But i don't quite like to use flash especially with yellow lighting. Cos there would either be reflections or it's too white maybe? But without using flash, the picture will be blur if i don't have a steady hand.  That's why you need external speedlight, use bounce technique.
BlueSilver
Mar 23 2008, 06:12 PM
bounce technique... ok i'll google it. Thanks!
szyap
Mar 23 2008, 06:15 PM
QUOTE(BlueSilver @ Mar 23 2008, 06:04 PM) do you guys usually take pictures with flash on? I know this is a silly question cos when the place is dark of course you use flash. But i don't quite like to use flash especially with yellow lighting. Cos there would either be reflections or it's too white maybe? But without using flash, the picture will be blur if i don't have a steady hand.  tat's one of the hardest question in photography...low lighting for advance photog, i would say they'll use external flash or fast lens to capture good image under low light... but for a beginner (like me), without fast lens or external flash...we'll hv to make do with whatever we got....and try-and-error setting btw ISO/apperture/shutter and also d WB... if really need to use internal flash...set it low so that the shadow/light would not seem too harsh... happy shooting
BlueSilver
Mar 23 2008, 06:17 PM
you know what? I still don't know what are all those settings in my camera. So i'm definitely a more newbie than you are. There are so many things that i think i'm lost.
szyap
Mar 23 2008, 06:19 PM
QUOTE(BlueSilver @ Mar 23 2008, 06:17 PM) you know what? I still don't know what are all those settings in my camera. So i'm definitely a more newbie than you are. There are so many things that i think i'm lost.  haha...no worries...there's always the MANUAL book for me...i started of with the setting as recommended in KenRockwell...after i mastered it...i custom set it now...