Semi-serious: Jaded with working life, What's your solution?

TSAREA51
post Nov 6 2023, 09:28 PM, updated 3y ago

217 posts

I'm kinda sick of my working life, it's like a never ending repetitive cycle. I have tried changing jobs and while they're almost always fresh and exciting initially, I find myself going back to the state of asking myself what's the meaning of all this.

/k got any wisdom to share? =/
SUSrainy~days
post Nov 6 2023, 09:29 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(AREA51 @ Nov 6 2023, 09:28 PM)
I'm kinda sick of my working life, it's like a never ending repetitive cycle. I have tried changing jobs and while they're almost always fresh and exciting initially, I find myself going back to the state of asking myself what's the meaning of all this.

14th floor
smokey
post Nov 6 2023, 09:29 PM

Infinity speed
3,506 posts

Can look forward for each payday

silverhawk
post Nov 6 2023, 09:30 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

If work doesn't provide you meaning

Find meaning outside your job

Roadwarrior1337
post Nov 6 2023, 09:32 PM

979 posts

I guess that’s what u call the rat race

U aren’t the only one that feeling it. I’ve been putting up with this shit for the last 15 years so yeah tell me about it

lordgamer3
post Nov 6 2023, 09:32 PM

847 posts

If your colleagues boss same, good and supportive cukur , they can promote growth and camaraderie vs one man ranger. What industry cz diff industry diff challenge. Mfg suck balls.
ameliorate
post Nov 6 2023, 09:34 PM

370 posts

I'm the same, have the 2 year itch. Every 2 years must change job.
cms
post Nov 6 2023, 09:35 PM

762 posts

Just work for the money.

soul78
post Nov 6 2023, 09:36 PM

931 posts

There is no meaning in staying in the rat race...
but every needs to start somewhere...

but not meant to stay in there your whole life...

But some ppl find passion in what they do and get paid for it, that is a match made in heavens... but hard to find nowadays....

start thinking of how you want the endgame to look like.. .and have a tactical and strategic aim for it..

quartre88
post Nov 6 2023, 09:37 PM

251 posts

u need healing from 2feidei vip urut urat naga
KarchKiraly
post Nov 6 2023, 09:39 PM

80 posts

Life is just temporary situation... We will die sooner or later, so it is better to do one of these two things: 1. Work to enjoy all kind of pleasures in life or 2. Seek out the real meaning of this life and help others.

Which one of these 2 options give more meaning to your life? Only you can answer and decide.
ListenToTheWind
post Nov 6 2023, 09:46 PM

453 posts

Same lo.

Keeo finding more and more money so that everyone around happy, to put food on table for mama papa, bini, kids. Can buy gifts for bini, buy toys for kid.

And one day finally time come to kick the bucket
boonwuilow
post Nov 6 2023, 09:48 PM

Diesel rocks
3,836 posts

I find myself going back to the state of asking myself what's the meaning of all this

insan_kamil
post Nov 6 2023, 09:55 PM

164 posts

I wanted to put up a thread earlier but decided against it. Its kind of the opposite of yours. I've been having problems lately with my business. Hr problems. But i've been in it for a while to know that if i put all my effort and try my best, the issue with resolve one way or the other.

Anyways, my point is, if you're jaded now, it means you're not stimulated enough. No better stimulation than running your own thing. Maybe drugs would work but i would advise against it.
potatolala
post Nov 6 2023, 09:55 PM

141 posts

Parking 🅿️
xCM
post Nov 6 2023, 10:06 PM

535 posts

Do a job that gets paid. If you dislike indoor, then get a outdoor job.
telement
post Nov 6 2023, 10:30 PM

13 posts

Don't look at it as a job. Look at it as your "service to others". End of the day, each one of us needs to provide useful service to others. We must be "useful to others". Knowing you are useful to others will bring meaning to your life.

The best way to go is find out what you are good at, what you are passionate about and then use it to help others. Don't focus too much on self. Rather focus what you can bring to the table for others. The only thing you should focus on self is how to improve your skills & your service so you can be even more useful to others.

Whether you're an employer or employee, focus on your service to others. What you bring to the table for others. Once you do this, naturally you will grow as a person and in business.

HikayatSalju
post Nov 6 2023, 10:38 PM

773 posts

Retire.
SUSrtk74
post Nov 6 2023, 10:53 PM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

RtK just open lowyat in 2nd monitor, shitpee in 3rd & YT in 4th
cfa28
post Nov 6 2023, 10:53 PM

4,830 posts

it's called burnon

same as burnout but you can't quit so you continue burning on

find meaning in the little things that you do
Current Events guy
post Nov 6 2023, 11:01 PM

966 posts

Are you a parent?

If not consider yourself on easy mode.
TSAREA51
post Nov 7 2023, 01:13 AM

217 posts

QUOTE(Current Events guy @ Nov 6 2023, 11:01 PM)
Are you a parent?

If not consider yourself on easy mode.
Nope. In a way I'm perpetually stuck in "easy mode" as I doubt my ability to keep on working indefinitely, and these days generally everything has a cost to it...
SotongBiru
post Nov 7 2023, 01:19 AM

200 posts

Ikigai or at least find your purpose first.
mystalyzer
post Nov 7 2023, 01:20 AM

394 posts

Work here:
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=5403291&hl=

And go travel:
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=5362211&hl=

juvaan
post Nov 7 2023, 03:07 AM

276 posts

alexandersuk
post Nov 7 2023, 04:06 AM

177 posts

Money or no money.
You choose.
LowKeras
post Nov 7 2023, 05:35 AM

113 posts

Gwenchana..... Gwenchannaa
thesoothsayer
post Nov 7 2023, 06:59 AM

954 posts

Me too. Paid well but itching to move on. Job pays well and great for people with young kids. I won't find another like it in Malaysia.
Sone Shin
post Nov 7 2023, 07:10 AM

255 posts

QUOTE(rainy~days @ Nov 6 2023, 09:29 PM)
14th floor
Ppl semi serious... Kasi 7 floor cukup
SUSMasterConfucion
post Nov 7 2023, 07:16 AM

911 posts

The problem u have is internal. Try shifting your mindset. You don't have to love your job but stop focus on the hate. Success is 80% internal and 20% action.

I have same like u before although I'm not out of the hole yet but shifting my mindset I'm happier than before. If need someone to talk deeper give me pm I'll try to help
MADReaLJL
post Nov 7 2023, 07:25 AM

4,050 posts

Find a hobby, make it primary goal you're looking for every week
Noryume
post Nov 7 2023, 07:28 AM

931 posts

People work to spend money outside of work. Nobody want to work. Just need to work.
invinciblevoice
post Nov 7 2023, 07:30 AM

19 posts

Tanam anggur for 1 year+ and see if you like being unemployed or not. I rather be bored and tired of work.

Source: PKP
MegaCanonF
post Nov 7 2023, 07:52 AM

863 posts

same . feeling burn out lately as well. the traffic jam, road hoggers, daily commutes, routine work .barely holding out here.
achong09
post Nov 7 2023, 07:59 AM

1,274 posts

you dont work then where you find $?
achong09
post Nov 7 2023, 07:59 AM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(MegaCanonF @ Nov 7 2023, 07:52 AM)
same . feeling burn out lately as well. the traffic jam, road hoggers, daily commutes, routine work .barely holding out here.
WFH la
ZerOne01
post Nov 7 2023, 08:00 AM

124 posts

jobs are designed to be stressful
deal with it, or change the world
achong09
post Nov 7 2023, 08:00 AM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(ameliorate @ Nov 6 2023, 09:34 PM)
I'm the same, have the 2 year itch. Every 2 years must change job.
nowadays not easy to find new job leh... pay so low somemore.. how? confused.gif
elm0001
post Nov 7 2023, 08:01 AM

I'm Tyrion Lannister's whore
998 posts

that’s because you don’t have a hobby
gashout
post Nov 7 2023, 08:03 AM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

most people i know face this problem.

you really need to find something you LOVE doing, and not just for the money

a good working environment, an understanding boss, friendly helpful colleagues. these matters than salary.

i love my job, i love my life, i make ok money, and i am thankful for where i am today.

find your purpose thumbsup.gif
MegaCanonF
post Nov 7 2023, 08:05 AM

863 posts

QUOTE(achong09 @ Nov 7 2023, 07:59 AM)
WFH la
kenot . working w secure system kenot accessed from home
TSAREA51
post Nov 7 2023, 07:47 PM

217 posts

QUOTE(MasterConfucion @ Nov 7 2023, 07:16 AM)
The problem u have is internal. Try shifting your mindset. You don't have to love your job but stop focus on the hate. Success is 80% internal and 20% action.

I have same like u before although I'm not out of the hole yet but shifting my mindset I'm happier than before. If need someone to talk deeper give me pm I'll try to help
How did you do it? shifting mindset is no easy task...
SUSMasterConfucion
post Nov 7 2023, 07:52 PM

911 posts

QUOTE(AREA51 @ Nov 7 2023, 07:47 PM)
It need some deep thinking and positivity. Also depends on your natural character whether it's easy or not. If u r naturally optimistic and stuck in certain situation then it's easy to influence your mindset than pessimistic.

By shifting mindset I don't mean trick yourself to change your thinking. It doesn't work. For example if u hate your boss and it's makes your life suck then it's a fact. You don't change thinking to become love your boss.

If need more counselling then pm me I can teach more
tcapmibus
post Nov 8 2023, 12:05 AM

391 posts

PM ME for some career change biggrin.gif
kelang_kelus
post Nov 8 2023, 12:12 AM

take a hobby outside the work life, something far different from your job type
SUSskyblack4492
post Nov 8 2023, 12:16 AM

1,342 posts

QUOTE(ListenToTheWind @ Nov 6 2023, 09:46 PM)
Same lo.

Keeo finding more and more money so that everyone around happy, to put food on table for mama papa, bini, kids. Can buy gifts for bini, buy toys for kid.

And one day finally time come to kick the bucket
What bucket?
SUSskyblack4492
post Nov 8 2023, 12:24 AM

1,342 posts

Go travel 4days 3nite or 7days 6nite
JimbeamofNRT
post Nov 8 2023, 12:30 AM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

me too bro, me too

for far too long we have been the slave to modernity
JimbeamofNRT
post Nov 8 2023, 12:35 AM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

QUOTE(smokey @ Nov 6 2023, 09:29 PM)
Can look forward for each payday
money doesnt excite me anymore sad.gif

Innovation
post Nov 8 2023, 12:44 AM

244 posts

i guess many working adult will have the same problem as u... tired and sick of the rat race...
kidmad
post Nov 8 2023, 12:51 AM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(AREA51 @ Nov 7 2023, 07:47 PM)
Always remind yourself don't work against the flow.. once i mastered it life was never the same Anymore.

I've been working 16 years non stop.. except for my annual leaves i literally never had a proper long break. I think I'll stop down when I'm 55.
ListenToTheWind
post Nov 8 2023, 01:39 AM

453 posts

QUOTE(skyblack4492 @ Nov 8 2023, 12:16 AM)
What bucket?
Mean mati lo
SUSskyblack4492
post Nov 8 2023, 12:30 PM

1,342 posts

QUOTE(ListenToTheWind @ Nov 8 2023, 01:39 AM)
Mean mati lo
Haha

0.0262sec    0.68    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 11:16 PM