124 Pages « < 83 84 85 86 87 > » Bottom

English Clubs Manchester United Street Talks

treblecase
post Sep 4 2024, 08:56 AM

IHI
779 posts

QUOTE(statikinetic @ Sep 3 2024, 09:32 AM)
About a third. But it is the minimum number of games for me to be able to draw a certain conclusion on the team based on structure and style of play. It is a quirk of modern football that we judge performance game to game. Imagine if we joined a company and they did their performance appraisals every month. We should not be the old Chelsea.

I'm relatively ok this week because I expected a loss to Liverpool. They are a complete team and we are rebuilding. The unfortunate result was against Brighton. By having enough games to review, it lessens the impact of unfortunate events like Zirkzee offside.

I'm not saying it's OK to just accept losses.
I'm saying there is due process to this and it is part of the process. If we continue to be shit this season, the ETH has sacked himself anyway.
Well you really can’t blame some of the fans for reacting that way. After all we’ve seen it all before season after season, manager after manager & it has been relatively the same each season. Don’t forget mate that we have just been through last season with 14 defeats, a negative goal difference & finished 8th for goodness sake. Save for an FA Cup win, this season wouldn’t be like a normal season at all with no European football. And looking at other teams who seem to be able to operate in a “plug & play” situation no matter who the players are or manager, please forgive some of us for thinking it’s all gonna be 💩 again this season. And no, I don’t think winning another cup would save ETH again.

zhou.xingxing
post Sep 4 2024, 10:26 AM

:3
1,863 posts

interesting read - https://www.skysports.com/football/news/116...xit-and-academy

Man Utd transfers and recruitment: Dan Ashworth, Omar Berrada on INEOS strategy, Jadon Sancho exit and academy

In conversation: Ashworth and Berrarda explain strategy
Q: How would you describe the squad you inherited?

Ashworth: "Well first of all, I didn't inherit it. We did at Manchester United, we're a team in all of this, so from the first of July [when he officially joined the club] there had already been some decisions made about key areas of the pitch to strengthen.

"We'd already lost two or three key players: Raphael Varane, Anthony Martial and Sofyan Amrabat from memory had all gone, so there was a centre back, a central midfielder player/six, and a centre forward were the key and we felt we probably would need another centre back as well. They were the four key positions we really wanted to strengthen in this window and we've done that - by bringing in Zirkzee, Ugarte, Yoro and De Ligt.

"That was fundamentally, as I walked in, the pre-agreed positions, partly because of exits and partly because of the view they were areas we wanted to strengthen our depth and quality.

"Mazraoui and Wan-Bissaka was one where Aaron had a year left on his contract, had an opportunity to move on, so we were able to freshen it up and trade that position.

Q: Ten Hag had a lot of power in the old recruitment structure, and it seems that has continued with the incomings this summer?

Ashworth: "Again, I can't comment on what's happened previously, I don't know how they've made the decisions on players coming in, and as I've already alluded to, it's a joined-up process: we looked at objective, subjective opinions and come up with the best possible solution we can to fill the positions we have identified.

"It is natural in human nature to work with somebody you've worked with previously in all contexts, in all business contexts. That is a natural sway because you know that person, because you know that player, but also we've signed a number of players this summer that haven't worked with Erik: Yoro, Ugarte. And he'd never worked with Zirkzee - you can't say just because he's Dutch he knows him.

"He's worked with Matthijs and Noussair previously. They were both on our radar and it's a joined-up decision on who comes in and out of this football club."

Q: What happened with Sancho?

Ashworth: "I think with any player, whether it's Jadon, whether it's Scott [McTominay] or whether it's Aaron, if there's a preference that they would like to move and go to a new club and it's right for them and it's right for us, then you have to explore it.

"We felt we had enough depth in that particular position to be able to cover it, we've got four really good wide players, Jadon was a fifth, and it just enabled us to make that decision. If it was good for him and good for us it was something we were willing to consider."

Q: The club seemed more aggressive with clauses and more willing to soften on valuations, so outgoings could get done?

Berrada: "For the ins and outs we had a very clear idea for what we wanted to achieve, both in terms of the positions of the players but also from a financial point of view.

"It is true that we have been more open to structuring the contracts in a way that can deliver value for us in the short-term, but also in the future, introducing higher sell-ons, more realistic contingents, we have done that with practically all of the players who have gone out, from the young ones to the more senior players.

"We have also tried to put in place certain policies to protect us in the future. So we have the ability to buy back a player - Willy Kambwala - if he does really well, then we have the ability to bring him back. And we have done that again with lots of other young players."

kamemada
post Sep 4 2024, 11:43 AM

165 posts

QUOTE(treblecase @ Sep 4 2024, 08:56 AM)
Well you really can’t blame some of the fans for reacting that way. After all we’ve seen it all before season after season, manager after manager & it has been relatively the same each season. Don’t forget mate that we have just been through last season with 14 defeats, a negative goal difference & finished 8th for goodness sake. Save for an FA Cup win, this season wouldn’t be like a normal season at all with no European football. And looking at other teams who seem to be able to operate in a “plug & play” situation no matter who the players are or manager, please forgive some of us for thinking it’s all gonna be 💩 again this season. And no, I don’t think winning another cup would save ETH again.
you do realize you're repeating what he was saying, and most of the comments before you.
treblecase
post Sep 4 2024, 12:27 PM

IHI
779 posts

QUOTE(kamemada @ Sep 4 2024, 11:43 AM)
you do realize you're repeating what he was saying, and most of the comments before you.
Yeah, aren’t most of us like that. It’s frustrating for sure.
drmundo
post Sep 4 2024, 12:30 PM

17 posts

afteer liverpool match ayam terus mc for 2 days, still dont know what is the root cause.
kamemada
post Sep 4 2024, 01:07 PM

165 posts

we should learn from the livs fans, to be more chill. even with klopp, they only won 1 epl. and arteta 0.

11 years after saf, we should know by now, that it's not our time yet. sure, be angry lah, but 11 years bah -- if married, got divorced already?!

go play that sunwukong game, or support wrexham for a change.

got mc sommore, what for? 11 years should make us numb and moved on already.

life is too short to be depressed.

This post has been edited by kamemada: Sep 4 2024, 01:09 PM
simmarjit
post Sep 5 2024, 01:39 AM

980 posts

QUOTE(kamemada @ Sep 4 2024, 01:07 PM)
we should learn from the livs fans, to be more chill. even with klopp, they only won 1 epl. and arteta 0.

11 years after saf, we should know by now, that it's not our time yet. sure, be angry lah, but 11 years bah -- if married, got divorced already?!

go play that sunwukong game, or support wrexham for a change.

got mc sommore, what for? 11 years should make us numb and moved on already.

life is too short to be depressed.
Yea but they started with playing a style showing signs of progress with some weaknesses which were solved with certain signings, then they challenged City for a number of seasons, also reaching 3 UCL finals in 5 years (the same as the United when we were great) and then finally winning PL also, and they also came close to a Quadruple.
kamemada
post Sep 5 2024, 02:16 AM

165 posts

QUOTE(simmarjit @ Sep 5 2024, 01:39 AM)
Yea but they started with playing a style showing signs of progress with some weaknesses which were solved with certain signings, then they challenged City for a number of seasons, also reaching 3 UCL finals in 5 years (the same as the United when we were great) and then finally winning PL also, and they also came close to a Quadruple.
Sure, I mean, Liverpool fans endured decades of midtable seasons way before Klopp. We should endure and accept the fact that we're the pre-Klopp right now and stop "11 fking years, we sucked after SAF. Wuhu".🙊

This post has been edited by kamemada: Sep 5 2024, 02:19 AM
simmarjit
post Sep 5 2024, 07:40 AM

980 posts

QUOTE(kamemada @ Sep 5 2024, 02:16 AM)
Sure, I mean, Liverpool fans endured decades of midtable seasons way before Klopp. We should endure and accept the fact that we're the pre-Klopp right now and stop "11 fking years, we sucked after SAF. Wuhu".🙊
Decades of midtable seasons? LOL They were in the original Big 4. In fact post SAF, they only finished outside of top 4, 3 times, we are on 6 times.

We aint in the pre-Klopp. We are in the Kenny Daglish Liverpool era, pre-Brendan Rodgers.
kamemada
post Sep 5 2024, 10:25 AM

165 posts

QUOTE(simmarjit @ Sep 5 2024, 07:40 AM)
Decades of midtable seasons? LOL They were in the original Big 4. In fact post SAF, they only finished outside of top 4, 3 times, we are on 6 times.

We aint in the pre-Klopp. We are in the Kenny Daglish Liverpool era, pre-Brendan Rodgers.
Sure, thanks for the correction. At least you're agreeing with me in your last line -- we are in the shit era.

So let's suck it up, and enough with this crybabies nonsense.
MamulaMoon
post Sep 5 2024, 07:59 PM

137 posts

This kid didn't mention Manchester City because Manchester City were playing in Division 2 sweat.gif

Typical really.
statikinetic
post Sep 5 2024, 08:28 PM

BaneCat
2,940 posts

A lot of focus has gone into Casemiro and our defence.
Our main problem remains scoring goals. Same problem from last season. Same problem going into this season. Our horrendous GD last season was mainly because of our poor GF.

This season based on the stats, Manchester United has the worst xG differential in the League right now in terms of expected goals.
Meaning, the biggest difference between xG and what we actually score. We are scoring way below expected (negative). Clinical sides like City score more than their xG (positive). It points to chances are being created, just not taken.

icehart85
post Sep 5 2024, 09:00 PM

874 posts

QUOTE(statikinetic @ Sep 5 2024, 08:28 PM)
A lot of focus has gone into Casemiro and our defence.
Our main problem remains scoring goals. Same problem from last season. Same problem going into this season. Our horrendous GD last season was mainly because of our poor GF.

This season based on the stats, Manchester United has the worst xG differential in the League right now in terms of expected goals.
Meaning, the biggest difference between xG and what we actually score. We are scoring way below expected (negative). Clinical sides like City score more than their xG (positive). It points to chances are being created, just not taken.
That'e because Rashford xG dropped sharply from 30 to 0 tongue.gif
lee82gx
post Sep 5 2024, 09:03 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(kamemada @ Sep 5 2024, 02:16 AM)
its one whole generation of fans not knowing success for Liverpool, and before too long it will be another generation.
Example my kids, he does not even know who is Ronaldo of ManUtd. These will be the lost generation and they will like the Pool kids before Klopp. provided for some unknown reason they fall in love willingly with a Hollywood FC team like MUFC. Either way, dynasties rise and dynasties fall. Babylon will not come back, Persia will not come back.
kamemada
post Sep 5 2024, 09:30 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Sep 5 2024, 09:03 PM)
its one whole generation of fans not knowing success for Liverpool, and before too long it will be another generation.
Example my kids, he does not even know who is Ronaldo of ManUtd. These will be the lost generation and they will like the Pool kids before Klopp. provided for some unknown reason they fall in love willingly with a Hollywood FC team like MUFC. Either way, dynasties rise and dynasties fall. Babylon will not come back, Persia will not come back.
i guess we will be dead when MU become champion again lol
statikinetic
post Sep 5 2024, 09:50 PM

BaneCat
2,940 posts

QUOTE(icehart85 @ Sep 5 2024, 09:00 PM)
That'e because Rashford xG dropped sharply from 30 to 0  tongue.gif
He barely generates anything for fantasy league players too.

QUOTE(kamemada @ Sep 5 2024, 09:30 PM)
Have faith.
zidane28
post Sep 5 2024, 11:26 PM

295 posts

I have a feeling that within 5 years we will be Champion again though...
simmarjit
post Sep 6 2024, 01:54 AM

980 posts

QUOTE(zidane28 @ Sep 5 2024, 11:26 PM)
We are constantly 3 years away from winning LUL ....
zidane28
post Sep 6 2024, 02:32 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(simmarjit @ Sep 6 2024, 01:54 AM)
We are constantly 3 years away from winning LUL ....
LOL, well as I said, atleast this time we sorted out top management already...

What left is the deadwood players from years of mismanagement...

And perhaps the coach too...

So 5 years, should be nice amount of time to sort them all and become champion contender again...
orga_laut
post Sep 6 2024, 11:39 AM

254 posts

QUOTE(zidane28 @ Sep 5 2024, 11:26 PM)
jose 2nd season was the closest .. ole 2nd season was just luck because of empty stadium and covid just look at the points difference can know ..

under eth, his 1st season was good before 7-0

for me, i think its the players. as jose once said, inheritance

124 Pages « < 83 84 85 86 87 > » Top

0.0318sec    0.23    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 04:36 AM