5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

What did you do to your bike today?, Or quite recently...

alexei
post Aug 22 2024, 09:00 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(JustForFun @ Aug 21 2024, 07:40 PM)
Yep, a 400. Not planning to do any mod.. like my stuff the stock pekat way. Actually I'm also saving up to maybe get a supercub someday, just to see which one I prefer.
I see
alexei
post Sep 3 2024, 10:56 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

sent my bike for VC and ECU tuning remap, now it runs without the O2 lambda sensors. without it has pros and cons, but now I'm liking it

quicker throttle response (it's a ride by cable, not the modern ride by wire) and resolved some torque dip

This post has been edited by alexei: Sep 3 2024, 12:37 PM
alexei
post Sep 19 2024, 10:30 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

sent my scooter for suspension treatment - front cartridge kit and rear YSS shocks
alexei
post Sep 20 2024, 10:10 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Sep 20 2024, 02:00 PM)
How much for those? I heard its a common thing anong xmax users to change the front forks and rear shocks
depends on budget...

This post has been edited by alexei: Sep 21 2024, 06:39 PM
alexei
post Sep 23 2024, 08:44 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

chain lube gunk can remove with some kerosene, give it some time to soak, use something to soak it and then dislodge...
alexei
post Oct 28 2024, 09:03 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(smallbug @ Oct 20 2024, 06:30 AM)
Any recommendations for Wave 125X battery? YTZ5S good or not?
ok kut
I would look into Lithium batteries

QUOTE(JustForFun @ Oct 27 2024, 04:18 PM)
Cleaned my chain and front sprocket yesterday. Crazy amount of gunk at the bottom of the front sprocket cover, despite the sprocket itself being very clean. The gunk was like hard mud that I had to scrape off with my gloved finger. Now I am thinking I should probably open it up every other time or so.

I am not sure if I over-applied the chain wax or that's just the nature of it, but I saw grit splatters that stuck to my swing arm, the cover and my rim. My chain is noticeably noisy at slow speed and the bike also has a tad more vibration. Think I may have to reconsider using chain wax, or apply it very conservatively.

Is there a chain cleaning/bike washing service that can do everything and have the bike be collectible in an hour or two? Think I can use my time better.
check the rollers if it is loose in the links, the shiny rollers that contacts the sprockets
there are cases where the chains last longer without cleaning, and my experience tells me chains that got cleaned, will kink sooner

QUOTE(JustForFun @ Oct 27 2024, 11:17 PM)
Is it possible to ride away just right after lubing?

My biggest complaint is being able to do this in the morning only, because I need the bike to dry throughout the day under sun so I can then lube it right before it gets dark in the evening, so I can see whether the chain is lubed well or not. Also, if I missed the morning window it gets too hot for me to do it, because I don't wanna do it in the covered porch since I will have to clean the ground after, so I usually do it roadside and spray water over the diesel and guide it to the drain.

I am considering using old clothes or worn rags to soak the dripped diesel next time, and clean the wet spots on the ground after, maybe with those Daiso wet wipes.

Edit: After checking the price of Shopee, a brand new set of sprocket/chain will cost me RM400 or so, makes me wonder if it's even worth taking that good care of the chain. Imagine the extra time spent amounted to a 30% increase in chain lifespan, that's only 400*0.3 = RM120 for a lot of time spent.
the chain should be dry and warm when applying the lube, which makes it more tedious if you want to clean it and then apply lubes - some ppl will clean the chain, then ride the bike a bit to warm the chain before lubing it

see my reply above, there are ppl who never lube their chain their whole life
my riding circle got riders like this
alexei
post Oct 28 2024, 04:19 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(JustForFun @ Oct 28 2024, 03:23 PM)
Thanks, my chain is in good shiny condition (visually), thanks to the low mileage also. I think I'm spending too much time worrying over small things like that.

I'll just do the bare minimum going forward, I should hit 12k mileage next year, by then I'll pay a visit to 66 speedbike for fluid change and inspection, and see what they say about the chain, maybe earlier.
you'd have to touch it, to see if it's loose in the links

alexei
post Oct 29 2024, 09:27 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

I feel the chain that gets used regularly last longer - we should track the chain life by both mileage and time

hydrocarbon (diesel, kerosene etc) to clean chain, including WD40 and a lot of myths out there, my only thought is what happens when those liquids get pass the seals (o-ring, x-ring etc) into the chain lube - personally, I wouldn't want any of those as a high pressure lubricant inside my chain

now I'm using maxima chain lube, there are two types, I'm using the 'clean' one... another type is 'messy'

I do get a lot of wet rides, and the chain has visible rust spots often times, which is not good. I do give the bike a quick rinse after most rides, to remove bug splats and quick inspection before parking it - which was how I found out I have a waterpump leak at the moment

I also check my sprocket marks, to get a rough idea if I should change it or maybe tighten the chain slack

my last chain + sprockets = Nov 2021, ~15k km so far and starting to kink, and rollers are loose
I haven't done chain length measurement, but I'm pretty sure it's close to wear out liao

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Oct 28 2024, 06:38 PM)
Actually I think it's how we clean chains. Printed on my RK chain box, it says specifically not to use petroleum based cleaners ( ie diesel or kerosene)or harsh chemicals with pressure washer.

Maybe that's why. Anyway I half expect my RK520 X ring chain to last about 25k. At 150 a set + 50 installation, it's a 200rm expenditure, once a year...
QUOTE(JustForFun @ Oct 29 2024, 08:16 AM)
I use diesel because it's easily available and 66 speed bike recommends it as well. Anyway, based on my usage so far I will average 8K KM per year, it will take a long time for me to need to replace the chain unless I really abuse it, so at that cost i should really be worrying too much, just need to get it checked when I do oil change to make sure it's okay.

I see that the standard recommendation is to clean the chain every 800KM, but given your usage thats probably too often?
alexei
post Oct 30 2024, 09:21 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Oct 29 2024, 10:39 PM)
Yep 525. It is rather generously sized for the amount of power my bike makes (888cc 84hp at the crank). I think that helps with longevity.
there's more to it, I think... you're probably a smooth input rider than me or jaycee1

on top of that, yours is a T-plane crank triple, while his are a single or big twin each with ~400cc per barrel, plus the driveline slack/lash between the bikes, I'm not surprise the chain life varies by 50% from one bike to another
alexei
post Oct 30 2024, 02:54 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Oct 30 2024, 02:45 PM)
Likely so. This guy can make rear tyres last 40k. Hahahah

But I'm sure I'm not that up to speed with the chain cleaning lubing.

But 520 chains are not expensive. I just take it as an annual change thing. Much like tyres. In fact my rear tyres cost magnitudes more than the chain and it lasts oh what...20k if I baby it?

But yes, big bore single and twins are harder on chains. But mostly user issue. I like the torque immediacy of a single and twin.
yeah...

This post has been edited by alexei: Oct 31 2024, 10:28 AM
alexei
post Nov 15 2024, 10:15 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(WH4CockcooBird @ Nov 1 2024, 12:22 PM)
Anyone knows buying windshield from overseas will be subjected to import duty or not?

I can't locate windshield HS Code, or rather, there are 3 categories of windshied HS Code with first category 0 rates and the other 2 are 25%. That is before SST.
just buy
alexei
post Nov 15 2024, 10:18 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

update on waterpump leak:
- easy to remove, 2 bolts, hoses, and pull the entire unit off the bike
- 2 more bolts, remove the front housing to expose the impeller unit
- detach the impeller circlip, guide pin and washer
- remove the impeller unit
- problem found: mechanical seal glue degraded causing seal joint to mechanical seal body detached
- use Threebond black RTV No.5 to reconstruct the seal unit
- reassemble whole waterpump unit, leave to cure for 24 hours

This post has been edited by alexei: Nov 15 2024, 10:22 AM
alexei
post Nov 15 2024, 10:25 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

update on scooter stator failure:
- continuity test on stator shows short to ground... so I suspect the stator already burn and touching the coil body and then grounded to the bike, causing weak charging (average 12.5V, max 13.8V after hours of riding)
- voltmeter on 3 phase stator output is 42VAC unloaded (coil is output fine when not grounded)
- when connected to rectifier, loaded output is 5VAC (too low) and rectifier output is 7VDC up to 12.8VDC (too low)
- surveryed around, and found compatible stator

it seems my scooter shares stator coil with Honda CBR929RR
https://www.electrexworld.co.uk/acatalog/G89.html

should I order one from shopee?

This post has been edited by alexei: Nov 15 2024, 10:27 AM
alexei
post Nov 15 2024, 10:43 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(cawan @ Nov 15 2024, 10:32 AM)
any good way to permanent DIY seal radiator bocor?

currently top up coolant only. sighhh.
aluminium radiator?
can look for 2 things:
- low temperature solder weld
- metal putty epoxy (dual compound type)

most important thing to do is preparing the surface before you join, make sure it is very very clean
like either you use metal brush to scrub it clean, then use alcohol to clean it first

or, you can practice the welding on other scrap aluminum first

This post has been edited by alexei: Nov 15 2024, 10:44 AM
alexei
post Nov 16 2024, 11:33 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Nov 16 2024, 02:35 PM)
I saw in before in fb got people do coil repair service, maybe you can ask around in bike groups.

Buying from shopee could work too I guess if you can find a trusted seller.
yeah, I know a few
I prefer to have a spare, so just open up the stator cover, swap, and reassemble
instead of take out, wait a few days to recoil, then reassemble

I ordered a shopee CBR929RR and an eBay genuine used... we'll see
alexei
post Nov 20 2024, 10:04 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Nov 20 2024, 09:53 AM)
I bought the generic SHAD racks from one indonesian seller off Shopee. They have the SHAD 3P rack as well as the Givi 4 point racks. They also have some brackets. These are cheap. Slightly over 100rm after various shopee discounts and they fit just as well.

https://shopee.com.my/hilandmotorshop.my
I'm using a combination of custom and bought brackets for my mounting. But yes, i have found 6mm brackets on shopee.

https://shopee.com.my/agawelding85za.my

I bought my 6mm brackets from the above seller. Perhaps you can check the links and see if they have what you need. I just didnt use them as 3mm is sufficient for my application... trying to reduce weight.
My install is a bit unique, as the 3 mounting points are not fully load bearing but serves to only stabilize the load. The load is carried by the pillion seat. SHAD does make kits now for my 800NK but they are expectedly expensive and has a 2 month leadtime....and worst, involves cutting into bodywork, something I am trying to avoid for now.
interested to know how the bike feels with the boxes mounted that high up
alexei
post Nov 20 2024, 12:24 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Nov 20 2024, 10:20 AM)
With enpty load, not much effect. Will still have to increase rear preload and maybe add 1-2 psi rear tyre pressure. With load, very easy to wheelie. Again that's to be expected on a bike that likes to do that anyway. You can feel the weight on side to side transition...but no problems getting a knee down with them on. Just have to be slightly more careful when getting on the throttle...

It's no different from carrying any load or a pillion anyway.

I would say I prefer this to a topbox, mounted even higher and even further back than split panniers.

Warning label says max 5kg each side and 120kmh top speed.
good to know, safer than some rubber strap over a loose luggage then
alexei
post Nov 21 2024, 12:31 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Nov 21 2024, 11:53 AM)
Perhaps you can try and repurpose these

https://my.shp.ee/MNLk76b

If not then you may need to get regular flat bar of your preferred thick Ness and have a metal shop bend them. You can DIY but you need a acetylene torce and a properly good  vice though.
just fyi, shopee link doesn't work unless I sign in
alexei
post Nov 22 2024, 01:39 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(marsha1l @ Nov 22 2024, 09:45 AM)
removed windshield and notice that, at 150+, steering feel lighter. Without windshield, had to use full face all the time.

I wonder how those ride with open face at high speed, on moped.
ER6 got windshield? is it like a small piece or a big piece? attached to headlamp or handlebar one?
moped go 150+ with open face have to tunduk, or angle the helmet downwards to let the visor do the work
alexei
post Nov 22 2024, 09:49 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(marsha1l @ Nov 22 2024, 08:12 PM)
Those suzuki raider, modded lc etc. haha

yea, crosswind do affect very much on steering. Now dismantle the windshield and simpan. Building neck strength to fight the wind  flex.gif
Mine does not, even later version does nt have it either. It was added by previous owner, and attached to handlebar.

tunduk/angle downwards, mata almost juling alam sebalik mata. haha rolleyes.gif
yeah, my guess was the windshield was attached to handlebar to explain the differences, I reckon is a big windscreen, too
get a bracket, and look for a way to install it to the chassis instead

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0326sec    0.99    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 07:06 PM