PSA - You can request to reduce your TNB Deposit

TScontestchris
post Feb 29 2024, 12:50 PM

5,576 posts

QUOTE(coolguy_0925 @ Feb 29 2024, 12:33 PM)
Send to any specific e-mail address or this will do? tnbcareline@tnb.com.my
Yes that's the email
lildocker
post Jun 4 2024, 10:51 AM

55 posts

I put in a request two months ago and TNB just called to say they can't reduce the deposit, it's fixed for residential title. They only might consider reducing it for commercial titles (e.g. serviced apartments).

Have to put away hundreds of ringgit with TNB until I die.

1) The TNB staff mentioned that many of my neighbors haven't changed to their name or paid the deposit yet. Would there be any consequences if I also don't change name or pay the deposit?

2) Do developers nowadays not apply for utility name change on behalf of their buyers anymore?
TScontestchris
post Jun 4 2024, 10:57 AM

5,576 posts

QUOTE(lildocker @ Jun 4 2024, 10:51 AM)
I put in a request two months ago and TNB just called to say they can't reduce the deposit, it's fixed for residential title. They only might consider reducing it for commercial titles (e.g. serviced apartments).

Have to put away hundreds of ringgit with TNB until I die.

1) The TNB staff mentioned that many of my neighbors haven't changed to their name or paid the deposit yet. Would there be any consequences if I also don't change name or pay the deposit?

2) Do developers nowadays not apply for utility name change on behalf of their buyers anymore?
They're talking nonsense, it's right there on their website and I did it successfully.
lildocker
post Jun 4 2024, 03:27 PM

55 posts

Guess I'm just unlucky. My monthly bill is <RM50 too.
TScontestchris
post Jun 4 2024, 03:30 PM

5,576 posts

QUOTE(lildocker @ Jun 4 2024, 03:27 PM)
Guess I'm just unlucky. My monthly bill is <RM50 too.
My monthly bill is ~RM25.

What's your deposit? By law they can only retain between 3 to 6 months deposit.
hksgmy
post Jun 4 2024, 08:13 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Jun 4 2024, 03:30 PM)
My monthly bill is ~RM25.

What's your deposit? By law they can only retain between 3 to 6 months deposit.
Sorry but may I ask how on earth do you manage such a minimal amount of usage!?

Do you have that erm, ahem, ‘magic meter’ installed?
sadlyfalways
post Jun 4 2024, 08:19 PM

1,185 posts

Just checked mine is 2230. Don’t even remember paying
TScontestchris
post Jun 4 2024, 08:36 PM

5,576 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 4 2024, 08:13 PM)
Sorry but may I ask how on earth do you manage such a minimal amount of usage!?

Do you have that erm, ahem, ‘magic meter’ installed?
No, the secret is less than 10 hours of air-conditioning a month. And bath cold water whenever possible (plus it's healthier).
hksgmy
post Jun 4 2024, 08:38 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Jun 4 2024, 08:36 PM)
No, the secret is less than 10 hours of air-conditioning a month. And bath cold water whenever possible (plus it's healthier).
Ah, OK… it’s scarcely believable that such a low amount can be achieved, but I’m happy that you can do it!
james.6831
post Jun 4 2024, 08:46 PM

937 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 4 2024, 08:38 PM)
Ah, OK… it’s scarcely believable that such a low amount can be achieved, but I’m happy that you can do it!
it's possible with minimal air cond and water heater usage.

WaCKy-Angel
post Jun 4 2024, 08:47 PM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Jun 4 2024, 08:36 PM)
U single?

Whole day not at home?
nelson969
post Jun 4 2024, 08:57 PM

321 posts

Just curious ts , if your bank statement got thousand ringgit will they reject ?
N9484640
post Jun 4 2024, 09:16 PM

Chasing Electric
1,297 posts

My bill says my security deposit is RM1,462.08 for condo
Didn’t realize the odd amount until now.
Thanks TS

This post has been edited by N9484640: Jun 4 2024, 09:16 PM
TScontestchris
post Jun 4 2024, 09:22 PM

5,576 posts

QUOTE(N9484640 @ Jun 4 2024, 09:16 PM)
My bill says my security deposit is RM1,462.08 for condo
Didn’t realize the odd amount until now.
Thanks TS
It accrues interest at 5% p.a.
coolguy_0925
post Jun 4 2024, 09:23 PM

4,552 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Jun 4 2024, 09:22 PM)
2.5%

if 5% ASM also kalah biggrin.gif
ronnie
post Jun 4 2024, 09:27 PM

Not enough stars
21,326 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Jun 4 2024, 09:22 PM)
where got such high interest ?

https://www.mytnb.com.my/residential/get-el...ecurity-deposit

it's only 2.5%

This post has been edited by ronnie: Jun 4 2024, 09:29 PM
TScontestchris
post Jun 4 2024, 09:42 PM

5,576 posts

QUOTE(coolguy_0925 @ Jun 4 2024, 09:23 PM)
2.5%

if 5% ASM also kalah biggrin.gif
My bad good sir. Thanks for correcting
hksgmy
post Jun 5 2024, 05:07 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

I’m actually more interested in how the hell do you guys use so little electricity per month…. Yes yes, I know, no air con and cold showers but still, RM50 per month!?

My electricity bill averages SGD700 per month (landed property, zero subsidies, and there are some 6 toilets in the house, and we get charged a stupid toilet fee per toilet, amongst other ridiculous fees)…
ronnie
post Jun 5 2024, 08:11 AM

Not enough stars
21,326 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 5 2024, 05:07 AM)
I’m actually more interested in how the hell do you guys use so little electricity per month…. Yes yes, I know, no air con and cold showers but still, RM50 per month!?

My electricity bill averages SGD700 per month (landed property, zero subsidies, and there are some 6 toilets in the house, and we get charged a stupid toilet fee per toilet, amongst other ridiculous fees)…
not using airconds is main saver
not using water dispenser with hot/ice water tank another saver.
not using water heater is good choice
Having inverter A/C may be a myth
hksgmy
post Jun 5 2024, 08:46 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jun 5 2024, 08:11 AM)
not using airconds is main saver
not using water dispenser with hot/ice water tank another saver.
not using water heater is good choice
Having inverter A/C may be a myth
I really respect you guys man… last couple of months was a furnace and a half, everyday was like 38C, and you still did it without air conditioning notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0196sec    0.98    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 12:31 AM