6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Why not many subaru xv on the road?

littlefire
post Jul 24 2024, 08:17 AM

2,736 posts

QUOTE(dylan_chng @ Jul 23 2024, 05:09 PM)
Subaru (Motor Image) is under Tan Chong International Limited (TCIL)

Nissan is Tan Chong Motors

I think different.
https://www.tanchong.com/en/companies_brands.aspx

See the brands in it, Subaru, Nissan is under it.
littlefire
post Jul 24 2024, 08:21 AM

2,736 posts

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Jul 23 2024, 05:25 PM)
We can't blame everything squarely at Tan Chong

Nissan was focusing on US, China and UK Europe

They are not investing much resources into South East Asia , not Thailand and not Indonesia even, let alone Malaysia

All heavy lifting is done by the local partners

Suzuki at least know they will focus in India with Maruti and Japan with their kei cars
Subaru's strategy is the most vague , they are almost focus entirely @ North America
Yes, Subaru group itself mostly concentrate in US market, but Asean wise most are held under Motor Image (Tan Chong group)
You can check the main dealer around Asean country like in Singapore, Malaysia, Taiwan, Hong-Kong, Thailand most are under the same Motor Image group so i believe they will influence in term of decision making for Asean market.

This post has been edited by littlefire: Jul 24 2024, 08:22 AM
EnergyAnalyst
post Jul 24 2024, 09:54 AM

4,145 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Jul 24 2024, 08:21 AM)
Yes, Subaru group itself mostly concentrate in US market, but Asean wise most are held under Motor Image (Tan Chong group) 
You can check the main dealer around Asean country like in Singapore, Malaysia, Taiwan, Hong-Kong, Thailand most are under the same Motor Image group so i believe they will influence in term of decision making for Asean market.
So how good are Subaru sales in all these countries doing so far?

Let's have a look

https://www.statista.com/outlook/mmo/passen...ars/subaru/asia

And just about 2 weeks back, TCIL (motor image) issued profit warning

https://www.tanchong.com/downloads/announce...24070800523.pdf

In fact P@ul Tan made a report about it, you just need to look it up

And one glaring development you can see is right here in Malaysia

https://www.dsf.my/2024/07/7-motor-image-su...ese-car-brands/

Why are you still so hopeful, when all the signs shows only the dreadfuls?

This post has been edited by EnergyAnalyst: Jul 24 2024, 10:01 AM
littlefire
post Jul 24 2024, 10:33 AM

2,736 posts

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Jul 24 2024, 10:54 AM)
So how good are Subaru sales in all these countries doing so far?

Let's have a look

https://www.statista.com/outlook/mmo/passen...ars/subaru/asia
And just about 2 weeks back, TCIL (motor image) issued profit warning

https://www.tanchong.com/downloads/announce...24070800523.pdf

In fact P@ul Tan made a report about it, you just need to look it up

And one glaring development you can see is right here in Malaysia

https://www.dsf.my/2024/07/7-motor-image-su...ese-car-brands/

Why are you still so hopeful, when all the signs shows only the dreadfuls?
FYI Subaru did cease in Malaysia market before in the 00's and come back again in 2012/13 with the CKD XV.
Anything also can happen in future if they got good product to intro again. If you never follow Subaru cars history in Malaysia, they introduce legacy, Sambar in the 90's, stop selling officially for a while and come back again in the 10's.

This post has been edited by littlefire: Jul 24 2024, 10:34 AM
ayamxxx
post Jul 24 2024, 11:12 AM

4,066 posts

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Jul 23 2024, 04:25 PM)
We can't blame everything squarely at Tan Chong

Nissan was focusing on US, China and UK Europe

They are not investing much resources into South East Asia , not Thailand and not Indonesia even, let alone Malaysia

All heavy lifting is done by the local partners

Suzuki at least know they will focus in India with Maruti and Japan with their kei cars
Subaru's strategy is the most vague , they are almost focus entirely @ North America
Ask Nissan owner they know why Tan Choong Motor been poor for after sales. Now no one buying their car thanks to horror after sales warranty for example. Check also Nissan Serena fb group cz many owner had poor treatment by TCM
EnergyAnalyst
post Jul 24 2024, 11:30 AM

4,145 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Jul 24 2024, 11:12 AM)
Ask Nissan owner they know why Tan Choong Motor been poor for after sales. Now no one buying their car thanks to horror after sales warranty for example. Check also Nissan Serena fb group cz many owner had poor treatment by TCM
Nissan has only 5% stake in Tan Chong Motor Holdings Berhad

Do you know how much other share holding the principal holds at Honda Malaysia , Mazda , Mistubishi, Perodua , Proton , etc?

ayamxxx
post Jul 24 2024, 11:39 AM

4,066 posts

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Jul 24 2024, 11:30 AM)
Nissan has only 5% stake in Tan Chong Motor Holdings Berhad

Do you know how much other share holding the principal holds at Honda Malaysia , Mazda , Mistubishi, Perodua ,  Proton , etc?
just talking on customers experience without concern on how many stake they had. Serena confirm Aircond compressor k.o after 1-2 years usage, then TCM play hard ball to claim new compressor. Right after warranty ended, 120% will told compressor need to be replaced and here the cost at SC.
EnergyAnalyst
post Jul 24 2024, 11:40 AM

4,145 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Jul 24 2024, 10:33 AM)
FYI Subaru did cease in Malaysia market before in the 00's and come back again in 2012/13 with the CKD XV.
Anything also can happen in future if they got good product to intro again. If you never follow Subaru cars history in Malaysia, they introduce legacy, Sambar in the 90's, stop selling officially for a while and come back again in the 10's.
Yes. Any thing is possible. They may come back like Suzuki also. CBU high price and niched

(Outdated too)

EnergyAnalyst
post Jul 24 2024, 11:41 AM

4,145 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Jul 24 2024, 11:39 AM)
just talking on customers experience without concern on how many stake they had. Serena confirm Aircond compressor k.o after 1-2 years usage, then TCM play hard ball to claim new compressor. Right after warranty ended, 120% will told compressor need to be replaced and here the cost at SC.
When Nissan has so little stake, do they care much , HELLO
ayamxxx
post Jul 24 2024, 11:41 AM

4,066 posts

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Jul 24 2024, 11:41 AM)
When Nissan has so little stake, do they care much , HELLO
then why put warranty for new car?
CanonLee
post Jul 24 2024, 11:56 AM

202 posts

i also driving a XV since early last year. I am happy for my ride throughout the time.
Am i regret buying it? No and i regretted not buying it earlier.

Subaru is consider niche due to its car built, price, and of course the marketing. Not many people in Malaysia know the goods of the subaru cars. Usually people will just know the bad due to heard this&that.

While i travelled to Hokkaido 2 months ago, there are so many Subaru cars (exclude the Kei-s) and i was pretty shocked. I will say almost on par with Toyotas. There are reasons for Hokkaido folks decided to go for Subaru. And of course owners like me knows why.

In short, there are many options in the market and Subaru is really the cup-of-tea/coffee/boba for certain small group of people.

It is sad to see Subaru is not doing good in ASEAN but fact is fact. It is not for the majority. Their agents are looking for profitable business and the trend is now China brands.

I love my Subaru.
EnergyAnalyst
post Jul 24 2024, 02:00 PM

4,145 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Jul 24 2024, 11:41 AM)
then why put warranty for new car?
Is Nissan honorable company to begin with ?

Look at this news

https://english.kyodonews.net/news/2024/03/...ontractors.html

I can only say Nissan has been awhile just sucks (look at how they perform these days in USA, China , Europe and Asia) , making Tan Chong sucks , those who buy hence becomes suckers

All one can do is avoid becoming suckers because you can only give them imaginary sucker punch

Don't ever becomes suckers and if unfortunately if you had, quickly off load to cut lost.
saifulamir93
post Oct 2 2024, 09:25 AM

QUOTE(kdr93 @ Jul 18 2024, 07:35 AM)
2024 model just launched, seem like well specced, good passive and active safety (9airbag etc), 2.0 should give good power + moderate fuel savings for 160k

Considering all this seems like a good offering, plus on safety side seem like the only compact suv / crossover with 9 airbags (previous gen closer to 140k + 7 airbags)

Yet dont really see many on the road.
Subaru value offering for this price point missed its mark (too expensive for segment?)

Curious that malaysians dont rally see safety specs when buy new car?

Would you consider buy car based on safety features as important factor?
Current owner of an XV here.

Pros:

1. The all wheel drive inspire confidence. Sometimes too much confidence. I know braking is optional for me across most of the corners - even on high speed. All I gotta do is modulate the throttle and off I go.

But that over-confidence almost got me in rain. It felt so stable i did not realise i was speeding in rain and aquaplaned @ 150km/h.

2. Built to keep you alive. Seriously just go and have a look at the chassis build, the rear door support, the safety features - they'll ensure you can walk away from most accidents.

3. The XV does not mind off-roads. I went into plantations, camping spots, light trailings - the car doesn't give a hoot. It just goes wherever I wish it to go - with stock tyres. Wadding in some water - it does not give af. Low level flood in KL? Some cars were stalled but my xv certainly does not give a crap.

4. The CVT does not jerk, no rubber-band effect (i know how CVT behaves, I have two more cars with CVTs), the virtual 7-speed step simulations feels real and smoothly transitioned. I can crawl smoothly in the dreadful kl traffic no issue unlike most CVTs and DCTs.

Cons:

1. FB20 (or the XV's engine) is tuned to be fuel efficient and to last longer. Hence, it exudes performance that is WAY lower than what it could do. From a stand still, even Myvi would leave you behind. But you'll dust that little git once you hit highway speed few seconds later due to your higher top end. But if we compare with the contenders from the same class, yeah that CX-5, X50, CX-30, and those peugeots will dust you easy.

2. Holy shit i need to change all tires at once kenot cheapo at all.

3. I cannot simply send my XV to anyone (I'm talking about outside bengkel la not SC). Need proper pipul with proper know hows like SubaruTecnica etc.

4. Looks outdated. But I am addicted to how it drives. My friend's cx30 looks damn nice but screw that i need the drive sensation of my XV. If i'm still single I would just fork out my cash and kidneys to have WRX as my pet. But what to do, got wife n kids, XV lor.
littlefire
post Oct 3 2024, 09:31 AM

2,736 posts

QUOTE(saifulamir93 @ Oct 2 2024, 10:25 AM)
Cons:

1. FB20 (or the XV's engine) is tuned to be fuel efficient and to last longer. Hence, it exudes performance that is WAY lower than what it could do. From a stand still, even Myvi would leave you behind. But you'll dust that little git once you hit highway speed few seconds later due to your higher top end. But if we compare with the contenders from the same class, yeah that CX-5, X50, CX-30, and those peugeots will dust you easy.

2. Holy shit i need to change all tires at once kenot cheapo at all.

1. in straight & dry, i agree. But on Genting, zig zag roads & especially during raining season most of them on the sides. Just need to know the car best at which situation. laugh.gif

2. If you read most car manual even modern cars also need to rotate and change all 4 tires also, my previous FWD AE111 Toyota Corolla drivers manual does state always rotate to ensure balance wear and change all 4 tires to ensure optimal performance & safety reasons. Just majority of people did not read, rotate and always just change the front tires (see the front only wear then change). Modern cars with ESC/Traction control, different tires wear & model can impact speed rotation, grip and ABS effectiveness during emergency just most people dont care about it until it is too late... But good thing nowadays got budget to premium tires for same tire size, if want local good budget tires can ask for Toyo CR1.

This post has been edited by littlefire: Oct 3 2024, 09:42 AM
touristking
post Oct 3 2024, 09:48 AM

5,831 posts

QUOTE(croco_2002 @ Jul 18 2024, 01:26 AM)
Malaysian only see RV
There is also a more practical issue. When you want to sell and buy another car, it is harder to sell. Less buyers interested so you may be stuck with it for months.

And if you live in smaller towns, there are no proper service centers.

For convenience, Honda or Toyota easier.

This post has been edited by touristking: Oct 3 2024, 09:49 AM
touristking
post Oct 3 2024, 10:00 AM

5,831 posts

QUOTE(babisotong @ Jul 18 2024, 05:10 AM)
1. A lot of owners said it's underpower 154hp NA for 1500kg++
2. CVT, despite different architecture (more durable) there is less promotion emphasize/explained it.
for underpower:

Exora CFE weight 1465kg+-, max torque at 2k rpm compared to Subaru XV 2.0 NA max torque at 4k rpm. So, you feel it less powerful compared to Exora.
May be Exora is like XV, an under-valued car. Elderly passenger's 1st choice.
touristking
post Oct 3 2024, 10:06 AM

5,831 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Oct 3 2024, 02:31 AM)
2. If you read most car manual even modern cars also need to rotate and change all 4 tires also, my previous FWD AE111 Toyota Corolla drivers manual does state always rotate to ensure balance wear and change all 4 tires to ensure optimal performance & safety reasons. Just majority of people did not read, rotate and always just change the front tires (see the front only wear then change). Modern cars with ESC/Traction control, different tires wear & model can impact speed rotation, grip and ABS effectiveness during emergency just most people dont care about it until it is too late... But good thing nowadays got budget to premium tires for same tire size, if want local good budget tires can ask for Toyo CR1.
Imagine, just 10,000 km after 4 tires change and 1 tire got punctured and can not be repaired. So you need to buy all 4 tires all over again.

Not so much of a problem with non AWD cars.

littlefire
post Oct 3 2024, 10:41 AM

2,736 posts

QUOTE(touristking @ Oct 3 2024, 11:06 AM)
Imagine, just 10,000 km after 4 tires change and 1 tire got punctured and can not be repaired. So you need to buy all 4 tires all over again.

Not so much of a problem with non AWD cars.
If the shop tell you change all 4 tires, just scamming you. 10,000km the tire wear is not much and 1 new tire can still replace, we got member use spare tire to replace until next tire change also can survive. If really sensitive, i dont think they will supply with spare tire and better ask you to get tow truck every time tire got issue. laugh.gif

FYI there is a service call tire shaving which only professional tire shop or those who do tire celup got. This can cut down the treads and some performance shop got this service to balance up those racing tires. This can be apply to normal street tires if really only 1 tire tread is too thick compare to the rest.

https://www.motortrend.com/how-to/tire-shaving-race-cars/

This post has been edited by littlefire: Oct 3 2024, 10:52 AM
touristking
post Oct 3 2024, 10:46 AM

5,831 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Oct 3 2024, 03:41 AM)
If the shop tell you change all 4 tires, just scamming you. 10,000km the tire wear is not much and 1 new tire can still replace, we got member use spare tire to replace until next tire change also can survive.

FYI there is a service call tire shaving which only professional tire shop or those who do tire celup got. This can cut down the treads and some performance shop got this service to balance up those racing tires.

https://www.motortrend.com/how-to/tire-shaving-race-cars/
I think the most AWD manuals say to replace all. If not 10K-km, then what about 15K-km? 20k-km? Or risk breaking something?

littlefire
post Oct 3 2024, 11:06 AM

2,736 posts

QUOTE(touristking @ Oct 3 2024, 11:46 AM)
I think the most AWD manuals say to replace all. If not 10K-km, then what about 15K-km? 20k-km? Or risk breaking something?
There is a tolerance call out in the manual, forums been sharing info for treads difference not to over 3/32" ~ 4/32” (2.4mm~3.2mm) difference between different tires. So if the old & new tire tread difference is within 3.2mm difference should be no issue, if over that get the only tire to replace to shave down, find 2nd hand tire which is similar tread depth or if rich buy all 4 new.

https://www.subaruoutback.org/threads/anybo...ference.512221/

I also encounter several times of tire puncture for my Xv just use spare and later get used tires to replace (If ori tires unable to patch or save back). Ask the shop to use tread depth gauge to help check the difference, usually below 3mm difference no warning will come out for AWD.

This post has been edited by littlefire: Oct 3 2024, 11:08 AM

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0239sec    0.70    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 11:35 AM