Mov_freak
post Mar 23 2010, 01:04 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Mar 22 2010, 07:44 PM)
I hope you dun blame me huh  notworthy.gif
....some 1080p like that...for older movies.
No lah. If BD has bad transfer, how can blame u??!! smile.gif

I remember clearly blaming Warner Brother for the bad transfer.

Another movie they botch is Clash Of The Titan (the original). Another movie I enjoy down the drain.

*Sigh*

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Mar 23 2010, 10:25 AM
Mov_freak
post Mar 25 2010, 08:52 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(HIM @ Mar 25 2010, 03:25 AM)
Just watched Primal fear(1996). the movie was brilliant. Absolutely mind blowing.  Anymore this kind of movie?
Have u had the chance to watch Edward Norton in Red Dragon (much more gory though)
Mov_freak
post Mar 25 2010, 10:34 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Mar 25 2010, 09:14 AM)
He was great in Primal Fear, boring in Red Dragon. The guy is a bit hit-or-miss for me, althought there are more hits than misses.
Wow, first Sandra Bullock, now Edward Norton in Red Dragon!!!!????

QuickFire I don't care what you say, YOU ARE HARD TO PLEASE!!!!!! laugh.gif
Mov_freak
post Mar 25 2010, 04:40 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(Makakeke @ Mar 25 2010, 01:54 PM)
Norton was mediocre in 25th Hour, Red Dragon and The Illusionist.
*Sign* rolleyes.gif
Mov_freak
post Mar 27 2010, 10:02 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

The Rundown (2003)

Well, is a vehicle for Dwayne Johnson (The Rock) to introduce himself to audience of cinema that he can be an action hero.

I like this movie and had just watched it again on BD!

PQ is good

SQ is VERY explosive

Storyline a little silly but somewhat works

Oh Dwayne Johnson gets himself a sidekick/comic relive Seann William Scott (whom I also like).

I like this movie enough to wonder why he abandon this line of movie (action hero) and went family oriented movie (eg. Race to Witch Mountain and Tooth Fairy)

Maybe he thinks Sylvester Stallone and Arnold Schwarzenegger had done them all!!

My two Sen
Mov_freak
post Apr 5 2010, 01:30 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(Makakeke @ Mar 27 2010, 11:07 PM)
The Man Who Stare At Goats - bollocks movie.
Aw.............. I kinda like it!!

Saw it during the weekend on BD.

Having Ewan McGregor have the piece of dialogue with George Clooney (stated in the spoiler) is FREAKING brilliant!! laugh.gif
Mov_freak
post Apr 8 2010, 11:09 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Apr 8 2010, 09:34 AM)
How to Train Your Dragon

It's good. I liked it. But Pixar have nothing to worry about at the moment, the gulf is still pretty big, though I have to say.... judging by the trailers, Toy Story 3 looks like it could be a dud.
My MIND CONTROL is complete!!

I got you to watch How To Train Your Dragon!!

Wait, did you watched it in 3D??

If Yes, MY MIND CONTROL IS TRULY COMPLETE!!

If No, *GRUMBLE* *GRUMBLE* *GRUMBLE* !! laugh.gif
Mov_freak
post Apr 8 2010, 11:12 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(swks26 @ Apr 8 2010, 09:42 AM)
Fired Up

It's a little bit like American Pie kind of genre. But this has more of a storyline to it.
2 guys go to cheerleading camp. Well, quite predictable, but has quite a lot of lulz in it laugh.gif

The indian dude was funny

F U . . . *CLAP* *CLAP* *CLAP* F U . . . *CLAP* *CLAP* *CLAP* F U . . . *CLAP* *CLAP* *CLAP*

(*Translation* Fired Up... *CLAP* *CLAP* *CLAP* Fired Up... *CLAP* *CLAP* *CLAP* Fired Up... *CLAP* *CLAP* *CLAP* ) laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Apr 8 2010, 11:51 AM
Mov_freak
post Apr 8 2010, 11:49 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Apr 8 2010, 11:35 AM)
Don't flatter yourself... and I didn't watch it in 3D. tongue.gif
NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOoooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo....................................... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Apr 8 2010, 11:50 AM
Mov_freak
post Apr 8 2010, 11:56 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Apr 8 2010, 11:53 AM)
You mean

You forgot to add the

tongue.gif
Mov_freak
post Apr 9 2010, 12:12 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Firestarter (1984)

It has been EONS since I last watched this.

Got the chance to watch it again 2 days back

Have to say, it is NOT as impressive as when I watched it when I was "younger"?

All the raving about how good an actor Drew Barrymore was at that age, but looking at it again, Dakota Fanning and Abigail Breslin blows her out of the water (at that age)

Interesting how the term "Pyrokinesis" (the ability to star fire telepathically) was coined in Stephen King's novel which was adapted into this movie.

Some of the fire effects are still impressive by today's standards but not all.

Some BIG loophole in the story but again this was the 80's and EVERYBODY just wanted to have fun!! tongue.gif

My Two Sen
Mov_freak
post Apr 17 2010, 12:56 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Kick Ass... Well, KICK ASS! smile.gif

Wasn't planning on watching anything this week, and my evening opened up, so went to watch one.

The options were Shutter Island and Kick Ass.

Because "someone" said that I would be ABUNDANTLY problematic if I didn't watch Shutter Island, so I went to see Kick Ass. smile.gif

This is NOT a particularly expensive movie (in Hollywood, a not expensive movie is about 50 Million), unlike movies like Clash Of The Titans and Transformer 2, and it is NOT a bad thing.

Three things to know about this movie

1) It is ULTRA violent
2) It is VERY funny
3) It is going to make an OBSCENE amount of money. It could probably be a sleeper hit like District 9 for 2010.

There are a lot of concern that the censorship board would overly butcher this movie, apart from a few cut choice words (no more then f or seven) and 3 or 4 nude/love/sex scenes all violence are shown it full glory.

I've always been amuse by how the censorship board is more concern about sex compared to violence.

I have to say Tarantino would probably squirm at the violence in this movie.

I abhor violence and do hope people who watches this movie uses it as a conduit to funnel out any pent up stress and feel lighter after the experience and hopefully NOT emulate the art. (Yes I'm a hippie)

If u are above 18 yo and want a movie that is off beat and funny, please consider Kick Ass

My Two Sen
Mov_freak
post Apr 19 2010, 03:46 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Yes Man (2008)

Am in a funk at this point in time and decided to watch again Jim Carrey's yes man.

He had not had a HIT for quite some time and watching this, he had not exactly aged gracefully.

Again the Hollywood formula of fixing a guy of any age with a youngun (young one) prevails here (Jim Carrey and Zooey Deschanel, sister of Emily Deschanel, of Bones fame)

Is Jim Carrey "trying" too hard? In some scenes yeah but this movie had some funny scenes.

Terence Stamp is definitely a scene stealer here (portraying Terrence Bundley, a self help guru)

And this is also one of the first movie I can remember Bradley Cooper in (have anyone seen the A-Team trailer. I didn't want to watch the movie until I saw the trailer!! smile.gif )

This movie is funny as you are watching it, but afterwards you go, what was I laughing at again??

Oh yeah, Jim Carrey in a very tight Harry Potter outfit watching a harry Potter marathon.

Well at least Peyton Reed (director) didn't put Jim Carrey in a Cheerleader outfit, complete with Pom Poms (Peyton Reed also directed Bring it On)

My Two Sen

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Apr 19 2010, 03:47 PM
Mov_freak
post Apr 20 2010, 10:51 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Fame (2009)

Wow, for an inspiration movie, it is NOT very inspirational...

My Two Sen
Mov_freak
post Apr 30 2010, 10:45 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Iron Man 2 (2010)

Watched it at Pavilion cinema 4 (digital projector) 2D.

It is LOUD and a visual SPECTACLE

Luv Black Widow's moves

If u like Iron Man you'll LUV Iron Man 2

My Two Sen
Mov_freak
post May 23 2010, 10:10 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

An Empress and the Warriors (2008)

Can you say, schizophrenic??

This movie had alot of thing going for it.

For an Asian production, it had a relative big budget, a well know action director as director, and a couple of big Asian stars as leads.

So, how did so much go so wrong, one word schizophrenic!!

It has so many personalities, the audience if left dumbfounded!

There are alot of other issues with the movie, but my head hurts (I just finished watching the movie, I need to go mediated now to rid myself of a bad case of movie induced schizophrenia.... I hope!! laugh.gif)

My Two Sen

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: May 23 2010, 10:12 PM
Mov_freak
post May 23 2010, 11:11 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Daybreakers (2009)

Everything about the vampire genre had been done. EVERYTHING!

Until Daybreakers come out. tongue.gif

Watched it on BD yesterday, and it is.... original!

It's about this vampire named Edward (who sparkles under the sun, NO literally, not the visit Korea slogan!!?! tongue.gif) and this human girl named Bella who SMELLS DELICIOUS to Edward and oh, oh this oddly and constantly barechested young guy call Jacob who so happen to be a dog... er I mean werewolf!!

........ *

Sorry, for a minute there I was channeling a.... teenage girl!! laugh.gif

Okay, seriously, Daybreakers in NOTHING like the above.

The majority of the population are vampires, and their food source, living humans are getting scarce...

Ethan Hawke, plays Edward Dalton, a vampire scientist (does THAT sound weird) is running out of time to find a solution by developing synthetic blood.

A chance encounter with a group of human, leads him to find Lionel 'Elvis' Cormac (Willem Dafoe) an "ex vampire"???...

Lots of fun

I like it

It is a wonder that the movie didn't perform well (box office wise) in the theater (maybe because of the rating, R).

My Two Sen

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: May 24 2010, 12:18 PM
Mov_freak
post May 27 2010, 08:44 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Prince Of Persia: Sands Of Time (2010)

You have NO IDEA how hard writing this is for me...

After the near DUD (Clash Of The Titans by Warner), this is is the next hyped to the max big budget production for 2010.

I really REALLY want to luv this.

I'm a big fan of the game (the original Prince of Persia used the same game engine as Karateka (Apple 2C platform), anyone, ANYONE!! smile.gif

I believe the issue is two fold

1) Big Budget = MORE meddling from production company's executive, hence storyline is convoluted (can you say ROJAK)

2) Big Budget = Jake Gyllenhaal could hardly keep himself noticeable with all the big events happening around him....

Mike Newell is a very good director (Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (2005), Donnie Brasco (1997), etc)

This is NOT one of his best work....

I REALLY want to LOVE this movie and end up think it was OKAY only... cry.gif

My Two Sen
Mov_freak
post May 30 2010, 07:17 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ May 30 2010, 02:24 PM)
watched 'Me, myself an Irene' last nite...man...I didn't know it was that good...had it with me for quite a long time but never watched until my friend recommended me....the boob scenes...priceless
Wow u NEVER watched Me Myself and Irene?? So is it "available"?? smile.gif

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Jun 4 2010, 11:44 AM
Mov_freak
post Jun 4 2010, 11:44 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Dracula 2000

Slap Wes Craven on a movie and chances are, I'll love it.

When this movie was first release, I was kinda blindsided by it.

10 years later, and I still find myself enjoying it!!

Got to watch it in HD yesterday, and the transfer is pretty good.

One of the very first Gerard Butler thing I can remember, and interesting to note, although Jonny Lee Miller is the lead, Gerard is the bigger name at this point.

Interesting twist on the tired subject of Dracula.

The movie even had the audacity to put on screen the "origins" of Dracula!!

Also one of the first thing that I can remember seeing Jeri Ryan (Star Trek Voyager's Seven of Nine fame).

Also, re-watching this movie, how Len Wise elaborated on some concepts from this movie (eg the lead actress long flowing leather jacket with the I eat trouble for breakfast look)

Just wish they never made Dracula II: Ascension and Dracula III: Legacy.... *Sigh*

My Two Sen

13 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0202sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:21 PM