Anyone Noticed That European Links Went Bad?, Latency >400ms (Update Aft 2 Mths Unrsv)

SUSpetpenyubobo
post Apr 22 2024, 08:54 PM, updated 2y ago

1,030 posts

Anyone noticed that Malaysian European links have doubled in latency over weekend?

Funny thing is that if it is cable cut or severed, it should affect entire region but seems SG looks fine and not affected much even HK which is even further from Europe latency for them is even lower than us.

Why no announcement made or our network administrators still sleeping? laugh.gif

Is there something happening?

This post has been edited by petpenyubobo: Jun 22 2024, 12:02 AM
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Apr 22 2024, 09:10 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(anakkk @ Apr 22 2024, 09:07 PM)
so far no compliant to access AWS europe region, means all good for me :X
Speeds seem not really affected but the latency can cause authentication failures, dropouts and captcha requests for suspicion.
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Apr 23 2024, 01:12 AM

1,030 posts

Bangladesh Suffers Internet Outage after SEA-ME-WE 5 Cable Break
Telcos say that their mobile services remain unaffected

https://www.datacenterdynamics.com/en/news/...-5-cable-break/

As reported by the Daily Star, a Bangladesh newspaper, the breakage occurred just after midnight on April 20.

Despite the disruption, which is expected to last for two-three days, the country's telecom providers have not reported any issues, but are monitoring the situation.

Bangladesh Submarine Cables PLC (BSCPLC), a stakeholder in SEA-ME-WE 5, said the breakage happened between Singapore and Malaysia.

Because of this, all traffic between Singapore and SEA-ME-WE 5’s landing station in Kuakata, Bangladesh, is down. The damage means that Bangladesh has lost 1.7 Tbps of international capacity. The country has been able to source 100 Gbps from the western part of the cable that runs to France.

It also has an additional 2.7 Tbps of terrestrial capacity via international terrestrial cable (ITC) license holders that import bandwidth from India.

"A ship will be mobilized to repair and restore the service. Total operation will take minimum two to three days," Mirza Kamal Ahmed, managing director of the Bangladesh BSCPLC, told the Daily Star.

The traffic has instead been re-routed to the SEA-ME-WE 4 subsea cable, the country's first submarine cable installed in Cox's Bazar. Deployed in 2006, the cable has a capacity of 850 Gbps of bandwidth and has recently been upgraded to a capacity of 3,800 Gbps

The SEA-ME-WE-5, which stands for South East Asia - Middle East - Western Europe 5 Submarine Cable System, was completed in 2017 and connects from Europe to Singapore across 20,000km.

In November 2022, the SEA-ME-WE 5 cable was severed in Egypt, disrupting several countries including Indonesia, Djibouti, Eritrea, Pakistan, and Yemen.

Next year, the SEA-ME-WE 6 cable is set to go live, again connecting Bangladesh, and is set to provide 13,200 Gbps of capacity.

Cable breakdown happened somewhere between Malaysia-Singapore as mentioned in the news, but incident wasn't reported to public.

There seems to be a coverup and no party is coming out to admit it. sad.gif

Access is to Europe is uninterrupted but latency has been increased by 2X from the average 230ms to now 400+ms.

SUSpetpenyubobo
post Apr 23 2024, 05:37 PM

1,030 posts

EU latency is still very bad today.

All local ISPs who is partner of the SEA-ME-WE 5 undersea cable and uses TI-Sparkle (SEABONE) AS6762 is suffering from very bad EU latency at this moment including TM.

Palermo and Marseille are the 2 major cable landing sites (PoPs) in Europe for TI-Sparkle one in South Italy and the other South France.

Besides TM, both YES (AS45960) and U Mobile (AS38466) are big subscribers to TI-Sparkle. Expect bad EU connections when using them.

Celcom-DiGi are has the best EU connectivity now.

SUSpetpenyubobo
post Apr 25 2024, 02:43 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(SpIcYjOe @ Apr 25 2024, 09:23 AM)
Wonder when can they fix this issue. My print server is located in Europe and it’s being a big hassle not able to operate properly. :S
It happened somewhere between the stretch in between Melaka and Tuas.

The longer it takes the more it shows how incompetent and lousy our cable repair response team is. Bad reputation for the country.

Even Bangladesh reported this incident in their news but ours just kept quiet about it.
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Apr 25 2024, 02:56 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(SpIcYjOe @ Apr 25 2024, 02:48 PM)
I thought was something to do with my office’s network or connection. Did so many “installing”, “uninstalling”, “reinstalling”, plug unplug, reset DNS, reset IP. Even called TM and they said no issue from their end. Wasted an entire day. Gosh.

According to my team, the connections have yet to be resolved. Still slow. How to run a business if the service we are paying for are not doing anything.
Why spend more then on an internet connection?

As long as it has good uptime, gets the job done with good speed will do for most of us.

400ms+ average now to EU major destinations. Some close to 500ms inwards such as Switzerland and Austria.
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Apr 26 2024, 06:01 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(rezzorix @ Apr 25 2024, 08:10 PM)
See also here TIME response to MCMC complaint:
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=109614445

Theres also other posts on the pages starting 570 of the main topic.
I'm actually very worried about what is going on right now with no official announcement being made or news about this.

Take a good look at this table and tell me is this a big issue and cannot be easily solved?

Logic thinking will tell you that a simply VPN connection to India, Dubai (UAE) or even Israel will solved this problem. But check out yourself and do a ping to India servers, the pings are even WORST than connecting to Europe itself.

500ms+ from Malaysia to India. Other unaffected destinations such as UAE, Israel all cut off too?

What is happening? Is there a cyber terrorism going on without the public knowledge to cut Malaysia and ASEAN region out from Europe?

Mind you a single undersea cable breakdown between Malaysia and Singapore wouldn't cause this. We have so many other major undersea cables that lands in both SG and Penang FYI.

In Penang alone, there's 4 major cables that links direct to India namely:

SAFE-South Africa Far East Cable
FLAG-Europe-Asia
BBG-Bay of Bengal
AAE1-Asia Africa Europe 1

Also many VPN companies have recently removed physical India servers without any explanation. They virtualized its location that is actually routed from somewhere else like HK.

Something really fishy is cooking here....

A single undersea cable SEA-WE-ME 5 won't have such impact and the easy solutions to reroute to India, plenty of other major cables that link SG and Penang to India/Middle East into Europe.

SUSpetpenyubobo
post Apr 26 2024, 06:27 PM

1,030 posts

This is not just a few ISPs that are are affected with bad ASN routings in Malaysia.

It's even affecting major ones in SG including Cogent, M247, OVH, Google and NTT.

We have this many submarine cables in this region that could easily reroute to India/Middle East to reach Europe so just a single SEA-WE-ME 5 cable being taken down won't impact the entire region.

This post has been edited by petpenyubobo: Apr 26 2024, 06:28 PM
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Apr 27 2024, 02:41 PM

1,030 posts

Just look at the latency results from places in the Far East such as Tokyo, Hangzhou and Shanghai to Europe.

Shanghai to Amsterdam only 190ms+?

Malu leh for ASEAN region to be close to 400ms.

It's time to reconsider bypassing the troubled Bengal and Middle East war regions and venturing into alternative paths such as the Silk Road, Central Asia and Russia to reach Europe.

Too risky to be overly dependent on those Middle East and India regions to reach Europe.

This post has been edited by petpenyubobo: Apr 27 2024, 02:42 PM
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Apr 27 2024, 03:17 PM

1,030 posts

RETN's TransKZ Terrestrial Land Based Cable Network - Dostyk-HK

TEA-Trans East Asia Europe Terrestrial Cable

So what really happened to the SEA-ME-WE 5 cable and AAE-1 cable which controls >80% of ASEAN-Europe region traffic? Shark bitten? So coincident?
It's a week now, nothing much about how the incident occurred and no official press release and its details.

While we allow this risks of being bargained by India and Middle East? Nope I don't think so.

Russia, China and Central Asia is proven more reliable route to gain access into Western Europe.

Can't risk silly excuses about shark attacking cables, wrongly lowered anchors by ships and octopus messing with the cables nonsense. Faster retrieval and repairs too.
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Apr 28 2024, 02:45 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(rezzorix @ Apr 28 2024, 12:11 AM)
@petpenyubobo it seems you are overthinking this and are a bit too much on a conspiracy path rather than approaching this logically.

1) AAE-1 - 24. Feb 2024: There was a terrorist attack on a boat near Yemen. As a result the boats anchor then cut the cable.
2) SEA-ME-WE 5 - 17.-19. Apr2024: There were maintenance works going on 440km off the coast of Singapore after that salt water penetrated the cable causing an outage.

Even though you see many cables on the map, the 2 cables in question do together 64 Tbits/s (64,000,000 Mbits/s).
The rest of cables together are doing less than that (please correct me if wrong).

Imagine 2 of the biggest, most frequented highways in / around Kuala Lumpur are just closed... because something like that is whats happening.

And thats not enough;
3) in mid March there were several cables cut during a landslide around Africa etc. etc.

Summary:

Due to the issues a lot of traffic has to go different routes and it is not like other cable infrastructure can just take up additional volumes without impact.

What is NOT happening:
Shark bite or anyone trying to cut off SEA from Europe. Makes no sense.

What is happening:
1) Terrorist attack - indirect, yes (AAE-1),
2) Human error, very likely while performing maintenance (SMW-5),
3) Natural disaster, yes (Africa).
What must be done better: Communication from the ISPs to their customers.
Otherwise we will have people go nuts and start making up stories in their minds that are likely not true.
I'm not making a fuss or trying to be dramatic here with my fingers crossed.

There is indeed serious politics and rivalry here among US/Bharat against China at work here.

The construction of the upcoming SMW6 cable consortium initially wanted Huawei Marine Networks(HMN) to supply and build the undersea cable but later was rejected due to their uneasiness with China.

It is important for ASEAN region not to be overly dependent on any side so that we will not be held at ransom in future by certain parties without an alternative.

Two Chinese Operators Withdraw from Sea-Me-We 6 Subsea Cable Project As Tensions with US Grow
https://www.datacenterdynamics.com/en/news/...s-with-us-grow/

The reason for China's withdrawal is reportedly due to US company SubCom being awarded a contract to build the cable, rather than Hengtong Marine, China's biggest fiber cable provider in the sector, noted the FT, citing three sources. Hengtong in 2019 acquired a majority stake in Huawei Marine Networks, after US sanctions forced a sale.

It's a blow for the project, which isn't due to go live until 2025, with the two operators combining to invest 20 percent into the project, with the overall cable set to cost $500 million.

Set for 2025, the Sea-Me-We 6 cable is backed by a consortium including Microsoft, Orange, Telecom Egypt, Telekom Malaysia, Airtel, and -until now - all three of China's mobile operators. The other Chinese operator, Unicom, is still said to be involved with the project.

One member of the consortium described China Mobile and China Telecom's involvement in the project as "important but not critical."

It's no secret geopolitical tensions have escalated between China and the US in recent years.

In 2021, a subsea cable set to connect the Pacific Island nations was scrapped after the US government warned that Chinese companies pose a security threat.

At the time, the World Bank-led project declined to award a contract for the East Micronesia Cable rather than let it go to Chinese cable company HMN (Huawei Marine Networks) Technologies.
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Apr 28 2024, 03:02 PM

1,030 posts

In retaliation and to ensure the security of Trans Europe-Asia connectivity to have full monopoly of the access to Europe, China Mobile and China Unicom is making efforts to link Far East Asia via Central Asia/Siberia to reach European shores securely bypassing the risky religious war prone regions of ME/South Asia.

One initiative not made known much to public is the SEA-H2X Cable which is currently slated to be in operation later this year with a design capacity of 160Tbps linking HK, Hainan Island, Songkhla, Kuching and Tuas Singapore.

https://www.capacitymedia.com/article/2aafg...e-subsea-bridge

It's being built by HMN (Huawei Marine Networks) with a consortium consisting of China Mobile, China Unicom, ppTelecom(Sarawakian initiative)

This will link into CMI HK's Tseung Kwan O datacentre and SG's Tuas landing Equinix SG3/Global Switch

Via HK, this will route into China(Silk Road) - Central Asia across Trans Siberia/Russia into Europe bypassing the need of over reliance of the risky Middle East/South Asia war torn regions via terrestrial land cables.

Beijing/Hangzhou/Shanghai remains unaffected by the SMW 5 cable incident with an average latency to Europe just below 200ms(Mainland)/250ms(Tokyo).

In comparison the next SEA-ME-WE addition SMW6 only has 126Tbps initial design capacity so this is even more interesting.

SUSpetpenyubobo
post Apr 29 2024, 03:23 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(SpIcYjOe @ Apr 29 2024, 03:08 PM)
I wonder when can this issue be resolved. It has been a week and I still cannot access the website for me to operate my business. Feeling lost.
If there was an alternative link or competing network, you see how fast they'll resolve it?

This is a good lesson to ASEAN and Far East Asian countries not to rely on the Middle East and South Asian countries to reach Europe.

They've been playing politics and blaming China to prevent them from helping build the submarine cables instead award to their own companies to monopolize the trade.

All the recent SMW undersea cables have this controversy.
SUSpetpenyubobo
post May 5 2024, 12:51 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(michaelkkl @ May 3 2024, 06:23 PM)
One of the broken cable (AAE-1) are expected to restore between May 13 until May 18 according to my source.
Managed to get good routing with a help of M247/31173's European servers. For the past 2 weeks my latency to Europe major cities was able to be lowered down to 230-260ms.

SUSpetpenyubobo
post May 5 2024, 01:19 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(rezzorix @ May 5 2024, 01:01 PM)
Means Mulvad VPN? Why not write that? 🤣
I actually don't have Mullvad VPN. But I know it's using 31173 AB as one of its hosting carrier partners.

Can't disclose my exact solution entirely here for prying eyes. brows.gif

This post has been edited by petpenyubobo: May 5 2024, 01:21 PM
SUSpetpenyubobo
post May 5 2024, 02:11 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(ajimix @ May 5 2024, 02:04 PM)
Maybe you got a server there and configured your own VPN?

I also need a solution, this is getting absurd, so long without a solution and TIME doesn't officially say anything.

Maybe you can share via PM?
I can't hint any further not because I'm selfish but to avoid zergs from rushing into the solution and spoiling it all.

No offense ya.

I have already gave enough hints previously with RETN's Trans Siberia/Central Asia-China links, M247/31173 Europe routing.

The rest you have to figure out a way how to utilize them. icon_idea.gif

rezzorix Yes, Mullvad is one of the VPN providers which is using 31173 AB based servers out there...But I don't have an account with them. They're among one of the most expensive VPN service out there but not the only solution.

SUSpetpenyubobo
post May 5 2024, 04:12 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(frontierzone @ May 5 2024, 03:46 PM)
Does Secure DNS in recent web browsers change routing ?
Nope, DNS has very little effect unless the site you're accessing has extensive CDN mirror servers around the world.

Its purpose is to translate a web address to an IP of a server that belongs to the network/webpage you're accessing.

The use of CDNs is to balanced out the traffic and equally distribute them in different regions instead of forwarding all traffic to just one server serving the entire visitors pool around the world.

It's like say a website has mirror CDN servers in SG, London and New York.

If you're accessing from Malaysia, when you request for "example.com" for instance, it'll point you to its SG server's IP which is the nearest and with the fastest latency.But that is sometimes conditional, if all the 3 servers have their own localized contents such as Netflix/Disney you might want to access the other regions servers when you send request for the website or the SG server may be over-congested so you want to try other less congested servers in other regions.

This is where the secured geo-based DNS server comes into picture, they'll force resolve the address to the specific regional server's IP which is in their own region like for example a Malaysian user using a European secured DNS, it'll point to European Netflix server instead even if your ISP is based in Asia.

Most of the free public DNS which we are using won't have special features like the example use mentioned above, where it forces your address requests to be pointed to a specific regional server outside your physical location. It still depends on your ISP's routing and upload capacity to ensure smooth transfers/latency to other regions.

SUSpetpenyubobo
post May 5 2024, 11:41 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(haya @ May 5 2024, 10:54 PM)
You are free to get your ASN, announce your own routes, and buy transit from RETN, Rostelecom, JSC TransTelecom, and China Telecom. Let me know how much they charge you.

There is a reason why despite the RJCN, it is cheaper to buy transit from Japan down to SEA, through South Asia, up the Red Sea, landing in Marseille, France, interconnect with TransTelecom (AS20485) in LINX, bounce over the Eurasia continent, to a host in Vladivostok.

If you think TM (Wholesale) cekik darah, wait till you see what Transtelecom charges for Eurasia Highway, and China Unicom charges for their side of the ERA terrestrial cable system.
Not with the geo-politics games now the West are playing to manipulate the ME/South Asia routes to Europe.

The threat and possibility to bypass these regions as an alternative for Far East Asia(Japan-SKorea-China)is becoming a reality.

Not just with submarine cables but also sea routes being replaced with land transport. Too risky for them to hold you under ransom during emergencies when you become too overdependent on just one route.
SUSpetpenyubobo
post May 5 2024, 11:42 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(ajimix @ May 5 2024, 02:04 PM)
Maybe you got a server there and configured your own VPN?

I also need a solution, this is getting absurd, so long without a solution and TIME doesn't officially say anything.

Maybe you can share via PM?
~240ms only to Western Europe during peak hours on a Sunday night.

SUSpetpenyubobo
post May 6 2024, 12:11 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(haya @ May 6 2024, 06:42 AM)
This is Networks and Broadband, not /k or RWI.

I will leave these facts:

- India Asia Xpress (IAX) under construction by China Mobile and Reliance Jio
- PEACE Cable being built by HMN
- MIST cable that will provide another link to South Asia transit sources

I suppose it is easier to blame the evil west and their multiculturalism than the fact that a lot of the existing cable systems west (ha ha) of Malaysia reaching EOL:

- FLAG is older 3G
- SAFE has less bandwidth than a port in MyIX
- SEA-ME-WE 3 has more downtime than SEA-ME-WE 5 cable and AAE-1 combined

There is a lack of capacity westward from SEA.

If you think it is challenging getting the necessary permissions and permits running submarine cables across South Asia and the Middle East, wait till you try and run terrestrial cable systems across sovereign countries. 

As I said, if latency and route diversity is so important, you are free to get your own NSP and NFP licences, get your own ASN, and see how much China Unicom and Transtelecom charge you to use their ERA, ERMC, TEA, TRANSKZ, terrestrial cable systems.

But you wouldn't, not because it is cheaper to just re-route via East Asia and North America to Europe, but because it is easier blaming the evil multicultural communist west.
You still don't get it do you?

When your rival already blatantly told you that you're a threat to be part of their global submarine cable build out and you don't want a backup plan to secure yourself in the event they blackmail you further in future by cutting you off entirely from the Indian Ocean route?

Do you think China and Russia is short of strategists that is unaware of this security threat?

They can't risk the entire Far East Asia region from being totally cut off from Europe by allowing other from pulling their legs.

About the high costs of securing this route, what response do you expect from China and Russia when previously you complained about them being a threat to your submarine cable consortium?

Of course they've going to counter you with a "nice" quotation bill as a nice way to tell you to get lost when you were the first to initiate the cold treatment of accusing them as a threat of joining your consortium.

Ever heard the childhood lesson story about the The Fox and The Stork? You get what you ask for.

Also why the suggestion of me setting up my own ASN when I'm just a mere consumer? I'm blushed to be suggested such solution.

0.0254sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:07 AM