Can a USB-C dock cause hardware mulfunction?

TSKen.B
post Feb 23 2024, 09:18 AM, updated 2y ago

163 posts

Hi Sifus,

I have a Lenovo Laptop and I purchased a USBC dock where I also connect it with 2 HDMI and my charger.

About a year ago, i noticed my win key and right arrow key is not functioning. At first I thought it was just bad luck that the keys malfunctions.

However recently, the 4, 5, r, t, f, g, v, b keys are not responsive as well. Yesterday the mouse that I used start to be unresponsive.

Could it be the USBC dock that cause hardware malfunction?
stupiak07
post Feb 23 2024, 09:23 AM

397 posts

Why did you connect charger with other device together?
It wasn't design to do so.
Even though everthing is usb C. The power and Amp is still different for individual device.

And your keyboard is damage and need to change

This post has been edited by stupiak07: Feb 23 2024, 09:26 AM
TSKen.B
post Feb 23 2024, 09:44 AM

163 posts

At the time of purchase, the seller promoted that the dock can simultaneously connect to 2 HDMI port, usb and one power delivery port of up to 60W. But it's not a branded USBC Dock. It's just my suspicion that the USB C dock could cause circuit / motherboard / hardware damage. But I couldn't find any info online. So it is possible for a bad connector to damage other hardware?

dcheah
post Feb 23 2024, 04:46 PM

OldSkool
1,457 posts

QUOTE(Ken.B @ Feb 23 2024, 09:44 AM)
At the time of purchase, the seller promoted that the dock can simultaneously connect to 2 HDMI port, usb and one power delivery port of up to 60W. But it's not a branded USBC Dock. It's just my suspicion that the USB C dock could cause circuit / motherboard / hardware damage. But I couldn't find any info online. So it is possible for a bad connector to damage other hardware?
Seldom a Docking Station will cause hardware issues. Have you done a clean on the keyboard ?

Also, laptop keyboard seldom have issues too. It might be some dust build-up or those nasty staplers stucked inside the keys. Do a clean-up first.

If problems persist, try use an external USB keyboard and whether the same keys have any issues or not.

If the laptop still under warranty, you might want to send in for RMA. If no then its time to get it replace.

Hope this helps... cool2.gif

SUSSam Koh
post Jul 6 2024, 09:33 PM

Hey Sifus,

I had a similar issue with my Lenovo and a USB-C dock a while back. I found that the dock was actually causing some of the problems. Unplugged it and everything went back to normal for a bit. I’d recommend trying that first. If the keys and mouse still act up, you might want to check for driver updates or get it checked out.
SUSJustjust
post Sep 1 2024, 06:11 PM

Yeah, it could be the dock causing issues. I had something similar happen with my setup where my keyboard started acting up and the mouse was flaky. I unplugged everything from the dock, and once I did, the problems went away. Maybe try that and see if it helps. Also, double-check for any driver updates for your dock and laptop—it might make a difference.

acbc
post Sep 1 2024, 06:17 PM

9,048 posts

Best not to connect everything via a single dock. U may overload the logic chips inside.
dcheah
post Sep 6 2024, 12:34 PM

OldSkool
1,457 posts

Some laptops are designed with Docking in mind, thus they usually sold separately.

This is more apparent if the laptop is corporate/enterprise model, where it have a separate docking port.
This seldom causes issues, at most is the MAC Address passthrough only but easily rectified.

Consumer laptop on the other doesn't have such dedicated port, so most of us will get a 3rd party device.
This can includes USB Hub, USB-to-HDMI, DP-to-HDMI etc.

Some of these devices usually are self-powered, means it draws it power from the USB port. Take note that a USB Type-C port maximum voltage is 5V 3A, if you draw more than the specified voltage then some devices will have connection issues.

The J5Create brand have docking that have own power adapter, this docking is more stable if you plans to have multiple types connections like 2 x HDMI/DP, 4xUSB, LAN, VGA etc.

So, conclusions is that always get a reputable brand for docking station, such as J5Create, Aten and the new comer UGreen.

Hope this helps... cool2.gif

SUSguiledave
post Dec 8 2024, 08:43 PM

Hey, I’ve had a similar issue before where a dock started messing with my peripherals. It could be the dock, especially if it's handling a lot of connections like HDMI and power at once. I’d suggest disconnecting everything from the dock and seeing if the keys and mouse work properly without it. If they do, then the dock might be the problem. It’s worth testing to rule it out.
SUScheavant P
post Dec 26 2024, 05:01 AM

Probation

I had a similar issue with my laptop where some keys stopped working after using a USB-C dock for a while. It turned out the dock was causing a few problems, especially when I had multiple devices connected to it. I’d recommend trying to use the laptop without the dock for a few days and see if the issue persists. Also, check for any driver updates or conflicts with the dock. If the issue only happens when the dock’s plugged in, it might be worth getting a replacement.
hou82
post May 22 2025, 01:48 PM

depend the laptop CPU spec as some USB or USB C connector thier port HUB is actually link directly to CPU, GPU or even PCH itself, some low QC USB C Hub or Dock can possible cause short, overvoltage and damage circuit inside PCH or CPU cause disaster on laptop and damage all I/O such as USB, i2C/HID for keyboard or mousepad on laptop esspecially AMD APU based CPU such as Ryzen so better be caution for this

This post has been edited by hou82: May 22 2025, 01:50 PM
Intrigue
post Jun 8 2025, 02:17 PM

L O W Y A T E R
3,943 posts

QUOTE(Ken.B @ Feb 23 2024, 09:18 AM)
Hi Sifus,

I have a Lenovo Laptop and I purchased a USBC dock where I also connect it with 2 HDMI and my charger.

About a year ago, i noticed my win key and right arrow key is not functioning. At first I thought it was just bad luck that the keys malfunctions.

However recently, the 4, 5, r, t, f, g, v, b keys are not responsive as well. Yesterday the mouse that I used start to be unresponsive.

Could it be the USBC dock that cause hardware malfunction?
usually it wont cause damage to the keyboard. Is it still under warranty? if yes, then lodge a report to the manufacturer. Else, if you know some DIY, look for youtube how to disassmble the laptop and maybe try to reseat the cable for it

0.0192sec    0.15    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 07:51 PM