Er...... in which way look like Lab..... are you sure?
The Retrievers V2, The Smartest Dog Ever !
Mar 26 2008, 04:24 PM
115 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
Er...... in which way look like Lab..... are you sure?
Mar 29 2008, 12:24 PM
Yes i can say Lab is Smarter than GR..
like Ben now almost 15 month still running hooping play like a small puppy and he cannot stand in 3 leg to urine... if he do 3 leg stand he will like falling tower.. Ben good guard dog barking when ppls outside when the person enter the gate he will stand up 2 led grab you very happy greeting you like dancing... hahahahah |
Mar 31 2008, 08:57 AM
QUOTE(keithkeat @ Mar 29 2008, 09:17 PM) Ben is a smart dog quick learner but abit lazy...... He just 15 month.Tot of bring Ben to MV for a walk last week... but is troublesome because cannot bring him to shopping area to have lunch together so didn't bring him along. Saw a nice GR name Raphal if i not mistake the name.. wonder he on this GR thread. Added on March 31, 2008, 9:07 am QUOTE(grhunter @ Mar 30 2008, 10:40 PM) ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() I've posted some pictures a while back. I'm a big fan of golden retrievers. Here are mine (refer to first picture) - from left, Hunter the gentleman (6 yrs +), Muffin the princess (3 yrs +) and Sheriff the brat (2 yrs +). My friends say it's crazy to tell them apart, but I'm sure the retriever lovers here can easily tell who's who from the picture! Sure miss them a lot since I left Malaysia. PS: Muffin is a retriever mix. This post has been edited by BigBen: Mar 31 2008, 09:07 AM |
Mar 31 2008, 09:29 AM
Mar 31 2008, 11:35 AM
QUOTE(grhunter @ Mar 31 2008, 10:23 AM) Thanks, actually I think Sheriff's it's a mix between UK and US type. He is from a show line. Dad is dark brown and his mom is light brown. I was hoping him to turn mahogany brown or close to his dad's colour, but it turned out lighter. He is heavier, has a more bigger built and has a broader head than Hunter, albeit being slightly shorter than Hunter when standing side by side (short legs). Your Sheriff have a beautiful look......... Love him a lot, very sweet natured and cute! We used to call him the flower horn ![]() Bigben is a very handsome dog - love his body structure. Is he from show line? Ben have a strong structure and a big chest...... anytime when move his head can pull you to any direction he want i attach this old pic taken few month back (solrry no latest pic) Yes his parents are Champion line in England Added on March 31, 2008, 11:56 am QUOTE(^Hobbes^ @ Mar 31 2008, 11:27 AM) Thanks for taking the time to reply, i'm sorry if its too much questions to ask Hello HobbesI do understand the undercoat term, but i was told that some GRs got no undercoat? Altho Hunter isnt bred for show, he still looks handsome to me So you mean a GR's puppy ear color wont change like his furs do? I attached some of Barney's pic below, can you help me identify his type e.g. US/UK ? » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Thanks for the lengthy reply once again i think the one no undercoat is Lab la if i not mistaken... Your Barney's is too small to say which type..... best to check his parent cert.... your dog body color still can go darker like the ear color ... that all can go This post has been edited by BigBen: Mar 31 2008, 12:17 PM Attached thumbnail(s) |
Mar 31 2008, 05:02 PM
QUOTE(grhunter @ Mar 31 2008, 04:09 PM) Thanks, Sheriff is a sweet dog. Naughty, but sweet. Yeah... local breeder .... he really have a good look now worry me peoples may come and kidnap him.... when i walk with him all cars, peoples slowly to see.Did you get Bigben from a local breeder? He looks really good. Any plans to enter him for conformation shows? How is his temperament like? No plan yet to enter him for show.... he highly intelligent and obedience i have yet send him for any training i just teaching him once the next he know how to do.... 1 obedience is when walk him back home enter the gate i take out the leash he will stay still until i enter the house and say OK then only move... |
Apr 1 2008, 09:32 AM
QUOTE(^Hobbes^ @ Mar 31 2008, 05:05 PM) Wow nice pics you have got there I think in seremban i don't have other infor....I guess its safe to say that GRs are realy easier to train? Added on March 31, 2008, 5:07 pm Err mind to tell me which local breeder you got it from ? I had a hard time looking for local breeders, i should have consulted this thread I heard nowadays people kidnap dogs around KL area, i have seen a fair few people distributing pamphlets looking for missing dogs And looking at those photographs those dogs are nice dogs, perhaps its a dognappin ring? Better take good care of your bigben, since he so handsome Yes nowdays alot of dog kidnap in kl area....in my area 1 big 5' x 3' banner put up for a missing adult GR... |
Apr 1 2008, 09:54 AM
QUOTE(grhunter @ Apr 1 2008, 09:30 AM) Yea, GRs are always crowd stoppers indeed. You are right, do be careful because a good dog like him fetch a high price for dognappers! Now is the best time for obedience training (through classes or by yourself) so if you have time do start training him the basics like sit, stand, stay, come, heel etc.. Hi grhunterBen know all this basics thing very well he even know by seeing my hand point which direction he follow but i don't know how to train him rolling on the floor and sit with 2 hand up..( i think he too heavy)... surprising part when i walk him and he done his job he will bite the leash pulling me back home or i let him bite the leash and walk together. But i find out this GR we need alot of talking to him and he learn more... and if he done something wrong he dare not look at me seated lifted his hand and i light beat his hand... but if he not in the wrong he won't lift up his hand.. hahaha All your dog already trained? |
Apr 1 2008, 10:21 AM
QUOTE(grhunter @ Apr 1 2008, 10:04 AM) Rolling on the floor is easy, it's better to do it on a softer surface like grass. When he's relaxed in a lying down position, just help him roll over and tell him the command. Be careful not to scare him though - do it slowly. yeah.. thank... i try many time roll him over until i too tired i lay down together with him hahaha... that situp i try it when i help lift his hand up he stand up also... The sit-up command should be ok for GRs to perform, but you need to teach him to balance on his hind legs first. Start off by slowly lifting his paws up and give him the command. Help him bit by bit and with plenty of practice he should be able to perform it himself. The sit-up is Hunter's favourite move. He does it when we tell him "sit up!". Whenever he did something wrong, he's impatient (waiting for treats) or when he's confused (asking him to do a command that he doesn't know), he does this as well. ![]() Yea GRs love the attention and they love being talked to. Hunter does the hand thing too when he does something wrong! Is that a gr thing? My dogs are all trained. Sheriff still needs some work as I wasn't consistent in training him when I was in Malaysia. Hunter has the most experience in obedience competitions, Muffin is quite okay but gets distracted when other dogs are around. Distracted by others dog this Ben same i have to shown him my finger and say NO NO NO then he sit quitely looking only.. 1 day hoping that Ben may able to situp like your la Have you send any of your dogs to show competition?? maybe wanted to know some tips... Added on April 1, 2008, 10:22 am QUOTE(won @ Apr 1 2008, 10:00 AM) Shushu unfortunately is one of the spoilt GRs. Won...I am still having trouble with him despite attending the lessons for quite some time now. He basically knows all the command well, but whether he will execute it depends on his mood. I am having major trouble looking for the things that would motivate him during training class. Though he is generally greedy for food, when at training class - he doesn't eat at all, and he doesn't respond to his favourite toys too. He is too busy "kepoh-ing" other people dogs, trying to get them to play with him which is disturbing the class. However, our head trainer actually quote the quote in GRHunter signature. He said shushu is well trained already, it is the handler that is not well trained.... I think you are too soft to your dog la.... that why he disobey you.. This post has been edited by BigBen: Apr 1 2008, 10:22 AM |
Apr 1 2008, 02:19 PM
QUOTE(grhunter @ Apr 1 2008, 12:53 PM) I entered Sheriff for like 4 shows, won nothing except some silly red and blue ribbons. Tq.. Conformation shows is expensive... wah.. better don't play.. IMO Conformation shows is an expensive sport, it takes a lot of time, a lot of energy. I'd really rather join obedience competitions - it's fun, bonds you with your dog and satisfying! yeah... grhunter since you have to 3 dogs what dog food you feeding them? any recommend.. my going 15 month feeding him Royal Canni Maxi 32 but nowday he don't like it very much... thinking of changing to Royal Canni Adult 26 or ...... |
Apr 10 2008, 09:35 AM
QUOTE(remymj @ Apr 10 2008, 09:06 AM) ya wor...i oso not really know y the dog like to dig a hole at garden there? this is call DOG/PUPPY ma..... if you don't allow them to do and they quite n lonely all the time then you will worry what wrong with your dogs. last time my puppy somore dig on my cushion! y ar? my dog same unplanted my plant but i leave it there every day he walk by and see it slowly he got sad face... but 1 think when your dog dig a hole in the garden do not let him see you close back the hole in front of him he will though you playing with him and he dig again.. close back n clean up when he not there or you teach him a lesson... |
Apr 10 2008, 01:42 PM
QUOTE(^Hobbes^ @ Apr 10 2008, 11:34 AM) Try Orijen ? Hi HobbesOr innova evo ? I think most will not recommend eukanuba Pro pac not really sure tho Added on April 10, 2008, 11:42 am Wow, at least he is tolerant, but Barney isnt tolerant with other dogs he gets hyper when other dogs sniffed him But he do share his food with others which is consider quite good edi Yeah i stil love the GR despite its size and cost of maintenance, their temperament makes people fall in love with them. ya lo... busy with work la.... i dare not try eukanuba food la... hear alot of story behind. i had try Orijen but Ben don't seen to like it alot and Innova evo is good but is expensive food but haven't it.. Blackwood when ben take is got a very smelly poo so stop..... my dog now is taking Royal Canine Maxi Puppy food and now he 15 month old and i got headache again to choose food for his age... maybe continue Royal Canine Adult food.. this Royal Canine is good food for dog. How your Barney now ... get hyper must control him don't let him overrule. |
Apr 10 2008, 01:58 PM
QUOTE(remymj @ Apr 10 2008, 09:39 AM) ohh...but i din scold him la...oni wonder y he do tat ler... Sometime you have to scold him... always let learn from your hand..if he done wrong pull him to the spot point your hand on the spot scold him NO NO he will learn.. i do this to my dog and now i saw his sad face i know he done wrong and the funny part he hide face under the chair or something to cover but his big body expose... hahahahbut its ok for me!he jus dig a hole n not unplanted ler...hehe!! |
Apr 10 2008, 02:11 PM
QUOTE(^Hobbes^ @ Apr 10 2008, 01:56 PM) Yeah work sux commitments sux we all feels like a slave Oh Nutram on your dog how the food he like it? i add Glucosamine tablet to Ben food too..I heard plenty of story about eukanuba and science diet, i guess if its aint broken dont fix it ? Contninue with royal canine its definitely a good food unless of coz you want to go really high end like inova evo. Barney is on Nutram Large Breed because i wanted him to have Glucosamine and Chondroitin for his bones as GR's are prone to HD Yeah i have to control him, else he'll think he is the top dog and he'd rule over me, he'd get hyper when he sees me and also when other dog go kepoh sniff him What other dogs you have? Only a GR? ya how you control when he saw other dog and go hyper.... will he keep pulling the leach if you walk with him. i got another Jack Russell i though GR very friend to stranger so hope he will learn from this JR barking when see some stranger but he did learn to become a guard dog now..when the crow come eat his food JR barking like mad and the GR sleeping only |
Apr 10 2008, 02:42 PM
QUOTE(^Hobbes^ @ Apr 10 2008, 02:22 PM) Yeap he likes it ya that the way to control him.. my dog same go crazy when he saw children i scare him knock them down with his size ... your dog aggresive la know how to growling my Ben don't know yet..So far so good, i'm contemplating giving him supplements like steam fish and etc, dunno if its a good idea or not He'd pull on the leash and i'd say NO and Sit, so now adays he pulled less, he just stand there and look Unless the dog comes and sniff him or disturb him One thing is he'll go crazy when he sees children and he still does That is why i named him Barney Yeah they dont have any food aggresiveness which is good, heck i havent seen Barney being aggresive, only once, while he was tugging on a piece of cloth i pulled on it and he gave me that aggresive growl He got a slap for growling Stopped ever since and he knows i dont tolerate any violence in my house and he is not getting away with the slighthest aggresive growl or behaviour. I saw some JRT at MV agility trial, they were awesome, planning to do agility trial with your JRT ? aiyaa.... JRT headache... go training oledi still like mad dog hard to control especially his barking and active.. |
Apr 14 2008, 09:25 AM
QUOTE(TTY81 @ Apr 12 2008, 12:59 AM) TTY81Beautiful dog already came home after all those headaches... Nice dog with a build up chest and look.. look like the Alpine White GR Added on April 14, 2008, 9:29 am QUOTE(hamster9 @ Apr 12 2008, 01:06 PM) hello..just back from pd beach Hamsterhere are some pictures Queen carry Abu on his leash back to shore swimming~ play kejar kejar... resting best picture of all... tho the image is noisy that fun for dog always wanted to bring my dog also but haven't try once.. hey.... after the sea water fun where did you wash and bath dog or you come home only you bath him? This post has been edited by BigBen: Apr 14 2008, 09:29 AM |
Apr 14 2008, 03:56 PM
Hi all
can somebody tell me did you seen any places that sell Royal Canin Maxi Adult Golden Retriever 25 dog food... i can't find anypet shop selling it... |
May 2 2008, 10:01 AM
Yesterday went to Fraser Hill after coming down and reach the area alot of people playing water i found a dog wondering along the roadside like looking for his owner. Look like border collies don't know is right or not.. look young but dare not come near me ...... here the pic can someone tell this is border collie??
Attached thumbnail(s) |
May 2 2008, 10:41 AM
QUOTE(remymj @ May 2 2008, 10:13 AM) NO... that pic not my dog ..... i think that is a lost dog la... i didn't brought him home cos i give him something and yet he don't allow me to touch him and i open the car door he just look only and don't go up so i left him alone in the that area..now think back miss him la.. my Ben is GR now is 1 and the half year old and i bought him 2k++ |
May 2 2008, 11:38 AM
Ben is Ok but very playful and obedience dog...
| Change to: | 0.0227sec
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 08:35 AM |