The Retrievers V2, The Smartest Dog Ever !

TTY81
post Mar 27 2008, 11:08 AM

70 posts

Hi Guys

wanna show you guys my new puppy i am getting in from Australia.
I am going to have 2 Retrievers in my hse now!

TTY81
post Mar 27 2008, 11:26 AM

70 posts

All in around 2.6k AUD
Yea..in malaysia most goldens locally bred are golden in colour

But main reason why i got it from aust is because at least i am sure that they are bred properly with hip scores taken into consideration.
Malaysia have too many BYB and puppy farms..
TTY81
post Mar 27 2008, 11:58 AM

70 posts

Yea...inclusive of all that is actually 2.7....
I also went around searching for petshops that do imports..but couldnt find any..found one in singapore..but they wanted to charge me 4-4.5k SGD ..so sourced for breeders myself online..

He hasnt arrived yet..going to be here only 2 weeks later as puppies have to be 3 months before being exported...

Coz the average breeder here in malaysia doesnt care about hip/elbow scores at all before breeding and where their pups go

The australian breeders on the other hand are super serious abt where they place their pups..and health tests( Got a email with 12 questions for me to answer from one breeder, had to call another breeder in australia through the phone)

If anyone is interested can go to dolforums.com.au
see their threads...very interesting for dog lovers

TTY81
post Mar 27 2008, 03:32 PM

70 posts

Are this people just random pet owners or puppy mill owners?
Yea must be super aggravating to see these people

I see a lot of GR puppies in pet shops in JB (where i stay) which..are really low quality...and are so tiny
TTY81
post Mar 31 2008, 11:10 PM

70 posts

GRHunter

Your sheriff looks beautiful.
Are you from JB?the houses in the pictures look very famailar LOL

How much did you get ur puppy for?

Your hunter looks like my second golden retriever which passed away 6 years back...

This post has been edited by TTY81: Mar 31 2008, 11:19 PM
TTY81
post Apr 1 2008, 10:33 AM

70 posts

Hi GRhunter,

I had 4 golden retrievers previously..2 of them were Aussie imports bought in Singapore..around 1992 and 1993 and the other 2 of them were their puppies. Still could remember during that time there were always people driving slowly across my house so they could see my goldens as they were still very rare then ...Only time we brought them to a MKA dog show they were the sole 2 representations of their breed.
Unfortunately all four of them have passed away..

I have one currently that i bought from 1 utama..around a year old.
I have another puppy coming in that i have sourced from a breeder in australia..

I noticed that your dogs feathering is quite long. Do you keep them indoors air conditioned?

Added on April 1, 2008, 10:35 amHi GRhunter,

I had 4 golden retrievers previously..2 of them were Aussie imports bought in Singapore..around 1992 and 1993 and the other 2 of them were their puppies. Still could remember during that time there were always people driving slowly across my house so they could see my goldens as they were still very rare then ...Only time we brought them to a MKA dog show they were the sole 2 representations of their breed.
Unfortunately all four of them have passed away..
Your Hunter looks like the male i bought from SG. Very obedient, can be let off the leash even w/o training...will follow me around the neighbourhood w/o running off

I have one currently that i bought from 1 utama..around a year old.
I have another puppy coming in that i have sourced from a breeder in australia..

I noticed that your dogs feathering is quite long. Do you keep them indoors air conditioned?

This post has been edited by TTY81: Apr 1 2008, 10:35 AM
TTY81
post Apr 2 2008, 11:33 AM

70 posts

Maybe...My Dog was from Barcasia Kennel in Western Australia, while the b**** was from Dancingate Kennel. Barcasia isnt operating any more while dancingate is by this VERY old lady..i called her to ask her whether she had any more puppies. In the end decided not to because wasnt sure of the quality of her puppies.
I guess you can bring in a 5 month old puppy but i think you probably have to pay more for it. i am paying 1500 AUD for a puppy which the breeder say is the best of the litter..but ..this kind of things hard to say. If you buy them from breeders in Aussy..at 2 months old its on average 900 AUD..i am paying 1500 because of the extra boarding and Vaccinations/Microchip because the puppy has to be 3 months old before it can be exported to Malaysia. Flight arranged by Dogtainers cost me AUD 1195..so all in AUD2695.

One problem you might face when you want to import a puppy is the barrage of questions you might get from the breeder as they are usually very suspicious of owners in Asian countries.Some of them want phone interviews etc etc * SUPER Troublesome*
A lot of them wants to desex the puppy before sending it over to Asia due to the reputation of puppy mills here.

I am curious why you want a working line golden. I know they are usually smaller in size and have less feathering..Do you know if they have a significantly different temperament?

Btw do you know if there are any puppy training classes in JB since you were involved in MKA events? Am able to teach basic commands..but anything beyond that i cant really do..will be good if there are such classes
TTY81
post Apr 3 2008, 08:11 AM

70 posts

Its not a bad deal if its Really the pick of the litter LOL..
didnt have time to fly over to Aussy..so put my faith in the breeder

Hmm could you kindly PM me your breeders contact?
i got a friend looking for a good quality locally bred GR and i dont have any such contacts around..

I guess for breeders looks are important and since they are mostly running it like a business , dont think they can appreciate the qualities of a working line GR.
TTY81
post Apr 4 2008, 04:01 PM

70 posts

Oh ..Clangan...
Yea heard of him before...
His dogs all look good on his websites definitely..i did email him before for more info ..but he told me his puppies were all being sent to east malaysia lol..

But his dogs hae very very long feathering..wonder how he does it ..coz..even on australian sites their dogs dont have such feathering..wonder if its the US/UK Breed variation
TTY81
post Apr 7 2008, 11:51 PM

70 posts

Finally got my puppy in ....
Man..the import procedures were just such a hassle!

TTY81
post Apr 9 2008, 04:34 PM

70 posts

All puppies are naturally naughty..
Guess that sorts of adds to their appeal.
My GR are always very "helpful"..all kinda holes in the garden to assist with planting of new plants/trees.
TTY81
post Apr 12 2008, 12:59 AM

70 posts

Photo of my puppy....
=)

TTY81
post Apr 14 2008, 11:00 PM

70 posts

All in , around 8k ringgit

TTY81
post Apr 16 2008, 01:35 PM

70 posts

Just saw this on a Aussy website about dog farms..want to share this
and do share with ur friends who want to get a pet

http://www.alv.org.au/storyarchive/0504prisoners/index.php

I realise i always see pple going on about how cheap they get their GR or whatsoever from a petshop and all that..but they wouldnt know what kind of conditions their pets are bred in.

i urge everyone who wants to buy a puppy to find out what condition it is bred in...and view the parents..
NOT just the price

These pple running dog farms are doing a business..the cheaper it is..the less is spent on ur pup..only logical..If aussy farms are like these..i shudder to think what some of the dog farms in malaysia might be

The pup might be cheap..but the subsequent vet bills wont be..especially in our breed where HD problems are frequently caused by irresponsible breeding.
TTY81
post Apr 22 2008, 03:05 PM

70 posts

Hmm which part of JB are you from?

Can you show us pictures of the parents?

TTY81
post Apr 25 2008, 02:04 AM

70 posts

first thing is to pick the right puppy.
FInd the right breeder..not the "Oh I have 2 goldens..lets let them breed!" kinda backyard breeder.
Important because this breed have a lot of Hip problems...the price u pay for a cheap pup..might cost a lot in the long term in the form of vet bills

Look at the parents..the puppies temperament depend alot on the parents..and don't buy a puppy where the breeder wants you to take it at 6 weeks..the extra time spent with the dam teaches the puppy bite inhibition among other stuff

Another thing Goldens...Dig...alot...
So prepare for holes in your garden =P

TTY81
post Apr 25 2008, 07:04 PM

70 posts

Well..u learn something new every day =)..its not only the dam but the interaction with their littermates . Thats why most responsible breeders never let their puppies go to their homes before 8 weeks old.

http://www.pets.ca/pettips/tips-44.htm
http://www.angelfire.com/va/banburybedrock/biting.html
http://www.morrco.com/tebiin.html

Added on April 25, 2008, 7:15 pmYou can read this post as well.
http://dogs.about.com/od/newdog/f/leave_litter.htm

http://stason.org/TULARC/animals/dogs/new-...rom-Litter.html

I think for your case your dam was a bit unlucky.

There are quite a of bit of material about this online..so you can probably research about it =)

BTW..i do think that all puppies like to eat ...regardless of breed

This post has been edited by TTY81: Apr 25 2008, 07:15 PM
TTY81
post Apr 28 2008, 01:28 PM

70 posts

Lol
ok..

if you say that you are hand feeding the puppy away from the dam which is why the puppies doesnt learn..doesn't it proves my point exactly that you need to keep the puppies with the dam for them to learn bite inhibition early in their life??
You can still feed them extra if they are not adequately fed ....

Anyway just want to say thats how the dam teaches the puppies the bite inhibition since you were wondering earlier on

TTY81
post Jun 2 2008, 09:48 PM

70 posts

Ermmm Pet shop owners who said that dark colour goldens are australian type goldens which are more expensive are bullshitting you.
you shouldnt pay more for darker colour puppies...you should be looking at the health of the pups instead of their colour
So dont get conned...by paying for a supposely premium colour

Golden retriever are quite good watch dogs...my 5 month old retriever puppy is already guarding my house together with my other retriever!

Pictures of my retrievers below...

TTY81
post Jun 2 2008, 09:56 PM

70 posts

btw forgot to emphasize that they are Watch dogs..not Guard dogs..which means that they can bark to warn about strangers..but they wont attack the intruders if they come in...

Get a fila brasilerios if you want a guard dog...not a retriever...but then they are not as handsome as Retrievers of Coz!

my 2 retrievers are the watch dogs while my husky walks around looking fierce Lol...

doesnt she look pretty? lol

0.0552sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 10:12 PM