Surge in number of overweight & obese M'sians , over past decade
river.sand
May 16 2024, 06:21 PM
QUOTE(Chrono-Trigger @ May 16 2024, 04:59 PM)
which makes me suspect warm weather has something to do with it.
We don't walk because of our impossible weather.
There, at least for 9 months in 1 year, you walk you don't sweat. and cold weather makes you want to move to generate heat.
Weather is one factor. Lack of pavements and pedestrian crossing is another.
I walk from my home in KL to nearby shop and back - 2000+ steps
In Singapore, I walk from my sister's home to nearby shop and back - 3000+ steps
=> turns out I am less tired in Singapore.
This post has been edited by river.sand : May 16 2024, 06:23 PM
JohnL77
May 16 2024, 06:25 PM
QUOTE(knumskul @ May 16 2024, 06:15 PM)
Not about what you eat.
More about how much/often you eat and your lifestyle outside of eating habits. They burn off the calories they consume. Do we?
https://youtu.be/-RYDVCYApvQ
VIDEO
knumskul
May 16 2024, 06:31 PM
QUOTE(JohnL77 @ May 16 2024, 06:25 PM)
Should rename the city stairs city. All I see is stairs.
h@ksam
May 16 2024, 06:33 PM
QUOTE(Chrono-Trigger @ May 16 2024, 04:55 PM)
you know, despite all the oil and fried things the chinese eat in China , I am surprised they are not fat.
is it because of our weather? hot weather with sweet food = becomes fat fast?
partially to blame.
hot + humid = no outdoor walking, everyone drives or sit grab
too little body motion everyday
JohnL77
May 16 2024, 06:34 PM
QUOTE(knumskul @ May 16 2024, 06:31 PM)
Should rename the city stairs city. All I see is stairs.
Didn't skyblu3 kena banned for keep repeating this city name?
knumskul
May 16 2024, 06:44 PM
QUOTE(JohnL77 @ May 16 2024, 06:34 PM)
Didn't skyblu3 kena banned for keep repeating this city name?
Think so. Thought bannable comments will be deleted but all still there.
khelben
May 16 2024, 08:53 PM
QUOTE(Brotherjoe @ May 16 2024, 06:18 PM)
i believe during PN covid lockdown. many gain wait due to WFH and cannot go out hiking or exercise..
During the 2.5 years i had gained 15kg.. the last two years trying to go back to my before covid time.. Feel like very hard to loose just 5kg.. gained back after CNY..
It's all about willpower
empyreal
May 16 2024, 08:58 PM
QUOTE(Coldf3ar @ May 16 2024, 05:05 PM)
bcoz healthy food not cheap..
ppl getting poorer everyday. nasi lemak with ayam rm8 everyday can tahan skip lunch.
When i eat economy rice, i pay half what my buddies pay since i eat twice their vege and half their proteins.
Atrocious
May 16 2024, 09:13 PM
Even though there's a surge in the number of overweight and obese Malaysians in the past decade, we should still need to decide what's for supper tonight..
MADReaLJL
May 16 2024, 09:15 PM
you know, despite all the oil and fried things the chinese eat in China , I am surprised they are not fat.
Sugar is main enemy to human body, vegetable oil is 2nd
Our so called local food and cuisine, most of them are sugary rich
This post has been edited by MADReaLJL : May 16 2024, 09:17 PM
JohnL77
May 16 2024, 09:50 PM
QUOTE(knumskul @ May 16 2024, 06:44 PM)
Think so. Thought bannable comments will be deleted but all still there.
Such a long ban. Meanwhile, 18 Jan still here.
kamfoo
May 17 2024, 03:22 AM
petrol too cheap
brkli
May 17 2024, 05:25 AM
china population so big and the diet varies a lot from region to region, which u referring too..
achong09
May 17 2024, 06:29 AM
QUOTE(Coldf3ar @ May 16 2024, 05:05 PM)
bcoz healthy food not cheap..
ppl getting poorer everyday. nasi lemak with ayam rm8 everyday can tahan skip lunch.
Unker eat healthy everyday..
Niamah want to eat healthhy also have to pay so much idiot lo😥😥
SUS SuperGampang
May 17 2024, 06:38 AM
QUOTE(zhou.xingxing @ May 16 2024, 04:57 PM)
they walk a lot... just see how many steps u register a day. they can walk for easily 10-5k per day,
This. U just need to walk more. My weight increase a lot since i moved and work in office. During my site days where i walk more than 10k a day my Weight maintain no matter what i eat. Of course i do uses stairs a lot too at that time.
vivakarna
May 17 2024, 07:03 AM
Its time for sugar tax
Phoenix_KL
May 17 2024, 07:12 AM
QUOTE(achong09 @ May 17 2024, 06:29 AM)
Unker eat healthy everyday..
Niamah want to eat healthhy also have to pay so much idiot lo😥😥
not true.
Blofeld
May 17 2024, 07:55 AM
bcos eating good fat is not the major culprit for obesity
it is sugar
IamBlind
May 17 2024, 07:59 AM
jgn buat survery during cny and raya time lah. musim makan and be fatty
Chobits
May 17 2024, 08:04 AM
Why so many orang gila think if there are good paved roads, people will opt to walk? Can anyone tell why? Because Malaysia is hot as hell which causes sweat. Chii doubt anyone would want to go a place all sweaty