QUOTE(dannychen @ Feb 12 2025, 10:36 PM)
I bought a car from Sime Darby autofest at B.Jalil so the solar panel is free.Estimated at around 22k based on salesman explained.
Solar providers, any recommendation?
Feb 13 2025, 08:50 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
676 posts Joined: Jul 2010 |
Feb 13 2025, 07:30 PM
3,351 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
QUOTE(khiunngiap @ Feb 10 2025, 10:43 PM) Hi Brothers , i am comparing the vendors for my solar panels , as i have the option to build solar as roof by Epsilon . ( Others not so willing to do so ), it slightly different to compare with other typical solar system vendors. Install on awning and roof NEM submission shows 15kW inverter? And your total cost don't really add up when I try to calculate it They quoted below: RM : 36,460 - Total RM : 7200 - Awning part RM : 29,260 - Solar System part MONOFACIAL DUAL GLASS MONOCRYSTALLINE MODULE 24 Unit 660.00 - Brand : Trina Solar Vertex S+ (N Type) - Model :NEG9R.28_EN_2024_500W - Nominal Maximum Power (Pmax) : 500W - Optimum Operating Voltage (Vmp) : 42V - Optimum Operating Current (Imp) : 10.36Amp - PV Array : 24 x 500W = 12KWP RM 15,840.00 2 Inverter 15KW Three Phase 1 Unit - Brand : Think Power - Rated Power : 15KW AC - Maximum PV Array Open Circuit Voltage : 850VDC - MPPT Range @ Operating Voltage : 250 - 800VDC - Number of MPP Trackers : 2 x 2 String RM 4,000.00 RM4,000.00 Any review on Epsilon ? and it is a string system instead . So far this is the cheapest solution if i just care about the kw and all in the awning inclusive price. Btw, I am using thinkpower single phase inverter & they are quite decent! |
Feb 15 2025, 12:41 AM
196 posts Joined: Sep 2010 |
QUOTE(adamw @ Feb 13 2025, 07:30 PM) NEM submission shows 15kW inverter? And your total cost don't really add up when I try to calculate it haven't reach there yet , as i haven't confirm with them.Btw, I am using thinkpower single phase inverter & they are quite decent! i am trying to simplify , if awning as solar roof , RM : 36,460 , take away the structural part is RM : 29,260 - By referring RM 29260 , i can compare other solar vendors quotation. Mostly offering 11-12kwp , 31k to 35k , micro inverter solar system only. Therefore , with my awning cost : around 7k , (regardless , i need to build a backyard awning) , the whole system will stretch more than 40K if i am not taking ,epsilon,aka solarmy This post has been edited by khiunngiap: Feb 15 2025, 12:50 AM |
Feb 15 2025, 09:35 AM
3,351 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
QUOTE(khiunngiap @ Feb 15 2025, 12:41 AM) haven't reach there yet , as i haven't confirm with them. Most probably because you getting smaller capacity for panels. Normally other vendors with 12kW inverter oversize the panels to 14kW+-. Micro is always higher price than string.i am trying to simplify , if awning as solar roof , RM : 36,460 , take away the structural part is RM : 29,260 - By referring RM 29260 , i can compare other solar vendors quotation. Mostly offering 11-12kwp , 31k to 35k , micro inverter solar system only. Therefore , with my awning cost : around 7k , (regardless , i need to build a backyard awning) , the whole system will stretch more than 40K if i am not taking ,epsilon,aka solarmy |
Mar 22 2025, 05:50 PM
1,344 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: somewhere in the galaxy *~o~o*-* |
Dear sifus,
I'm new to solar and can't stand paying >RM6xx monthly for the bill. - 3 phase power (3 storey) - monthly usage between 1300-1400kWh (once shot up to 1450kWh when the weather was super hot) - 20 years old house with many old electrical appliances - probably won't be getting any EV - 8 airconds (ranging from 1hp to 2hp at living rooms) - All 9 members are all putera and puteri lilin 😅 I've read this thread that only Epsilon offer installation as awning. This is one of my consideration but not a must. Anyone heard or using GME Greentech and Plus Xnergy? Main concern is quality/warranty and cost. If there's 0% instalment option lagi good. I'm not sure what kinda setup is suitable. Can sifu sekalian offer your advice based on your experience? Thank you! This post has been edited by boringpig: Mar 22 2025, 05:52 PM |
Mar 23 2025, 12:49 AM
178 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
Just curious, why do you consider 0% instalment option as one of the key criteria in decision making? In my experience, 0% instalment is just pure marketing gimmick.
But not sure if you could make it in time for Solaris rebate, unless TNB extends it. This post has been edited by swing123: Mar 23 2025, 07:24 AM |
Mar 27 2025, 01:23 PM
1,344 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: somewhere in the galaxy *~o~o*-* |
QUOTE(swing123 @ Mar 23 2025, 12:49 AM) Just curious, why do you consider 0% instalment option as one of the key criteria in decision making? In my experience, 0% instalment is just pure marketing gimmick. Because we need cash for renovation (urgent fix) and also want to take advantage of the 4k rebate before it expire. That's the reason why I'm looknig for those with instalment or rent-to-buy/own.But not sure if you could make it in time for Solaris rebate, unless TNB extends it. |
Apr 7 2025, 03:55 PM
99 posts Joined: Jul 2019 |
Not sure if this is the right thread, but i have an old subsale house and on the roof have a broken solar water heater. Not sure what is the brand. Anyone know whether I should be able to obtain the company name (if the company still exists) and ask the workers to remove?
Or just ask those usual house contractors and they should also be able to remove it? I don't intend to use solar in the future. Just instant water heater will do. |
Apr 12 2025, 12:16 AM
2,714 posts Joined: May 2008 |
QUOTE(ItsJustheOne @ Apr 7 2025, 03:55 PM) Not sure if this is the right thread, but i have an old subsale house and on the roof have a broken solar water heater. Not sure what is the brand. Anyone know whether I should be able to obtain the company name (if the company still exists) and ask the workers to remove? It is not related, but still we love to help.Or just ask those usual house contractors and they should also be able to remove it? I don't intend to use solar in the future. Just instant water heater will do. You can just ask renovation contractor to remove. They will charged accordingly. |
Apr 13 2025, 12:20 AM
QUOTE(cdspins @ Apr 12 2025, 12:16 AM) It is not related, but still we love to help. Thanks. Btw i'm also concerned about the pipings and water tank connections etc. Yeah I have asked a contractor to inspect, and they said can remove then after that, terminate the piping or something. You can just ask renovation contractor to remove. They will charged accordingly. These solar water heaters are using those internal concealed pipings? Then after remove, also considering whether install instant water heater or how. |
Apr 15 2025, 04:55 PM
2,714 posts Joined: May 2008 |
QUOTE(ItsJustheOne @ Apr 13 2025, 12:20 AM) Thanks. Btw i'm also concerned about the pipings and water tank connections etc. Yeah I have asked a contractor to inspect, and they said can remove then after that, terminate the piping or something. It all depends on the condition of the house and the piping conditon. Just go to the bathroom that have mixer tap.. if you didn't see any piping to the mixer tap means it is conceal. These solar water heaters are using those internal concealed pipings? Then after remove, also considering whether install instant water heater or how. What to do with the pipings also depends on your budget. You can ask contractor to do a pressure test to check if there is leakage on hot water pipings... but then again usually the plumber will not provide any warranty if leakage happens next time. The cheapest solution is of course instant water heater. |
Apr 15 2025, 07:28 PM
QUOTE(ItsJustheOne @ Apr 7 2025, 03:55 PM) Not sure if this is the right thread, but i have an old subsale house and on the roof have a broken solar water heater. Not sure what is the brand. Anyone know whether I should be able to obtain the company name (if the company still exists) and ask the workers to remove? How old is old? If already 15yrs or more, i suggest you lay new pipe over whole house for the peace of mind, especially if you plan to do renovation. You dun want to have the renovation done then 3-4 yrs later pipe leakage ruin ur renovation. For my case, i rather cut my renovation budget to fit in the new piping n wiring for whole house.Or just ask those usual house contractors and they should also be able to remove it? I don't intend to use solar in the future. Just instant water heater will do. At one time around 10-15 yrs ago if not mistaken, there was trending for new housing projects to use ABS pipes, said to be a better materials which turned out not to be. Check if tat house is running ABS piping, if yes, better lay new pipes. This post has been edited by swing123: Apr 15 2025, 07:30 PM |
Apr 15 2025, 08:29 PM
QUOTE(swing123 @ Apr 15 2025, 07:28 PM) How old is old? If already 15yrs or more, i suggest you lay new pipe over whole house for the peace of mind, especially if you plan to do renovation. You dun want to have the renovation done then 3-4 yrs later pipe leakage ruin ur renovation. For my case, i rather cut my renovation budget to fit in the new piping n wiring for whole house. Previous owner stayed around 2010 onwards. Damn, maybe it's ABS pipings. Will contractor/plumber know how to check? At one time around 10-15 yrs ago if not mistaken, there was trending for new housing projects to use ABS pipes, said to be a better materials which turned out not to be. Check if tat house is running ABS piping, if yes, better lay new pipes. Turned out not to be? Why, what happened with ABS? What did you meant by 'especially if you plan to do renovation'? Anyway, wow if want to do new piping and wiring, damn, that will cost almost RM30k isn't it? And a lot of things need to be destroyed. No guarantees new piping won't leak though. This post has been edited by ItsJustheOne: Apr 15 2025, 08:30 PM |
Apr 16 2025, 08:48 AM
QUOTE(ItsJustheOne @ Apr 15 2025, 08:29 PM) Previous owner stayed around 2010 onwards. Damn, maybe it's ABS pipings. Will contractor/plumber know how to check? Heard many horror ABS stories from frens and relatives, especially if running water pump.Turned out not to be? Why, what happened with ABS? What did you meant by 'especially if you plan to do renovation'? Anyway, wow if want to do new piping and wiring, damn, that will cost almost RM30k isn't it? And a lot of things need to be destroyed. No guarantees new piping won't leak though. If you bought the house that already done with reno and u intend to just move in, then dun bother with new piping n wiring. If u bought a basic house and intend to tear down everything to renovate all over, then can consider running new wiring n piping. |
Apr 16 2025, 09:43 PM
QUOTE(swing123 @ Apr 16 2025, 08:48 AM) Heard many horror ABS stories from frens and relatives, especially if running water pump. Any example stories could share? Or can PM me if it's confidential.If you bought the house that already done with reno and u intend to just move in, then dun bother with new piping n wiring. If u bought a basic house and intend to tear down everything to renovate all over, then can consider running new wiring n piping. Well the house is an old subsale house, I do plan to do reno, stuff like tiles etc. But to tear down everything to run new wiring and piping, I would like that, but thinking of the costs $$$ involved and also no guarantees current workmanship will be better compared to last time. Somemmore the contractor I plan to use is not old sifu like last time my parent's days. Also if wanna run new wires and piping gotta hack all the tiles and existing kitchen cabinet. Ah this is slightly off topic already, not about solar providers anymore, but damn haha |
May 7 2025, 05:56 PM
19 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
—
This post has been edited by jasonlel: May 7 2025, 06:21 PM |
Jun 25 2025, 02:30 PM
695 posts Joined: Apr 2010 |
With new TNB tariff overhaul, those who installed solar might get screwed if solar generation can only knock off the electricity charge and not the network charge/capacity charge.
Will need to wait for official announcement. |
Jun 28 2025, 11:42 AM
17,693 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: Bandar Baru Bangi , Malaysia |
Wonder how much does it cost to install the solar, roughly how much
Jun 28 2025, 12:04 PM
3,587 posts Joined: Apr 2019 |
QUOTE(jason1986 @ Jun 25 2025, 02:30 PM) With new TNB tariff overhaul, those who installed solar might get screwed if solar generation can only knock off the electricity charge and not the network charge/capacity charge. i would think that network charge/capacity charge should not be knocked off simply because when pushing electricity from solar into the grid, the same network is being used rite? Will need to wait for official announcement. but those with solar batteries installed at home also won't experience this right? |
| Change to: | 0.0192sec
Time is now: 24th November 2025 - 11:22 PM |