Can a USB-C dock cause hardware mulfunction?

TSKen.B
post Feb 23 2024, 09:18 AM, updated 2y ago

163 posts

Hi Sifus,

I have a Lenovo Laptop and I purchased a USBC dock where I also connect it with 2 HDMI and my charger.

About a year ago, i noticed my win key and right arrow key is not functioning. At first I thought it was just bad luck that the keys malfunctions.

However recently, the 4, 5, r, t, f, g, v, b keys are not responsive as well. Yesterday the mouse that I used start to be unresponsive.

Could it be the USBC dock that cause hardware malfunction?
TSKen.B
post Feb 23 2024, 09:44 AM

163 posts

At the time of purchase, the seller promoted that the dock can simultaneously connect to 2 HDMI port, usb and one power delivery port of up to 60W. But it's not a branded USBC Dock. It's just my suspicion that the USB C dock could cause circuit / motherboard / hardware damage. But I couldn't find any info online. So it is possible for a bad connector to damage other hardware?

0.0159sec    0.25    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 11:30 AM