Driving Performance, Redefined by Technology
https://www.continental-tires.com/my/en/b2c...maxcontact-mc7/

Latest UHP From Continental Malaysia
2024 Feb / Mar soft launch
Official launching and media etc still pending

Rumours is that still got many MC6 leftover stocks to clear

Why choose this tyre
Maximum control and dynamic steering precision.
Even shorter braking distances in both wet and dry conditions.
Low noise – the balance of sporty and silent.

MC6 VS MC7

General Specs:
TreadwearTractionTemperature
360AAA

Available Sizes

Cornering Macro-blocks
MAXimum Control
While cornering, the tyre's outer shoulder bears the greatest force and pressure. The Cornering Macro-blocks maximises the contact area with the road to create a wider footprint, then efficiently distributes the force to other parts of the tyre for better handling and stability.

ReFlex Compound
MAXimum Control
Optimised compound stiffness results in a higher resistance to tyre deformation and improved steering response and precision. The ReFlex Compound comprises an enhanced polymer blend that provides excellent safety on dry and wet roads under mild to warm temperatures.

Shorter Braking Distance
3D Laser-cut Sipes
MaxContact MC7's laser-cut 3D sipes comprising of Star & Lightning sipes and Aquasipes. They work together to cut through the water film from multiple angles and directions, then effectively eject water from the grooves.

Sporty Silent
Noise Breaker 3.0
Tyre noise is produced by tread as sound waves travel through the grooves, the Noise Breaker 3.0 interrupts the waves by disrupting the homogeneity of the grooves. The sound waves are broken up and dissipated into smaller frequencies, preventing noise from building up and travelling into the cabin of the car.

other brochures

Actual product in Malaysia

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Mar 3 2024, 12:33 PM
andrekua2
post Mar 1 2024, 05:24 PM

13,460 posts

Saw the promotional video on FB... nothing impressive. MC6 is already a good performer but let down by the noise. If they could tone it down, it is pretty good already.
ayamxxx
post Mar 2 2024, 12:40 PM

4,025 posts

the hype was there when they launched the MC6 years ago. unfortunately many users left comments that the tyre was not grippy on wet. All I know they just swap back to Michelin PS4 right after and continued on the Michelin brand. Will see on next couple of months for the MC7 user comments.
ktek
post Mar 2 2024, 04:06 PM

小喇叭
13,184 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Mar 2 2024, 12:40 PM)
the hype was there when they launched the MC6 years ago. unfortunately many users left comments that the tyre was not grippy on wet. All I know they just swap back to Michelin PS4 right after and continued on the Michelin brand. Will see on next couple of months for the MC7 user comments.
over hype rite
ayamxxx
post Mar 2 2024, 04:19 PM

4,025 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Mar 2 2024, 04:06 PM)
over hype rite
tend to view as that. however my size is no more on MC7, 235/45/18
TSQuazacolt
post Mar 3 2024, 12:44 PM

Riding couple
5,365 posts

Really soft launching hush hush testing market
Only 3 sizes available:

16"
205 45 16
17"
215 50 17
18"
245 45 18

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Mar 3 2024, 12:45 PM
kirakun
post Mar 3 2024, 10:30 PM

696 posts

Would be interested to see how this tyre fare against Michelin primacy suv plus. Price wise is about 10% cheaper compared to Michelin.
TSQuazacolt
post Mar 3 2024, 10:48 PM

Riding couple
5,365 posts

QUOTE(kirakun @ Mar 3 2024, 10:30 PM)
Would be interested to see how this tyre fare against Michelin primacy suv plus. Price wise is about 10% cheaper compared to Michelin.
This is UHP against Michelin pilot sport 5

Touring category UC7 or PC6 is primacy competitor
kirakun
post Mar 4 2024, 04:34 PM

696 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Mar 3 2024, 10:48 PM)

Touring category UC7 or PC6  is primacy competitor
In that case the price difference will be substantial. Waiting to see what’s the review on mc7 since there are also suitable sizes for suv.
SoMeOnE121
post Mar 10 2024, 12:19 AM

186 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Mar 3 2024, 10:48 PM)

Touring category UC7 or PC6  is primacy competitor
Actually this is not a true competitor to Pilot Sport series. Not sure why so many people think so. This MC range tyre is more like Potenza Adrenaline type range where it's a street sport tyre but not a true blue all around UHP tyre.

The correct tyre in the Conti range to fight Pilot Sport is Premium Contact which they don't push much here. Sport Contact pulak nowadays fight with Pilot Supersport.

Max Contact is for ASEAN market who want performance tyre but want cheap 2 also so they sacrifice a few areas to give u dry grip like what Potenza Adrenaline does.

But ok la i guess to use as a street sport tyre. But please never ever compare it to Pilot Sport 5 🤣🤣🤣

The price difference alone will show they don't compete.
TSQuazacolt
post Mar 10 2024, 12:55 AM

Riding couple
5,365 posts

QUOTE(SoMeOnE121 @ Mar 10 2024, 12:19 AM)
Actually this is not a true competitor to Pilot Sport series. Not sure why so many people think so. This MC range tyre is more like Potenza Adrenaline type range where it's a street sport tyre but not a true blue all around UHP tyre.

The correct tyre in the Conti range to fight Pilot Sport is Premium Contact which they don't push much here. Sport Contact pulak nowadays fight with Pilot Supersport.

Max Contact is for ASEAN market who want performance tyre but want cheap 2 also so they sacrifice a few areas to give u dry grip like what Potenza Adrenaline does.

But ok la i guess to use as a street sport tyre. But please never ever compare it to Pilot Sport 5 🤣🤣🤣

The price difference alone will show they don't compete.
this is categorized as UHP (starting MC6, 5 was touring only)

and, price?
i can find PS5 cheaper than this MC7. (429 PS5 vs 440 MC7)

granted, exception, not the norm. PS5 on promo while MC7 is crazy rare and Continental Malaysia is artificially creating scarcity and/or just wanting to get rid of left over MC6.

also, both PS4/PS5, MC6 and this MC7 is definitely far behind against RE004 dry performance, grip, traction, sidewall stiffness, and feedback.
i've even been told PS5 is worse than PS4 in performance in favor of treadwear, and the recent tire review UK comparison test was pretty meh too.

otherwise i've long pulled the trigger for PS5 because of the price and i've had pleasant experience with the PS4.
SoMeOnE121
post Mar 10 2024, 01:36 AM

186 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Mar 10 2024, 12:55 AM)
this is categorized as UHP (starting MC6, 5 was touring only)

and, price?
i can find PS5 cheaper than this MC7. (429 PS5 vs 440 MC7)

granted, exception, not the norm. PS5 on promo while MC7 is crazy rare and Continental Malaysia is artificially creating scarcity and/or just wanting to get rid of left over MC6.

also, both PS4/PS5, MC6 and this MC7 is definitely far behind against RE004 dry performance, grip, traction, sidewall stiffness, and feedback.
i've even been told PS5 is worse than PS4 in performance in favor of treadwear, and the recent tire review UK comparison test was pretty meh too.

otherwise i've long pulled the trigger for PS5 because of the price and i've had pleasant experience with the PS4.
UHP tyre nowadays the expectation is it has to perform in all areas and still deliver near touring level comfort and wear because that slice of market are willing to pay for that i guess.

RE004 type tyres cannot deliver in all those areas and that was the point I'm trying to make. There is a distinct difference between all round uhp and street performance all out grip type tyres. I believe max contact trying to play there too with this latest model but i prefer 'world tyres'.. Absolutely Despise region engineered tyres.

Btw I'm keen to know which tyre shop selling ps5 below this MC7. Means MC7 borderline scammy price 😅😅

Falken FK also if u notice has pivoted to all round uhp tyre from pure grip tyre at the expense slower response.

It's such a competitive space. I'm old.. So i prefer the all around UHP space where ps5/ Eagle Asy, FK 520, premium contact etc play 🤣🤣

TSQuazacolt
post Mar 10 2024, 02:00 AM

Riding couple
5,365 posts

QUOTE(SoMeOnE121 @ Mar 10 2024, 01:36 AM)
UHP tyre nowadays the expectation is it has to perform in all areas and still deliver near touring level comfort and wear because that slice of market are willing to pay for that i guess.

RE004 type tyres cannot deliver in all those areas and that was the point I'm trying to make. There is a distinct difference between all round uhp and street performance all out grip type tyres. I believe max contact trying to play there too with this latest model but i prefer 'world tyres'.. Absolutely Despise region engineered tyres.

Btw I'm keen to know which tyre shop selling ps5 below this MC7. Means MC7  borderline scammy price 😅😅
Falken FK also if u notice has pivoted to all round uhp tyre from pure grip tyre at the expense slower response.

It's such a competitive space. I'm old.. So i prefer the all around UHP space where ps5/ Eagle Asy, FK 520, premium contact etc play 🤣🤣
That was supposed to be max performance category laugh.gif
it was only until maybe Michelin and maybe playing along continental screwed it up.

for references:
https://www.tyrereviews.com/Tyre-Type/
Performance Key: Trackday and Competition > Extreme Performance > Max Performance > Ultra High Performance > High Performance

adding into that confusion, there's now UUHP laugh.gif
https://www.tyrereviews.com/Tyre-Type/Passe...formance-Tyres/
notice how Michelin is sitting there dancing around with their PS4/PS4S/PSS/PS5
and... yes.
https://www.tyrereviews.com/Tyre/Michelin/
lol.
Max performance.

Agreed yes, RE004 is more UHP than any Michelin Pilot sport.
Dry is awesome, and very damn close to UUHP/EHP levels. the 220 TW is an indication, but from my current usage that VERY STRANGELY, i am getting similar mileage DONE on my 220 treadwear RE004 vsd a 320? TW Michelin PS4 (PS5 is 340 now) replaced back in 2022. that was bonkers hahaha.

Torque legend Selayang / Intan Baiduri is having promo, if you're just in time for a replacement, head there!
https://www.facebook.com/photo?fbid=8146560...814656267368155

oh yes Falken! i'm surprised you share the same sentiments/experience!
yes, very poor steering feedback from my experience on FK510
marketing and advertising on FK520 is indicating improvements on that point, but i am somewhat intrigued with this MC7 instead.
that, and bias of Continental brand reputation vs Falken.

yes for sure UHP is heating up especially with another side tracked UUHP, and the Max performance categories sitting just beside.
EHP is kinda flooded by cheaper China copy cat competitors lol. the tread pattern and design wasn't much importance when you just load up with the stickiest compound you can find at a reasonable price to enthusiasts laugh.gif
SoMeOnE121
post Mar 10 2024, 07:47 AM

186 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Mar 10 2024, 02:00 AM)
That was supposed to be max performance category laugh.gif
it was only until maybe Michelin and maybe playing along continental screwed it up.

for references:
https://www.tyrereviews.com/Tyre-Type/

adding into that confusion, there's now UUHP laugh.gif
https://www.tyrereviews.com/Tyre-Type/Passe...formance-Tyres/
notice how Michelin is sitting there dancing around with their PS4/PS4S/PSS/PS5
and... yes.
https://www.tyrereviews.com/Tyre/Michelin/
lol.
Max performance.

Agreed yes, RE004 is more UHP than any Michelin Pilot sport.
Dry is awesome, and very damn close to UUHP/EHP levels. the 220 TW is an indication, but from my current usage that VERY STRANGELY, i am getting similar mileage DONE on my 220 treadwear RE004 vsd a 320? TW Michelin PS4 (PS5 is 340 now) replaced back in 2022. that was bonkers hahaha.

Torque legend Selayang / Intan Baiduri is having promo, if you're just in time for a replacement, head there!
https://www.facebook.com/photo?fbid=8146560...814656267368155

oh yes Falken! i'm surprised you share the same sentiments/experience!
yes, very poor steering feedback from my experience on FK510
marketing and advertising on FK520 is indicating improvements on that point, but i am somewhat intrigued with this MC7 instead.
that, and bias of Continental brand reputation vs Falken.

yes for sure UHP is heating up especially with another side tracked UUHP, and the Max performance categories sitting just beside.
EHP is kinda flooded by cheaper China copy cat competitors lol. the tread pattern and design wasn't much importance when you just load up with the stickiest compound you can find at a reasonable price to enthusiasts laugh.gif
Honestly glad to be chatting with someone that is acutely aware of the batcrazy product overlap world of tyres and the borderline scammy nature of it in terms of pricing and region engineering.

Yes UUHP is another equally head scratching segment. I call that segment the ' sports car ego feeder' because honestly i have tried supersports on my weekend car and it's just not as versatile as the all around uhp ( max performance) segment i love. They take time to heat up, they are very focused just on pure grip and a bit scary in rain. If we lived in southern France ok la i guess.

Tyres have gotten very competent so that segment is diminished returns. Max Performance segment is just perfect.
It can match the grippy guys and still deliver near touring level of comfort and wear and not to mention weather proof in Malaysia and i LOVE IT.

China tyres have become better but they lack finesse and balance but I'm sure they will get there

Thanks for the tip on tyre shop. But i think like you said MC7 supply is possibly being 'managed' in the market to create FOMO to those who don't really research well.

Another shop I can suggest is Oscar tyre in kota kemuning. Apparently they are cartel and they undercut almost all shops. Kl side ASO tyre is quite good.

Yes FK520 have improved A LOT in response. Falken is now on par with the Europeans i feel. They have pulled far ahead of brands like Yokohama, Toyo etc. I also like the fact they continue to produce FK series only in Japan. No brand dilution like Michelin and Conti by switching UHP ASEAN production to lesser factories. I use it on another car in the household. Excellent.

Btw u know any good tyre alignment shops in KL area? I usually go to Kin Alignment is Sunway. Fella is good but expensive AF.

This post has been edited by SoMeOnE121: Mar 10 2024, 08:06 AM
touristking
post Mar 10 2024, 06:24 PM

5,825 posts

Hi. What tires would be significantly quieter than the Toyo Proxes R45 23/60R18?

ayamxxx
post Mar 10 2024, 07:09 PM

4,025 posts

QUOTE(touristking @ Mar 10 2024, 06:24 PM)
Hi. What tires would be significantly quieter than the Toyo Proxes R45 23/60R18?
Never harm to use Michelin Primacy series. Hankook most user said also quiet.
ayamxxx
post Mar 10 2024, 07:13 PM

4,025 posts

QUOTE(SoMeOnE121 @ Mar 10 2024, 07:47 AM)
Honestly glad to be chatting with someone that is acutely aware of the batcrazy product overlap world of tyres and the borderline scammy nature of it in terms of pricing and region engineering.

Yes UUHP is another equally head scratching segment. I call that segment the ' sports car ego feeder' because honestly i have tried supersports on my weekend car and it's just not as versatile as the all around uhp ( max performance) segment i love. They take time to heat up, they are very focused just on pure grip and a bit scary in rain. If we lived in southern France ok la i guess.

Tyres have gotten very competent so that segment is diminished returns. Max Performance segment is just perfect.
It can match the grippy guys and still deliver near touring level of comfort and wear and not to mention weather proof in Malaysia and i LOVE IT.

China tyres have become better but they lack finesse and balance but I'm sure they will get there

Thanks for the tip on tyre shop.  But i think like you said MC7 supply is possibly being 'managed' in the market to create FOMO to those who don't really research well.

Another shop I can suggest is Oscar tyre in kota kemuning. Apparently they are cartel and they undercut almost all shops. Kl side ASO tyre is quite good.
Yes FK520 have improved A LOT in response. Falken is now on par with the Europeans i feel. They have pulled far ahead of brands like Yokohama, Toyo etc. I also like the fact they continue to produce FK series only in Japan. No brand dilution like Michelin and Conti by switching  UHP ASEAN production to lesser factories. I use it on another car in the household. Excellent.

Btw u know any good tyre alignment shops in KL area? I usually go to Kin Alignment is Sunway. Fella is good but expensive AF.
Agreed for Oscar best price offered especially if needs 17"-19" sizes. Falken last time, years ago was introduced kinda to kacau Michelin market here, with good reviews but great price. Unfortunately years later, it price similar or higher than Michelin PS series (not fair some shop give offer).

Continental Malaysia love to sponsored local media/YouTubers the new product tyres hence u see the whole local YouTubers will review and praise the sponsored tyres at the same timeline without any flaws. Best to wait for actual, real user review instead

This post has been edited by ayamxxx: Mar 10 2024, 07:15 PM
TSQuazacolt
post Mar 11 2024, 04:24 PM

Riding couple
5,365 posts

QUOTE(SoMeOnE121 @ Mar 10 2024, 07:47 AM)

Thanks for the tip on tyre shop.  But i think like you said MC7 supply is possibly being 'managed' in the market to create FOMO to those who don't really research well.

Yes FK520 have improved A LOT in response. Falken is now on par with the Europeans i feel. They have pulled far ahead of brands like Yokohama, Toyo etc. I also like the fact they continue to produce FK series only in Japan. No brand dilution like Michelin and Conti by switching  UHP ASEAN production to lesser factories. I use it on another car in the household. Excellent.

the pleasure is mine too bro! wub.gif
and yeah, the region thingy, if it weren't for Sportcontact 7 being locked for only 18" and above, i wouldn't have ever looked at the MC7 considering MC6's bad rep.

there's the more confusing EHP that fits your description of UUHP, generally though, UUHP don't require heating up.
EHP on the other hand, locally generally termed them semi slicks until the westerners started popularizing the EHP term over internet, and folks like me further advocating it.
it's confusing, no doubt. even westerners themselves used to call EHP "Cheater tires" , or street legal slicks. so many names and terms for generally the same thing!

Max performance usually only have one issue/weakness, and that is cost or even tire sizing (or rim size) limitation. but i can assume that is not an issue to you considering your preference and having a weekend car.
like you said, Max performance generally does EVERYTHING well, quite literally so with tire technology advancements. the only possible drawback, is again, cost and price.

Thanks for mentioning Oscar tyre, i reached out to them however unfortunately they haven't been able to get MC7 yet
they do however, further undercut the PS5 by even that shop i known/mentioned here, by 2 ringgit per piece laugh.gif
Ps5 427
Mc6 339
Uc7 316 last 4
yeah looks like everyone just want to get rid of MC6 LOL
but it most certainly makes me reconsidering to just go PS5 instead of stubbornly/curiously wanting MC7.
either the PS5, or you're tempting me with FK520 laugh.gif

what car and size you using your FK520 on if you don't mind disclosing? i wonder if there's existing thread, we can perhaps continue discussing FK520 there, or PM LOL!

for tire alignment, my only go to place is my old friend KTS Kean Tyre Solution Sdn Bhd https://maps.app.goo.gl/mASmjMSa9sPuG6T6A
he used to post here as Nestum
littlefire
post Mar 11 2024, 05:44 PM

2,702 posts

QUOTE(touristking @ Mar 10 2024, 07:24 PM)
https://www.tyrereviews.com/Article/2023-Be...yres-Tested.htm

If your looking just for lower noise, Goodyear, Nexen & Michelin did better than Toyo in tyre review.
touristking
post Mar 14 2024, 02:30 PM

5,825 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Mar 11 2024, 10:44 AM)
https://www.tyrereviews.com/Article/2023-Be...yres-Tested.htm

If your looking just for lower noise, Goodyear, Nexen & Michelin did better than Toyo in tyre review.
Like to ask, which series/model to be more specific?

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0232sec    0.94    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 09:03 PM