Breast cancer _need advice on oncologist, Cancer treatment

TSkca28
post Jan 24 2024, 08:37 AM, updated 2y ago

Hi
Need some input.
Got my biopsy result yesterday from Sunway medical pj.
The result is her2 positive, grade 2
Breast surgeon said is probably stage 1, lump size approx 1cm
Her advice is
1. See oncologist to get treatment for targeted therapy 6 cycle
2. After that see if result of the treatment
3.remove lump or whole breast decision
4. Radiotherapy or chemo depends on the lump status

We going see Dr John Low the oncologist in Sunway.
Do you have any good oncologist to recommend in beacon?

Generally will Beacon cost lower than Sunway Med?

I have lose some weights, is there any nutritional drink suitable for cancer patient. Trying to avoid sugar.
If you have anything to share on diet, etc do feel free to do so.
I'm not much of a meat eater but guess I need to push myself to consume poultry.

Thanks in advance .

janszmatt
post Jan 24 2024, 08:43 AM

363 posts

How old are you?
Medusakia
post Jan 24 2024, 08:44 AM

162 posts

If size 1cm no need operation/chemo. What is your symptom thus far?
cdspins
post Jan 24 2024, 08:52 AM

2,714 posts

Get a second opinion and if you have some time, also go to government hospital. Visit the usual clinic and then get referral for oncologist. Wish you well.
soul78
post Jan 24 2024, 08:54 AM

933 posts

Sorry to hear about this. One thing you need to be prepare is that it's going to be a long journey 1-3 years... So you would need to choose a doctor who you are really comfortable with.

I would suggest you to go for Dr. Mastura in SJMC. It's not only your physical health you would be dealing with but also at some point it would hit your mental wellbeing. Choosing a doctor who is compassionate and empathic and also good in the job is very important.

Cancer is like mold on a bread, if you're able to see it ... as a lump most probably you would have spread to other areas around the breast.

doctor would most probably suggest a removal of the lump, then do chemo + radio combo.

If you wanna play it very safe, suggest to remove the breast altogether to reduce the likeliness of it coming back. If it's a relapse it all gonna be back to 0 all over again. The hardest question is whether you would want to take this risk or not.

Couple of question that would help you to choose wisely would be :-
- Do you have enough mental and physical strength to fight this a 2nd time if ever it comes back.

- Do you have enough cash at hand to go through the treatment for a 2nd round?.

- When it does comes back it tends to metastasize to other parts of the body. The treatment would be far more wider and extensive that time.

During treatement , you would need to keep your blood numbers up, such as your red blood cells, platlet counts, hemogloblin etc...

Battle with cancer does not only happen in the cancer center when you go for your treatment but also at home through the food you eat...
coolcity888
post Jan 24 2024, 09:09 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(kca28 @ Jan 24 2024, 08:37 AM)
Hi
Need some input.
Breast surgeon said is probably stage 1, lump size approx  1cm
Her advice is

I have lose some weights, is there any nutritional drink suitable for cancer patient. Trying to avoid sugar.
I'm not much of a meat eater but guess I need to push myself to consume poultry.
Thanks in advance .
Seek second opinion and not John low please..

TSkca28
post Jan 24 2024, 09:35 AM

QUOTE(janszmatt @ Jan 24 2024, 08:43 AM)
How old are you?
Late 40s

icemanfx
post Jan 24 2024, 09:38 AM

21,457 posts

90% of cancer patients recovery is from surgery, advised to remove both breast early.

breast cancer is often caused by defective brca1 and brca2 genes. genetic test could offer early treatment.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Jan 24 2024, 09:41 AM
burn22
post Jan 24 2024, 10:00 AM

398 posts

my former went to ampang gleneagles for an op, sadly, it was not properly done. went for 2nd op at damansara specialist centre, after goin for 2nd opinion. can't remember the doc name, but a chinese male around 50+, but that was a decade ago. hers was in early stage. had her one side breast removed. before all this, did went to singapore gleneagles for opinions too. it includes reconstruct for artificial breast.

she was cleared of c, but need to go for checkups on certain month...

Avangelice
post Jan 24 2024, 10:40 AM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Jan 24 2024, 09:38 AM)
90% of cancer patients recovery is from surgery, advised to remove both breast early.

breast cancer is often caused by defective brca1 and brca2 genes. genetic test could offer early treatment.
This is wrong.

Yes some people opt to remove both breast but some do not. It's easy to tell a woman remove both breast but we need to consider their mental well being. If one breast is fine and her cancer type isn't triple negative, don't need to remove both.

Also genetic testing can only be done AFTER surgery not before. It costs 15k myr. Most doctors suggest this to be done the last to focus on the cancer removal. Brca is meant to give the patient a decision to do chemo or not. It's meant for those cancers like my wife who's one the fence. Not too serious and not too light, donno if need chemo or not that kind of thing. If your biopsy, pet scan and ultrasound and post surgery test shows u need chemo. Cannot run away
SuperTuhan
post Jan 24 2024, 10:42 AM

278 posts

seek for 2nd opinion first

SJMC Dr Yip

so many breast cancer patient recommended her , one of the famous doctor in the country in this field, try ask to slot in the soonest time ever with other doc referral / recommendation etc

after that for chemo n radio u can look into Institute Kanser Negara for long term recover
icemanfx
post Jan 24 2024, 10:49 AM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jan 24 2024, 10:40 AM)
This is wrong.

Yes some people opt to remove both breast but some do not. It's easy to tell a woman remove both breast but we need to consider their mental well being. If one breast is fine and her cancer type isn't triple negative, don't need to remove both.

Also genetic testing can only be done AFTER surgery not before. It costs 15k myr. Most doctors suggest this to be done the last to focus on the cancer removal. Brca is meant to give the patient a decision to do chemo or not. It's meant for those cancers like my wife who's one the fence. Not too serious and not too light, donno if need chemo or not that kind of thing. If your biopsy, pet scan and ultrasound and post surgery test shows u need chemo. Cannot run away
Genetic test could be carried out anytime. genetic test is used to determine reoccurrence risks. Hence, treatment.
toughguy
post Jan 24 2024, 11:09 AM

105 posts

QUOTE(cdspins @ Jan 24 2024, 08:52 AM)
Get a second opinion and if you have some time, also go to government hospital. Visit the usual clinic and then get referral for oncologist. Wish you well.
This advice is recommended. Government hospital will give advice without any monetary self interest. Good to explore this option while diagnosing at private hospital.
ninesky
post Jan 24 2024, 11:10 AM

15 posts

Stage 1 should have high chance of recovery so don't worry too much. My mother (70+ years old) had survived a stage 3c her2+ cancer for 6+ years now. A relapse occurred last year but current treatment still able to put the cancer cells under control. There are very effective targeted therapy for her2+ breast cancer with less severe side effects than other chemotherapy.

If finance is a concern, you may get your treatment in PPUM. The doctors there work in team and are very professional. Due to the number of patients there queuing is inevitable though.

If you are not a regular, can start exercise. It can help your body to withstand the treatment and recover quickly. My mother joined Guolin Qigong but I think any low to moderate intensity exercise will work.

Ramjade
post Jan 24 2024, 12:34 PM

24,385 posts

Hi
Need some input.
Her advice is

Thanks in advance .
No more process food. Those come with barcode and not how it appear in nature throw it out. No bread, no rice, no pasta.
No sugar
72h water only fast before chemo will increase chemo.effect in cancer while reducing the side effect and protect your own cell
Broccoli sprout -the pursest is pure thera rx
Lycopene
Metformin
Green tea extract
Increase more soya products like tofu, Tempe.

The above target multiple anticancer pathway.

Go pickup
1. Eat to beat disease by Dr William li. You can even join his online course at USD400+. One time payment. Lifetime content with weekly Q&A. Optional. I will join in the future. Hear so many of his podcast.
2. Anticancer: A New Way of Life by David Servan-Schreiber
3. The Doctor’s Kitchen: Supercharge your health with 100 delicious everyday recipes

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jan 24 2024, 12:43 PM
kevinc
post Jan 24 2024, 12:50 PM

437 posts

Dr Arkonam Balasubramaniam Manivannan (dr. Mani)
khengs2003
post Jan 24 2024, 12:51 PM

20 posts

My friend consume this
https://www.nestlehealthscience.my/brands/o...act/oral-impact
during her radiotherapy treatment. Neck CA
She go for the lump removal and radiotherapy session.
Wish you fast recovery
Avangelice
post Jan 24 2024, 01:18 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 24 2024, 12:34 PM)
No more process food. Those come with barcode and not how it appear in nature throw it out. No bread, no rice, no pasta.
No sugar
72h water only fast before chemo will increase chemo.effect in cancer while reducing the side effect and protect your own cell
Broccoli sprout -the pursest is pure thera rx
Lycopene
Metformin
Green tea extract
Increase more soya products like tofu, Tempe

The above target multiple anticancer pathway.

Go pickup
1. Eat to beat disease by Dr William li. You can even join his online course at USD400+. One time payment. Lifetime content with weekly Q&A. Optional. I will join in the future. Hear so many of his podcast.
2. Anticancer: A New Way of Life by David Servan-Schreiber
3. The Doctor’s Kitchen: Supercharge your health with 100 delicious everyday recipes
If you knew the types of breast cancer out there you wouldn't suggest this. There's a cancer subtype called er and pr positive which means the cancer is fed by the hormone estrogen. Increasing soya intake increases estrogen.

72 hour water fast is deadly with chemo therapy. You are supposed to eat as much as u can so you have energy to stand the chemo process. Why are you asking people to fast for chemo??!

We asked my wife oncologist about sugar and he said this. Cancer is just like any cell in our body. All of them feeds on sugar. The thing is if you wanna "starve" the cancer out of nutrients you also have to starve the rest of the body of sugar and carbs which you need to be strong to handle the surgery and chemo.

Metformin is to control diabetes. Why are you blatantly suggesting supplements?

You should stay in finance section than giving out statements like this. Leave it to those who went through cancer.

Thank you

This post has been edited by Avangelice: Jan 24 2024, 01:20 PM
Relaxing work 2
post Jan 24 2024, 01:19 PM

76 posts

Maybe second opinion at government facility will be good. Nowadays govt hospitals are well equiped. Not sure about appointment date.

Avangelice
post Jan 24 2024, 01:21 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(khengs2003 @ Jan 24 2024, 12:51 PM)
My friend consume this
https://www.nestlehealthscience.my/brands/o...act/oral-impact
during her radiotherapy treatment. Neck CA
She go for the lump removal and radiotherapy session.
Wish you fast recovery
This is correct. With chemo you lose your appetite and your digestive system essentially shuts down.

Meal replacements like this goes easy on the stomach.
Yveatel
post Jan 24 2024, 01:26 PM

880 posts

If you are looking for budget, then look at Putrajaya. If you are heading to Beacon, can look for the Dato, but his schedule quite packed. About costing, I would not say it is very high or low, but not cheap.
Ramjade
post Jan 24 2024, 01:27 PM

24,385 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jan 24 2024, 01:18 PM)
If you knew the types of breast cancer out there you wouldn't suggest this. There's a cancer subtype called er and pr positive which means the cancer is fed by the hormone estrogen. Increasing soya intake increases estrogen.

72 hour water fast is deadly with chemo therapy. You are supposed to eat as much as u can so you have energy to stand the chemo process. Why are you asking people to fast for chemo??!

We asked my wife oncologist about sugar and he said this. Cancer is just like any cell in our body. All of them feeds on sugar. The thing is if you wanna "starve" the cancer out of nutrients you also have to starve the rest of the body of sugar and carbs which you need to be strong to handle the surgery and chemo.

You should stay in finance section than giving out statements like this. Leave it to those who went through cancer.
Thank you
If you are the doctor you claim to be you will see what I said are truth. Go look up. Metformin breast cancer. Fasting and effect on chemotherapy. Go look up. People who fast have lesser side effects than than who don't waste. Fasting strengthen the body. Kindly open your mind. Regarding tofu and estrogen, this is myth have been debunk by person who develop cancer drugs (Dr William li author of eat to beat disease). Tofu increase your cancer survival. Cancer doctors don't know shit about nutrition.

Kindly google and see what I say is right or wrong. Use pubmed. Go on.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jan 24 2024, 01:29 PM
eldenring
post Jan 24 2024, 01:30 PM

53 posts

My mom just hit by same grade 2 last year.

1. Dont panic, dont negative - very common thing, really.
2. Seek multi advices for different doctors.
3. Get reputable doctor.
Bonus: 4. Dont keep listen to different relatives different advices different worldviews - even doctor scolded us not to listen relatives as if they are pro

Today, she's like any normal person.

This post has been edited by eldenring: Jan 24 2024, 01:31 PM
Avangelice
post Jan 24 2024, 01:32 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 24 2024, 01:27 PM)
If you are the doctor you claim to be you will see what I said are truth. Go look up. Metformin breast cancer. Fasting and effect on chemotherapy. Go look up. People who fast have lesser side effects than than who don't waste. Kindly open your mind. Regarding tofu and estrogen, this is mythy have been debunk by person who develop cancer drugs (Dr William li author of eat to beat disease).Cancer doctors don't know shit about nutrition.

Kindly google and see what I say is right or wrong.
I'm not an oncologist nor are you.

Leave the medical stuff to the specialist. Don't give out prescription supplements like you are one.

My wife best friend did it to her over lunch. Same thing what u said don't believe the cancer doctors. They don't know stuff. Eat the following supplements and even gave out doses. Made me so damn pissed she's already dealing that she has cancer and people like u and her friend are saying don't believe the doctors that you see.

Avangelice
post Jan 24 2024, 01:35 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(eldenring @ Jan 24 2024, 01:30 PM)
My mom just hit by same grade 2 last year.

1. Dont panic, dont negative - very common thing, really.
2. Seek multi advices for different doctors.
3. Get reputable doctor.
Bonus: 4. Dont keep listen to different relatives different advices different worldviews - even doctor scolded us not to listen relatives as if they are pro

Today, she's like any normal person.
My wife oncologist told us he has patients who disappear for 4 months to 6 months after finding out they got cancer. Then when they came back the initial staging becomes stage 4. Ask them why? They say they did stuff like what ramjade is asking. Courses to teach you to diet your cancer away.

Totally stupid then I found out my wife had cancer 31st may. Within two weeks we were in beacon hospital. Not 4 months not 6 months. As soon as possible.
Ramjade
post Jan 24 2024, 01:38 PM

24,385 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jan 24 2024, 01:32 PM)
I'm not an oncologist nor are you.

Leave the medical stuff to the specialist. Don't give out prescription supplements like you are one.

My wife best friend did it to her over lunch. Same thing what u said don't believe the cancer doctors. They don't know stuff. Eat the following supplements and even gave out doses. Made me so damn pissed she's already dealing that she has cancer and people like u and her friend are saying don't believe the doctors that you see.
Give you some solid example. Since you are lazy.
https://youtu.be/DGQxem8hw3I?si=ZYCv-lxrxYXc3vw_

https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/artic...ive%20BC%20risk.

https://www.nature.com/articles/s41523-022-00402-4

https://www.frontiersin.org/journals/oncolo...018%E2%80%9321).

Can't blame them. No one keeps uptodate or train in these things.

Like I said do chemo and but fast before chemo to increase the chemo effect on cancer while mimising the effect on yourself.

Don't just depend on stuff.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jan 24 2024, 01:41 PM
Avangelice
post Jan 24 2024, 01:39 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 24 2024, 01:38 PM)
No thanks. The best thing for everyone is to stay off the internet. Get the consults in and the reports in and get things done ASAP.

The more shit you read the more time you use to consider your options the more you let your cancer progress.
Ramjade
post Jan 24 2024, 01:42 PM

24,385 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jan 24 2024, 01:39 PM)
No thanks. The best thing for everyone is to stay off the internet. Get the consults in and the reports in and get things done ASAP.

The more shit you read the more time you use to consider your options the more you let your cancer progress.
I thought you'd would say that.The YouTube guy got no nothing to earn. All his YouTube money and books 100% goes to charity. There are people you cannot trust and there are people you can trust. Be smart about who you trust. Look at their credentials.

Your choice. I have included in journals as my evidence. You are welcome to take a look or be ignorant. I know form my history with you with you will choose to look the other way as you are not very open minded. And if you know me, I got nothing to sell you. How many times have I been I told you so?

Well your loss. There is no cancer drug that can kill cancer stem cells yet. Know what can kill cancer stem cells green tea, lycopene and sulphoraphane from broccoli. Yes again I encourage you to go do research.

You can go for conventional treatment and support your body on the other hand. It's not either one. Both can exist together.

I am not a doctor but I like to read about health stuff. And it's fascinating to know that there are doctors in US, Europe that off their patient diabetes and high blood pressure meds because it's no longer needed just by simple intervention. Those on years and years of meds. You don't get that in Malaysia.

Go open your mind. Broaden your horizon.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jan 24 2024, 01:54 PM
thankyou
post Jan 24 2024, 01:46 PM

1,941 posts

Real story... My cousin decided to remove the breast and she's cancer free for more than 12 years...

Be safe... Can't gamble with cancer...
ws2kcp
post Jan 24 2024, 01:55 PM

Avoid all seeds food.

Avoid chicken.
eldenring
post Jan 24 2024, 02:20 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jan 24 2024, 01:35 PM)
My wife oncologist told us he has patients who disappear for 4 months to 6 months after finding out they got cancer. Then when they came back the initial staging becomes stage 4. Ask them why? They say they did stuff like what ramjade is asking. Courses to teach you to diet your cancer away.

Totally stupid then I found out my wife had cancer 31st may. Within two weeks we were in beacon hospital. Not 4 months not 6 months. As soon as possible.
Exactly! Suddenly all relatives come chip in the recipes of what they heard from someone. Some even say no need do, just go eat this and that will recover. Thats the whole problem.

Went to Dr.Yip from SJMC / Parkcity btw. https://subangjayamedicalcentre.com/doctor-...r-yip-cheng-har <-- very straightforward doctor.

sadukarzz
post Jan 24 2024, 02:41 PM

782 posts

QUOTE(toughguy @ Jan 24 2024, 11:09 AM)
This advice is recommended. Government hospital will give advice without any monetary self interest. Good to explore this option while diagnosing at private hospital.
QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jan 24 2024, 01:18 PM)

Thank you
agree on top both

second opinions should be your go to, if possible retest to get narrow down the error margin

meanwhile also dont ignore emotional wellbeing, one might feel that they are okay for now but fatigue, worries and concerns will take a toll on them eventually
wrc123
post Jan 24 2024, 03:10 PM

14 posts

for onco, you can seek Dr John Low or Dr Tan Chih Kiang for second opinion.

Get treatment as soon as possible at your preferred hospital. mentally do not stress out and just think as a journey or a process to have a better health.

If need to do chemo, the journey is not easy.
you can consult dietician in the hospital on what to proper food to eat during treatment.

post cancer rehab after hospital are also important.

what is your BMI reading?

TSkca28
post Jan 24 2024, 03:40 PM

QUOTE(wrc123 @ Jan 24 2024, 03:10 PM)
for onco, you can seek Dr John Low or Dr Tan Chih Kiang for second opinion.

Get treatment as soon as possible at your preferred hospital. mentally do not stress out and just think as a journey or a process to have a better health.

If need to do chemo, the journey is not easy.
you can consult dietician in the hospital on what to proper food to eat during treatment.

post cancer rehab after hospital are also important.

what is your BMI reading?

Pain4UrsinZ
post Jan 24 2024, 04:01 PM

1,860 posts

Try fasting 84 hours starve the cancer cell, with a doctor guidelines
Iceman74
post Jan 24 2024, 05:14 PM

1,407 posts

Hi
Need some input.
Her advice is

Thanks in advance .
If you going to do chemo, you must eat meat especially red meat to boast your blood cell count. If not, you need another injection to boost it. Must eat whatever you can even you already lost appetite and drinks a lot of water.
Radiotherapy giving me very “heat or hot” feeling, me need to eat a lot of those yellowish “water pear” right after treatment to soften those heat.

If not mistaken, there are 1 milk powder with most nutrients need for us cancers patients to drink. Me forgotten the brand name

During chemo period, don’t simply follow hearsay strict dietary. It make the chemo treatment worse and dreadful to overcome those side effects. Need to eat as much as possible especially red meat although me lost my taste buds that time. Everything is tasteless and doesn’t feel hungry at all but the body weight and blood test doesn’t lie.
When doing my first 2 session of chemo, the side effects too strong and feel like want to give up.
Later kena scold by my doctor, don’t simply follow whatever others ideas of good dietary.
He said this the most important time to eat whatever that can boast up the blood count ( me forgot white or red) or the patient will be feeling worse.

After that, I try to eat as much meat and fruits I can to soften the side effects. Me eat chicken, pork and those big big water pear. If you can eat beef, lagi best.
You need to try which type of fruit or meat suitable for you. Me can’t stand fish meat and certain fruit, just want to vomit trying it. Normal days, those are non issue for me. Maybe those chemo side effects period do that.

This post has been edited by Iceman74: Jan 24 2024, 05:34 PM
Agent 45
post Jan 24 2024, 05:26 PM

934 posts

If i were to get cancer, i would do prolonged fasting. Most people including doctors will not recommend this method because there is la ack of studies on this method and not really proven.

I have been on regular prolonged fasting, including 40+ hrs fast and 90+ hrs fast. The benefits are just amazing, u will be shocked at the amazing healing power from your own body. Of course, need to have proper diet and lifestyle too.
SuperTuhan
post Jan 24 2024, 06:55 PM

278 posts

Btw
Please avoid eating so called magic solution to reduce your cancer stage , supplement, Chinese herbs , porcupine powder

U need to immediately seek 2nd opinion as many had recommended here

Don’t take any so called traditional health cure , it will accelerate your cancer growth
insan_kamil
post Jan 24 2024, 07:48 PM

164 posts

QUOTE(Agent 45 @ Jan 24 2024, 05:26 PM)
If i were to get cancer, i would do prolonged fasting. Most people including doctors will not recommend this method because there is la ack of studies on this method and not really proven.

I have been on regular prolonged fasting, including 40+ hrs fast and 90+ hrs fast. The benefits are just amazing, u will be shocked at the amazing healing power from your own body. Of course, need to have proper diet and lifestyle too.
Can you share specifically the benefits? Curious.
Ramjade
post Jan 24 2024, 08:02 PM

24,385 posts

QUOTE(insan_kamil @ Jan 24 2024, 07:48 PM)
Fasting before chemotherapy is good as it increase the toxicity on cancer cells while els inf your own cells alone. Basically reducing the side effect. There are already study on it. I posted a YouTube video where this guy goes over benefit of fasting for chemotherapy. Just look back few post up.

Very fascinating a simple thing can alter chemotherapy.effect. Here's the link if you are lazy to dig back.

If you want to see effect of fasting on the body
https://youtu.be/RuOvn4UqznU?si=YZKNdEuOqS6fvVb9

Of course caveat is need 72h to get the full effect.

QUOTE(SuperTuhan @ Jan 24 2024, 06:55 PM)
Btw
Please avoid eating so called magic solution to reduce your cancer stage , supplement, Chinese herbs , porcupine powder

U need to immediately seek 2nd opinion as many had recommended here

Don’t take any so called traditional health cure , it will accelerate your cancer growth
Yes. Don't take traditional cure. Look up pubmed for those research. Chemotherapy is one part of the battle. You can do other stuff to increase your chances. Don't just depend on one component.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jan 24 2024, 08:05 PM
icemanfx
post Jan 24 2024, 08:44 PM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(Pain4UrsinZ @ Jan 24 2024, 04:01 PM)
Try fasting 84 hours starve the cancer cell, with a doctor guidelines
QUOTE(Agent 45 @ Jan 24 2024, 05:26 PM)

If fasting could reduce cancer cells, many cancer patients wouldn't have died.
Xccess
post Jan 24 2024, 09:15 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,772 posts

My mom is either stage 1 or 2, around 1cm as well. In terms of post ops therapy she decided to go against the doctor's advice by choosing radiotherapy instead of chemo. It's been more than 5 yrs and in remission. Doing great so far.
Medusakia
post Jan 24 2024, 09:32 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Jan 24 2024, 09:38 AM)

Stop giving stupid opinion to patient. You are accelerating their problem
pipedream
post Jan 24 2024, 10:12 PM

2,353 posts

stay strong TS

the prognosis for early stage breast CA is incredibly good, this is from the real world data that i have seen and handled.

also worrying and maybe u can take solace in the fact is that u are not alone as i have seen patients as young as 20-30 with breast cancer.

can narrow down to 4 types of treatments

surgery: either a local excision of the lump called a wide local excision and the surgeon will send the sample to the pathologist to check whether the excision margins are free from cancer, if its not free, meaning that the removal wasn't deep enough and u might need to go for total removal of the breast called mastectomy. in some cases, the doctor might order a lymph node dissection to assess whether the cancer has spread to the lymph nodes.

hormone therapy: if your cancer is ER positive, the oncologist may prescribe tamoxifen for u

and finally radiotherapy and chemotherapy.

usually, patients with early stage cancer will opt for WLE surgery which is a very quick one, in and out of the hospital in 3 days or less without any fuss followed by hormone, radio or chemotherapy depending on their preference and the oncologist, i highlighted preference because u do have a choice in the final say in treatment. in some cases, patients do opt for a wait-and-see approach without any adjuvant treatments with frequent check ups.

alternatively, some start on chemo or hormone therapy first before undergoing surgery.

in many cases, the alternate sees a reduction in lump size and or total absence of cancer cells after the lump is excised and taken for pathological examination

for safety and peace of mind, some patients opt directly for mastectomy even at stage 1, if u are concern about the psychological effect, there are skin-sparing mastectomy u can consider.

finally, speak to your oncologist and not /k!!!! i cannot emphasize this enough, kindly ignore all the non-medical mumbo jumbo about alternative therapies because these do NOT work. if u are considering any alternative therapy, make sure u discuss with your doctor first

This post has been edited by pipedream: Jan 24 2024, 10:15 PM
icemanfx
post Jan 24 2024, 10:23 PM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(Medusakia @ Jan 24 2024, 09:32 PM)
Stop giving stupid opinion to patient. You are accelerating their problem
Statistics from oncologists. you can't be smarter than oncologists on treating cancer.

Agent 45
post Jan 25 2024, 11:27 AM

934 posts

QUOTE(insan_kamil @ Jan 24 2024, 07:48 PM)
Fasting does a lot of things in improving your overall health. Reduce inflammation all over, improve digestion, less bloating, skin becomes healthy and tight, less wrinkle, less acne or rashes, heals your old injuries, joint becomes stronger with no more joint paint/back pain, improve immune system, less likely to get sick, improve your mood and productivity, u feel very calm and clear. I personally normalized my high bilirubin level with fasting, reduce skin rashes, old injuries/joint tightness/back pain went away, shrunk and got rid of nasal polyps after a few prolonged fast.

I believe that fasting will shrink and get rid of tumor, but it will take a longer time. Need to fast for few weeks, how many are willing to do it? I have a cancer protocol that was developed by a cancer survivor and those so called unconventional doctors that teaches u how to fast and what to eat, I would do that if I were to get cancer. Attack it from different angles, food, lifestyle, stress, exercise, supplement, not just through the medical way. But for others, its completely up to them to decide whether they want to follow the conventional treatment or try fasting.

Fasting is your body natural mechanism to survive when there's no food. Nowadays people are getting more comfortable, theres food anywhere anytime, when we are sick, there's medicine available, just take your pill and it's done. We have forgotten our natural abilities to heal. Fasting doesnt require any drugs but is is not easy especially for starters and when u need to fast for weeks, it's hard and need strong mental strength. Be prepared to lose a lot of weight for long fasting. From what I know, people that fasted 3 days before chemo, they have very little side effects.
Ramjade
post Jan 25 2024, 11:41 AM

24,385 posts

QUOTE(Agent 45 @ Jan 25 2024, 11:27 AM)
Fasting does a lot of things in improving your overall health. Reduce inflammation all over, improve digestion, less bloating, skin becomes healthy and tight, less wrinkle, less acne or rashes, heals your old injuries, joint becomes stronger with no more joint paint/back pain, improve immune system, less likely to get sick, improve your mood and productivity, u feel very calm and clear. I personally normalized my high bilirubin level with fasting, reduce skin rashes, old injuries/joint tightness/back pain went away, shrunk and got rid of nasal polyps after a few prolonged fast.

I believe that fasting will shrink and get rid of tumor, but it will take a longer time. Need to fast for few weeks, how many are willing to do it? I have a cancer protocol that was developed by a cancer survivor and those so called unconventional doctors that teaches u how to fast and what to eat, I would do that if I were to get cancer. Attack it from different angles, food, lifestyle, stress, exercise, supplement, not just through the medical way. But for others, its completely up to them to decide whether they want to follow the conventional treatment or try fasting.

Fasting is your body natural mechanism to survive when there's no food. Nowadays people are getting more comfortable, theres food anywhere anytime, when we are sick, there's medicine available, just take your pill and it's done. We have forgotten our natural abilities to heal. Fasting doesnt require any drugs but is is not easy especially for starters and when u need to fast for weeks, it's hard and need strong mental strength. Be prepared to lose a lot of weight for long fasting. From what I know, people that fasted 3 days before chemo, they have very little side effects.
Well said. People too comfortable. Cannot fast nowadays. The body is actually make to fast without food.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jan 25 2024, 11:41 AM
AbbyCom
post Jan 25 2024, 11:50 AM

455 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 24 2024, 01:27 PM)
If you are the doctor you claim to be you will see what I said are truth. Go look up. Metformin breast cancer. Fasting and effect on chemotherapy. Go look up. People who fast have lesser side effects than than who don't waste. Fasting strengthen the body. Kindly open your mind. Regarding tofu and estrogen, this is myth have been debunk by person who develop cancer drugs (Dr William li author of eat to beat disease). Tofu increase your cancer survival. Cancer doctors don't know shit about nutrition.

Kindly google and see what I say is right or wrong. Use pubmed. Go on.
Doctors if malpractice can sue, but you give wrong advise and a life is lost, can sue you meh?
wrc123
post Jan 25 2024, 12:05 PM

14 posts

how many here read and understood

‘ The result is her2 positive, grade 2’.

we dont know previous diseases the patient had or having like metabolic or chronic diseases or weak immune system and other risk not mention.
the cancer type mention is consider more aggresive type and different from other cancer types.

onco will suggest apprioprate treatment based on risk, cancer survival rate 5yrs and 10years and patients budget.

cancer can happen by many factors. Identify the type and diagnosis is doctor job.

zhou.xingxing
post Jan 25 2024, 12:16 PM

:3
1,863 posts

dont have any onco advice but all the best and stay positive (mindset). good luck!
SUSSihambodoh
post Jan 25 2024, 12:47 PM

436 posts

Fasting is good.

This post has been edited by Sihambodoh: Jan 25 2024, 12:54 PM
SUSSihambodoh
post Jan 25 2024, 12:51 PM

436 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jan 24 2024, 01:39 PM)

Why report my post?

This post has been edited by Sihambodoh: Jan 25 2024, 12:54 PM
Ramjade
post Jan 25 2024, 01:01 PM

24,385 posts

QUOTE(AbbyCom @ Jan 25 2024, 11:50 AM)
Doctors if malpractice can sue, but you give wrong advise and a life is lost, can sue you meh?
That's why you see they don't veer off guidelines. But you can do additional stuff to improve your survival. Fasting, taking more raw broccoli and cooked tomatoes help increase your own survival. Is that wrong?

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jan 25 2024, 01:43 PM
Avangelice
post Jan 25 2024, 01:09 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(Sihambodoh @ Jan 25 2024, 12:51 PM)
Why report my post?
Nobody report you. Bro I'm the last person who will report things in lowyat

Ramjade and I don't see eye to eye but we respect each other's beliefs. I think u kena report because this is serious kopitiam. Your reply doesn't suit the sub

This post has been edited by Avangelice: Jan 25 2024, 01:10 PM
AbbyCom
post Jan 25 2024, 03:21 PM

455 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 25 2024, 01:01 PM)
But you can do additional stuff to improve your survival. Fasting, taking more raw broccoli and cooked tomatoes help increase your own survival. Is that wrong?
Ok, this I can agree, but give specific advice without understanding the person's background is dangerous. For example - broccoli & tomatoes is not good for my high uric acid.
Ramjade
post Jan 25 2024, 03:35 PM

24,385 posts

QUOTE(AbbyCom @ Jan 25 2024, 03:21 PM)
Ok, this I can agree, but give specific advice without understanding the person's background is dangerous. For example - broccoli & tomatoes is not good for my high uric acid.
Actually broccoli is one of the few good vegetables for gout. They have low purine
AbbyCom
post Jan 25 2024, 03:40 PM

455 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 25 2024, 03:35 PM)
Actually broccoli is one of the few good vegetables for gout. They have low purine

Though this article say broccoli is ok for ppl with gout to consume, they emphasize it's high in purine. This just goes to show conflicting info from the web.
hksgmy
post Jan 25 2024, 04:20 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(wrc123 @ Jan 25 2024, 12:05 PM)
how many here read and understood

‘ The result is her2 positive, grade 2’.

we dont know previous diseases the patient had or having like metabolic or chronic diseases or weak immune system and other risk not mention.
the cancer type mention is consider more aggresive type and different from other cancer types.

onco will suggest apprioprate treatment based on risk, cancer survival rate 5yrs and 10years and patients budget.

cancer can happen by many factors. Identify the type and diagnosis is doctor job.
HER2 positive means there's a particular receptor that specific chemo drugs can help target. It's a "better" type of breast cancer (I don't know how else to put it - because there's really no good breast cancer, or cancer of any kind), in the sense that oncologists can leverage on this receptor and utilize receptor-specific chemotherapy.

Studies have shown that early HER-2 diagnosis with appropriate surgical and chemo/oncological intervention (including the newer biologic/immunologic drugs - the zumab family of monoclonal antibodies, which some of the doctors here would recognize by its trade name of Herceptin) have a far higher 5-year survival rate when compared with the dreaded "triple negative" variant of breast cancers.

It will be a long road to recovery, but there will be light at the end of the tunnel. All the very best, TS.

Edited - sorry, forgot to quote wrc123 for context when answering the above.

This post has been edited by hksgmy: Jan 25 2024, 04:21 PM
Avangelice
post Jan 25 2024, 04:29 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jan 25 2024, 04:20 PM)
HER2 positive means there's a particular receptor that specific chemo drugs can help target. It's a "better" type of breast cancer (I don't know how else to put it - because there's really no good breast cancer, or cancer of any kind), in the sense that oncologists can leverage on this receptor and utilize receptor-specific chemotherapy.

Studies have shown that early HER-2 diagnosis with appropriate surgical and chemo/oncological intervention (including the newer biologic/immunologic drugs - the zumab family of monoclonal antibodies, which some of the doctors here would recognize by its trade name of Herceptin) have a far higher 5-year survival rate when compared with the dreaded "triple negative" variant of breast cancers.

It will be a long road to recovery, but there will be light at the end of the tunnel. All the very best, TS.

Edited - sorry, forgot to quote wrc123 for context when answering the above.
For the layman.

Er/pr positive means the cancer feeds on the hormones estrogen and progesterone. Tamixofen will be best medication for it

Her2 positive means it will respond very well to specific chemo drug.

Being positive for all three means you have better success in remission for a long time with the appropriate treatments.

A triple negative means the cancer will not respond to most treatments and your only hail Mary is cutting it off via a mastectomy (some people opt for bilateral mastectomy) to reduce the likelihood it appears again.

Op if you opt to do chemo request for cold cap. Beacon has it to reduce the hair falling

This post has been edited by Avangelice: Jan 25 2024, 04:30 PM
hksgmy
post Jan 25 2024, 04:41 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jan 25 2024, 04:29 PM)
For the layman.

Er/pr positive means the cancer feeds on the hormones estrogen and progesterone. Tamixofen will be best medication for it

Her2 positive means it will respond very well to specific chemo drug.

Being positive for all three means you have better success in remission for a long time with the appropriate treatments.

A triple negative means the cancer will not respond to most treatments and your only hail Mary is cutting it off via a mastectomy (some people opt for bilateral mastectomy) to reduce the likelihood it appears again.

Op if you opt to do chemo request for cold cap. Beacon has it to reduce the hair falling
Thanks for the follow up comment.

I would imagine that (at least for those who followed your trials and tribulations when your wife went through something similar a bit back), some of the posters here would demonstrate a little more respect, if not then, at least a modicum of understanding when you spoke of what you experienced both as a doctor, and as a husband.

I know how you feel, when comments arise from well-meaning people about anecdotal, evidence level D stories of how this is better and that's best for whatever diagnosis this is, because someone's neighbour's tuition teacher's second auntie's ex-boyfriend's younger cousin's school bus driver's toddler's kindergarten janitor's mother had something that vaguely sounded like what is being discussed.

Unfortunately, we as professionals are not afforded that liberty or leeway to make unfounded calls purely on the basis of anecdotal evidence, or internet hearsay, and instead have to nod sagely and fight the throbbing around the temporal arteries as the mercury threatens to blow the sphygmomanometer to smithereens.
Avangelice
post Jan 25 2024, 04:52 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(smsid @ Jan 25 2024, 04:41 PM)
I also need input from you.

Do you shave your armpits and use anti perspirant deodorant daily?
Wtf is this question??

Do you ask a woman this point blank? One that has cancer??

This post has been edited by Avangelice: Jan 25 2024, 04:52 PM
smsid
post Jan 25 2024, 05:02 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jan 25 2024, 04:52 PM)
Wtf is this question??

Do you ask a woman this point blank? One that has cancer??
Because breast cancer does not happen out of thin air, for years they have linked anti perspirant as the root cause for breast cancer because it disturbed their own normal perspiration.

And by shaving your armpit, you make it even more potent.

Getting to the root cause is more important, no? Rather than naively think it as some random event.

This post has been edited by smsid: Jan 25 2024, 05:08 PM
Avangelice
post Jan 25 2024, 05:07 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(smsid @ Jan 25 2024, 05:02 PM)
Because breast cancer does not happen out of thin air, for years they have linked anti perspirant as the root cause for breast cancer because it disturbed their own normal perspirant.

And by shaving your armpit, you make it even more potent.

Getting to the root cause is more important, no? Rather than naively think it as some random event.
*bang head against the wall*

Op is already dealing with the news she has breast cancer. Not to forget the impending chemo and radiation therapy and here you come in saying did you shave your armpits? It's kinda your fault for getting cancer then.

If you said this to my wife, I would have socked you in the face right there and then.
smsid
post Jan 25 2024, 05:16 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jan 25 2024, 05:07 PM)

Op is already dealing with the news she has breast cancer. Not to forget the impending chemo and radiation therapy and here you come in saying did you shave your armpits? It's kinda your fault for getting cancer then.

If you said this to my wife, I would have socked you in the face right there and then.
Yes, please kill the messenger, you deal the problem by having a level head.

But I admit my method of asking is totally crass, but I just feel compelled to ask that way because I got tired with our 21st century bs, everything as random, or gene fault, just lazy excuse.
cms
post Jan 25 2024, 05:25 PM

763 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 24 2024, 01:38 PM)
Give you some solid example. Since you are lazy.

https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/artic...ive%20BC%20risk.

https://www.nature.com/articles/s41523-022-00402-4
https://www.frontiersin.org/journals/oncolo...018%E2%80%9321).

Can't blame them. No one keeps uptodate or train in these things.

Like I said do chemo and but fast before chemo to increase the chemo effect on cancer while mimising the effect on yourself.

Don't just depend on stuff.
Ppl please consult your oncologist immediately. Don't ever waste time and money on unproven medical treatments like fasting, no sugar starve the cancer cells bollocks.

hoonanoo
post Feb 1 2024, 04:45 PM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jan 24 2024, 10:40 AM)
This is wrong.

wah 15k for genetic testing?

so expensive

govt hospital got do at lower cost?
hoonanoo
post Feb 1 2024, 04:47 PM

1,782 posts

Always get second opinion.

very important

don't just rely on 1 specialist

can also opt later to seek treatment combine private/government hospital to defray the costs.
Avangelice
post Feb 1 2024, 04:55 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Feb 1 2024, 04:45 PM)
wah 15k for genetic testing?

so expensive

govt hospital got do at lower cost?
Brca genetic testing sent to UK for it. Cannot be done here apparently. Hence the price. Government where got do this.
hoonanoo
post Feb 1 2024, 05:15 PM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Feb 1 2024, 04:55 PM)
Brca genetic testing sent to UK for it. Cannot be done here apparently. Hence the price. Government where got do this.
our healthcare so bad, can't even cater for this test
Avangelice
post Feb 1 2024, 05:21 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Feb 1 2024, 05:15 PM)
our healthcare so bad, can't even cater for this test
No man even the Americans and English with cancer I talk to say Brca isn't for everyone with cancer those like my wife who are on the fence like not needing chemo 50% to 50% needing chemo do well with Brca test. It's very niche.
hoonanoo
post Feb 1 2024, 05:21 PM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Feb 1 2024, 05:21 PM)
No man even the Americans and English with cancer I talk to say Brca isn't for everyone with cancer those like my wife who are on the fence like not needing chemo 50% to 50% needing chemo do well with Brca test. It's very niche.
i see
puzzyfyre
post Feb 1 2024, 07:37 PM

26 posts

Look for Dr Christina in sunway hospital. Great oncologist from personal experience.
yungkit14
post Feb 1 2024, 08:38 PM

850 posts

QUOTE(eldenring @ Jan 24 2024, 02:20 PM)
Exactly! Suddenly all relatives come chip in the recipes of what they heard from someone. Some even say no need do, just go eat this and that will recover. Thats the whole problem.

Went to Dr.Yip from SJMC / Parkcity btw. https://subangjayamedicalcentre.com/doctor-...r-yip-cheng-har <-- very straightforward doctor.
wao emeritus lagi
yungkit14
post Feb 1 2024, 08:40 PM

850 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Feb 1 2024, 05:21 PM)
you submit your wife bcra by how? hospital?
yungkit14
post Feb 1 2024, 08:41 PM

850 posts

QUOTE(burn22 @ Jan 24 2024, 10:00 AM)
my former went to ampang gleneagles for an op, sadly, it was not properly done. went for 2nd op at damansara specialist centre, after goin for 2nd opinion. can't remember the doc name, but a chinese male around 50+, but that was a decade ago. hers was in early stage. had her one side breast removed. before all this, did went to singapore gleneagles for opinions too. it includes reconstruct for artificial breast.

she was cleared of c, but need to go for checkups on certain month...
one side ok l. gws
yungkit14
post Feb 1 2024, 08:47 PM

850 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jan 25 2024, 05:07 PM)

no need la to entertain these people. You got more stuff to entertain in real life like your wife well being. These nonsense people will have their turn of karma
hksgmy
post Feb 1 2024, 10:10 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(yungkit14 @ Feb 1 2024, 08:41 PM)
one side ok l. gws
To side track a little, mastectomies aren't the shock and awe end of the world scenarios that they used to be in the past.

With newer surgical techniques, such as breast reconstruction involving the latissimus dorsi flap (instead of the old method of having doctors remove muscle, fat and skin from the abdominal wall, the back, the inner thighs or the buttocks and place it to the chest to form breasts) or even newer ones other "flap" techniques can give a far superior and near natural appearance & even feel for the woman.

Bottom line: a mastectomy is not the end of the world, and could be the fresh start to a cancer free life for a woman.
thesoothsayer
post Feb 2 2024, 01:55 AM

954 posts

QUOTE(eldenring @ Jan 24 2024, 02:20 PM)

My mum's doctor last time. My mum's a breast cancer survivor for over 25 years now.
eldenring
post Feb 2 2024, 09:38 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(thesoothsayer @ Feb 2 2024, 01:55 AM)
My mum's doctor last time. My mum's a breast cancer survivor for over 25 years now.
Likewise. Great to hear.
leokoo
post Dec 29 2024, 04:18 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(coolcity888 @ Jan 24 2024, 09:09 AM)
Seek second opinion and not John low please..
What's wrong with Dr. John Low?
dest9116
post Dec 29 2024, 05:37 PM

495 posts

My wife got lump luckily not cancer, her doctor was Dr. Ng char Hong, last time Sunway now at Picasso, I heard Dr yip also at Picasso

0.0444sec    0.83    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 03:54 AM