5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

What did you do to your bike today?, Or quite recently...

alexei
post Nov 26 2024, 12:49 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Nov 26 2024, 12:09 PM)
what bike again and how is it?

ive always wondered about this kapchai centric brake master cylinders and hoses on big bikes....wat brand hoses?
ER6
if that's the 17mm it should work for OEM double calipers

alexei
post Nov 26 2024, 08:01 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(marsha1l @ Nov 26 2024, 07:46 PM)
500 + 140 (70x2 for 100cm). Include installation. Teguhbikers, its convenient  cause they open on sunday  sweat.gif

Brembo i cant remember, but around 1.4-1.6k ish
mana tau Brembo can 1-finger brake leh?
alexei
post Nov 28 2024, 01:12 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(marsha1l @ Nov 27 2024, 08:22 AM)
hahaha...jangan. stopie slalu nnt.
because wallet ringan?
brake feel wise, does the new MC feel more solid?
alexei
post Nov 29 2024, 12:33 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(marsha1l @ Nov 29 2024, 10:00 AM)
stopie = rear tyre in the air

this mod still wallet friendly  flex.gif

MC?

Brake feel after change the masterpump, less effort to lock the front. Previously I use 2 then 3 finger for emergency brake. Now 2 finger can brake hard and definitely feel nicer.
MC = master cylinder
this is the more common term, but locally we hear master pam

I mean, yeah, stoppie because now wallet lighter so the end goes in the air easier
haha
alexei
post Mar 19 2025, 03:11 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Mar 19 2025, 12:20 PM)
inspected and measured the cams, timing chain, chain guides, tensioner.
all within acceptable tolerance, but the timing chain is nearly at maximum spec (-2.5mm from limit).
gonna place an order for it and change after a few thousand km.

cleaned the throttle body and intake

reset the tensioner, cycled the engine a few times to make sure everything lines up.

reinstalled everything and the bike roars back to life.
solved the low speed stalling.

cost me RM60 for a new cam chain guide. replaced since already bought.
everything else using back the current part. didn't even replace the gasket since it looks ok.

total cost RM60 + RM8 for the shims.
this bike is cheaper to run than my myvi  laugh.gif
well done
you retired already kah?
alexei
post Mar 24 2025, 09:17 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Mar 21 2025, 10:12 AM)

As an aside, the cams and valve followers looks fine. Looks like KTM/Cfmoto fixed the cheese cam issues on the LC8C when they moved production to China (the Chinese heads were slightly different with more robust oiling channels compared to the first gen LC8C), which means KTM knew about the cam issues well ahead but kept to keep quiet
been waiting for this update from you
I wondered, who really caused the oil channel issues on the engine head? The designer or actually the party who manufactured it?
alexei
post Mar 24 2025, 12:17 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Mar 24 2025, 10:52 AM)
Likely the combination of both.

Unlike cars, bikes don't use roller followers, so if there is an oiling problem, you'd see accelerated wear very quickly.

The LC8c's coming out of China seems to have addressed the issue. AFAIK no reported issues on the CFMOTO 800s as of yet.
true, and I certainly hope things are better going forward, including KTM's fate
alexei
post Mar 25 2025, 09:06 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Mar 24 2025, 04:02 PM)

Swaped in a set of UG USD forks on my V1 Dominar. Also changed the stock 2 pot axial front caliper to the UG's 4 pot radial unit and a new front mudgard along with the triple clamps.

The Dominar rides like a new bike now. Steering bearing and forks seal busted, so it's a night and day difference.

Yes, the front wheel and brake disc spins the wrong way around (since the UG has brakes the other side of the bike) but I'm nitpicking. Will have to rotate the front tyres to the right rotation.
nice!!!!

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Mar 24 2025, 05:59 PM)
What is UG?
model code for the newer version of Dominar, like I think D400 UG or something....
alexei
post Jul 3 2025, 01:11 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jul 3 2025, 11:50 AM)
changed all brake pads on the versys yesterday...coz they were so worn i was afraid to ride lol... pic is comparison of old pads (left) and the replacement (used-right)

also prepping the bike for sale soon... so will be removing some stuff.

sale?
alexei
post Jul 4 2025, 09:54 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jul 3 2025, 02:07 PM)
yup...sale...
keeping just one, or eyeing another bike?
alexei
post Jul 11 2025, 09:06 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Jul 11 2025, 08:18 PM)
does this fuel system cleaner really work?
when to know if your bike need it or not?  hmm.gif

also whats your bike mileage now that you are changing the timing chain?
maybe, maybe not

This post has been edited by alexei: Jul 11 2025, 09:08 PM
alexei
post Aug 23 2025, 09:19 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

esp true if with cross ply tyres
alexei
post Aug 26 2025, 10:23 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

First consideration is rim size. Starting from R25, to the Ninja 400, RC390 and 450SR mentioned, I believe all have 4 inch width rear rim. Options are 140/70 and 150/60.

Note: this is a general chart, some tyre models may vary

Key takeaway from fitment guides:
1. For the same size, going lower on the aspect ration (AR), from 80 to 70, a larger rim width is recommended
2. Bias ply vs radial tyres can have different fitment guides (example below)

From Metzeler's book, a 140/70 is recommended for 3.75; whereas the 150/60 for a 4.25. Both will work on 4 inch rims, just the 140/70 will "expand" a little, while the 150/60 "pinched" a little. One way to do this, is to measure the tyre bead's distance from edge to edge before they are mounted.

My personal preference:
- high profile tyres such as bias ply, is better 'expanded' but can be pinched, because of the construction, either way is fine
- lower profile radial tyres should try avoid over-pinching because it affects the stress distribution at the radial belts which spans radially around the tyre

This post has been edited by alexei: Aug 26 2025, 10:28 AM
alexei
post Aug 26 2025, 12:54 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

congrats man!!

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Aug 26 2025, 11:22 AM)
heres a before n after of what i did to my bike yesterday

BEFORE

AFTER

alexei
post Aug 27 2025, 12:57 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(JustForFun @ Aug 26 2025, 06:44 PM)
On that note, the Ninja 250 has the same rim sizes and frame design as the 400, with a small weight difference (5kg~) but is fitted with 140/70/17 rear.

Wouldn't that imply that the 140 should also be a good choice for the Ninja 400?

Besides that, I was checking whether the Corsa S123 is radial or cross-ply... it seems like it's a cross-ply tyre?

I have been running that with a front Dunlop Sportmax GPR-300 which is a radial tyre, interesting that the construction mismatch didn't cause any issues... despite me bringing it up to 170km/h for a couple of times.
the S99 is ok as long as you like it
speed rating is H, vs the S on the GPR-300, and that's ok

S123 is definitely cross ply - see tyre code, 140/70R17, with the 'R' before '17' means radial, without it means cross-ply
there's a price gap between cross ply and radial

some cross ply I know even comes with dual compound, such as the Maxxis Volans, maybe there are new models with dual compound now
alexei
post Aug 27 2025, 10:00 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(JustForFun @ Aug 27 2025, 07:00 PM)
Feeling grateful that nothing happened to me with a front radial and back cross-ply for more than a year...

Anyway, I went for the cheapest medium soft tyres I could get as I wasn't sure if I would change my bike in the near future.

If I am still with my bike the next tyre change, most likely gonna do Maxxis S98 (F1) front and Maxxis Extramaxx rear... somehow they happened to have matching tread designs.

For some reason I am also starting to care a lot about tread designs on a tyre, which is why I don't like the Road 6 even though they are the best road tyres... strange how things have changed.
I mix my tyres
some ppl won't

you prefer a full sipe, vs a closed tread?

alexei
post Aug 29 2025, 10:14 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

--

This post has been edited by alexei: Aug 29 2025, 11:19 PM
alexei
post Aug 29 2025, 11:18 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

--

This post has been edited by alexei: Aug 30 2025, 06:19 PM
alexei
post Aug 30 2025, 06:24 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(bo093 @ Aug 30 2025, 01:38 PM)
how about rain wise with mixed tyre?
I dunno this one, so far been riding dry

QUOTE(JustForFun @ Aug 30 2025, 02:08 PM)
Agree, I think my riding experience has improved a lot after changing out my tyres, you just feel much more confident in the corner and with your bike overall.

I put on the S123 not knowing there were better choices in the market for just a little more, and I never thought that I would want to push the limit of my bike. When I first started, I was so sure that I would only be riding the bike very conservatively. I guess you do change as you get more experienced in riding.

Just one of many lessons I wished I learned on a moped instead on a big bike, then I would have saved myself some money.
I have a list last time, best bang for buck was Corsa Platinum series

QUOTE(JustForFun @ Aug 30 2025, 04:42 PM)
Wow, didn't know those L shaped valves existed... Too bad it'd probably mess with tyre balance.
the straight valves can leak when ride fast enough so bikes using valve stem that points sideways
alexei
post Sep 8 2025, 09:05 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(kupronikel83 @ Sep 6 2025, 05:55 PM)
Change engine oil

Use castrol power 1 ultimate

Honda Future carb 2012
good work horse this bike

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0278sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 07:06 AM