4,145 posts

https://www.wapcar.my/news/rm-50k-for-a-use...-problems-23705

Reported common problems
EnergyAnalyst
post Jul 21 2024, 06:16 PM

4,145 posts

https://www.wapcar.my/news/rm-50k-for-a-use...-problems-23705

Reported common problems. Can imagine quite a chunckful for many to swallow , so many may not have the appetite for it
EnergyAnalyst
post Jul 22 2024, 04:30 PM

4,145 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Jul 22 2024, 04:15 PM)
The link not updated already, a lot of parts/repair mentioned already got cheaper options and not all will got similar issues.
If want to get the latest info  better join Fb Subaru Xv club and get from recent members.
What I know is Subaru will increasingly becoming more niche, what more with Thailand closing plant after 5 years of consecutive losses

https://www.nationthailand.com/business/automobile/40038738

This will affect or deter prospective buyers for sure
EnergyAnalyst
post Jul 23 2024, 09:53 AM

4,145 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Jul 23 2024, 08:44 AM)
Na, actually for more Subaru member it is a blessing in disguise. Subaru still will sell but direct CBU from Japan, we foresee the used value for Xv will hold  better as new potential owners if cannot afford new CBU price might venture for used units. Some already ask on-line traders of their Xv 2nd value and found out the newer Xv2 with eyesight seems to hold better value in used market now.

https://asia.nikkei.com/Business/Automobile...two-Thai-plants
BTW, Honda also closing one of their factories in Thailand also.
That alone will make it niche, I will give you a few examples

CBU Toyota CH-R
CBU Mazda 3 & 6
CBU Suzuki Jimny and Swift
CBU Mitsubishi Outlander
CBU Hyundai and Kia

They have inherent higher price due to duty and tax. And that makes them niche for new buyers

As much some is doing better (Mazda 3) but most becomes rarity and some extinct in our market , what more with exiting owners the demand for it will dwindle because unless you are a collectors of cars , you will probably strike them of your buying list due to the perceived higher after sales service cost.

A very simple math: your parts now are fully CBU and Ringgit is worsening against yen and shipping cost is ever rising

Honda is consolidating production from two plants into one and not total closure like Subaru, my dear

This post has been edited by EnergyAnalyst: Jul 23 2024, 09:57 AM
EnergyAnalyst
post Jul 23 2024, 12:24 PM

4,145 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Jul 23 2024, 10:33 AM)
FYI, Yen is the one worsening now. 
Nowadays you can change at around 1 MYR to 0.03 Yen, a lot of people start visiting and buying Japanese stuff on-line including me due to this advantage.

But sadly confirm AP and different tax structure will bring up the car price. You can see even Honda newer cars like CRV also expensive nowadays, so an increase of around 20~30k is expected. This will need to see how the dealer and business management to maintain and play around their marketing strategy over the years. Some insider feedback they will wait and see our fuel price and EV/Hybrid policies, similar to Nissan their marketing team is going to sell the e-Power hybrid line models once the fuel price went up. Subaru also got next generation e-Boxer (Using Toyota Hybrid) on the line & Solterra EV, but expect to be lower sales volume due to tight competitions from China car brands. 

Well, yes Honda article does feedback they close down 1 of the 2 factories, this also means that majority of Japanese brand car sales are on the drop.
Yen is rising now especially in this month as compared to a year or two ago.Will it breaks 0.30, only time will tell

https://www.xe.com/currencycharts/?from=JPY&to=MYR&view=1M

Anyway, the topic is about why Subaru not many on the road. When you gives example of Nissan marketing strategy, I can't help but think thatvis teg weakest argument.Nissan was doing bad and handed its big top 3 non national car brands' post to be fought by Mazda and Mitsubishi in
Malaysia and even overall South East Asia, Nissan is one of the worst performers

EnergyAnalyst
post Jul 23 2024, 04:25 PM

4,145 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Jul 23 2024, 02:19 PM)
Sadly Subaru Motor Image is the same under Tan Chong group (which is Nissan also in it) thus is why their decision making are quite similar and are pulling out a lot of models due to their management decision. From what i know next move they will concentrate on cheaper EV & Hybrid models which is why they are going for China GAC and Nissan E-Power model range for Malaysia market.
We can't blame everything squarely at Tan Chong

Nissan was focusing on US, China and UK Europe

They are not investing much resources into South East Asia , not Thailand and not Indonesia even, let alone Malaysia

All heavy lifting is done by the local partners

Suzuki at least know they will focus in India with Maruti and Japan with their kei cars

Subaru's strategy is the most vague , they are almost focus entirely @ North America

EnergyAnalyst
post Jul 24 2024, 09:54 AM

4,145 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Jul 24 2024, 08:21 AM)
Yes, Subaru group itself mostly concentrate in US market, but Asean wise most are held under Motor Image (Tan Chong group) 
You can check the main dealer around Asean country like in Singapore, Malaysia, Taiwan, Hong-Kong, Thailand most are under the same Motor Image group so i believe they will influence in term of decision making for Asean market.
So how good are Subaru sales in all these countries doing so far?

Let's have a look

https://www.statista.com/outlook/mmo/passen...ars/subaru/asia

And just about 2 weeks back, TCIL (motor image) issued profit warning

https://www.tanchong.com/downloads/announce...24070800523.pdf

In fact P@ul Tan made a report about it, you just need to look it up

And one glaring development you can see is right here in Malaysia

https://www.dsf.my/2024/07/7-motor-image-su...ese-car-brands/

Why are you still so hopeful, when all the signs shows only the dreadfuls?

This post has been edited by EnergyAnalyst: Jul 24 2024, 10:01 AM
EnergyAnalyst
post Jul 24 2024, 11:30 AM

4,145 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Jul 24 2024, 11:12 AM)
Ask Nissan owner they know why Tan Choong Motor been poor for after sales. Now no one buying their car thanks to horror after sales warranty for example. Check also Nissan Serena fb group cz many owner had poor treatment by TCM
Nissan has only 5% stake in Tan Chong Motor Holdings Berhad

Do you know how much other share holding the principal holds at Honda Malaysia , Mazda , Mistubishi, Perodua , Proton , etc?

EnergyAnalyst
post Jul 24 2024, 11:40 AM

4,145 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Jul 24 2024, 10:33 AM)
FYI Subaru did cease in Malaysia market before in the 00's and come back again in 2012/13 with the CKD XV.
Anything also can happen in future if they got good product to intro again. If you never follow Subaru cars history in Malaysia, they introduce legacy, Sambar in the 90's, stop selling officially for a while and come back again in the 10's.
Yes. Any thing is possible. They may come back like Suzuki also. CBU high price and niched

(Outdated too)

EnergyAnalyst
post Jul 24 2024, 11:41 AM

4,145 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Jul 24 2024, 11:39 AM)
just talking on customers experience without concern on how many stake they had. Serena confirm Aircond compressor k.o after 1-2 years usage, then TCM play hard ball to claim new compressor. Right after warranty ended, 120% will told compressor need to be replaced and here the cost at SC.
When Nissan has so little stake, do they care much , HELLO
EnergyAnalyst
post Jul 24 2024, 02:00 PM

4,145 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Jul 24 2024, 11:41 AM)
then why put warranty for new car?
Is Nissan honorable company to begin with ?

Look at this news

https://english.kyodonews.net/news/2024/03/...ontractors.html

I can only say Nissan has been awhile just sucks (look at how they perform these days in USA, China , Europe and Asia) , making Tan Chong sucks , those who buy hence becomes suckers

All one can do is avoid becoming suckers because you can only give them imaginary sucker punch

Don't ever becomes suckers and if unfortunately if you had, quickly off load to cut lost.

0.0233sec    1.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 08:30 AM