https://www.wapcar.my/news/rm-50k-for-a-use...-problems-23705
Reported common problems. Can imagine quite a chunckful for many to swallow , so many may not have the appetite for it
Why not many subaru xv on the road?
Jul 21 2024, 06:16 PM
4,145 posts Joined: Oct 2012 |
https://www.wapcar.my/news/rm-50k-for-a-use...-problems-23705 Reported common problems. Can imagine quite a chunckful for many to swallow , so many may not have the appetite for it dogbert_chew liked this post
Jul 22 2024, 04:15 PM
2,736 posts Joined: Jun 2009 From: Penang |
QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Jul 21 2024, 07:16 PM) https://www.wapcar.my/news/rm-50k-for-a-use...-problems-23705 The link not updated already, a lot of parts/repair mentioned already got cheaper options and not all will got similar issues. Reported common problems. Can imagine quite a chunckful for many to swallow , so many may not have the appetite for it If want to get the latest info better join Fb Subaru Xv club and get from recent members. This post has been edited by littlefire: Jul 22 2024, 04:16 PM |
Jul 22 2024, 04:30 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
QUOTE(littlefire @ Jul 22 2024, 04:15 PM) The link not updated already, a lot of parts/repair mentioned already got cheaper options and not all will got similar issues. What I know is Subaru will increasingly becoming more niche, what more with Thailand closing plant after 5 years of consecutive lossesIf want to get the latest info better join Fb Subaru Xv club and get from recent members. https://www.nationthailand.com/business/automobile/40038738 This will affect or deter prospective buyers for sure |
Jul 22 2024, 04:39 PM
1,569 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Jul 22 2024, 04:30 PM) What I know is Subaru will increasingly becoming more niche, what more with Thailand closing plant after 5 years of consecutive losses Sidetrack a bit,https://www.nationthailand.com/business/automobile/40038738 This will affect or deter prospective buyers for sure Outside Malaysia, is Suzuki doing better than Subaru? |
Jul 22 2024, 04:47 PM
693 posts Joined: Jul 2017 |
QUOTE(dogbert_chew @ Jul 22 2024, 04:39 PM) https://www.globalsuzuki.com/globalnews/2023/0130a.htmlhttps://www.subaru.co.jp/en/ir/finance/performance.html Attached thumbnail(s) |
Jul 22 2024, 04:50 PM
4,067 posts Joined: Apr 2010 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(dogbert_chew @ Jul 22 2024, 04:39 PM) On the car side, their car are more simpler and well known as diet on weight, better power to weight ratio, best handling. The swift sport latest gen, check abroad user, kinda happy with it reliability dogbert_chew liked this post
Jul 23 2024, 08:44 AM
QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Jul 22 2024, 05:30 PM) What I know is Subaru will increasingly becoming more niche, what more with Thailand closing plant after 5 years of consecutive losses Na, actually for most current Subaru member it is a blessing in disguise. Subaru still will sell but direct CBU from Japan, we foresee the used value for Xv will hold better as new potential owners if cannot afford new CBU price might venture for used units. Some already ask on-line traders of their Xv 2nd value and found out the newer Xv2 with eyesight seems to hold better value in used market now.https://www.nationthailand.com/business/automobile/40038738 This will affect or deter prospective buyers for sure https://asia.nikkei.com/Business/Automobile...two-Thai-plants BTW, Honda also closing one of their factories in Thailand also. This post has been edited by littlefire: Jul 23 2024, 09:44 AM |
Jul 23 2024, 08:47 AM
QUOTE(dogbert_chew @ Jul 22 2024, 05:39 PM) Yes, as Suzuki got sell many small economy compact car/suv (A-B Segment) In Japan their K-Car is quite good also thus for sure will be better compare to Subaru in term of sales. (Subaru models mostly C-D Segment above, in Japan Subaru K-Car rebadge from Daihatsu so not much help.) This post has been edited by littlefire: Jul 23 2024, 08:56 AM |
Jul 23 2024, 09:00 AM
Repeated
This post has been edited by littlefire: Jul 23 2024, 09:00 AM |
Jul 23 2024, 09:04 AM
891 posts Joined: Mar 2017 |
Honda WR-V is way more in the road than Subaru XV.... wonder why....??
Jul 23 2024, 09:06 AM
QUOTE(Colinlim75 @ Jul 23 2024, 10:04 AM) Ade Honda, Ade Amoi. Honda & Toyota this 2 brand is too famous in Malaysia and high RV, most potential owners will go for the safe route. I got 1 friend which really like Subaru Xv, but his wife dont like the brand (She think Subaru is some US/China brand Well happy wife, happy life. This post has been edited by littlefire: Jul 23 2024, 09:08 AM |
Jul 23 2024, 09:53 AM
QUOTE(littlefire @ Jul 23 2024, 08:44 AM) Na, actually for more Subaru member it is a blessing in disguise. Subaru still will sell but direct CBU from Japan, we foresee the used value for Xv will hold better as new potential owners if cannot afford new CBU price might venture for used units. Some already ask on-line traders of their Xv 2nd value and found out the newer Xv2 with eyesight seems to hold better value in used market now. That alone will make it niche, I will give you a few exampleshttps://asia.nikkei.com/Business/Automobile...two-Thai-plants BTW, Honda also closing one of their factories in Thailand also. CBU Toyota CH-R CBU Mazda 3 & 6 CBU Suzuki Jimny and Swift CBU Mitsubishi Outlander CBU Hyundai and Kia They have inherent higher price due to duty and tax. And that makes them niche for new buyers As much some is doing better (Mazda 3) but most becomes rarity and some extinct in our market , what more with exiting owners the demand for it will dwindle because unless you are a collectors of cars , you will probably strike them of your buying list due to the perceived higher after sales service cost. A very simple math: your parts now are fully CBU and Ringgit is worsening against yen and shipping cost is ever rising Honda is consolidating production from two plants into one and not total closure like Subaru, my dear This post has been edited by EnergyAnalyst: Jul 23 2024, 09:57 AM |
Jul 23 2024, 09:56 AM
497 posts Joined: Feb 2010 |
QUOTE(littlefire @ Jul 18 2024, 10:24 AM) Sadly this, but similar reason people can still buy China cars. Hi, how's their boxer engine nowadays? will leak engine oil?I think mostly people are not aware of the pro of Subaru and prefer outer/interior cosmetic, cost and power You see most people when go buy China cars, wow the design so futuristic buy! But later brake, axle, spare part problem then blame car manufacturer again. Subaru did not got great marketing team to highlight their safety features (Which is their strong category) especially the eyesight system, for a niche brand actually their spare part support is quite sorted out (I been Xv 2015 owner until today never got spare part issue) and also got plenty of Japanese aftermarket support (half-cut) & OEM parts from Thailand & Malaysia. While some "local" brand say volume will help settle the spare part issue, until today still heard some parts need to wait for few weeks or months also. Few Reason Why Most Malaysia i heard don't pick Subaru - Poor RV - Design not attractive - Car price not cheap - Small boot size - Miss/incorrect-information about Subaru service/parts must be expensive (Nowadays Subaru also can offer those 3~5 years free maintenance package, similar to BMW/Mazda also) - CVT gearbox (Subaru CVT is using chain type - Which is more durable, not steel belt like those louzy gearbox from H brand) - Miss/incorrect-information that AWD must be bad in fuel consumption. |
Jul 23 2024, 10:25 AM
QUOTE(kevinpss @ Jul 23 2024, 10:56 AM) Any engine over 5~10 years also can leak engine oil bro, those rubber gasket/seal over time also will wear. If you see those old news keep saying gasket leak, those are engine head gasket which Subaru already solved since the latest FB engine series. Only normal valve gasket and timing chain cover overtime just reseal and change the rubber seal and good to go another 5~10 years. This post has been edited by littlefire: Jul 23 2024, 10:26 AM |
Jul 23 2024, 10:33 AM
QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Jul 23 2024, 10:53 AM) That alone will make it niche, I will give you a few examples FYI, Yen is the one worsening now. CBU Toyota CH-R CBU Mazda 3 & 6 CBU Suzuki Jimny and Swift CBU Mitsubishi Outlander CBU Hyundai and Kia They have inherent higher price due to duty and tax. And that makes them niche for new buyers As much some is doing better (Mazda 3) but most becomes rarity and some extinct in our market , what more with exiting owners the demand for it will dwindle because unless you are a collectors of cars , you will probably strike them of your buying list due to the perceived higher after sales service cost. A very simple math: your parts now are fully CBU and Ringgit is worsening against yen and shipping cost is ever rising Honda is consolidating production from two plants into one and not total closure like Subaru, my dear Nowadays you can change at around 1 MYR to 0.03 Yen, a lot of people start visiting and buying Japanese stuff on-line including me due to this advantage. But sadly confirm AP and different tax structure will bring up the car price. You can see even Honda newer cars like CRV also expensive nowadays, so an increase of around 20~30k is expected. This will need to see how the dealer and business management to maintain and play around their marketing strategy over the years. Some insider feedback they will wait and see our fuel price and EV/Hybrid policies, similar to Nissan their marketing team is going to sell the e-Power hybrid line models once the fuel price went up. Subaru also got next generation e-Boxer (Using Toyota Hybrid) on the line & Solterra EV, but expect to be lower sales volume due to tight competitions from China car brands. Well, yes Honda article does feedback they close down 1 of the 2 factories, this also means that majority of Japanese brand car sales are on the drop. This post has been edited by littlefire: Jul 23 2024, 10:59 AM |
Jul 23 2024, 12:24 PM
QUOTE(littlefire @ Jul 23 2024, 10:33 AM) FYI, Yen is the one worsening now. Yen is rising now especially in this month as compared to a year or two ago.Will it breaks 0.30, only time will tellNowadays you can change at around 1 MYR to 0.03 Yen, a lot of people start visiting and buying Japanese stuff on-line including me due to this advantage. But sadly confirm AP and different tax structure will bring up the car price. You can see even Honda newer cars like CRV also expensive nowadays, so an increase of around 20~30k is expected. This will need to see how the dealer and business management to maintain and play around their marketing strategy over the years. Some insider feedback they will wait and see our fuel price and EV/Hybrid policies, similar to Nissan their marketing team is going to sell the e-Power hybrid line models once the fuel price went up. Subaru also got next generation e-Boxer (Using Toyota Hybrid) on the line & Solterra EV, but expect to be lower sales volume due to tight competitions from China car brands. Well, yes Honda article does feedback they close down 1 of the 2 factories, this also means that majority of Japanese brand car sales are on the drop. https://www.xe.com/currencycharts/?from=JPY&to=MYR&view=1M Anyway, the topic is about why Subaru not many on the road. When you gives example of Nissan marketing strategy, I can't help but think thatvis teg weakest argument.Nissan was doing bad and handed its big top 3 non national car brands' post to be fought by Mazda and Mitsubishi in Malaysia and even overall South East Asia, Nissan is one of the worst performers |
Jul 23 2024, 02:19 PM
QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Jul 23 2024, 01:24 PM) Yen is rising now especially in this month as compared to a year or two ago.Will it breaks 0.30, only time will tell Sadly Subaru Motor Image is the same under Tan Chong group (which is Nissan also in it) thus is why their decision making are quite similar and are pulling out a lot of models due to their management decision. From what i know next move they will concentrate on cheaper EV & Hybrid models which is why they are going for China GAC and Nissan E-Power model range for Malaysia market.https://www.xe.com/currencycharts/?from=JPY&to=MYR&view=1M Anyway, the topic is about why Subaru not many on the road. When you gives example of Nissan marketing strategy, I can't help but think thatvis teg weakest argument.Nissan was doing bad and handed its big top 3 non national car brands' post to be fought by Mazda and Mitsubishi in Malaysia and even overall South East Asia, Nissan is one of the worst performers |
Jul 23 2024, 04:09 PM
693 posts Joined: Jul 2017 |
QUOTE(littlefire @ Jul 23 2024, 02:19 PM) Sadly Subaru Motor Image is the same under Tan Chong group (which is Nissan also in it) thus is why their decision making are quite similar and are pulling out a lot of models due to their management decision. From what i know next move they will concentrate on cheaper EV & Hybrid models which is why they are going for China GAC and Nissan E-Power model range for Malaysia market. Subaru (Motor Image) is under Tan Chong International Limited (TCIL)Nissan is Tan Chong Motors I think different. |
Jul 23 2024, 04:17 PM
497 posts Joined: Feb 2010 |
QUOTE(littlefire @ Jul 23 2024, 10:25 AM) Any engine over 5~10 years also can leak engine oil bro, those rubber gasket/seal over time also will wear. you didn't answer my questions tho.If you see those old news keep saying gasket leak, those are engine head gasket which Subaru already solved since the latest FB engine series. Only normal valve gasket and timing chain cover overtime just reseal and change the rubber seal and good to go another 5~10 years. QUOTE(dogbert_chew @ Jul 22 2024, 04:39 PM) you can see a lot Suzuki in India, but that was because they are doing JV, and government charge much lesser tax to Suzuki. Super high tax in India makes automotive brands very difficult to enter India market.This post has been edited by kevinpss: Jul 23 2024, 04:18 PM dogbert_chew liked this post
Jul 23 2024, 04:25 PM
QUOTE(littlefire @ Jul 23 2024, 02:19 PM) Sadly Subaru Motor Image is the same under Tan Chong group (which is Nissan also in it) thus is why their decision making are quite similar and are pulling out a lot of models due to their management decision. From what i know next move they will concentrate on cheaper EV & Hybrid models which is why they are going for China GAC and Nissan E-Power model range for Malaysia market. We can't blame everything squarely at Tan Chong Nissan was focusing on US, China and UK Europe They are not investing much resources into South East Asia , not Thailand and not Indonesia even, let alone Malaysia All heavy lifting is done by the local partners Suzuki at least know they will focus in India with Maruti and Japan with their kei cars Subaru's strategy is the most vague , they are almost focus entirely @ North America dogbert_chew liked this post
| Change to: | 0.0226sec
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 12:59 AM |