Auctioned house has RM 21K unpaid TNB bill

vin6
post Jan 8 2024, 09:24 AM

204 posts

id skipped the payment invest in off grid solar.
bootmod3
post Jan 8 2024, 09:37 AM

65 posts

By right the new owner doesn't take over the bill. He/she would have to apply for a new account and connection to that house.
Afterburner1.0
post Jan 8 2024, 09:40 AM

772 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Jan 8 2024, 09:22 AM)
Not really.

I changed name from my dad to my name. I have to settle any outstanding bill before they allow change name, although the property already transferred to my name.
Ur case is under change name to "next of kin" lar, u need to tick this option when submitting to TNB.... alsou will need to provide the death cert etc..... did u really apply it urself ahh?

If ur case is renting to tenant, then u tick that option in the form, then need to provide rental agreement, etc.....

If ur a new owner, then tick that option in the form, then provide S&P agreement etc....
WaCKy-Angel
post Jan 8 2024, 09:58 AM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(Afterburner1.0 @ Jan 8 2024, 09:40 AM)
Ur case is under change name to "next of kin" lar, u need to tick this option when submitting to TNB.... alsou will need to provide the death cert etc..... did u really apply it urself ahh?

If ur case is renting to tenant, then u tick that option in the form, then need to provide rental agreement, etc.....

If ur a new owner, then tick that option in the form, then provide S&P agreement etc....
No auch thing as "next of kin" lel
Its closing account and opening account.

Anyway just for debate, if ayam pay foreigner to "rent" my property and register under their name and dont make payment, i can virtually get free electricity?
Clueless07
post Jan 8 2024, 10:25 AM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(vin6 @ Jan 8 2024, 09:24 AM)
id skipped the payment invest in off grid solar.
Brilliant!

U seems to be very smart.

Though not sure if solar power can stored for night and also rainy day.
Would though the solar panel supply is limited and need TNB power to top up the short fall when ever solar power is less than demand.
vin6
post Jan 8 2024, 10:31 AM

204 posts

QUOTE(Clueless07 @ Jan 8 2024, 10:25 AM)
Brilliant!

U seems to be very smart.

Though not sure if solar power can stored for night and also rainy day.
Would though the solar panel supply is limited and need TNB power to top up the short fall when ever solar power is less than demand.
LIFEPO4 battery backup - so many choices of all in 1 inverters now days. I know many ppl doing it already. - with 20k easily can cover RM120-180 per month.

And also get Genset for backup incase of severe bad weather like 2-3 days of rain.
Afterburner1.0
post Jan 8 2024, 11:00 AM

772 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Jan 8 2024, 09:58 AM)
No auch thing as "next of kin" lel
Its closing account and opening account.
Anyway just for debate, if ayam pay foreigner to "rent" my property and register under their name and dont make payment, i can virtually get free electricity?
Mine application got .... "demised and name transfer"..... need to provide death cert. I did it in TNB branch, Jln Timur, PJ.
Closing acc and Open acc is generic ..... need to explain ur situation to TNB lar...
WaCKy-Angel
post Jan 8 2024, 11:19 AM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(Afterburner1.0 @ Jan 8 2024, 11:00 AM)
Mine application got .... "demised and name transfer"..... need to provide death cert. I did it in TNB branch, Jln Timur, PJ.
Closing acc and Open acc is generic ..... need to explain ur situation to TNB lar...
Didnt look at what stated, but my point is if u dont clear the bill they wont allow change name or reconnection if disconnected.

As many ppl also shared online they cant reconnect because tnb just wont unless u (or tenant) clear the bill
jackdon
post Jan 11 2024, 10:32 AM

719 posts

QUOTE(loserguy @ Jan 7 2024, 05:35 PM)
Tak faham

1) disconnect at 5k
2) mamak secretly reconnect and use 10k?
3) tnb chase u for 15k
4) new owner no impact since mamak already reconnect

Like this?
Yes, I had it disconnect at 5K (I have the disconnection form with me)
I think the Mamak store bribed and got it reconnected.
Then it got disconnected at 15K, TNB chasing me but I moved office so it went court case when they finally got to my new home address with the court writ.
I checked with the management they are now using a new meter account. and my account was terminated and TNB took the account holder to court which is me.
I checked with a few lawyers and was told that the TNB always wins because I am the account owner.

I was lazy (expensive lesson learned), and always made sure we terminated all accounts when we moved or sold any property. During the meeting with TNB, I explained that I had already sold the properties to the TNB lawyer but was told it did not matter as the accounts holder would always be responsible.

Now I always make sure the properties that I rented out I will make sure the new tenant opens a new account under their name. Easy to do with just the tenancy agreement and when the tenant moves out, I just go to TNB and have it change the TNB account to my name. As long as the account is under the tenant's name one should not have a problem. We always read about TNB not willing to open an account for the new tenant is because the current owner has outstanding and he wants to open a new account for the tenant. Then of course it is not possible because he as the current owner has outstanding so cannot open a new account.

Hope you get what I am trying to explain.

7 Pages « < 5 6 7Top

0.0204sec    1.02    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 12:39 AM